kamakazi wrote:I am sad that a company had to do something like this to make the "next gen" consoles appear better.
Virus wrote:ruffneck_12 wrote:Here's something I found the other day while browsing Parts Express,
http://www.parts-express.com/wizards/se ... er&x=0&y=0
basically a solid state heat pump, looks like a good alternative to water cooling a CPU/GPU
the only drawbacks from what I read so far is that based on atmospheric conditions condensation can occur<<<biggest problem I see (temps get below freezing)
and on the hot side, heat is constantly being produced even if it's not connected to the CPU/GPU so the heatsink will have to be able to support the extra 25.7/51.4W PLUS the heat taken away from the CPU/GPU<<<shouldn't be a big problem for a decent aftermarket heatsink
--------------------
also what is a normal temp for a CPU/GPU in a room without AC and no overclocking?
Pros and Cons of Thermoelectric Cooling
Pros:
* You can get below ambient temperature. This is not possible with water cooling.
* Less expensive and more compact than other types of extreme CPU cooling.
* More reliable as there are no moving parts.
Cons:
* High power usage.
* If the cooling element of the Peltier fails, you can kill your CPU, as it will continue to heat up even after shutdown of the computer.
* Condensation: with temperatures dropping below ambient, condensation can form on the CPU - not a good thing.
ruffneck_12 wrote:Virus wrote:ruffneck_12 wrote:Here's something I found the other day while browsing Parts Express,
http://www.parts-express.com/wizards/se ... er&x=0&y=0
basically a solid state heat pump, looks like a good alternative to water cooling a CPU/GPU
the only drawbacks from what I read so far is that based on atmospheric conditions condensation can occur<<<biggest problem I see (temps get below freezing)
and on the hot side, heat is constantly being produced even if it's not connected to the CPU/GPU so the heatsink will have to be able to support the extra 25.7/51.4W PLUS the heat taken away from the CPU/GPU<<<shouldn't be a big problem for a decent aftermarket heatsink
--------------------
also what is a normal temp for a CPU/GPU in a room without AC and no overclocking?
Pros and Cons of Thermoelectric Cooling
Pros:
* You can get below ambient temperature. This is not possible with water cooling.
* Less expensive and more compact than other types of extreme CPU cooling.
* More reliable as there are no moving parts.
Cons:
* High power usage.
* If the cooling element of the Peltier fails, you can kill your CPU, as it will continue to heat up even after shutdown of the computer.
* Condensation: with temperatures dropping below ambient, condensation can form on the CPU - not a good thing.
I have a 100W peltier here. I put a drop of water on the cold side and it actually froze solid in under a minute
I go try it someday with a old CPU just for lulz
Spitfir3 wrote:^it looks nice i'll say that but at that price range i'd wonder what exactly they are trying to compete with..they're using amd which is the cheaper vendor yet they still can't compete with the prices of current gen consoles
fouljuice wrote:@bassotronics when you get it, check the "Computer Name"
When I got mine the had it as something containing the "~" character and I didn't take it on until much later I realised that that thing was causing many programs to not work or even install. ended up formatting and reinstalling windows.
@gracen why you doh just use a PS3 controller and XInput wrapper or betterDS3.
I using that a while now and never got no problems.
...This is partly because programmes have to be written from scratch to run on this type of chip, instead of on the traditional style which was conceived in the 1940s and still powers nearly all modern computers.
That design, where the processors and memory are separate, is a natural match for sequential, mathematical operations.
However, the heavily interconnected structure of biologically-inspired, "neuromorphic" systems like TrueNorth is said to be a much more efficient way of handling a lot of data at the same time...