.::The Official General Election 2015 Thread::.

Which major party will you be voting for in G.E. 2015?

Poll ended at April 9th, 2014, 7:52 pm

People's National Movement
26%
People's Partnership
53%
Independent Liberal Party
2%
Neither/Abstain
20%

Total votes: 388

Re: .::The Official General Election 2015 Thread::.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 4th, 2014, 12:32 pm

kjaglal76v2 wrote:this aint singapore :arrow:

Your posts are always on point kfaglal.

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » October 4th, 2014, 12:40 pm

PP use state funds & improve the lives of members of the population

PNM use the same funds to improve the like of a canadian citizen & his chinese wife!!

SiR8081

Postby SiR8081 » October 4th, 2014, 12:43 pm

How come the PNM could spend billions on wasteful summits but could never spend TT$2B on WASA like this govt to bring the 24/7 water supply from 18% to 57% of the nation?

Everything in the PNM is a priority except that which truly benefits the population. They don't even improve the lives of their dunce supporters, only the pockets of the executive elite.

Explain the PNM development model where all the building in town bess but the roads to them are sheit, they have no water, they have no proper sanitation, if yuh crack a window in the hyatt is burning beetham garbage iymc and if rain fall yuh arse dark in flood water but rowley talking about getting ready to put this country back in the developmental path. Where this fool really living? Trinidad exists beyond the lighthouse in town.

I hope all yuh pnm supporters could eat, drink and flush toilet with that rapid rail. Rowley say he ready ready ready to be PM. What is his plan to develop the nation, rapid rail, yuh ask him what else, rapider rail.

This PP govt lead by KPB is FAR from being the best or ideal but when compared to the PNM over the past decade, is chalk and cheese.

AND FYI we do not need a rapid rail, we need to increase our road infrastructure but most importantly we need to reduce the taxes on cars and remove the subsidy on fuel. That way people can afford a better vehicle but at the same time, they pay full price to operate it. Our road infrastructure has seen little upgrades over the past decade compared to what is required.

Plasters on sores is the solution to all problems in this nation and the hard part is ppl expect some kind of radically different result.

That rapid rail if they implement it, I would like to know what would be the operations of it, and I am sure like every state agency, it will run buss, rack up a huge debt and then the PNM will scrap it just like the did the original TGR and it will be the same khaki pants all over again. People in trinidad just don't learn.

Postby pugboy » October 4th, 2014, 12:43 pm

we are also paying huge loans on that project which was completed in record time cost no problem.

pioneer wrote:PNM boasts about the waterfront complex, yet those buildings have problems like rusted toilet/sewer lines, leaking toilets and when rain falls water leaks into the building. The carpark leaks badly also.

Who gonna fix it?

Let's hope ministries move out before it becomes a government problem. Let the banking/private sector beatup.

Postby Habit7 » October 4th, 2014, 1:18 pm

If you think the PP have any hopes of reducing nepotism good luck. Several individuals with falsified qualifications have never defrauded our nation such as now with no expectation of justice.

Decentralization for traffic reduction is a pipe dream. 700,000 cars is the problem, not POS. Putting key govt facilities in obscure places just makes it harder for the commuting public to get there. Plus it reduces public efficiency because we all have to leave residential and urban areas to go to middle of a canefield and then face the traffic on the way back again. Countries with these problems faced them with improved public transport and mass transit to the suburbs, not by spreading everything so thin you can't run an errand on your lunch hour.

Furthermore there needs a policy of road maintenance not governed by the whim of minister. Roads resurfacing needs to be done based on priority, class and usage. Paving roads in rural UNC areas when the EMR and SMR is bumpy like a washboard and rural PNM areas like Toco and Point Fortin ain't smell new pitch in a while.

