PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

2NR Smurf

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby 2NR Smurf » July 4th, 2014, 6:05 pm

^Ubisoft claims they did it for stability/playability issues. The DOF with TheWorse mod really is a bit much, i ended up taking it off. Some people have reported stability issues with the mod turned on also. So maybe there is some merit to what ubisoft is claiming.

tmack

Postby tmack » July 4th, 2014, 9:47 pm

I remember reading an article about this, apparently they turn up all the 'extra goodies' for the demo at CES etc to make their product better and then dial it down for Q.C. purposes, also the 'alleged' talk is that Sony was actually doing it, cause they've got a Watchdogs film in production right now, who knows!

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » July 4th, 2014, 10:46 pm

kamakazi wrote:I am sad that a company had to do something like this to make the "next gen" consoles appear better.

Not the first time...remember Crysis 2.

and wrt to Watch dogs

http://www.kotaku.com.au/2014/06/ubisoft-explains-why-watch-dogs-on-pc-had-hidden-graphic-options/

trinisale

Postby trinisale » July 5th, 2014, 9:22 am

Who have a monitor for gaming to sell me

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » July 13th, 2014, 11:36 am

Hey guys, I'm lokking for a gaming laptop to buy. Been checking out this and was wondering if it is worth my cash or to look for something else. Don't really be home again to use the beast anymore. Want something that can give me a beast performance. Thanks in advance.

http://www.amazon.com/MSI-GT70-DOMINATO ... T0247J920E

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » July 13th, 2014, 1:18 pm

I have a MSI ge60 model from 2013 and it working good so far but I didn't need all that power.

This site has a good layout of all the options, and you can customise as well.
If is just CPU/GPU you care about, you may not need to spend all that money.

http://www.xoticpc.com/

or just the MSI ones

http://www.xoticpc.com/custom-gaming-laptops-notebooks-msi-laptops-ct-95_51_165.html

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » July 13th, 2014, 2:36 pm

Been looking to get one for work myself & decided on the lenovo y50, very good price/performance ratio imo, nice features and is very light weight. The only shitty thing about it I've read was the tn panel is not that good but considering everthing else it comes with I think I could look past that.

From what I've read those beastly laptops don't last too long battery wise when gaming, tend to get real hot and are very heavy. IMO it not worth the $ considering those things but to each his own.

Postby meccalli » July 13th, 2014, 9:09 pm

They don't last at all in any aspect(IMO). they're not using some special technology that allows them to run cooler than any modern gpu's. It has to perform, output the same heat and in the smallest possible room. I've seen many alienwares and asus last a year and that's it. Nevertheless, i used to game on a standard L toshiba with tf2 on dx8 settings, still works, so depending on what you're running, a less costly and more dependable option may be available.

TheOwnerPO

Postby TheOwnerPO » July 15th, 2014, 3:40 am

would really like a widescreen monitor but too expensive :cry: :o

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » July 15th, 2014, 8:17 pm

1) How wide you talking about? 2) What resolution?

Postby ruffneck_12 » July 15th, 2014, 8:21 pm

Virus wrote:
ruffneck_12 wrote:Here's something I found the other day while browsing Parts Express,

http://www.parts-express.com/wizards/se ... er&x=0&y=0

basically a solid state heat pump, looks like a good alternative to water cooling a CPU/GPU

the only drawbacks from what I read so far is that based on atmospheric conditions condensation can occur<<<biggest problem I see (temps get below freezing :shock: )

and on the hot side, heat is constantly being produced even if it's not connected to the CPU/GPU so the heatsink will have to be able to support the extra 25.7/51.4W PLUS the heat taken away from the CPU/GPU<<<shouldn't be a big problem for a decent aftermarket heatsink

--------------------
also what is a normal temp for a CPU/GPU in a room without AC and no overclocking?

Pros and Cons of Thermoelectric Cooling
Pros:

* You can get below ambient temperature. This is not possible with water cooling.
* Less expensive and more compact than other types of extreme CPU cooling.
* More reliable as there are no moving parts.

Cons:

* High power usage.
* If the cooling element of the Peltier fails, you can kill your CPU, as it will continue to heat up even after shutdown of the computer.
* Condensation: with temperatures dropping below ambient, condensation can form on the CPU - not a good thing.

I have a 100W peltier here. I put a drop of water on the cold side and it actually froze solid in under a minute

I go try it someday with a old CPU just for lulz :twisted:

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » July 16th, 2014, 1:35 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:
Virus wrote:
ruffneck_12 wrote:Here's something I found the other day while browsing Parts Express,

http://www.parts-express.com/wizards/se ... er&x=0&y=0

basically a solid state heat pump, looks like a good alternative to water cooling a CPU/GPU

the only drawbacks from what I read so far is that based on atmospheric conditions condensation can occur<<<biggest problem I see (temps get below freezing :shock: )

and on the hot side, heat is constantly being produced even if it's not connected to the CPU/GPU so the heatsink will have to be able to support the extra 25.7/51.4W PLUS the heat taken away from the CPU/GPU<<<shouldn't be a big problem for a decent aftermarket heatsink

--------------------
also what is a normal temp for a CPU/GPU in a room without AC and no overclocking?

Pros and Cons of Thermoelectric Cooling
Pros:

* You can get below ambient temperature. This is not possible with water cooling.
* Less expensive and more compact than other types of extreme CPU cooling.
* More reliable as there are no moving parts.

Cons:

* High power usage.
* If the cooling element of the Peltier fails, you can kill your CPU, as it will continue to heat up even after shutdown of the computer.
* Condensation: with temperatures dropping below ambient, condensation can form on the CPU - not a good thing.

