Looking to BAN corporal punishment at Home too?

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Looking to BAN corporal punishment at Home too?

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » April 24th, 2014, 7:12 am

So years ago , the now PM pioneered legislation and had coroporal punishment in schools BANNED.
What a great feat came out of that, today as a direct result School children have Absolutely No respect, no disclipline and they have a very nasty attitude.
Now shes thinking of banning it in the home too?

Haaa yeah right, id like to see them try.
yes yes its done in developed countries, but just take a look at their youths, what a mess, are we really going to go from worst to absolute WUSS?

Re: Looking to BAN corporal punishment at Home too?

Postby ismithx » April 24th, 2014, 7:32 am

there is discipline and there is abuse

I'm pretty sure we have laws against abuse

given due dilligence of law enforcement in their investigations, banning corporal punishment at home is a retarded idea

kaylex

Postby kaylex » April 24th, 2014, 7:42 am

somebody pull out the sheit gun.. please

Postby RASC » April 24th, 2014, 8:08 am

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote::shock:
So years ago , the now PM pioneered legislation and had coroporal punishment in schools BANNED.
What a great feat came out of that, today as a direct result School children have Absolutely No respect, no disclipline and they have a very nasty attitude.
Now shes thinking of banning it in the home too?

Haaa yeah right, id like to see them try.
yes yes its done in developed countries, but just take a look at their youths, what a mess, are we really going to go from worst to absolute WUSS?

Will these actions make you change your voting stance next general elections?

Postby S_2NR » April 24th, 2014, 8:11 am

the same woman who banned corporal punishment in schools years ago is now banning it in the homes?

WOW.

Didnt see this coming!

So much surprise!

People voted for her knowing fully well she is incompetent just to vote out manning.

Postby turbosingh » April 24th, 2014, 8:12 am

When Kams grandchild buss ah slap in she ass then it go be different!

Postby desifemlove » April 24th, 2014, 8:26 am

doh see how UNC or PNM for dat matter could enforce dis.

A police in every house? camera in every house?

What if a chile outta spite (cos daddy couldn't spare any loose change for a Dairy Milk) run to the police and say "officer, officer!! meh pops go beat meh!!" and then the police show up and arrest the father?

And what is corporal punishment? Is hitting with a slipper dat ent cause no mark, bruise, or bleeding corporal punishment? how the chile go prove that in a court of law?

I understand Kamla's sentiment, who wouldn't? Jus a lil more work on the drawing board UNC...

Postby TRAE » April 24th, 2014, 8:43 am

KAMLA-------- STOP

WO affecting yuh

Postby AllTrac » April 24th, 2014, 8:45 am

this would never come to pass

Postby desifemlove » April 24th, 2014, 8:47 am

S_2NR wrote:the same woman who banned corporal punishment in schools years ago is now banning it in the homes?

WOW.

Didnt see this coming!

So much surprise!

People voted for her knowing fully well she is incompetent just to vote out manning.

eh? I thought you was UNC breds. :lol:

kaylex

Postby kaylex » April 24th, 2014, 9:00 am

Honestly, I dont think that the state has enough structures in place to even facilitate such a move. To remove corpral punishment from homes would mean that you'd have to hire more social welfare officers. have a unit in Ministry of People to deal with same. Vehicles, Budget, Staff building etc..

Added to same we have no correctional institutions to deal with troubled youths eg military academies and boarding schools...

In essence, if the state removes corporal punishment from homes.. they have to intervene in the home..Are we even capable right now??

we removed corporal punishment in schools and put nothing in place. hal;f the schools dont have guidance counsellors and almost none have child physchologists.. we have the qualified persons in trinidad and tobago but we dont have systems in place..

IMO Aunty Kams .. need to think this through properly.. and not just pass legislation for legislation sake and not attempt to put other systems in place..

we have too much other things in the country to take care of before even entertaining this thought. What of the other pcs of legislation that were proposed.. where it gone. Defence Act, Dangerous Dogs, an unlegislated team of Traffic Wardens etc.., THA autonomy.. all that... start and stop and we havent followed through on what we even put foward/... come on man...