kjaglal76v2

Postby kjaglal76v2 » October 4th, 2014, 1:22 pm

lollllll is still we time now & we gonna see bout we own first or foremost :arrow:

in d meantime allyuh could remain PNM & hungry

Postby j.o.e » October 4th, 2014, 1:33 pm

People still think decentralization is the #1 way to deal with traffic? San Fernando is a mess, Chaguanas is a mess, port of. Spain is a mess...decentralize to where? even outlying areas like penal, princes town etc...not saying decentralization wouldn't help but it will barely make a dent.
In cities around the world there are ppl who can afford to buy a car and drive but they don't have to because there are more convenient options. Give ppl a mass transit and remove the subsidy. Trickle down effect, less cars on the road, more reasonable car prices, more ppl being moved around quicker and safer, and clearer roads for those who's jobs require them to be on the road as a necessity.
East/west and North/south tracks
And this should not be considered a PNM initiative but a development policy...just as the interchanges were continued after the PNM left office. Time we leave politics for politicians and development and planning to technocrats and the people.
Last edited by j.o.e on October 4th, 2014, 1:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby De Dragon » October 4th, 2014, 1:34 pm

Habit7 wrote:If you think the PP have any hopes of reducing nepotism good luck. Several individuals with falsified qualifications have never defrauded our nation such as now with no expectation of justice.

Decentralization for traffic reduction is a pipe dream. 700,000 cars is the problem, not POS. Putting key govt facilities in obscure places just makes it harder for the commuting public to get there. Plus it reduces public efficiency because we all have to leave residential and urban areas to go to middle of a canefield and then face the traffic on the way back again. Countries with these problems faced them with improved public transport and mass transit to the suburbs, not by spreading everything so thin you can't run an errand on your lunch hour.

Furthermore there needs a policy of road maintenance not governed by the whim of minister. Roads resurfacing needs to be done based on priority, class and usage. Paving roads in rural UNC areas when the EMR and SMR is bumpy like a washboard and rural PNM areas like Toco and Point Fortin ain't smell new pitch in a while.

You learnt well at the feet of your master Rowley who said the exact same thing recently. You, like him are selfish and uncaring about the average man who must journey to POS for every single Government service. You also contradict yourself by saying that efficiency will be reduced by having to journey outside of your area to access a service, yet are comfortable with a system that funnels thousands of citizens daily to a basically one way in/out road system to POS.

SiR8081

Postby SiR8081 » October 4th, 2014, 1:38 pm

The EMR is currently being repaved, just this week, from eddie hart savannah all the way up to lopinot junction get paved. i cannot remember the last time that road was paved and i can remember as far back as 2007 asking myself when will that road will be repaved. Come out your hole and you will see you talking sheit.

The only time the EMR was paved in that vicinity was the asphalt on caura bridge alone as the road was slipping. This was back when Esther le Gendre replaced eddie hart for puna. Imagine the whole road was sheit and they only pave the asphalt on the bridge alone and the timing was the usual PNM time to pave pieces of road, election time.

and talking about toco, who repairing the entire toco main road and building the valencia highway?
talking about point fortin, who building the highway and built a desalination plant in point fortin. for the first time in 40 years the people have water in their pipes, even the Mayor was ecstatic. who building the hospital in point fortin?
Last edited by SiR8081 on October 4th, 2014, 1:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pugboy » October 4th, 2014, 1:40 pm

so should the roads be paved or not if they are in bad condition ?

Postby j.o.e » October 4th, 2014, 1:43 pm

Why is road paving still a political score? Seriously..this is not pro PP or PNM. Those services should be handled regardless of Government once funds are available. Purpose of local Gov't?

SiR8081

Postby SiR8081 » October 4th, 2014, 1:52 pm

b/c roads in trinidad are paved when a politician says so, not an engineer from the MOT/MOWI.

and the roads in trinidad are sheit and we have the world's only viable pitch lake and in the past roads were only paved at election time. only the unc under bas and now the pp under kams pave roads right thru the term, not just at election time.

imo, when roads are only paved at election time, i consider it to be a big mamaguy on the electorate. road paving exercises have become a political football inside and outside the parliament wrt to colm impsbert et al

Postby pugboy » October 4th, 2014, 1:54 pm

Same with water, many bigshot areas of maraval do not get water regularly even though they vote for imbert each time. Cannot understand this.

