Whats considered a good salary in TnT?

orangefox

Re: Whats considered a good salary in TnT?

Postby orangefox » July 28th, 2014, 4:05 pm

Murray street .. eat crix no more

Postby zoom rader » July 28th, 2014, 4:10 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:So if I only makin 5K I could live a partially comfortable life?

Crappy car
crappy bed
crappy clothes
crappy apartment
crappy TV
Bess couch

for everything else there's mastercard

You forgot crappy gul

TiidaBanton

Postby TiidaBanton » July 28th, 2014, 6:03 pm

Adopt the mentality i had for a long time...if u cant make it on one salary...try two!!! Work more than one job- and guess what u dont have to worry about PAYE tax if both jobs are 5k and under. But ur gross wud be 9-10k a month!! You would be tired and wouldnt have time for much but if u do it right u would have a decent savings once u have the ambition and discipline.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 28th, 2014, 6:04 pm

jmccomie wrote:$150 a week? nah Effectic on jones with allyuh

No jones whatsoever I can assure you.

hopefully it will be a little more.

But $150 a week is the guaranteed minimum I will get. The rest is up to luck, trinituner powerseller, and good graces of my brother or grand mom.

Postby K74T » July 28th, 2014, 6:09 pm

You're on my good graces but you ain't keeping your car.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 28th, 2014, 6:14 pm

PapaC wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
kjaglal76v2 wrote:all the best on yur studies pal,when u finally make it u.wud appreciate all you have & hopefully wont squander it

^ yeah man thanks

My dream is to be a Computer Engineer, . I picked ispecializing in Robotics Engineeringt because money has never ever been my immediate concern, would just like to be paid to do what I love.

Atleast this way I know how to save money now and won't squander it later on.

You have a nice project to do next year once you get in if that is your field. Once the course project doesn't change for System Dynamics.

Hey thanks this is nice to know.

My aim is building something around a quad copter with its own Artificial Intelligence using raspberry Pi. Either that or control the robot with an android phone via bluetooth with a custom designed software for android from scratch. I would have to find out which is acceptable, remote control or AI.

MIT and Stanford has excellent videos given away for free with their open courseware for calculus and computer science.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » July 28th, 2014, 6:22 pm

Effectic, while it's good that you're keeping out of trouble, you should be doing more at your age.
I think you should look around for better opportunities. At the moment, undergrad education is free. It won't be that way forever, so take advantage of it now before it's too late.
Work your ass off in school and your job for a few years, and then take it easy after that if you want.

If you're motivated enough, you can have both a day job, and still have time to do what you like.
Your day job is capital for your hobbies and interests, but never let your day job consume you.

Postby Slartibartfast » July 28th, 2014, 6:41 pm

TiidaBanton wrote:Adopt the mentality i had for a long time...if u cant make it on one salary...try two!!! Work more than one job- and guess what u dont have to worry about PAYE tax if both jobs are 5k and under. But ur gross wud be 9-10k a month!! You would be tired and wouldnt have time for much but if u do it right u would have a decent savings once u have the ambition and discipline.

Uhhhh this isn't true. You are supposed to list all sources of income on your tax return form. If you getting paid cash for one of the jobs you may not get caught

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 28th, 2014, 6:43 pm

^ Hey thanks silent riot for the advice, I would still prefer fulltime to focus on what I want to do which is really specific and also I want to get distinctions in everything. I would like that after I completed this I would have shown my time spent for 3 years was time very well spent.

I am trying to stand out basically, be as ingenious as I can since my main outlook on this program is not about doing it for the sake of holding a piece of paper that says Bsc degree or doing it for the sole purpose of making money. My aim is Ingenuity and being quite hardcore in robotics/firmware. I simply cannot view it in anyother form, I must view Engineering as such what its name implies.

