S_2NR wrote:well if you lived in the US before enlighten me cinco.
how is Trinidad better than the US in this regard?
Also, he is the one who started this comparison sheit.
I just want to know what is being done to alleviate this flooding problem that happens EVERY SINGLE YEAR?
clap clap clapS_2NR wrote: we need to wake up and demand better from those in power.
cinco wrote:S_2NR wrote:well if you lived in the US before enlighten me cinco.
I just want to know what is being done to alleviate this flooding problem that happens EVERY SINGLE YEAR?
Ask the people in the us that live in flood prone areas
S_2NR wrote:cinco wrote:S_2NR wrote:well if you lived in the US before enlighten me cinco.
Ask the people in the us that live in flood prone areas
well you seem to know so im asking you.
how is the us, canada, the uk, etc not better than trinidad in this regard?
is the always criticized odpm up to mark to their counterparts in developed countries?
shotta 20 wrote:Cinco, leave he nah. He just toting how he get rejected for a US visa.
Dem fellas don't read papers? Them talk like they never saw floods in 'developed' countries covering entire houses. Rain is a natural occurrence... Just like tornadoes flattening entire communities year after year. Not covering for the present gov't, but a lot of work is underway with regards to rivers, drains and bridges.
Hook wrote:It's not that T&T can't "handle all this rain". We're not even getting what July usually brings.
Up to Thursday we'd accumulated about a quarter of the 30yr average for rainfall, so even if today's 24hr rainfall pushes us over the 50% mark, it still means that we're doing it wrong - gov't and citizens alike.
The [b]late professor Ken Julien r[/b]emarked in the 70's that we will pay for our dry season sins with floods and landslides in the rainy season, and throughout the 80's we were bombarded with anti-litter campaigns, literature on slash n' burn agriculture, drains in POS were dredged... a lot was done, people gave a damn.
We dropped the ball on this one. Everybody did. Prof was right.
I'm certain there are reforestation campaigns, but why aren't they visible? There's a lot more to helping the environment than beach clean-ups and "eat the lionfish instead" promotion.
I hope in Bhoe's million dollar plan for Maracas, they include a proper assessment of the hillsides along the roadway and terraces and/or retaining walls are employed. Doesn't make sense pumping a shitload of money into upgrading a beach facility if nobody can get to it.
We have a job to do and our administration has a job to do. What we gonna do?
Hook wrote:Meh. My bad. The message is the same.
Hook wrote:It's not that T&T can't "handle all this rain". We're not even getting what July usually brings.
Up to Thursday we'd accumulated about a quarter of the 30yr average for rainfall, so even if today's 24hr rainfall pushes us over the 50% mark, it still means that we're doing it wrong - gov't and citizens alike.
The late professor Julien Kenny remarked in the 70's that we will pay for our dry season sins with floods and landslides in the rainy season, and throughout the 80's we were bombarded with anti-litter campaigns, literature on slash n' burn agriculture, drains in POS were dredged... a lot was done, people gave a damn.
We dropped the ball on this one. Everybody did. Prof was right.
I'm certain there are reforestation campaigns, but why aren't they visible? There's a lot more to helping the environment than beach clean-ups and "eat the lionfish instead" promotion.
I hope in Bhoe's million dollar plan for Maracas, they include a proper assessment of the hillsides along the roadway and terraces and/or retaining walls are employed. Doesn't make sense pumping a shitload of money into upgrading a beach facility if nobody can get to it.
We have a job to do and our administration has a job to do. What we gonna do?
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:clap clap clapS_2NR wrote: we need to wake up and demand better from those in power.
now lead by example