The official tropical weather thread 2015

Re: The official tropical weather thread

Postby nervewrecker » November 16th, 2014, 9:31 pm

bluesclues wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:Man say Darcy law is an assumption and also disregard gravity yes. So what force causes the water mass to move sir? Magic? :lol: oh wait, is an "environmental balancing act" *cries*

Water "eroding" soil under road too yes. :lol:

You are aware that the water in the soil exerts a force against what is in it like buoyancy right? Can't remember the term off the top of my head but if you were to have a town on top a closed aquifer and was to pump the aquifer dry the town will sink a bit.

Masters in common sense yo.

you trying to distract the topic now with semantics. that might impress some ppl but it will reveal something about you to me. that you reaching an uncomfortable zone in the discussion. i havent said anything silly yet. i already explained everything. so you keep building road and house on moving surface and hoodwinking ppl blaming the contractor etc.

You ain't talk anything with sense yet bro.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » November 16th, 2014, 9:32 pm

bluesclues wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:Lmao

I thought we taking about the flooding in manzan dude?

Clay is road foundation? Rofl

Roads bumpy due to shoddy paving work, poor foundation and poor wasa pipe installation. They supposed to put in some material, compact it, lay the pipe, put material over it and then compact before paving. But the morons just drop in the pipe and drop material on it. If you notice the sinks follow the wasa line in most places.

the foundation im referring to being washed away is the road foundation that the pitch is sitting on.

the water would use clay as it's foundation to travel under the roadways or all other paved surfaces since it is not very permeable. chances are that water will quickly buildup underground from the level where the clay begins and saturate the soils above it not so? especially if the water table is higher than usual.

you blame shoddy work on lands that have a foundation literally being rearranged under their feat constantly? the land itself shifting, no kinda workmanship will stop that. so i call that what you say there a distraction. when sinkholes happen is it because of shoddy work? indeed it's common sense. nature and gravity. if u kick the legs out from a table it will fall to the ground.

why did you disregard my water table assessment?

Tell me how this washing away takes place.

Water have foundation and thing yes :lol:

Just quit, please just quit.

ok yuh playing schupid now. you saying water cant use clay as a foundation? you saying water cannot flow untop of fully saturated clay? this is what uwi producing and fecking up we country.

Postby Morpheus » November 16th, 2014, 9:34 pm

pete wrote:Split to official geography thread? :lol:

Get ready.......:lol:

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » November 16th, 2014, 9:38 pm

keep playing stupid. if the water table raise and the clay level saturate everything untop will be waterlogged soil and if you put pitch or concrete over that and dont expect it to erode under the surface u probably were not properly educated.

im heading out now so you have have the last rebuttal. you call what i say silly but when ppl read it and say "buh that making sense" it doesnt matter what your education is if you feel everybody dotish.

deal with the rising water table. dont dodge it with all yuh semantics talk. real failure debate thing. these the ppl they have in charge we country dear lord. pretending water cant flow on clay boy i graduate my school at the top of science class doh take me for no stupidee eh. i learn all meh geography an ting boss. so if you feel you talking to some gardner or cd salesman on the side of the road you have another thing to think.

Postby Chimera » November 16th, 2014, 9:41 pm

Hush allyuh mudda BUGWAAANAAA na

Postby nervewrecker » November 16th, 2014, 9:43 pm

bluesclues wrote:

Roads bumpy due to shoddy paving work, poor foundation and poor wasa pipe installation. They supposed to put in some material, compact it, lay the pipe, put material over it and then compact before paving. But the morons just drop in the pipe and drop material on it. If you notice the sinks follow the wasa line in most places.

the foundation im referring to being washed away is the road foundation that the pitch is sitting on.

the water would use clay as it's foundation to travel under the roadways or all other paved surfaces since it is not very permeable. chances are that water will quickly buildup underground from the level where the clay begins and saturate the soils above it not so? especially if the water table is higher than usual.

you blame shoddy work on lands that have a foundation literally being rearranged under their feat constantly? the land itself shifting, no kinda workmanship will stop that. so i call that what you say there a distraction. when sinkholes happen is it because of shoddy work? indeed it's common sense. nature and gravity. if u kick the legs out from a table it will fall to the ground.

ok yuh playing schupid now. you saying water cant use clay as a foundation? you saying water cannot flow untop of fully saturated clay? this is what uwi producing and fecking up we country.

