RhymePaladin

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby RhymePaladin » November 15th, 2014, 5:36 pm

what kind of laptop is it btw?

moses_boss12
Location: The Beautiful Hills of.................... Hellshire!!

Postby moses_boss12 » November 15th, 2014, 5:51 pm

RhymePaladin wrote:what kind of laptop is it btw?

Sorry should have said earlier..it's a ASUS x75a

RhymePaladin

Postby RhymePaladin » November 15th, 2014, 5:57 pm

moses_boss12 wrote:

id recommend re-installing the drivers if you havent already..below is a link to asus site for the drivers
http://www.asus.com/Notebooks_Ultrabooks/X75A/HelpDesk_Download/

moses_boss12

Postby moses_boss12 » November 15th, 2014, 6:15 pm

RhymePaladin wrote:
moses_boss12 wrote:

id recommend re-installing the drivers if you havent already..below is a link to asus site for the drivers
http://www.asus.com/Notebooks_Ultrabooks/X75A/HelpDesk_Download/

Thanks bro just checked it out..they dont have anything for audio. saw something for my Bluetooth however :)

RhymePaladin

Postby RhymePaladin » November 15th, 2014, 6:30 pm

npz but do you still have the issue with the headphones?

RhymePaladin

Postby RhymePaladin » November 15th, 2014, 6:36 pm

if you still have the issue and you are running win8.1 then you could also use the audio drivers provided for win8 aswell

moses_boss12

Postby moses_boss12 » November 15th, 2014, 7:52 pm

I have updated all Windows drivers..problem still here

RhymePaladin

Postby RhymePaladin » November 15th, 2014, 8:11 pm

just try this..head over to the link i provided,,then enter windows 8 as your os (even if youre running 8.1) then download the audio drivers..you only need one..most likely get the realtek audio driver if this doesnt work use trial and error with the other three drivers..the most commom issue on these laptops are due to corrupt audio drivers

moses_boss12

Postby moses_boss12 » November 15th, 2014, 8:55 pm

RhymePaladin wrote:just try this..head over to the link i provided,,then enter windows 8 as your os (even if youre running 8.1) then download the audio drivers..you only need one..most likely get the realtek audio driver if this doesnt work use trial and error with the other three drivers..the most commom issue on these laptops are due to corrupt audio drivers

ok will do..will update on whether or not works..thanks man

moses_boss12

Postby moses_boss12 » November 16th, 2014, 8:19 am

moses_boss12 wrote:
RhymePaladin wrote:just try this..head over to the link i provided,,then enter windows 8 as your os (even if youre running 8.1) then download the audio drivers..you only need one..most likely get the realtek audio driver if this doesnt work use trial and error with the other three drivers..the most commom issue on these laptops are due to corrupt audio drivers

ok will do..will update on whether or not works..thanks man

I got it sought out ..This is for users who updated to windows 8.1,. there seems to be a driver incompatibility.
Will give full details for anyone who may be facing the problem

Step

1. Download the Audio driver from ASUS website, you must download the one for windows 7 64 bit V 600110400.

2. Disable your current Sound Card in the Device Manager Application ( Control Panel> Sound Card>Right Click on Sound Card >Disable)

3.Restart System

4.Check and make sure the sound card is disable

5. Install The Driver just Downloaded

6. Restart Your System

7. You good to go from there

This solution would actually solve a lot of problems, like Apps such as NETFLIX from streaming or Music coming out of Sub woofers and not speakers .

NB Remember only use the Windows 7 driver..anything else would not work.

gfbl

Postby gfbl » November 18th, 2014, 9:55 am

http://www.amazon.com/Kingston-Digital- ... B00DCUKKK0

hey guys i have four of these bnib, asking $3k for all

cheaper than amazon and skyboxing it in

dozer

Postby dozer » November 18th, 2014, 10:50 pm

Thx guys got my case sold but would anybody be interested in a Cooler Master semi modular 1000watt power supply very good stuff asking $1100. Will post specs soon

Postby ruffneck_12 » November 19th, 2014, 1:56 pm

SSD that plugs into your ram slot

sheit's fast yo

http://www.sandisk.com/enterprise/ulltradimm-ssd/

jm3

Postby jm3 » November 19th, 2014, 3:05 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:SSD that plugs into your ram slot

sheit's fast yo

isnt this just the same as having a ramdisk setup?

desert punk

Postby desert punk » November 20th, 2014, 10:34 am

Here's some tweaks for those who have an ssd.Some of these are actually quite good.
I aint too sure about disabling pagefile.
http://www.computing.net/howtos/show/so ... 7/552.html

Postby ismithx » November 20th, 2014, 2:24 pm

you really don't need pagefile if you have plenty RAM. I have 8gb and i disabled my pagefile

Postby ruffneck_12 » November 20th, 2014, 2:42 pm

jm3 wrote:
ruffneck_12 wrote:SSD that plugs into your ram slot

sheit's fast yo

isnt this just the same as having a ramdisk setup?

When you remove power, the information lost with a ramdisk

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 23rd, 2014, 1:25 pm

ismithx wrote:you really don't need pagefile if you have plenty RAM. I have 8gb and i disabled my pagefile

Not the greatest idea. ... the day you decide to fire up any program that requires more than what is free of your 8gb.... Guess who is going to be greeted with a blue screen related to memory

I suggest leaving it because a memory related crash in the middle of what you were working on or playing isn't fun.