Postby Habit7 » October 4th, 2014, 2:00 pm

De Dragon wrote:You, like him are selfish and uncaring about the average man who must journey to POS for every single Government service. You also contradict yourself by saying that efficiency will be reduced by having to journey outside of your area to access a service, yet are comfortable with a system that funnels thousands of citizens daily to a basically one way in/out road system to POS.

Every single Government service the average man must journey into POS? Stop insulting the citizens of my beloved country.

There is not one way in and out of POS. There are several ways by car, maxi, taxi, bus and ferry. With the Licencing Office in Caroni we now need to build a highway to get there by car and to travel there you must get to Curepe first. When Tertiary Education goes to Enterprise good luck getting transport north. You will have walk to get something to take you into crowded Chaguanas then go north.

POS has direct transport to more than 50% of the country including Tobago. With a rapid rail that make it even more efficient. Repaving roads and building box drains without a comprehensive drainage plan is not enough to fully grow our economy. We need innovation and industrialized development, what PNM has done to make us the envy of the region.

Postby j.o.e » October 4th, 2014, 2:01 pm

pugboy wrote:Same with water, many bigshot areas of maraval do not get water regularly even though they vote for imbert each time. Cannot understand this.

But this goes against what we arguing for...Water isn't a political football, its a right. Why should voting or not voting for Imbert or any other MP affect if you do or don't get water. Isn't water delivery a function of WASA?

Postby janfar » October 4th, 2014, 2:02 pm

Lol at posts.

SiR8081

Postby SiR8081 » October 4th, 2014, 2:05 pm

they like everything like how they like their party, sheit.

the reason i say this is b/c the maraval wwtp is 1 of 200 malfunctioning WWTP throughout T&T where the waste water enters the ground water and contaminates it. why you think ppl in diego martin so dotish. the water they flush down the toilet coming right back in they pipe. the effect is more pronounced in maraval, i cannot remember why though but their was an article on this a good few years back.

read about true development. improving the quality of life of the people through sanitation. ppl dont understand the importance of sanitation that is why the place so nasty and we have problems with dengue etc. you want to help eradicate ebola? well the only way to get rid of diseases like these are through proper waste management etc but the pnm is just a waste, no management.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Gan ... 86401.html

SiR8081

Postby SiR8081 » October 4th, 2014, 2:12 pm

j.o.e wrote:
pugboy wrote:Same with water, many bigshot areas of maraval do not get water regularly even though they vote for imbert each time. Cannot understand this.

But this goes against what we arguing for...Water isn't a political football, its a right. Why should voting or not voting for Imbert or any other MP affect if you do or don't get water. Isn't water delivery a function of WASA?

picong aside and old talk aside.

I agree with you fully, water and other amenities are a right. Something is wrong with our form of governance when projects to afford basic goods and services have to wait on the say so of politicans. Many of these functions I agree should reside with technocrats at the various ministries but for now, this is how our system is.

how do we change this system we have that regardless of what agenda a politician has, the needs of the citizens are met? That is the real problem in our nation.

Postby Habit7 » October 4th, 2014, 2:15 pm

SiR8081 wrote:b/c roads in trinidad are paved when a politician says so, not an engineer from the MOT/MOWI.

and the roads in trinidad are sheit and we have the world's only viable pitch lake and in the past roads were only paved at election time. only the unc under bas and now the pp under kams pave roads right thru the term, not just at election time.

imo, when roads are only paved at election time, i consider it to be a big mamaguy on the electorate. road paving exercises have become a political football inside and outside the parliament wrt to colm impsbert et al

Well under the PNM the PURE program was supposed to end the paving of road based on minister say so. Jack Warner continued it but Suruj doing his own thing.

The pitch from the pitch Lake doesn't give use extra asphalt cement to pave road. Trinidad Lake Asphalt is an additive to bitumen to make it stronger and more resistant to skids among other things. Bitumen from a refinery along with aggregate is what paves roads, not pitch from the Pitch Lake. That is why because of the multiple shutdowns at Point-a-Pierre we have to import bitument from Barbados to pave roads.

