kjaglal76v2 wrote:this aint singapore
pioneer wrote:PNM boasts about the waterfront complex, yet those buildings have problems like rusted toilet/sewer lines, leaking toilets and when rain falls water leaks into the building. The carpark leaks badly also.
Who gonna fix it?
Let's hope ministries move out before it becomes a government problem. Let the banking/private sector beatup.
Habit7 wrote:If you think the PP have any hopes of reducing nepotism good luck. Several individuals with falsified qualifications have never defrauded our nation such as now with no expectation of justice.
Decentralization for traffic reduction is a pipe dream. 700,000 cars is the problem, not POS. Putting key govt facilities in obscure places just makes it harder for the commuting public to get there. Plus it reduces public efficiency because we all have to leave residential and urban areas to go to middle of a canefield and then face the traffic on the way back again. Countries with these problems faced them with improved public transport and mass transit to the suburbs, not by spreading everything so thin you can't run an errand on your lunch hour.
Furthermore there needs a policy of road maintenance not governed by the whim of minister. Roads resurfacing needs to be done based on priority, class and usage. Paving roads in rural UNC areas when the EMR and SMR is bumpy like a washboard and rural PNM areas like Toco and Point Fortin ain't smell new pitch in a while.
De Dragon wrote:You, like him are selfish and uncaring about the average man who must journey to POS for every single Government service. You also contradict yourself by saying that efficiency will be reduced by having to journey outside of your area to access a service, yet are comfortable with a system that funnels thousands of citizens daily to a basically one way in/out road system to POS.
pugboy wrote:Same with water, many bigshot areas of maraval do not get water regularly even though they vote for imbert each time. Cannot understand this.
j.o.e wrote:pugboy wrote:Same with water, many bigshot areas of maraval do not get water regularly even though they vote for imbert each time. Cannot understand this.
But this goes against what we arguing for...Water isn't a political football, its a right. Why should voting or not voting for Imbert or any other MP affect if you do or don't get water. Isn't water delivery a function of WASA?
SiR8081 wrote:b/c roads in trinidad are paved when a politician says so, not an engineer from the MOT/MOWI.
and the roads in trinidad are sheit and we have the world's only viable pitch lake and in the past roads were only paved at election time. only the unc under bas and now the pp under kams pave roads right thru the term, not just at election time.
imo, when roads are only paved at election time, i consider it to be a big mamaguy on the electorate. road paving exercises have become a political football inside and outside the parliament wrt to colm impsbert et al
j.o.e wrote:great so we have confirmed lots of paving in rural communities...so what next? What would you like seen done or improved in PP's next term? If they had a second term exactly like the first would you be satisfied? What should they focus on next?
These are honest questions eh ppl.....let's discuss
Habit7 wrote:De Dragon wrote:You, like him are selfish and uncaring about the average man who must journey to POS for every single Government service. You also contradict yourself by saying that efficiency will be reduced by having to journey outside of your area to access a service, yet are comfortable with a system that funnels thousands of citizens daily to a basically one way in/out road system to POS.
Every single Government service the average man must journey into POS? Stop insulting the citizens of my beloved country.
There is not one way in and out of POS. There are several ways by car, maxi, taxi, bus and ferry. With the Licencing Office in Caroni we now need to build a highway to get there by car and to travel there you must get to Curepe first. When Tertiary Education goes to Enterprise good luck getting transport north. You will have walk to get something to take you into crowded Chaguanas then go north.
POS has direct transport to more than 50% of the country including Tobago. With a rapid rail that make it even more efficient. Repaving roads and building box drains without a comprehensive drainage plan is not enough to fully grow our economy. We need innovation and industrialized development, what PNM has done to make us the envy of the region.