I intend to learn well well beyond what the school will ever teach me. So I can have lecturers to consult on where I need help in projects and make the most of it. I don't want to work my ass off for a few years and then have it easy, I would prefer to work my ass off for a lifetime but doing what I love. I don't think I would be very useful if I didn't work as hard as I can and go the extra mile. I feel somewhat blessed being given this opportunity to have this for FREE.

I think it will only last as long as the oil and gas will last. So trying to make the most of it right now, and the fact that they added discrete mathematics to it makes me feel even more excited. Gives me a lot of motivation to go out of my way and do far more on my own. Dunno if that makes sense but this is best as I can describe it. I have lots to thank for due to internet access and open courseware by MIT and Stanford for computer science and electrical engineering. If I ignore all of this and let it all go to waste I would not be able to forgive myself.

A true beauty of Computer Engineering is its perfect blend of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science. Its 2 disciplines I would love to do and cannot choose between both of them. This allows me to do both without sacrificing the other.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » July 28th, 2014, 6:51 pm

I remember the days when I worked for $1500 - $3500 a month. I paid my tithes and what not and still had money to buy a used car and lime. Savings was low but I gradually cut back on the liming and was able to save a little more and further studies as a result. I know a guy working in a Ministry and his salary is $7,500. a month and his wife works in a kiosk at a popular mall for $3,500. a month so that is $11,000. gross income. He has a simple 3 bedroom flat house, a b14 and 2 kids. If they can make it work then any single person living by parents making even 8k a month should have a blast of a time.

Problem in work I see everyday is the younger people lack financial planning and when the older heads try to talk to them they quick to say "but you is ah manager or supervisor etc..easy for you to say" but them aint know the ketch tail and years it took to reach there. If I knew what I do now at the age of 21 I would have been driving the E250 with AMG kit today. To each their own.

Postby DFC » July 28th, 2014, 7:54 pm

Farming is hard work but it pays off.
That's why them indians getting rich quickly.

If you follow what's going on in the country you can get rich quickly the legal way.

TiidaBanton

Postby TiidaBanton » July 28th, 2014, 10:24 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:
TiidaBanton wrote:Adopt the mentality i had for a long time...if u cant make it on one salary...try two!!! Work more than one job- and guess what u dont have to worry about PAYE tax if both jobs are 5k and under. But ur gross wud be 9-10k a month!! You would be tired and wouldnt have time for much but if u do it right u would have a decent savings once u have the ambition and discipline.

Uhhhh this isn't true. You are supposed to list all sources of income on your tax return form. If you getting paid cash for one of the jobs you may not get caught

Elaborate...ok so i have a day job paying 5000.00 (no paye right?)....I get a night job paying 4200.( no paye right?) both being deducted nis and health surcharge. Both on the same bir number. Technically neither one of those salaries qualify me for PAYE. I dont think they can check your salaries collectively and tax you like that (i cud be wrong but too late money done spent lol)

GOAT

Postby GOAT » July 28th, 2014, 11:30 pm

Now me feeling shame about me lil $2500 OJT salary.
Been thinking about picking up a 2nd job just for a year to build a saving and probably buy a lil car for a lil $40000-$50000.
I can get a night job that pays $3500-$4000 a month but not sure if OJT will allow that.
Planning to look into it and do both for a year, take out a lil $1000 a month and that works up to like $5000 a month going into the savings.
I live at home so don't have to contribute much.
Then after a year or so I can look into furthering my education.
Will just be getting 4-5 hours sleep but a lil sacrifice ent the worst thing in the world.

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » July 29th, 2014, 12:03 am

I would say 15 grand (b4 tax) a month to get a mortgage for 1 mil to buy a house by yourself

Postby X2 » July 29th, 2014, 12:35 am

agent007 wrote:Well if you want to own a car and house, with expenditure for utilities, subscriptions, insurance, groceries, misc. items and maintenance and mandatory statutory deductions and save something reasonable at the end of the month you need to have at least a $25k gross salary. If you have a house wife and a kid and perhaps a second car then that figure is passing $30k a month. You may not have a benz or a boat or money to travel over seas every summer but you can live a very comfortable middle class life.