All govts pave around election time, our last paving drive was before local govt elections and now with this latest one it makes me wonder in election coming sooner than 2015.

Postby 1UZFE » October 4th, 2014, 2:20 pm

j.o.e wrote:great so we have confirmed lots of paving in rural communities...so what next? What would you like seen done or improved in PP's next term? If they had a second term exactly like the first would you be satisfied? What should they focus on next?
These are honest questions eh ppl.....let's discuss

Bunny post like these is y i have nothing to say. "Useful" 8-)
"Pavin in rural communities" Diego highway" CRH in Valsayn and El Soccoro, Trincity, Grande is not "really " rural i wud think.

Postby j.o.e » October 4th, 2014, 2:30 pm

I just going by what ppl said...saying that country dirt roads got paved first time and communities that neglected got asphalt etc...I didn't mean to suggest that ONLY rural places were paved. My apologies if it came across that way

Postby Habit7 » October 4th, 2014, 2:36 pm

1jumpinwithoutreadingbefore

Postby De Dragon » October 4th, 2014, 2:55 pm

Habit7 wrote:
De Dragon wrote:You, like him are selfish and uncaring about the average man who must journey to POS for every single Government service. You also contradict yourself by saying that efficiency will be reduced by having to journey outside of your area to access a service, yet are comfortable with a system that funnels thousands of citizens daily to a basically one way in/out road system to POS.

Every single Government service the average man must journey into POS? Stop insulting the citizens of my beloved country.

There is not one way in and out of POS. There are several ways by car, maxi, taxi, bus and ferry. With the Licencing Office in Caroni we now need to build a highway to get there by car and to travel there you must get to Curepe first. When Tertiary Education goes to Enterprise good luck getting transport north. You will have walk to get something to take you into crowded Chaguanas then go north.

POS has direct transport to more than 50% of the country including Tobago. With a rapid rail that make it even more efficient. Repaving roads and building box drains without a comprehensive drainage plan is not enough to fully grow our economy. We need innovation and industrialized development, what PNM has done to make us the envy of the region.

So only urban POS people alone must not contend with traffic to access Government services located in POS? By one way in and out I meant roadway access. I maintain that it is uncaring to ignore the citizens of the rest of the country by subjecting them to 4+ hours of traffic to get to POS.

Postby janfar » October 4th, 2014, 3:21 pm

Habit7 wrote:
SiR8081 wrote:b/c roads in trinidad are paved when a politician says so, not an engineer from the MOT/MOWI.

Well under the PNM the PURE program was supposed to end the paving of road based on minister say so. Jack Warner continued it but Suruj doing his own thing.

The pitch from the pitch Lake doesn't give use extra asphalt cement to pave road. Trinidad Lake Asphalt is an additive to bitumen to make it stronger and more resistant to skids among other things. Bitumen from a refinery along with aggregate is what paves roads, not pitch from the Pitch Lake. That is why because of the multiple shutdowns at Point-a-Pierre we have to import bitument from Barbados to pave roads.

All govts pave around election time, our last paving drive was before local govt elections and now with this latest one it makes me wonder in election coming sooner than 2015.

Habit7, your arguments are poor at best.

Decentralization does not mean moving everything. Why would people from the north need to come to Caroni to use the LO when they could use the one in POS?

Opening new offices in deferent parts of the country will lessen the amount of distance people have to travel to get to different govt offices. That's commonsense but it seems your love affair for the PNM has made you delusional enough to not see this.

Postby rfari » October 4th, 2014, 4:00 pm

SiR8081 wrote:they like everything like how they like their party, sheit.

the reason i say this is b/c the maraval wwtp is 1 of 200 malfunctioning WWTP throughout T&T where the waste water enters the ground water and contaminates it. why you think ppl in diego martin so dotish. the water they flush down the toilet coming right back in they pipe. the effect is more pronounced in maraval, i cannot remember why though but their was an article on this a good few years back.

read about true development. improving the quality of life of the people through sanitation. ppl dont understand the importance of sanitation that is why the place so nasty and we have problems with dengue etc. you want to help eradicate ebola? well the only way to get rid of diseases like these are through proper waste management etc but the pnm is just a waste, no management.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Gan ... 86401.html

U know which administration started the ball rolling on this right? And who stopped it, albeit briefly, like all mega projects from a previous regime?

