Slartibartfast wrote:So if I only makin 5K I could live a partially comfortable life?
Crappy car
crappy bed
crappy clothes
crappy apartment
crappy TV
Bess couch
for everything else there's mastercard
jmccomie wrote:$150 a week? nah Effectic on jones with allyuh
PapaC wrote:EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:kjaglal76v2 wrote:all the best on yur studies pal,when u finally make it u.wud appreciate all you have & hopefully wont squander it
^ yeah man thanks
My dream is to be a Computer Engineer, . I picked ispecializing in Robotics Engineeringt because money has never ever been my immediate concern, would just like to be paid to do what I love.
Atleast this way I know how to save money now and won't squander it later on.
You have a nice project to do next year once you get in if that is your field. Once the course project doesn't change for System Dynamics.
TiidaBanton wrote:Adopt the mentality i had for a long time...if u cant make it on one salary...try two!!! Work more than one job- and guess what u dont have to worry about PAYE tax if both jobs are 5k and under. But ur gross wud be 9-10k a month!! You would be tired and wouldnt have time for much but if u do it right u would have a decent savings once u have the ambition and discipline.
Slartibartfast wrote:TiidaBanton wrote:Adopt the mentality i had for a long time...if u cant make it on one salary...try two!!! Work more than one job- and guess what u dont have to worry about PAYE tax if both jobs are 5k and under. But ur gross wud be 9-10k a month!! You would be tired and wouldnt have time for much but if u do it right u would have a decent savings once u have the ambition and discipline.
Uhhhh this isn't true. You are supposed to list all sources of income on your tax return form. If you getting paid cash for one of the jobs you may not get caught
agent007 wrote:Well if you want to own a car and house, with expenditure for utilities, subscriptions, insurance, groceries, misc. items and maintenance and mandatory statutory deductions and save something reasonable at the end of the month you need to have at least a $25k gross salary. If you have a house wife and a kid and perhaps a second car then that figure is passing $30k a month. You may not have a benz or a boat or money to travel over seas every summer but you can live a very comfortable middle class life.
If you still living with parents and you have no debts to pay and your success is judged by what car you drive at the school reunion then as little as $8k a month gross can land you a brand new car from sparky to versa with a 10% dp. or you can easily buy a roro march/tiida/wingroad/corolla/axela with a 20% dp and still have money to lime.
One can save a lot of cash if they bring their home cooked food to work instead of buying a $30k-$40k lunch on a daily basis plus buy breakfast. That is $1,000. wasted on avg per month. Just a tip.
DFC wrote:Farming is hard work but it pays off.
That's why them indians getting rich quickly.
If you follow what's going on in the country you can get rich quickly the legal way.
X2 wrote:agent007 wrote:Well if you want to own a car and house, with expenditure for utilities, subscriptions, insurance, groceries, misc. items and maintenance and mandatory statutory deductions and save something reasonable at the end of the month you need to have at least a $25k gross salary. If you have a house wife and a kid and perhaps a second car then that figure is passing $30k a month. You may not have a benz or a boat or money to travel over seas every summer but you can live a very comfortable middle class life.
If you still living with parents and you have no debts to pay and your success is judged by what car you drive at the school reunion then as little as $8k a month gross can land you a brand new car from sparky to versa with a 10% dp. or you can easily buy a roro march/tiida/wingroad/corolla/axela with a 20% dp and still have money to lime.
One can save a lot of cash if they bring their home cooked food to work instead of buying a $30k-$40k lunch on a daily basis plus buy breakfast. That is $1,000. wasted on avg per month. Just a tip.
This seems fairly accurate...
People who do not pay a mortgage, insurance, utilities will require MUCH less to live.... 2500-4000 if single, renting cheap and trying to maintain a car. And if you manage to still live with your parents...or a sugar momma... even less.
I would say a fair median salary starts at 15k monthly for a grown, single income male that plans to ever save for retirement. 8-10k if you are dual income female.
If you working in certain government offices.... double all the numbers above to determine a 'good' salary. If you working in the oil industry... even as a rough neck... you are probably laughing at the salaries you're seeing in the thread...
lalloboy101 wrote:^^there are people i the company I work for that dont have degrees and work for on av. 95 to 120k a month on assignments.
Crackpot wrote:lalloboy101 wrote:^^there are people i the company I work for that dont have degrees and work for on av. 95 to 120k a month on assignments.
I pay you $500 to give you my resume' then upon gaining of said job I give you half the salary for 6 mths![]()
#no shame
#dead serious
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I does wonder how people does buy a $30-$40 lunch everyday...people learn to cook nuh...no matter how I tired I may be,I'd go home and prepare my lunch for the next day yes...once maybe twice I'd buy food for the month.
orangefox wrote:it cheeper buy a lunch for $40 .. than cook
lalloboy101 wrote:^^there are people i the company I work for that dont have degrees and work for on av. 95 to 120k a month on assignments.
orangefox wrote:it cheeper buy a lunch for $40 .. than cook
TiidaBanton wrote:Slartibartfast wrote:TiidaBanton wrote:Adopt the mentality i had for a long time...if u cant make it on one salary...try two!!! Work more than one job- and guess what u dont have to worry about PAYE tax if both jobs are 5k and under. But ur gross wud be 9-10k a month!! You would be tired and wouldnt have time for much but if u do it right u would have a decent savings once u have the ambition and discipline.
Uhhhh this isn't true. You are supposed to list all sources of income on your tax return form. If you getting paid cash for one of the jobs you may not get caught
Elaborate...ok so i have a day job paying 5000.00 (no paye right?)....I get a night job paying 4200.( no paye right?) both being deducted nis and health surcharge. Both on the same bir number. Technically neither one of those salaries qualify me for PAYE. I dont think they can check your salaries collectively and tax you like that (i cud be wrong but too late money done spent lol)
TiidaBanton wrote:Slartibartfast wrote:TiidaBanton wrote:Adopt the mentality i had for a long time...if u cant make it on one salary...try two!!! Work more than one job- and guess what u dont have to worry about PAYE tax if both jobs are 5k and under. But ur gross wud be 9-10k a month!! You would be tired and wouldnt have time for much but if u do it right u would have a decent savings once u have the ambition and discipline.
Elaborate...ok so i have a day job paying 5000.00 (no paye right?)....I get a night job paying 4200.( no paye right?) both being deducted nis and health surcharge. Both on the same bir number. Technically neither one of those salaries qualify me for PAYE. I dont think they can check your salaries collectively and tax you like that (i cud be wrong but too late money done spent lol)
Slartibartfast wrote:So if I only makin 5K I could live a partially comfortable life?
Crappy car
crappy bed
crappy clothes
crappy apartment
crappy TV
Bess couch
for everything else there's mastercard