LF: "Adverse Possession"/Squatters Rights Lawyers in South?

Postby The_Honourable » October 4th, 2014, 12:26 pm

Hello Tuners,

I am looking for a lawyer in south, preferably San Fernando that deals with Adverse Possession cases aka the "squatters rights" law. Recommendations?

Thank you.
Last edited by The_Honourable on October 5th, 2014, 3:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

The King Izahtrini

Re: LF: "Adverse Possession" Lawyers in South

Postby The King Izahtrini » October 4th, 2014, 5:03 pm

Any reputable lawyer worth something can help, check the directory.

Or are you looking for a squatter lawyer as well that can relate to the case?

In any event good luck with the squabbles

Postby The_Honourable » October 4th, 2014, 6:08 pm

The King Izahtrini wrote:Any reputable lawyer worth something can help, check the directory.

Or are you looking for a squatter lawyer as well that can relate to the case?

In any event good luck with the squabbles

Although the aim is adverse possession, a squatter lawyer would help tremendously. I am not a squatter tho. Is to use the law to get a piece of land out of a bigger share which is legally under your name. Yeah i know, brrr?

dkhan946

Postby dkhan946 » October 4th, 2014, 6:21 pm

navindra ramnanan in harris street...did a few for ppl i kno...seems to be good...729 5642.

Postby The_Honourable » October 5th, 2014, 3:25 pm

dkhan946 wrote:navindra ramnanan in harris street...did a few for ppl i kno...seems to be good...729 5642.

Thanks dkhan946.

Any more recommendations feel free to post.

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » October 5th, 2014, 8:58 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
Although the aim is adverse possession, a squatter lawyer would help tremendously. I am not a squatter tho. Is to use the law to get a piece of land out of a bigger share which is legally under your name. Yeah i know, brrr?

u care to clarify this a bit?

Postby The_Honourable » October 6th, 2014, 4:03 am

megadoc1 wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:

u care to clarify this a bit?

Well basically, there is a 9 acre piece of land that has 4 owners who have undivided shares, meaning each owner has a 1/4 share. All the owners died where the children of the owners died as well except my mom who is entitled to a 1/4 share. The past owners gave permission to a few families to build on the land to collect rent but since the owners died and nothing was cleared title-wise, more houses went up on the land (squatters) over the decades... so yuh done know pressure dey.

My mom applied for her father's (my grandfather) estate and she is about to get the grant from the High Court to proceed. The problem is that since the land is undivided, my mom cannot specifically cut our her 1/4 share of the land because the law states that all owners must be present and agree on which area of the land shall be divided and be given to which owner but... the other owners are deceased. 2 out of the 4 owners estate passed onto their children but they are deceased also. She can't sell or even mortgage her share without the other owners signing and well... they are dead. Then there are houses on the land already which complicates everything further. We are not planning to run anybody off it anyway.

My grandfathers house is located in a clear area of the land which works out to be approx 2 lots. This is where Adverse Possession comes in. Using this law, I want to know if it is possible for my mom to cut out the 2 lots that her father's house is on from the rest of the land which is taken basically by other tenants/squatters (the 9 acres). By doing this, she would have a separate deed where she now has the flexibility to do what she wants.

The King Izahtrini

Re: LF: "Adverse Possession"/Squatters Rights Lawyers in Sou

Postby The King Izahtrini » October 6th, 2014, 6:47 am

A lawyer will def be needed to research past deeds and death certificates to validate your claims to title.

It seems though you can either lay claim for the entire acreage and then transfer individually to each homeowner, which will incur stamp duty, surveying fees, draughting fees, more lawyer fees for each individual plot

or if you are willing to forego the remaining pieces, its been decades anyway, use the adverse possession loophole to re-claim your own family land. Have the court order it and save on the duties and squatter headache

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » October 6th, 2014, 11:13 am

polanc.com

Postby RBphoto » October 6th, 2014, 11:55 am

Go put up plywood shanty town and latrines all over the property and claim AWLLL AH DE LANNNNN for yourself. Call Ramesh to claim your prize.

Postby janfar » October 6th, 2014, 12:09 pm

Get a case a beer and 10 liters of pitchoil.

Drink beer, when drunk make flambo and unleash hell.

Postby The_Honourable » October 6th, 2014, 3:10 pm

Sumana.00 wrote:polanc.com

Thanks for the link Sumana.00.

janfar wrote:Get a case a beer and 10 liters of pitchoil.

Drink beer, when drunk make flambo and unleash hell.

I thought about that in the past. I would become a legend lol.

RBphoto wrote:Go put up plywood shanty town and latrines all over the property and claim AWLLL AH DE LANNNNN for yourself. Call Ramesh to claim your prize.

LOL! Well i have similar ideas that i'm working on... legally of course :mrgreen:

The King Izahtrini wrote:A lawyer will def be needed to research past deeds and death certificates to validate your claims to title.