I feel like u does read messages off punchin bottles and come here and post it unno. Amount of kklksness u does try to pass off as valid arguments

Postby Habit7 » October 4th, 2014, 4:01 pm

De Dragon wrote:So only urban POS people alone must not contend with traffic to access Government services located in POS? By one way in and out I meant roadway access. I maintain that it is uncaring to ignore the citizens of the rest of the country by subjecting them to 4+ hours of traffic to get to POS.
You said the average man must come to POS for every govt service. Please make sense of that statement.

Who is uncaring about POS traffic? I am endorsing the plan to build a rapid rail that would make access to POS in minutes, not "4+ hours of traffic" that apparently you know of ppl who face this. :?
janfar wrote:Decentralization does not mean moving everything. Why would people from the north need to come to Caroni to use the LO when they could use the one in POS?

Opening new offices in deferent parts of the country will lessen the amount of distance people have to travel to get to different govt offices. That's commonsense but it seems your love affair for the PNM has made you delusional enough to not see this.
The LO in La Paille village would be the head office, so public servants from all over the country would have to go there to work. I don't know what essential services would be moved to that office but there is wisdom in having the LO next to our RORO port and the all the major dealerships being nearby. Nevertheless there will obviously be some services that you will have to do in La Paille.

We already have many govt offices in many urban areas around the country. Ppl choose to come to POS because it offers many different services within close proximity. Our capital like many other world capitals will have the headquarters of govt departments because ppl work more efficient with easy communication and less barriers impeding them. Spreading out all the ministries throughout the country will just reduce govt efficiency and bring more traffic congestion to lesser urban areas.

Postby 16 cycles » October 4th, 2014, 4:43 pm

Why in this age of internet, all ministries need to be geographically close to each other?

Can someone identify an example where having ministries close to each other be helpful?

I see ppl making the point abt efficiency when dealing with a government office.....has public servant efficiency increased?

Postby Habit7 » October 4th, 2014, 4:48 pm

Because we haven't invented avatars controllable through a WiFi connection yet.

As a result, actual people have to work and interact with one another.

Some services were meant to go online with TTConnect and/or use the many sites throughout the country but...

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » October 4th, 2014, 5:11 pm

A bullet train could go around this country within minutes. Could make 1 stop at chauguanas, then POS, then Curepe, then Arima then Grande then Manzan?

would that be too much stops?

Postby janfar » October 4th, 2014, 5:31 pm

Habit7 wrote:
De Dragon wrote:So only urban POS people alone must not contend with traffic to access Government services located in POS? By one way in and out I meant roadway access. I maintain that it is uncaring to ignore the citizens of the rest of the country by subjecting them to 4+ hours of traffic to get to POS.
You said the average man must come to POS for every govt service. Please make sense of that statement.

Who is uncaring about POS traffic? I am endorsing the plan to build a rapid rail that would make access to POS in minutes, not "4+ hours of traffic" that apparently you know of ppl who face this. :?
janfar wrote:Decentralization does not mean moving everything. Why would people from the north need to come to Caroni to use the LO when they could use the one in POS?

The LO in La Paille village would be the head office, so public servants from all over the country would have to go there to work. I don't know what essential services would be moved to that office but there is wisdom in having the LO next to our RORO port and the all the major dealerships being nearby. Nevertheless there will obviously be some services that you will have to do in La Paille.

We already have many govt offices in many urban areas around the country. Ppl choose to come to POS because it offers many different services within close proximity. Our capital like many other world capitals will have the headquarters of govt departments because ppl work more efficient with easy communication and less barriers impeding them. Spreading out all the ministries throughout the country will just reduce govt efficiency and bring more traffic congestion to lesser urban areas.

Can't imagine you working in the field man.