If you still living with parents and you have no debts to pay and your success is judged by what car you drive at the school reunion then as little as $8k a month gross can land you a brand new car from sparky to versa with a 10% dp. or you can easily buy a roro march/tiida/wingroad/corolla/axela with a 20% dp and still have money to lime.

One can save a lot of cash if they bring their home cooked food to work instead of buying a $30k-$40k lunch on a daily basis plus buy breakfast. That is $1,000. wasted on avg per month. Just a tip.

This seems fairly accurate...

People who do not pay a mortgage, insurance, utilities will require MUCH less to live.... 2500-4000 if single, renting cheap and trying to maintain a car. And if you manage to still live with your parents...or a sugar momma... even less.

I would say a fair median salary starts at 15k monthly for a grown, single income male that plans to ever save for retirement. 8-10k if you are dual income female.

If you working in certain government offices.... double all the numbers above to determine a 'good' salary. If you working in the oil industry... even as a rough neck... you are probably laughing at the salaries you're seeing in the thread... :lol:

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 29th, 2014, 8:15 am

DFC wrote:Farming is hard work but it pays off.
That's why them indians getting rich quickly.

If you follow what's going on in the country you can get rich quickly the legal way.

this

my logic: work for ah lil 15k gross a month,save something and build a place and rent it out...when you finish you collecting two set ah $$...when you start collecting the second pay check it could be used as your mortgage for the "dream"house and yuh still aint touching the first salary.

another thing is gardening,that sheit works

Advent

Postby Advent » July 29th, 2014, 8:17 am

wehs my 5000tt a month with rent to pay and meh ole civic that need fixing not good,
But living simple seems to be the best way to live comfortable.
need to finish my degree yes.

X2 wrote:
agent007 wrote:Well if you want to own a car and house, with expenditure for utilities, subscriptions, insurance, groceries, misc. items and maintenance and mandatory statutory deductions and save something reasonable at the end of the month you need to have at least a $25k gross salary. If you have a house wife and a kid and perhaps a second car then that figure is passing $30k a month. You may not have a benz or a boat or money to travel over seas every summer but you can live a very comfortable middle class life.

If you still living with parents and you have no debts to pay and your success is judged by what car you drive at the school reunion then as little as $8k a month gross can land you a brand new car from sparky to versa with a 10% dp. or you can easily buy a roro march/tiida/wingroad/corolla/axela with a 20% dp and still have money to lime.

One can save a lot of cash if they bring their home cooked food to work instead of buying a $30k-$40k lunch on a daily basis plus buy breakfast. That is $1,000. wasted on avg per month. Just a tip.

This seems fairly accurate...

People who do not pay a mortgage, insurance, utilities will require MUCH less to live.... 2500-4000 if single, renting cheap and trying to maintain a car. And if you manage to still live with your parents...or a sugar momma... even less.

I would say a fair median salary starts at 15k monthly for a grown, single income male that plans to ever save for retirement. 8-10k if you are dual income female.

If you working in certain government offices.... double all the numbers above to determine a 'good' salary. If you working in the oil industry... even as a rough neck... you are probably laughing at the salaries you're seeing in the thread... :lol:

what age is considered grown to allyuh?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 29th, 2014, 8:26 am

I does wonder how people does buy a $30-$40 lunch everyday...people learn to cook nuh...no matter how I tired I may be,I'd go home and prepare my lunch for the next day yes...once maybe twice I'd buy food for the month.

Crackpot

Postby Crackpot » July 29th, 2014, 8:35 am

lalloboy101 wrote:^^there are people i the company I work for that dont have degrees and work for on av. 95 to 120k a month on assignments.