It seems though you can either lay claim for the entire acreage and then transfer individually to each homeowner, which will incur stamp duty, surveying fees, draughting fees, more lawyer fees for each individual plot

or if you are willing to forego the remaining pieces, its been decades anyway, use the adverse possession loophole to re-claim your own family land. Have the court order it and save on the duties and squatter headache

Yup. I have most of the death certificates and the Certificate of Title. When i'm starting this phase is just to run over everything again to make sure nothing changed.

About claiming the entire 9 acres, that would be difficult because of other owners attached to it. The only way i am advised so far is that by court order, the whole acreage would be sold. After a valuation, whoever purchases now owns the 9 Acres. The money from that sale would be divided into 4 meaning my mom would get 1/4 of the amount. The remaining 3/4 shares would be put into a bank with the remaining owners name attached to it. Whoever is in control of their estates would be able to claim their share. If no claim is made after some years, i think the bank or treasury will take it.

The question is, who will buy land with a set of squatters on it? Asking from trouble.

Yeah my mom and i already thinking to forego most of her own share which is already taken by squatters and just claim the area (approx 2 lots) that her father's house is on using adverse possession, or use the law to remove all encumbrances from her own 1/4 share so she would be able to sell, mortgage, etc. For the latter, since she has paperwork to show her predicament, she may get the grant from the court but they could go against her because of tenants on it. Safer to just apply for the 2 lots.

All this a lawyer that deals with Adverse Possession/Squatters rights can help me out with.

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » October 7th, 2014, 5:50 pm

with adverse possession one must show that they were in absolute control of whatever piece of property that they are claiming, for more than 16 years, sure u can go that route but if the others are not there that long you can try yuh hand and get what is rightly yours ...good luck [/getto style lawer]
Last edited by megadoc1 on October 7th, 2014, 6:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.

shottah_crew

Postby shottah_crew » October 7th, 2014, 6:01 pm

So u gonna try to claim adverse possession to what exactly? Cuz from what you are saying, you have to prove you have been in undisturbed possession and evidence to the contrary is other people living on the land. Sounds like THEM could get the squatter lawyer and make mass now.

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » October 7th, 2014, 6:19 pm

it is possible that his mom was on the property plus 30 years and its also possible that the others are recent you cant say unless u have the info at hand
also his mom came of the line of one of the paper title holders

Postby pioneer » October 7th, 2014, 6:33 pm

Bulldoze every single piece of those scum.

Postby The_Honourable » October 8th, 2014, 1:32 am

pioneer wrote:Bulldoze every single piece of those scum.

Pios if you only know eh... :evilbat:

megadoc1 wrote:with adverse possession one must show that they were in absolute control of whatever piece of property that they are claiming, for more than 16 years, sure u can go that route but if the others are not there that long you can try yuh hand and get what is rightly yours ...good luck [/getto style lawer]

I could try meh hand or i can allow them to buy the land their house is on so each tenant will have their own deed and i get back something. That can only be done if my mom is allowed full control of the 1/4 share.

Thanks megadoc1.

shottah_crew wrote:So u gonna try to claim adverse possession to what exactly? Cuz from what you are saying, you have to prove you have been in undisturbed possession and evidence to the contrary is other people living on the land. Sounds like THEM could get the squatter lawyer and make mass now.

As i mentioned in the last post, I want to use the law to remove all encumbrances from her own 1/4 share that she is about to get from the court so she would be able to sell, mortgage, etc... but you are right, people living on the land so it may not work out which i acknowledged. BUT... she can claim adverse possession for her father's house which is on 2 lots of land which she lived in, rented and currently maintains. She has been doing this over 16 years so i suspect i would get thru faster this way.

They could make mass but it's difficult for them to do so because since 1 out of the 4 owners is "active' (my mom) where her 1/4 share is about to be granted by the court, whoever applies for land under adverse possession more than likely would be denied. When the law 1st came out, "making mass" was easy till the amendments were made making it harder for people to obtain property by that law. I think that is why many lawyers don't do it anymore.

Postby pioneer » October 8th, 2014, 12:08 pm

Infect them with some kinda disease, squatters cannot afford proper health care.

Or poison their water supply.

Postby Chimera » October 8th, 2014, 12:15 pm

get some animal skeletons from the butcher
goat head/cow head/chicken head etc

go in puja store and buy a setta different colour candles and powders
go in grocery and buy a setta different spices

get a rasta friend to stay by you for a while

place animal heads along with candles and powders at different points throughout the land

let the rasta be seen sitting and praying in front of the animal heads

a night, have a public altercation with said rasta, where you asking him to stop his evil ways and please leave you alone

let the rasta loudly threaten you "i gwan kill all unno bloodclaat, tonite d spirit ah fi tek yuh!"

obtain some blood and smear it on the clothes you wearing that night and leave it next to one of the animal heads

then disappear for a two weeks and let the rasta harass the other people living on the land. they'll leave.

problem solved, works everytime

ill send you my bill.

Postby The_Honourable » October 8th, 2014, 1:21 pm

Yuh diabolical Pioneer... but ABA, take win :lol:

Postby pioneer » October 8th, 2014, 1:57 pm

Or unleash a pack of pitbulls on the land, every man jack will ride out.