Foundation for what?

I said gravity allows for movement of water you come telling me bout environmental balance.
Surface reservoirs and landfills have clay linings to prevent losses and leachate entering subsoil respectively. How come that water don't "flow" on top the clay there? Isn't it because the height of the water is equal straight across the entire expanse?
If I empty a glass of water on my living room floor it stays there. Of the floor wasnt level it will flow to the lowest point. Is my floor clay?

Water will flow through clay, but at a very slow rate. It will flow through sand and gravel too. Bigger the pore space faster the flow and it will more or less do so until its "surface" is level. For water to flow so quick through a same layer as to leave one side of the country to reach another through the alluvial composition it will take maybe months or years. Either way it needs a driving force to push it like a column of water whose mass is being influenced by gravity creating an increase pressure at its base.

Postby meccalli » November 16th, 2014, 10:15 pm

The road washout, its actually that simple. You have prolonged rainfall, high velocity surface runoff, no stormwater drainage or diversions, an eroding beach next to the road and obvious sandy soil characteristics. Water did its job.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » November 16th, 2014, 10:21 pm

bluesclues wrote:

Foundation for what?

I said gravity allows for movement of water you come telling me bout environmental balance.
Surface reservoirs and landfills have clay linings to prevent losses and leachate entering subsoil respectively. How come that water don't "flow" on top the clay there? Isn't it because the height of the water is equal straight across the entire expanse?
If I empty a glass of water on my living room floor it stays there. Of the floor wasnt level it will flow to the lowest point. Is my floor clay?

Water will flow through clay, but at a very slow rate. It will flow through sand and gravel too. Bigger the pore space faster the flow and it will more or less do so until its "surface" is level. For water to flow so quick through a same layer as to leave one side of the country to reach another through the alluvial composition it will take maybe months or years. Either way it needs a driving force to push it like a column of water whose mass is being influenced by gravity creating an increase pressure at its base.

ok let me try again while you try to re-learn me about soils and permeability.

because clay particles are so fine, water permeability is low - is this a silly statement?
if you put sand and pitch untop clay ent when rain fall everything above the clay will get saturated? - is this a silly expectation?
if you move a swamp and the water table raise will this not further contribute flooding in diverse places including the coast?

if the water table raise to meet the clay and the soil saturated from underneath, when rain fall where is the water supposed to go? in a boxdrain to nowhere?

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » November 16th, 2014, 10:27 pm

meccalli wrote:The road washout, its actually that simple. You have prolonged rainfall, high velocity surface runoff, no stormwater drainage or diversions, an eroding beach next to the road and obvious sandy soil characteristics. Water did its job.

i not saying no. but at the same time. can we just count it as a complete coincidence that we experiencing this kinda flooding NOW? st helena still under water you know. it aint go down. is days.

mahsingh

Postby mahsingh » November 16th, 2014, 10:28 pm

meccalli wrote:The road washout, its actually that simple. You have prolonged rainfall, high velocity surface runoff, no stormwater drainage or diversions, an eroding beach next to the road and obvious sandy soil characteristics. Water did its job.
dis man talking sense. ..

nissanluvr

Postby nissanluvr » November 16th, 2014, 10:50 pm

St. Helena has been experiencing that kind of flooding long before that highway was even thought of. it's not just NOW that it's been happening

Postby Morpheus » November 16th, 2014, 10:55 pm

WTF dem 2 still trying to out geography each other?
Allyuh a mod try to play it off lightheartedly. Take heed nah. Allyuh spamming now.....in fact long time.

Carry discussion to appropriate thread

Postby meccalli » November 16th, 2014, 11:23 pm

St.Helena is a stagnant pool, deep alluvial clays with limited drainage, after 1 full heavy day its all saturated. Is days of rain as well, there's no room to go down and the river was still high this morning.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » November 16th, 2014, 11:38 pm

nissanluvr wrote:St. Helena has been experiencing that kind of flooding long before that highway was even thought of. it's not just NOW that it's been happening

but the water wouldve gone down by now. if we look at the flooding taking place all over the country, it's worse than it has been in a long time. manzan under 24-36 inches of water. you could say it's all just a coincidence. but we will see what the long lasting effects are over time.

https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=10 ... =2&theater

Postby ~Vēġó~ » November 17th, 2014, 5:54 am

in for more pics.....disappointed 'cause page only full up with ah setta quote and quote....

mahsingh

Postby mahsingh » November 17th, 2014, 6:12 am

Very cloudy conditions in grande...
Lookin like more rain today. ....

