Biker loses life at NARA DRAG

Re: Biker loses life at NARA DRAG

Postby pete » June 29th, 2014, 12:17 pm

From the next event they should check everyone as they reach into the start area for correctly worn safety equipment. Not secured properly then you get to park up for the rest of the event.

bignog

Postby bignog » June 29th, 2014, 12:35 pm

blaming wont bring back the fella .........but should ensure more stringent measures .........no Kevlar suit.....no drag .......the fren an family an who is who panda ting eh go wok in drag .........ranking ting distracts from proper discipline ........yes drag racing is a discipline ! hearing that the tracks were damp im sure a tiny voice in the racers head was telling him not to race........that's where the promoter draws the line an stops the run so no ranks ting / brag ting could fester .........

Postby Aaron 2NR » June 29th, 2014, 1:09 pm

Thank you

westsidestarz

Postby westsidestarz » June 29th, 2014, 1:18 pm

bignog wrote:blaming wont bring back the fella .........but should ensure more stringent measures .........no Kevlar suit.....no drag .......the fren an family an who is who panda ting eh go wok in drag .........ranking ting distracts from proper discipline ........yes drag racing is a discipline ! hearing that the tracks were damp im sure a tiny voice in the racers head was telling him not to race........that's where the promoter draws the line an stops the run so no ranks ting / brag ting could fester .........

Well said

rusty_turbo

Postby rusty_turbo » June 29th, 2014, 1:18 pm

bignog wrote:blaming wont bring back the fella .........but should ensure more stringent measures .........no Kevlar suit.....no drag .......the fren an family an who is who panda ting eh go wok in drag .........ranking ting distracts from proper discipline ........yes drag racing is a discipline ! hearing that the tracks were damp im sure a tiny voice in the racers head was telling him not to race........that's where the promoter draws the line an stops the run so no ranks ting / brag ting could fester .........

This!!!

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » June 29th, 2014, 1:20 pm

WRT the helmet not being fastened, I don't see how that's the fault of anyone else but the racer... Sure the track have a helmet rule in place, but it's impossible to check every racer to see how tighten their straps etc.
Recently at a track in Maryland, a racer removed his helmet as he crossed the finish line... Turns out the car lost control & he crashed, and died! The guy left the line with a helmet, but was found without one when the safety safari arrived at the accident scene...
Another incident happened recently in FL where a racer wasn't wearing his HANS device bcuz the 7 sec car he was driving had an aluminum seat, which hindered the use of his HANS device... The car lost control, hit the sand dune at the end & flew about 30ft in the air... His neck was completely dislocated from his his torso.. Only his skin was keeping it intact.. The driver later died at the hospital.

It's up to you, the driver to make sure you're wearing the proper safely gear... And make sure it's being worn the correct way! We all think sheit ain't gonna happen bcuz yuh did it a million times or yuh only going right dey to make ah test.. But that's when sheit does go wrong..

A few years ago a friend in Connecticut (a one handed fella) was testing a 800hp Toyota on the streets.. He is a known tuner/builder with YEARS of experience.. He lost control while doing a street tune & was ejected from the car- dead on impact! This guy was a bad a$$ driver with only ONE HAND! So that goes to show that anything can happen to anyone, at ANYTIME! Had my friend Freddy been wearing his seatbelt, he probably would of been here today..

So, don't take chances with your life or anyone else's life... If your car is 9.99 or quicker, the track officials should demand a roll cage be installed.. For the 8.50 or quicker cars, guys should have enough sense to install a funny car cage around their head & invest in a HANS device, chute, etc.

RoTaRyBoYz

Postby RoTaRyBoYz » June 29th, 2014, 1:26 pm

For the bike guys who can't afford a brand name suit, I might have a lower cost option for you.. The leather & overall quality is just as good, if not better than let's say BATES or any other top brand.. Call Ken at PROSPEED RACING APPAREL.. Tell him I sent you & I'm sure he'll knock off ah chunk of change for you guys..

mpower

Postby mpower » June 29th, 2014, 1:36 pm

very sad, for those who don't know nabeel, he is a very good rider , not a fly by night kinda guy, extremely well respected in the motorcross world, Trained and rode in the US motorcross races,so much good lost last night, always willing to help, he had a good heart. it hurts to know that a life was lost, RIP bro.

