Postby renegade_wolf » February 1st, 2015, 6:37 pm
That $6000 is foolish they did any economic evaluation many honestly employed people in this country that is uh monthly salary right there for doin between 10 - 20km over the ridiculous 80km speed limit that in effect before 1985 cars then 80KM was about half of the speedometer most regular cars topped out at 110KM - 140km. Cars have improved much since these laws were introduced yet nothing is being done to revise them but they quick to revise the penalties, when is the last time yh look down and see the 5km or in cases 10km mark on yh speedo. Some cars now start at 20km and go up to 220km or more (i.e. regular road cars not sports cars whick may cross 300km) the 0-10 is just a vague gap and then a next lil gap to 20 which is where uh marker does reach if uh toe just touch the gas uh hit 80 by 3rd gear and 4th take uh to 90/100 (automatic). The speeds shoulda been revised long ago minimum built up areas 60KM, highway speed 100KM. Almost all of us do 100KM on the highway and that is the slow lane try doing 100KM in the fast lane and see how much ppl overtake you hell do 80km in the slow lane and watch the cressida/b11/laser/120/laurel/etc. overtake uh nuh even them so called old cars doin the 100km only when something wrong would one ah them be below the 80km smoking goin up de road as normal.
They shoulda been looking at how to improve the quality of drivers who are being issued permits, the condition of the cars on the road and at bringing the driving code out of the 70's/80's. We all know uh could get a permit and still doh know how to drive properly but what stopping uh from wning a car for that first year when uh still feeling out how to drive properly. Hell even the condition of the roads need to be brought up to standard.
Ah nex ting too fellas and ladies you need to realise that when you change your rim/tyre other than the ones that came with the car the speedo reading will be off a competent garage would be able to recommend a tyre size that will cause minimum difference but in some cases this is not possible or the tire that is recommended would ride too harsh so you go with something a lil bigger your speedo will read 1KM - 3KM off the actual mark so uh speedo mark is 80KM your speed might be 83KM or 77KM depending on the tire variance if it is higher is up to the officer but to pay a $6000 charge for 3KM over would be beyond harshness.
They hit we something like this and then say they have the country best interest at heart.
Drunk driving fines were already ok. They just needed to ramp up the enforcement to catch these wayward drivers.
Driving wthout a permit is too high as well, a $1000 fine would of worked. Pay the fine then they go fast to pay the $500 for a replacement permit bet uh never lorse it that easy again. If you never had a permit is a next case the fine could be higher at the judges discretion up to a certain level. Nobody but the elite in society could afford this $15,000 fine it just gonna raise he crime level again. Some fellas and ladies does take the chance uh have a valid permit but it home and you gone out to work/lime uh ride/lift who pick uh up at the end now tired/unwell/drunk not fit to drive but you or somebody else in the group (permit not on them either but home with their car) good go tell volunteer to drive while he/she recovering, ent doing this again so hard luck for carpooling to work or events cause most of we permit inside we insurance unless uh does drive more than one vehicle.
Anyways this just my rant. Trinis in carnival mode now so this just gonna blow over like everything else.
[youtube]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SYqLeYJoaBc[/youtube]