HUNGER striker Dr Wayne Kublalsingh is not a “mad man” and his protest over issues related to the Debe to Mon Desir segment of the Solomon Hochoy Highway extension to Point Fortin should not be dismissed.
And even if he is wrong, Kublalsingh should be admired for his passion, president of the Penal/Debe Chamber of Commerce, Shahid Hosein, said yesterday. Hosein was asked about the Chamber’s position on the advantages of the highway to the development of the area, and on the decision of Kublalsingh to undertake a second hunger strike in protest over the construction of the highway between Debe and on Desir. Hosein said: “Anywhere there are highways, it lends to the development of those areas. But Penal and Debe are already well-established centres and the fact that the highway is passing through is not going to affect these areas. “Essentially we are in support of the highway because it would eventually open these areas when time comes for further development but I do not see it significantly impacting commerce in our specific area of Penal and Debe.” He said there were many interconnected roads in the area, which already allow the traveller to bypass Penal. “So therefore I don’t see the highway affecting us. It will take people from San Fernando to Siparia and bypass Penal and more quickly. But I don’t see it affecting the commerce itself. Penal and Debe are long-established centres that people will gravitate towards, depending on the services that are available and they have significant commercial interest established. For population to expand, the commercial interest will expand as long as the economy remains buoyant we will continue to expand.” Hosein said the Chamber has recommended to former works minister Jack Warner that the existing roads be strengthened and widened to avoid traffic. He added: “While the Chamber is for the highway we had some other reservations (that) this highway is really prone to flooding and therefore proper hydrological studies had to be done to ensure that we are not adding to the problem of flooding, because we don’t know if the flooding in Debe which happened for the first time (last month) is just an aberration because of the construction (of the highway) or if it is now a new feature. “My thinking is that it is an aberration based on the construction. Proper hydrological studies I think is the most critical for a highway in that area.” Hosein also said: “Even if one does not agree with Dr Kublalsingh, one has to admire he is prepared to stand up and fight for what he believes. “Very few of us are prepared to do that. So that even if he is wrong, you can’t help but admire that he is fighting for something. And the fact that the Armstrong report was commissioned and paid for by the State and citizens of this country, it seems to me that one should give some recognition for the Armstrong report, (and) based on what Dr Kublalsingh is saying, that is not the case. I do not, for one minute, think that Dr. Kublalsingh is a mad man.” Hosein also asked that citizens take note that the issue was not only about adequately compensating affected residents who must move out of the way of the highway. “You are fragmenting this community that have been together and there the psychological aspect of the dislocation this must be given consideration. People will make way for further development once they are properly compensated. Once there is trust and credibility on both sides anything can be resolved.”
brams112 wrote:Some people just don't understand what they quote.The guy said,the hi way will not affect the business places because who need to buy will still come,traffic will continue on its way,once people get their compensation,they will move,but they will be nostalgic,Kubs doing what he thinks is a good deed,don't laff at him,he never said he supports him,just admire his courage,not so.
So that even if he is wrong, you can’t help but admire that he is fighting for something. And the fact that the Armstrong report was commissioned and paid for by the State and citizens of this country, it seems to me that one should give some recognition for the Armstrong report, (and) based on what Dr Kublalsingh is saying, that is not the case. I do not, for one minute, think that Dr. Kublalsingh is a mad man.” Hosein also asked that citizens take note that the issue was not only about adequately compensating affected residents who must move out of the way of the highway. “You are fragmenting this community that have been together and there the psychological aspect of the dislocation this must be given consideration. People will make way for further development once they are properly compensated. Once there is trust and credibility on both sides anything can be resolved.
....What I do care about is that we are allowed to influence our development in a proper way..
The hway is being treated just like the smelter-pushed ahead -public opinion be dammed.
It was wrong then..
link wrote:....What I do care about is that we are allowed to influence our development in a proper way..
The hway is being treated just like the smelter-pushed ahead -public opinion be dammed.
It was wrong then..
the smelter was ALWAYS wrong.........u contradict yrslf.....the highway 'good' but u compare it to d smelter that would hve resulted in the wholesale rape of this country's resources...???
Redman wrote:link wrote:....What I do care about is that we are allowed to influence our development in a proper way..
It was wrong then..
the smelter was ALWAYS wrong.........u contradict yrslf.....the highway 'good' but u compare it to d smelter that would hve resulted in the wholesale rape of this country's resources...???