I don't think i know a better motorcross rider.

Postby pioneer » June 29th, 2014, 2:20 pm

Bikers can't even afford 4 wheels, much less a kevlar suit.

HassanGTR

Postby HassanGTR » June 29th, 2014, 2:23 pm

vtec powwa wrote:Incident happened at the end of d track. How can the promoters control that if it was an error on rider's part? Fire officials, safety personnel an police walked the track an no issues were found as to what caused the crash and lost of life.

The point was made notice to the officials from racers that the end of the track was wet and damp from the drizzle. Earlier the point of having little to no light at the end of track was proven to be very unsafe for NUMEROUS reasons.

Management could have discontinued the bikes to run and wait for better racing conditions;
also the request (more like demand) for lighting AFTER the quarter mile was made COUNTLESS times.

This is the 'money saving mentality' we need to avoid when it comes to racing in Trinidad.
When will we learn?

M@nnie

Postby M@nnie » June 29th, 2014, 2:31 pm

Aye dis pioneer man rel outatiming jed. Everybody saying rip he hada talk vout wat bike man could afford. I wanna see bad what u driving hoss. Cuz I cud bet half d bikes out here worth more than your " 4 wheels ".. like u cant stay way from a bike man thread hoss. Anyway rest in peace to the bike man.

Postby pioneer » June 29th, 2014, 2:32 pm

All ah dat you say to say RIP?

k then

DTAC

Postby DTAC » June 29th, 2014, 3:00 pm

RoTaRyBoYz wrote:For the bike guys who can't afford a brand name suit, I might have a lower cost option for you..

Well if you can afford to get the bike in the first place you can afford the small extra cost and get a decent suit as well. No excuse.

Postby pioneer » June 29th, 2014, 3:05 pm

DTAC wrote:
RoTaRyBoYz wrote:For the bike guys who can't afford a brand name suit, I might have a lower cost option for you..

Well if you can afford to get the bike in the first place you can afford the small extra cost and get a decent suit as well. No excuse.

sssshhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » June 29th, 2014, 3:44 pm

A sad event. R.I.P to the drivers. Don't like to read news like this. Safety measures must be more prominent in the motorsport scene. Strict rules and conditions to ensure everyone's safety. My condolences to the family. :cry::cry::cry:

Postby Aaron 2NR » June 29th, 2014, 5:01 pm

Interestingly enough I started a topic like this last week about safety and was told safety Is for rich ppl

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » June 29th, 2014, 5:14 pm

very unfortunate incident indeed :(
HassanGTR wrote:
vtec powwa wrote:Incident happened at the end of d track. How can the promoters control that if it was an error on rider's part? Fire officials, safety personnel an police walked the track an no issues were found as to what caused the crash and lost of life.

The point was made notice to the officials from racers that the end of the track was wet and damp from the drizzle. Earlier the point of having little to no light at the end of track was proven to be very unsafe for NUMEROUS reasons.

Management could have discontinued the bikes to run and wait for better racing conditions;
also the request (more like demand) for lighting AFTER the quarter mile was made COUNTLESS times.

This is the 'money saving mentality' we need to avoid when it comes to racing in Trinidad.
When will we learn?

so after seeing/ knowing all of that, both riders still opted to go down that track under such conditions? :? In times like these no one ever wants to cast any blame onto the victim, but let's not ignore their role in it either.
Stuff like this happens all too often on job sites too :?

Postby pete » June 29th, 2014, 5:31 pm

Aaron 2NR wrote:Interestingly enough I started a topic like this last week about safety and was told safety Is for rich ppl

It was more that unnecessary safety gear would push the competition out of reach for some people who are just doing it for fun.

Keyser Soze

Postby Keyser Soze » June 29th, 2014, 5:31 pm

SIGH at comments....
the rider was in full safety gear, promoter didnt skimp or cut corners from what i witnessed.
both bikes were racing down the track, one bike lost control and slid into the other bike, both riders fell at high speed and one rider hit one of the lighting poles plus i think one of the bikes rolled over him.
what exactly does safety gear or the promoter have to do with that? when race cars run off the track and crash in the bush should the promoter be blamed?
it is what it is, a very unfortunate accident.
I ride bikes also and my opinion is that bikes should not have been a part of the event but that is my personal opinion. I still commend and support the promoter on this event as it had the potential to be one of the best i attended in camden.

bignog

Postby bignog » June 29th, 2014, 6:25 pm

^^^^^ elaborate more on why bikes should not have been part of the events........

rusty_turbo

Postby rusty_turbo » June 29th, 2014, 6:49 pm

bignog wrote:^^^^^ elaborate more on why bikes should not have been part of the events........