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » November 17th, 2014, 2:15 pm

East looking black again any reports?

Postby streetbeastINC. » November 17th, 2014, 2:22 pm

Heavy water vapour was clearish this morning
Screenshot_2014-11-17-14-17-09.png

Postby sliderz1 » November 17th, 2014, 2:22 pm

very dark in trinicty

Postby streetbeastINC. » November 17th, 2014, 2:23 pm

Heavy water vapour was clearish this morning
Screenshot_2014-11-17-14-17-09.png

Postby toyolink » November 17th, 2014, 2:23 pm

Mc Bean, Couva presently under heavy cloud cover .
Rain has been falling in bursts thus far and thing look bleak.
Generally environment is slushy,muddy and not supportive of ant considerations for things like yard work,painting etc.

Postby TRAE » November 17th, 2014, 2:26 pm

My cousin from WASA get called out to go couva for some emergency- called me saying caroni river is brim to the highway
leave north now people

Postby Dizzy28 » November 17th, 2014, 2:50 pm

Heavy rain buss down in Barataria. Been so for 10 mins now.

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » November 17th, 2014, 3:57 pm

Did the Caroni river overflow?
The Aranguez traffic cam showed heavy traffic on the GB overpass.

Postby K74T » November 17th, 2014, 3:58 pm

Sun came out nice and steamy in Santa Flora. 8-)

trini_redo

Postby trini_redo » November 17th, 2014, 4:46 pm

National Operations Centre of Trinidad & Tobago
All East bound and South bound motorists are to proceed with caution in the vicinity of the Grand Bazaar overpass as the entrance to the overpass and the exit is flooded

eurotuner

Postby eurotuner » November 17th, 2014, 5:18 pm

Heard that the bus route is opened from 5pm - 7pm
Anyone going south or east...prepare thy angus.

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » November 17th, 2014, 6:56 pm

TRAE wrote:My cousin from WASA get called out to go couva for some emergency- called me saying caroni river is brim to the highway
leave north now people

papayo. we seeing a connection yet?

Okay. I would like to speak on the flooding that is occurring in the lower parts of Mayaro, Trinidad (Mafeking) several of my friends said that the flood waters are caused by excess rainfalls, and the rise of water levels after the rainfalls is being caused by incoming tides, No. (Its coming from the Kernaham / Cacasdoux (flats) in the Bush Bush Reserves that connects to Ortoire River. This river also connects the mangrove that leads to the mouth of the Nariva River.

Can this be solved? Yes. by the dredging and diversion of this waterway, from Bush Bush to the ocean. (giving it, its own water course) Instead of having the water flow back into Ortoire. (that is already exhausted)

What is causing the flooding on the Manzanilla stretch?The water coming from Biche / Plum Mitan Farmlands (The current Government) decided by its agricultural sector to develop the waterways to create more efficient agricultural lands around the Nariva Swamp (mangrove) and the Bush Bush Reserves.

What was the error in doing this? The dredges done by the agricultural sector channels all the water from the lowlands in Biche / Plum Mitan to the coastline. See.* Pictures.

It will show one single dredged water way that collects all the flood waters from Biche / Plum Mitan and delivers it into the Nariva River. (That runs concurrent with the Manzanilla stretch) this in turns overwhelms the Nariva River banks causing massive flooding and erosion of the road way.

Over 100,000 Acres, with ONE single water-way, that delivers its water at EXPRESS speed to the coastline.

Well, I am going to leave the flooding of the Manzanilla stretch for you to decide who is truly responsible for this. Whereas, the flooding of Mafeking could have been avoided. (Often times we wait until disaster) But this is a very useful time to evaluate and improve.

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid ... =1&theater

Postby pioneer » November 17th, 2014, 7:02 pm

Traffic flowed freely after curepe, as usual all the south people thought it was a good idea to pass through caroni...so they jam up curepe junction.

Postby pete » November 17th, 2014, 7:03 pm

Left POS around 1pm to drop off something in Sando and the water was to the edge of the road by the Guaima(sp?) river. Didn't bother to go back into POS. Really glad I didn't yes. :/