Re: Neal & Massy re-branding exercise?

Postby ronsin1 » June 28th, 2014, 12:15 pm

"Messy" serv:o

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » June 28th, 2014, 1:26 pm

Many were not supposed to mention this information only until Monday 30th June. I guess confidentiality is a thing of the past and someone even posted a T-shirt assigned to the then Pereira & Co. which would be worn for the first time on Monday 30th.

Truth is, rebranding is necessary as not many people both internal (employees as well surprisingly) and external (customers) knew about all the sub companies associated with the Group. Most people knew HiLo and NM Automotive but little actually remember that CCS Technology and Borde Communications is now actually ILLUMINAT which is a NM Group Company. The local ICT Giant even suffered from stakeholder comments which suggested that the name was too close to ILLUMINATI.

Just recently Guardian Life was changed to Guardian Group so maybe in the near future ANSA McAL may consider same.

I welcome the name change so that everyone will know MASSY's true influence in the TT market and the regional presence. We expect MASSY clients will buy their technology products, groceries, cars, get rentals, financial/credit lending services, insurance services, energy services, concrete, construction equipment and shipping services etc..all under one brand. The most obvious downside to this as mentioned before is, if one subsidiary company fowls up wrt their customer service delivery it can affect the entire rebranded company.

Postby cinco » June 28th, 2014, 1:33 pm

acesinghit wrote:Many were not supposed to mention this information only until Monday 30th June. I guess confidentiality is a thing of the past and someone even posted a T-shirt assigned to the then Pereira & Co. which would be worn for the first time on Monday 30th.

Truth is, rebranding is necessary as not many people both internal (employees as well surprisingly) and external (customers) knew about all the sub companies associated with the Group. Most people knew HiLo and NM Automotive but little actually remember that CCS Technology and Borde Communications is now actually ILLUMINAT which is a NM Group Company. The local ICT Giant even suffered from stakeholder comments which suggested that the name was too close to ILLUMINATI.

Just recently Guardian Life was changed to Guardian Group so maybe in the near future ANSA McAL may consider same.

I welcome the name change so that everyone will know MASSY's true influence in the TT market and the regional presence. We expect MASSY clients will buy their technology products, groceries, cars, get rentals, financial/credit lending services, insurance services, energy services, concrete, construction equipment and shipping services etc..all under one brand. The most obvious downside to this as mentioned before is, if one subsidiary company fowls up wrt their customer service delivery it can affect the entire rebranded company.

Bet you cant find me one company who is happy with illuminat service and you can see why this will be terrible for all the subsidiaries.

Postby Rainman » June 28th, 2014, 1:39 pm

How ah cud geh a wuk in Massey Cat?

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » June 28th, 2014, 1:41 pm

meh, I'll still call them "steal & rob we" until further notice :/

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » June 28th, 2014, 1:54 pm

cinco, I don't think illuminat as it was then called cared too much about customer service because their major clients are really large companies and governments etc..They are more solutions oriented for the high-end business market. If someone requires a Samsung tablet and a dell laptop and the sale requires top customer service then you have PriceSmart, Courts and Circuit Zone etc.to satisfy that need.

Postby pete » June 28th, 2014, 1:56 pm

To me it has been NM Illumnat a long time now..

Same for NM Insertech.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » June 28th, 2014, 2:00 pm

cinco, isn't wireless solutions provided by 360 Communications?

btw on another note I guess for Panorama 2015 the steel band would be MASSY Trinidad All-Stars!

Postby cinco » June 28th, 2014, 2:03 pm

Now. It was illuminat previously

Postby VexXx Dogg » June 28th, 2014, 8:05 pm

rebranding on this scale is a very costly exercise. I wonder what's the real on this?

mars

Postby mars » June 28th, 2014, 10:35 pm

I agree with the "Illuminat" name change - you would be surprised how many otherwise sensible people take this Illuminati thing very seriously. However, I believe that losing the "Hi Lo" name entirely would be a major public relations disaster. "Massy Hi Lo Food Stores" would be k I guess.

clintus

Postby clintus » June 28th, 2014, 10:48 pm

Hilo would be called massy stores

Postby The_Honourable » June 29th, 2014, 2:06 am

VexXx Dogg wrote:rebranding on this scale is a very costly exercise. I wonder what's the real on this?

It's either they found themselves in some hot water not known to the public so they "take in front before the front take them"... so if something does come up, damage would be minimal OR...

They really decided to improve their portfolio streamlining their operations and marketing.

mars wrote:I agree with the "Illuminat" name change - you would be surprised how many otherwise sensible people take this Illuminati thing very seriously. However, I believe that losing the "Hi Lo" name entirely would be a major public relations disaster. "Massy Hi Lo Food Stores" would be k I guess.

Glad I am not alone on the Hi Lo part.

Yes even when I see the word "Illuminat" down San Fernando, you can't help but think of the "Illuminati" conspiracy theory. Even the Arthur Lok Jack graduate school of business logo people are starting to have a problem with that. It's even funny that Arthur Lok Jack is the chairman of N&M :lol: :shock:

bignog

Postby bignog » June 29th, 2014, 7:36 am

^^^^^^^typical trini response to white people culture ........always want to be connected to white people regime .........stand alone is Trinidad we from

clintus

Postby clintus » June 30th, 2014, 6:09 am

Hilo is now Massy Stores:
M&D is now Massy Distribution
IGL is now Massy Gas
Pres T Con is Massy Pres T Con
Tracmac is Massy Cat
N&M motors is Massy Motors
General Finance is Massy Finance
Illuminat is Massy Technology
Wood group is Massy Wood Group
Same scenario goes for all subsidiaries in other islands. We all carry one title... Massy

Postby pete » June 30th, 2014, 6:31 am

Doesn't tracmac sell other brands than caterpillar?

Postby 16 cycles » June 30th, 2014, 6:45 am

awaiting new jingles for re-branded Hi-Lo....that might be a challenge..

Bosse

Postby Bosse » June 30th, 2014, 6:50 am

Today's papers
image.jpg

Postby pugboy » June 30th, 2014, 7:29 am

as a owner of a few NML shares I hope this don't go the way of New Coke

clintus

Postby clintus » June 30th, 2014, 7:32 am

Hope everyone job is still secure.

innovative audio

Postby innovative audio » June 30th, 2014, 7:40 am

Change has come after our group CEO expressed that alot of companies within the group isn't identifiable and this change is to also help companies in the group come together. This change has been in the works since April

Postby pugboy » June 30th, 2014, 7:45 am

^^them thing don't work here
trini are bandwagon sports fans so far less for their place of employment

this change is likely to be neither here nor there as most of the companies don't rely on public imaging that much for their competitiveness.

a Nissan car not going to sell more or less because of the dealer name change
samething with grocery

Postby crazybalhead » June 30th, 2014, 7:52 am

Rory pholourie, you working pres-t-con? I could get a bench orrrr???

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

But yes they rebranding. Pres-T-Con whole building get paint over last week, emails changing etc.

It used to be CCS, Borde communications and then changed to Illuminat in 2001. I guess is time for a change again.

Postby crazybalhead » June 30th, 2014, 7:53 am

The family day had free beers too. :D

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » June 30th, 2014, 7:58 am

Hope the Hilo shoppers card will still be valid ,have real points .

clintus

Postby clintus » June 30th, 2014, 8:31 am

It's a massy card that can now be used at group entities to gather poinys

20inchstrong

Postby 20inchstrong » June 30th, 2014, 9:37 am

http://www.massygroup.com/

All your questions answered.

DrunkenMaster16