Cuz they does cut the line too much... Lol just kidding... Anyways I see no wrong here, just an accident. At high speeds anything can happen which results in someone being able to or not able to walk away from..

Postby pioneer » June 29th, 2014, 7:11 pm

Ban drag racing at night for bikes.

Only allow them to compete in handicapp daylight events, when there is no rain, hard breeze or pebbles on the track.

Postby SR » June 29th, 2014, 7:23 pm

Any comments from fia...aka ttasa regarding safety conditions and enforcements

bignog

Postby bignog » June 29th, 2014, 7:33 pm

SR wrote:Any comments from fia...aka ttasa regarding safety conditions and enforcements

all bodies fighting a war with each other an uses each other accidents to play god............government say all racers ......bike,car,boat,rally,drag,waterracing etc..........cant be funded individually ....they all must come under one umbrella to be recognised..........but greed an ranking ting killing motorsport.........racing come like an excursion everybody throwing one to make ah paper.......who vex check meh location

2 d Max Auto
Location: SMR Chase Village, 1 Minute North of Triangle. Open 7AM to 7PM. Call: 461-234

Postby 2 d Max Auto » June 29th, 2014, 7:46 pm

Truly a sad day for both bikers and local motor sports.

Condolences to all :(

rideordie2448

Postby rideordie2448 » June 29th, 2014, 7:57 pm

RIP to Shah great rider and my condolences to his family.Really don't want to get into the bickering about who's is responsible for this unfortunate accident.As a bike tuner there are many factors that could have caused this accident, some we may find out and some we might never know.In my personal opinion we should investigate this accident, find out what went wrong, learn from the mistakes and put proper rules and guidelines in place, so if it should occur again we can minimize the effects or even create a more pleasant outcome.Keeping this in mind, don't matter how good your riding suit is,there is only so much it can do to protect you.A fall at high speed on a motorcycle seldom does the rider escape unscathed.JUST MY TWO CENTS.

Postby Aaron 2NR » June 29th, 2014, 8:12 pm

pete wrote:
Aaron 2NR wrote:Interestingly enough I started a topic like this last week about safety and was told safety Is for rich ppl

It was more that unnecessary safety gear would push the competition out of reach for some people who are just doing it for fun.

pete people have money to pay for fancy parts, management, tuner etc but cut corners on brakes and suspension. at the end of the day PPE is there to protect the user. Not talking about the FR jacket alone. i had a post on my fb and it had big mechs and tuners saying, to race on the rich is for rich ppl so they sticking to the streets...

lots of mixed reports on what really took place, some say he lost control while others are saying its the other biker. if the track was wet, the race should not have happened.

two weekends with accidents. the users at camden need to sit down and investigate these accidents and try to lower the risks.

there are reasons why racing (drag racing) is stopped when there is moisture on the track. A slight drizzle on a paved surface is extremely dangerous.

Postby Aaron 2NR » June 29th, 2014, 8:49 pm

these are some info i got from a witness who went to the end of the track

What the Fire and Police pointed out to Nara ppl his helmet was unstrapped and no protective gears was worn. He only had on helmet gloves and riding boots. No elbow pads knee pads and chest armour.

He died at Camden. Not on the way to hospital. When they came and saw his body motionless face first. Helmet off and boots off they realized he died.

As soon as they turned him over his face from jaw was shredded teeth was missing and blood oozing from nose and mouth. His body had too much adrenaline causing him to beat up.

It had nothing they could have done. The Police Inspector said to remove the body. Because the DMO coming from San/Do and it doesn't make sense.

It was their fault (NARA). Despite what anyone says. From an HSE perspective it did not have proper safety requirements.

Postby Team Loco » June 29th, 2014, 8:53 pm

Oh my. Horror story right there

Rx

Postby Rx » June 29th, 2014, 9:14 pm

R.I.P