I was talking about the fact that both the PNM and UNC make a decision and push forward without due consultation-ignoring serious opposition from the people most directly affected.
sMASH wrote:Hmm. Watching the oas promo video, it doesn't seem too bad now.
I had thought thqt when it reaches debe it would have turned up to go to mosquito creek. His would have been unnecessary as well as costly, as it would have been passing through mangrove.
But it isn't so. The creek road is just an off shoot upgrade and not part of the high way
Passing through ghandi village takes it away Rom he mangrove and onto better ground.
Now I'm a more at ease with that section of the project.
Only two problems I have remaining: reluctance to consider the Armstrong report, and boxing in the mangrove at th creek.
civicman wrote:Redman wrote:link wrote:....What I do care about is that we are allowed to influence our development in a proper way..
It was wrong then..
I was talking about the fact that both the PNM and UNC make a decision and push forward without due consultation-ignoring serious opposition from the people most directly affected.
Ah highway ?
As a leader there will always be decisions that some will like and some dont.
The majority supported it in the area a handful say no.
In a vote you go with the majority you will never get 100%.
If you go with every opinion you will never get anything done.
No road ever built no school or hospital because some always has a different opinion of what is better ,
put here no put it there ,no spend the money on something else.
Redman wrote:civicman wrote:Redman wrote:link wrote:....What I do care about is that we are allowed to influence our development in a proper way..
It was wrong then..
Ah highway ?
As a leader there will always be decisions that some will like and some dont.
The majority supported it in the area a handful say no.
In a vote you go with the majority you will never get 100%.
If you go with every opinion you will never get anything done.
No road ever built no school or hospital because some always has a different opinion of what is better ,
put here no put it there ,no spend the money on something else.
Allyuh reading?
DUE CONSULTATION.
The GORTT has the responsibility to disclose the rationale behind their decisions.
The administrate on behalf of us.
If they can't defend their rationale then why spend the money.
The Armstrong report listed major short comings in the process.
There is a reason there is aprocess that is used in public projects like this..
AG: Kublalsingh trying to be clever
Story Created: Sep 22, 2014 at 9:20 PM ECT
Story Updated: Sep 22, 2014 at 9:20 PM ECT
Attorney General Anand Ramlogan yesterday questioned whether Highway Re-Route Movement leader Dr Wayne Kublalsingh would have given in to his demands if he was the one on a hunger strike.
Speaking to reporters following the special sitting of the Industrial Court, Ramlogan asked:
“Had I lost the matter Dr Kublalsingh filed in court (High Court) and the injunction was granted to stop the highway, if I had said I was going on a hunger strike so that Dr Kublalsingh could remove the injunction so the highway could be built because I felt strongly about it, would he have relented and allowed the highway to be built?”
“I think not...the point is, as Attorney General I cannot support any litigant who loses a matter against the State and goes to set up camp and declare that they are going to starve themself to death so that they can get what the court did not give them,” he said.
Ramlogan criticised Kublalsingh for his “clever attempt to shift the ball in the Government’s quarter” by saying his life is in Government’s hands.
He described this move as disingenuous on the part of the environmentalist.
“Your life, each and every human being’s life is in his own hands,” Ramlogan said.
The Attorney General denied claims by the HRM that Government did not consider the Armstrong report which concluded that the Environmental Impact Assessment for the Debe to Mon Desir segment of the Solomon Hochoy Highway extension was flawed.
He said Works and Infrastructure Minister Dr Surujrattan Rambachan is able to detail how the recommendations contained in the report were fulfilled.
“The Government is constrained in drilling down too deep into this matter because we are not going to be lured into the trap of speaking about a matter whilst it is before the court. Dr Kublalsingh has an application as we speak before the Court of Appeal to seek leave of permission to take his case to the Privy Council,” Ramlogan said.
“In the face of that application, how could it be right to act in a manner that is inconsistent with all the established norms and to ask that the Government engage in a battle on the ground on a war of words. The place for those war of words was removed from the ground into the Supreme Court of justice and the Government will therefore abide by the rulings of the court to act in a manner to support due process, law and order,” he added.
“At the end of the day, we have a duty to listen to the voices of those who endure the horrific, traumatic and distressing traffic, to get up at 3 a.m. without seeing your daughter go to school, without being able to cook a breakfast for that child because you have to catch a bus at San Fernando by the wharf and to run into Port of Spain to beat that traffic every morning.”
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/AG- ... 00001.html