The official tropical weather thread 2015

Richard Marshall

Re: The official tropical weather thread

Postby Richard Marshall » July 18th, 2014, 5:27 pm

Shouldn't citizens be to blame also? Everyone only depending on the Gov't.

Postby cinco » July 18th, 2014, 5:28 pm

S_2NR wrote:well if you lived in the US before enlighten me cinco.
how is Trinidad better than the US in this regard?
Also, he is the one who started this comparison sheit.
I just want to know what is being done to alleviate this flooding problem that happens EVERY SINGLE YEAR?

Ask the people in the us that live in flood prone areas

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 18th, 2014, 5:29 pm

S_2NR wrote: we need to wake up and demand better from those in power.
clap clap clap

now lead by example 8-)

Postby S_2NR » July 18th, 2014, 5:35 pm

cinco wrote:
I just want to know what is being done to alleviate this flooding problem that happens EVERY SINGLE YEAR?

well you seem to know so im asking you.
how is the us, canada, the uk, etc not better than trinidad in this regard?
is the always criticized odpm up to mark to their counterparts in developed countries?

Postby rfari » July 18th, 2014, 5:41 pm

Crh clear

Postby cinco » July 18th, 2014, 5:46 pm

S_2NR wrote:
cinco wrote:

well you seem to know so im asking you.
how is the us, canada, the uk, etc not better than trinidad in this regard?
is the always criticized odpm up to mark to their counterparts in developed countries?

They go through the same flooding every year. It happens in floodplains you kno and our flooding subsides pretty quickly as it does over there.

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » July 18th, 2014, 6:49 pm

Cinco, leave he nah. He just toting how he get rejected for a US visa.

Dem fellas don't read papers? Them talk like they never saw floods in 'developed' countries covering entire houses. Rain is a natural occurrence... Just like tornadoes flattening entire communities year after year. Not covering for the present gov't, but a lot of work is underway with regards to rivers, drains and bridges.

b14inb12

Postby b14inb12 » July 18th, 2014, 7:07 pm

The Ministry of Transport has given permission for drivers to use the Priority Bus Route from Morvant Junction to Arima until 8 pm today. This is because of flooding on the Churchill Roosevelt Highway, the police Public Affairs Unit said in a release.

Postby K74T » July 18th, 2014, 7:11 pm

Reports are that the landslide has been cleared.

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 18th, 2014, 7:24 pm

it rain by allyuh today? it rain by me today

Postby Hook » July 18th, 2014, 7:34 pm

It's not that T&T can't "handle all this rain". We're not even getting what July usually brings.
Up to Thursday we'd accumulated about a quarter of the 30yr average for rainfall, so even if today's 24hr rainfall pushes us over the 50% mark, it still means that we're doing it wrong - gov't and citizens alike.

The late professor Ken Julien remarked in the 70's that we will pay for our dry season sins with floods and landslides in the rainy season, and throughout the 80's we were bombarded with anti-litter campaigns, literature on slash n' burn agriculture, drains in POS were dredged... a lot was done, people gave a damn.
We dropped the ball on this one. Everybody did. Prof was right.

I'm certain there are reforestation campaigns, but why aren't they visible? There's a lot more to helping the environment than beach clean-ups and "eat the lionfish instead" promotion.
I hope in Bhoe's million dollar plan for Maracas, they include a proper assessment of the hillsides along the roadway and terraces and/or retaining walls are employed. Doesn't make sense pumping a shitload of money into upgrading a beach facility if nobody can get to it.

We have a job to do and our administration has a job to do. What we gonna do?

Postby Morpheus » July 18th, 2014, 7:52 pm

Robin Mara........I mean Hook....

You a weatherman? This in your field or something? Or this just interests you and hence you did research and gained knowledge?

Serious questions eh. Cause the avg man ain't know half the stuff you do.

Nice...

Postby S_2NR » July 18th, 2014, 7:58 pm

shotta 20 wrote:Cinco, leave he nah. He just toting how he get rejected for a US visa.