Also have to mention 8gb isn't plenty. ... not anymore

Postby ismithx » November 23rd, 2014, 2:03 pm

kamakazi wrote:
ismithx wrote:you really don't need pagefile if you have plenty RAM. I have 8gb and i disabled my pagefile

Not the greatest idea. ... the day you decide to fire up any program that requires more than what is free of your 8gb.... Guess who is going to be greeted with a blue screen related to memory

I suggest leaving it because a memory related crash in the middle of what you were working on or playing isn't fun.

Also have to mention 8gb isn't plenty. ... not anymore

the largest program I run is battlefield 4 and that takes up 2gb of ram. It would do for most people.

Postby Chimera » November 24th, 2014, 3:42 pm

what allyuh think about these options

computer specs
Actions
Mystical Wonders Add to contacts 7:26 PM Keep this message at the top of your inbox
To: navindrakamta888@hotmail.com
mystical.wonders@gmail.com
Optiplex 9020 Desktop
4th Gen Intel i7-4770 (3.4 Ghz, 8M, 84W)
Mini Tower
8 GB (2x48 GB) 1600MHz DDR3 Non-ECC
1TB 3.5 inch Serial ATA (7.200 Rpm) HD
Dell 20 Minitor – E2014H
AMD Radeon 8750, 1GB DDR3 w/DP/DVI
16X Half Height DVD+/-RW Drive
Dell USB Optical Mouse MS111
Dell KB212-B QuietKey USB Keyboard
Internal Dell Business Audio Speaker
Windows 7 Professional 64bit Media Kit
Dell Backup and Recovery Basic 1.6
Resource DVD contains Diagnostics and Drivers
Warranty: 3 Years Parts & Service
$9590.00

Optiplex 9020 Desktop
Intel Core 15-4590 (Quad 3. 3GHz, 6MB)
Small Form Factor
8GB (2x4GB) 1600MHz DDR3 Non-ECC
1TB 3.5inch Serial ATA (7.200 Rpm) HD
Dell 22" Widescreen Monitor
Intel Integrated Graphics
8X DVD+/RW Drive
$7590.00

looking to buy a new pc
*not for gaming though*

Postby DFC » November 24th, 2014, 3:44 pm

i just downloaded steam and team fortress 2

Postby ismithx » November 24th, 2014, 3:48 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:what allyuh think about these options

computer specs
Actions
Mystical Wonders Add to contacts 7:26 PM Keep this message at the top of your inbox
To: navindrakamta888@hotmail.com
mystical.wonders@gmail.com
Optiplex 9020 Desktop
4th Gen Intel i7-4770 (3.4 Ghz, 8M, 84W)
Mini Tower
8 GB (2x48 GB) 1600MHz DDR3 Non-ECC
1TB 3.5 inch Serial ATA (7.200 Rpm) HD
Dell 20 Minitor – E2014H
AMD Radeon 8750, 1GB DDR3 w/DP/DVI
16X Half Height DVD+/-RW Drive
$9590.00

Optiplex 9020 Desktop
Intel Core 15-4590 (Quad 3. 3GHz, 6MB)
Small Form Factor
8GB (2x4GB) 1600MHz DDR3 Non-ECC
1TB 3.5inch Serial ATA (7.200 Rpm) HD
Dell 22" Widescreen Monitor
Intel Integrated Graphics
8X DVD+/RW Drive
$7590.00

looking to buy a new pc
*not for gaming though*

what do you intend to do use it for? those are decent specs, should be futureproof for a few years well, the only thing is, I would have liked a discrete graphics card in the second option as well

Postby Chimera » November 24th, 2014, 3:50 pm

honestly just to use as a office pc

thats a local price,was trying to find the same thing online but no luck

Postby Spitfir3 » November 24th, 2014, 4:00 pm

if its an office pc then those specs are more than fine ..a separate gpu isn't much needed for office work i think those dell optiplex come with an intel hd4000 onboard which should be sufficient..only further upgrade i would recommend is an ssd for the OS

Postby ismithx » November 24th, 2014, 5:22 pm

well for an office pc the second one good but spitfir3, i don't really think he needs an ssd, 7200rpm drives boot and move reasonably fast

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » November 26th, 2014, 9:29 pm

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00E3W ... PDKIKX0DER

should i wait for it to drop more or buy now, i really wanted the 240 but only the 120 is dropping

Postby meccalli » November 26th, 2014, 9:53 pm

DFC wrote:i just downloaded steam and team fortress 2

8-) , tfp, atf and star servers have the best skillbase and communities, those guys clocking 5000+ hours though..

Postby hustla_ambition101 » November 26th, 2014, 9:56 pm

fred1266 wrote:http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00E3W15P0/ref=ox_sc_imb_mini_detail?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER

should i wait for it to drop more or buy now, i really wanted the 240 but only the 120 is dropping

Good price there..............wont be shocked if the price goes up on friday

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » November 26th, 2014, 10:26 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
fred1266 wrote:http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00E3W15P0/ref=ox_sc_imb_mini_detail?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER

Good price there..............wont be shocked if the price goes up on friday

yea was wondering the same thing, seems like the 240 not dropping at all though