I have a 100W peltier here. I put a drop of water on the cold side and it actually froze solid in under a minute

I go try it someday with a old CPU just for lulz :twisted:

I would use this together with passive heatsink to at least have a buffer. Sounds like a good idea.
Peltier assisted fan heatsink cooling

Edit
It will be easier to cool the coolant reservoir. And then pump the chilled water to the CPU/GPU water block. Also I think it should be programmed to come on only when the temp exceed a certain temp

http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/28284 ... er-cooling

Postby Ronaldo95163 » July 16th, 2014, 8:17 pm

Anyone here ever played Forza Horizon???

Saw some men on Youtube doing some highway pulls and it looks pretty cool. Part 2 is due this year as well.

Can't see myself buying a Xbox just for it though :cry:

iM@st@1

Postby iM@st@1 » July 16th, 2014, 9:58 pm

Forza 2 looks sweet, wish they would make a PC ver. Never got the chance to play it tho

Running Grid Autosport, pretty good racing sim, you should check that out

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » July 20th, 2014, 5:45 pm

Ended up buying this, got some great reviews on these msi, didn't came across any reviews with over heating, will post my reviews when i get it.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00IMT ... UTF8&psc=1

Postby Ronaldo95163 » July 29th, 2014, 6:31 pm

Thoughts on the controller??

I kinda find it too big...works on PC as well.

Wish they made the PC controllers small like the PS3s own...PC ones kinda bulky

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » July 29th, 2014, 9:19 pm

@bassotronics when you get it, check the "Computer Name"
When I got mine the had it as something containing the "~" character and I didn't take it on until much later I realised that that thing was causing many programs to not work or even install. ended up formatting and reinstalling windows.

@gracen why you doh just use a PS3 controller and XInput wrapper or betterDS3.
I using that a while now and never got no problems.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » July 30th, 2014, 11:17 pm

Already have a F710. Only problem I have with it is that it kinda bulky...probably because of the fact that it uses AA batteries. Would have been better if the battery was built in and the controller had a charging port on it.

After I played Fifa on a PS3 back in June I realized how cool that controller was

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » July 31st, 2014, 9:34 pm

I was initially going for a 360 controller since drivers/games were officially supported. Ended up with the DS3 because overall it was less bulky and less of a hassle (wrt to using wirelessly and recharging etc) dais my opinion though. Other people might disagree.

On another note, I find this looking hard.
The only reason I might consider getting it is to use as a htpc and I not in need of one yet.

Postby Spitfir3 » July 31st, 2014, 9:51 pm

^it looks nice i'll say that but at that price range i'd wonder what exactly they are trying to compete with..they're using amd which is the cheaper vendor yet they still can't compete with the prices of current gen consoles

tmack

Postby tmack » August 1st, 2014, 9:33 am

Spitfir3 wrote:^it looks nice i'll say that but at that price range i'd wonder what exactly they are trying to compete with..they're using amd which is the cheaper vendor yet they still can't compete with the prices of current gen consoles

Nah Maingear is one of the best 'custom boutiques' around now, the price is really for the lifetime tech support the machine comes with. I wouldn't mind that system to be earnest, slap on Ubuntu, add Netflix and Valve's steam software and you've got a very capable system that will be quiet and functional in your living room/office/den!

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » August 3rd, 2014, 7:24 pm

fouljuice wrote:@bassotronics when you get it, check the "Computer Name"
When I got mine the had it as something containing the "~" character and I didn't take it on until much later I realised that that thing was causing many programs to not work or even install. ended up formatting and reinstalling windows.

@gracen why you doh just use a PS3 controller and XInput wrapper or betterDS3.
I using that a while now and never got no problems.

Where am i looking for that? Got it about a week now, not getting time to post some unboxing pics, as for the working experience, so far all games running flawless on max settings

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » August 3rd, 2014, 9:06 pm

Right click on 'my computer' and click properties you should see it in the section after the one with Windows Experience Index

Postby maj. tom » August 8th, 2014, 8:01 am

New processor developed. TrueNorth chip. And this one is significant because it works in a different way from all other chips ever made before. Things are going to get very, very exciting in a short time when this starts to be utilized commercially.

http://www.bbc.com/news/science-environment-28688781

Scientists have produced a new computer chip that mimics the organisation of the brain, and squeezed in one million computational units called "neurons".

...the processor was "a new machine for a new era". But it will take some time for the chip, dubbed TrueNorth, to be commercially useful...

...This is partly because programmes have to be written from scratch to run on this type of chip, instead of on the traditional style which was conceived in the 1940s and still powers nearly all modern computers.

That design, where the processors and memory are separate, is a natural match for sequential, mathematical operations.

However, the heavily interconnected structure of biologically-inspired, "neuromorphic" systems like TrueNorth is said to be a much more efficient way of handling a lot of data at the same time...

http://www.nytimes.com/2014/08/08/science/new-computer-chip-is-designed-to-work-like-the-brain.html?_r=0
http://www.cnet.com/news/ibms-truenorth-processor-mimics-the-human-brain/

Postby Ronaldo95163 » August 10th, 2014, 5:29 pm

Battlefield 4 Free on Origin

Postby ismithx » August 10th, 2014, 6:56 pm

for a 1-week period

Postby Spitfir3 » August 10th, 2014, 7:32 pm

brb can't run bf4 on this potato

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » August 10th, 2014, 7:44 pm

They fix the store-language $hit as yet?

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » August 13th, 2014, 4:21 pm

Does anywhere in Trinidad sell peltier/thermoelectric coolers?

Postby ruffneck_12 » August 13th, 2014, 8:41 pm

when ddr4 gonna come out (and be affordable)?

I will do a rebuild when the next gen sheit comes out