Dem fellas don't read papers? Them talk like they never saw floods in 'developed' countries covering entire houses. Rain is a natural occurrence... Just like tornadoes flattening entire communities year after year. Not covering for the present gov't, but a lot of work is underway with regards to rivers, drains and bridges.

I had us visa since I was 5. Try again.
Yes yes, let's compare natural disasters in other countries to a day of rain here.
Any other sheit u wanna throw at me?

RGF Asset Management

Postby RGF Asset Management » July 18th, 2014, 9:03 pm

Hook wrote:It's not that T&T can't "handle all this rain". We're not even getting what July usually brings.
Up to Thursday we'd accumulated about a quarter of the 30yr average for rainfall, so even if today's 24hr rainfall pushes us over the 50% mark, it still means that we're doing it wrong - gov't and citizens alike.

The [b]late professor Ken Julien r[/b]emarked in the 70's that we will pay for our dry season sins with floods and landslides in the rainy season, and throughout the 80's we were bombarded with anti-litter campaigns, literature on slash n' burn agriculture, drains in POS were dredged... a lot was done, people gave a damn.

I'm certain there are reforestation campaigns, but why aren't they visible? There's a lot more to helping the environment than beach clean-ups and "eat the lionfish instead" promotion.
I hope in Bhoe's million dollar plan for Maracas, they include a proper assessment of the hillsides along the roadway and terraces and/or retaining walls are employed. Doesn't make sense pumping a shitload of money into upgrading a beach facility if nobody can get to it.

Ken Julien died?????

Postby Hook » July 18th, 2014, 9:07 pm

Didn't he pass away in 2012?

Besides, that's all you got from that post?

RGF Asset Management

Postby RGF Asset Management » July 18th, 2014, 9:09 pm

Think u mean Julian Kenny

Postby K74T » July 18th, 2014, 9:10 pm

Hook, you're mistaking Ken Julien for Julian Kenny.

Postby Hook » July 18th, 2014, 9:14 pm

Meh. My bad. The message is the same.

DrunkenMaster16

Postby DrunkenMaster16 » July 18th, 2014, 9:21 pm

Hook wrote:Meh. My bad. The message is the same.

I get catch too doh worry. ahahah

Postby Morpheus » July 18th, 2014, 10:04 pm

Yeah I was like burr? Tell myself is probably another guy

Postby hustla_ambition101 » July 19th, 2014, 12:43 am

Hook wrote:It's not that T&T can't "handle all this rain". We're not even getting what July usually brings.

The late professor Julien Kenny remarked in the 70's that we will pay for our dry season sins with floods and landslides in the rainy season, and throughout the 80's we were bombarded with anti-litter campaigns, literature on slash n' burn agriculture, drains in POS were dredged... a lot was done, people gave a damn.

Sense, but while reforestation occurring in one area, quarrying negating the efforts in another so we spinning top in mud. We will never learn.

Edited for uncle hook
Last edited by hustla_ambition101 on July 20th, 2014, 11:23 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Hook » July 19th, 2014, 12:47 am

I should really edit that post to say Julian Kenny so y'all wouldn't keep quoting it with the wrong name.

whyteliver

Postby whyteliver » July 19th, 2014, 1:00 am

S_2NR wrote: we need to wake up and demand better from those in power.
clap clap clap

now lead by example 8-)

never.....

Postby K74T » July 19th, 2014, 7:55 am

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1405770959.284935.jpg

cornfused

Postby cornfused » July 20th, 2014, 11:19 am

Heavy intermittent showers since 5am , now constant heavy shower from 9 am in the lower hillside of the Northern Range Tunapuna . EMR St Augustine may be a mess

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » July 20th, 2014, 11:22 am

Santa Cruz . Rain,Rain,Rain

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » July 20th, 2014, 11:30 am

Rain in st jospeh like hell...
Time to leave the euro home and pull out a suv