Habit7 wrote:SiR8081 wrote:b/c roads in trinidad are paved when a politician says so, not an engineer from the MOT/MOWI.
and the roads in trinidad are sheit and we have the world's only viable pitch lake and in the past roads were only paved at election time. only the unc under bas and now the pp under kams pave roads right thru the term, not just at election time.
imo, when roads are only paved at election time, i consider it to be a big mamaguy on the electorate. road paving exercises have become a political football inside and outside the parliament wrt to colm impsbert et al
Well under the PNM the PURE program was supposed to end the paving of road based on minister say so. Jack Warner continued it but Suruj doing his own thing.
The pitch from the pitch Lake doesn't give use extra asphalt cement to pave road. Trinidad Lake Asphalt is an additive to bitumen to make it stronger and more resistant to skids among other things. Bitumen from a refinery along with aggregate is what paves roads, not pitch from the Pitch Lake. That is why because of the multiple shutdowns at Point-a-Pierre we have to import bitument from Barbados to pave roads.
All govts pave around election time, our last paving drive was before local govt elections and now with this latest one it makes me wonder in election coming sooner than 2015.
SiR8081 wrote:they like everything like how they like their party, sheit.
the reason i say this is b/c the maraval wwtp is 1 of 200 malfunctioning WWTP throughout T&T where the waste water enters the ground water and contaminates it. why you think ppl in diego martin so dotish. the water they flush down the toilet coming right back in they pipe. the effect is more pronounced in maraval, i cannot remember why though but their was an article on this a good few years back.
read about true development. improving the quality of life of the people through sanitation. ppl dont understand the importance of sanitation that is why the place so nasty and we have problems with dengue etc. you want to help eradicate ebola? well the only way to get rid of diseases like these are through proper waste management etc but the pnm is just a waste, no management.
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Gan ... 86401.html
You said the average man must come to POS for every govt service. Please make sense of that statement.De Dragon wrote:So only urban POS people alone must not contend with traffic to access Government services located in POS? By one way in and out I meant roadway access. I maintain that it is uncaring to ignore the citizens of the rest of the country by subjecting them to 4+ hours of traffic to get to POS.
The LO in La Paille village would be the head office, so public servants from all over the country would have to go there to work. I don't know what essential services would be moved to that office but there is wisdom in having the LO next to our RORO port and the all the major dealerships being nearby. Nevertheless there will obviously be some services that you will have to do in La Paille.janfar wrote:Decentralization does not mean moving everything. Why would people from the north need to come to Caroni to use the LO when they could use the one in POS?
Opening new offices in deferent parts of the country will lessen the amount of distance people have to travel to get to different govt offices. That's commonsense but it seems your love affair for the PNM has made you delusional enough to not see this.
Habit7 wrote:You said the average man must come to POS for every govt service. Please make sense of that statement.De Dragon wrote:So only urban POS people alone must not contend with traffic to access Government services located in POS? By one way in and out I meant roadway access. I maintain that it is uncaring to ignore the citizens of the rest of the country by subjecting them to 4+ hours of traffic to get to POS.
Who is uncaring about POS traffic? I am endorsing the plan to build a rapid rail that would make access to POS in minutes, not "4+ hours of traffic" that apparently you know of ppl who face this.
The LO in La Paille village would be the head office, so public servants from all over the country would have to go there to work. I don't know what essential services would be moved to that office but there is wisdom in having the LO next to our RORO port and the all the major dealerships being nearby. Nevertheless there will obviously be some services that you will have to do in La Paille.janfar wrote:Decentralization does not mean moving everything. Why would people from the north need to come to Caroni to use the LO when they could use the one in POS?
Opening new offices in deferent parts of the country will lessen the amount of distance people have to travel to get to different govt offices. That's commonsense but it seems your love affair for the PNM has made you delusional enough to not see this.
We already have many govt offices in many urban areas around the country. Ppl choose to come to POS because it offers many different services within close proximity. Our capital like many other world capitals will have the headquarters of govt departments because ppl work more efficient with easy communication and less barriers impeding them. Spreading out all the ministries throughout the country will just reduce govt efficiency and bring more traffic congestion to lesser urban areas.