I pay you $500 to give you my resume' then upon gaining of said job I give you half the salary for 6 mths :|

#no shame
#dead serious

orangefox

Postby orangefox » July 29th, 2014, 8:53 am

it cheeper buy a lunch for $40 .. than cook

Postby Trini Hookah » July 29th, 2014, 10:20 am

Crackpot wrote:
lalloboy101 wrote:^^there are people i the company I work for that dont have degrees and work for on av. 95 to 120k a month on assignments.

I pay you $500 to give you my resume' then upon gaining of said job I give you half the salary for 6 mths :|

#no shame
#dead serious

Hashtag game pretty weak, "we'll call you".

antlind

Postby antlind » July 29th, 2014, 10:25 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I does wonder how people does buy a $30-$40 lunch everyday...people learn to cook nuh...no matter how I tired I may be,I'd go home and prepare my lunch for the next day yes...once maybe twice I'd buy food for the month.

Very true. I see people working with me buying breakfast and lunch every day. That is real laziness.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 29th, 2014, 11:10 am

orangefox wrote:it cheeper buy a lunch for $40 .. than cook

so you'd spend $1000 on lunch for the mth and still buy groceries???wa kinda logic is dat?

skulls

Postby skulls » July 29th, 2014, 11:43 am

Where is that
Link a fellow tuner nah

urabus

Postby urabus » July 29th, 2014, 12:04 pm

orangefox wrote:it cheeper buy a lunch for $40 .. than cook

Really, since when?

It just comes down to laziness when u get home that u cant prepare something quick to eat.
I also see ppl i work with, who work for way less than i do, buying both breakfast and lunch, at least 4 times a week. I wonder how they do it, i try to prepare lunch, most days, as its cheaper, healthier, cleaner and I know what I'm putting in my belly at the end of the day.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » July 29th, 2014, 1:16 pm

TiidaBanton wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:

Elaborate...ok so i have a day job paying 5000.00 (no paye right?)....I get a night job paying 4200.( no paye right?) both being deducted nis and health surcharge. Both on the same bir number. Technically neither one of those salaries qualify me for PAYE. I dont think they can check your salaries collectively and tax you like that (i cud be wrong but too late money done spent lol)

Both companies using the same BIR number. When Inland Revenue do their audit you will get a bill to pay your outstanding tax. Anything after $60k, ie $5k a month is 25% tax you owe the government. Even if your second company don't take it, you are supposed to pay your taxes when is time to file your td4.

Know someone this happened to, and they don't care if you spend the money already.

Postby Slartibartfast » July 29th, 2014, 1:51 pm

TiidaBanton wrote:
Slartibartfast wrote:

Nah the real way it works is as follows

You don't get charged on the first $60,000 of NET income for the year
Any income above $60,000 NET will be charged at 25% of your income

So let's say you get a job in October for $15,000 / month after deductions and you didn't work from January to September because you were in school or something

In that scenario, even though you are earning 15k/month, you pay no taxes because 15x4=60k and that's all you made for the year.

No if you have two jobs at 4k each and you start working in february to december that 8k a month which is 88k for the year.

so you PAYE for the year would be 25% of 88k-60k = 25% of 28K = $7000 for the year
Now divide that by the number of months you worked = 7000/11 = $636.36 PAYE/month

Postby DVSTT » July 29th, 2014, 3:20 pm

Slartibartfast wrote:So if I only makin 5K I could live a partially comfortable life?

Crappy car
crappy bed
crappy clothes
crappy apartment
crappy TV
Bess couch

for everything else there's mastercard

I'm OJT so 5k a month is a lot to me :o

Postby Slartibartfast » July 29th, 2014, 5:34 pm

4k real nice if you still living at home. Once you move out rent and gtoceries will eat that up

Postby meccalli » July 29th, 2014, 9:50 pm

Thanks for your story effectic, sometimes i still think about what it would be like just abandoning all my degree pursuits(past accomplished and current pursued) and just go on the sea (fisherman) and live a humble, simple (enjoyable)life.