Postby javishm » April 24th, 2014, 9:23 am

What sheit she on. Cyah be white oak dan

Postby DFC » April 24th, 2014, 9:32 am

Can't beat the meat then.

No more choking the chicken, i could get lock up.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » April 24th, 2014, 9:44 am

TRAE wrote:KAMLA-------- STOP

WO affecting yuh

She must be hangover still from the Birthday lime!

Postby 88sins » April 24th, 2014, 9:45 am

Making corporal punishment in the home illegal is impossible to enforce effectively w/o the assistance of the entire population of parents & guardians. This is just another knee-jerk attempt to look like they doing something besides theiving & boooolin down the place.

These idiots (yes I callin Kamla and her band of burros idiots, & who doh like it hymc) watching the USA & believing that making corporal punishment in the home illegal could happen here without ill-effects. What they don't get is that many Americans still use some form of corporal punishment on their children when they blatantly & deliberately get out of line. Not to mention the USA has a surplus of support systems to dampen child abuse & neglect that this place would take 15-20 years to come close to.
Then there are the emancipation laws on the books, so if the parent/guardian is really trying to mold the child to be an upstanding member of society, & the child is seriously deviant & has no intention of reforming to their guardians request for their civilized conduct regardless of how much pleading, begging, disciplinary action or cut-arse is applied, the parent can emancipate said child & be absolved of all his/her wrong doing without prejudice or fear of prosecution.

It can be done tho, but it'll take a lot more than just another piece of horse-scat legislation. Like putting systems in place to deal with children that hell-bent on doing their own delinquent thing, whether drugs, stealing, sex, absenteeism from school or whatever, so that the parents have an alternative to level blows.
If left unchecked this would just be a testing mechanism for the state to see how many civil liberties they can funk with before the population pulls them up. Next thing yuh hear yuh can't even shout @ yuh teenage offspring for intentionally mashin up yuh house cuz you refuse to meet whatever dotish demands they might make.

I for-see many children disrespecting their parents & everybody else, once they've established there's no penalty whatsoever from anyone for their misconduct. When that happens watch & see how many more prisons are built & how fast & how much more corrupt this place will get

Postby Spitfir3 » April 24th, 2014, 10:55 am

Kamla repping hard for that living in bubble crew

these children getting more out of hand by the day and now shes giving them practically more rights whats next? flat screen tv's for prisoners because they have a life? give every citizen a get out of jail free card for first offense?

Postby Chimera » April 24th, 2014, 11:10 am

Postby TRAE » April 24th, 2014, 11:49 am

desifemlove wrote:
S_2NR wrote:the same woman who banned corporal punishment in schools years ago is now banning it in the homes?

WOW.

Didnt see this coming!

So much surprise!

eh? I thought you was UNC breds. :lol:
trac why you sooooooo

nareshseep

Postby nareshseep » April 24th, 2014, 2:37 pm

Yup we are ready for this since in secondary schools parenting is taught as a subject.

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » April 24th, 2014, 3:22 pm

dem cherren needs cuta$$

Steven Ramadar

Postby Steven Ramadar » April 24th, 2014, 4:52 pm

If Kamla had get cutass when she was small maybe she wouldn't be a WO addict. And maybe she'd have some sense as to not ban corporal punishment home

rsxpert

Postby rsxpert » April 24th, 2014, 4:58 pm

Steven Ramadar wrote:If Kamla had get cutass when she was small maybe she wouldn't be a WO addict. And maybe she'd have some sense as to not ban corporal punishment home

this :lol: and then if parents doh beat the children and the children get catch stealing or doing other things is the parents to blame for not disciplining them

airuma

Postby airuma » April 24th, 2014, 5:00 pm

Some years ago I remember hearing of a parent using a child like a baton to beat the other parent/ step parent/ wannabe parent.... Just recently we heard of finding a 6 year old dead in a barrel in the house where she lives. We have gone to the extreme with abusing children a long time now. How come it's only when this facebook promotion of our culture happened we're talking about banning corporal punishment in the homes?
It's a fact of life, if yuh doh want tuh hear, yuh go feel. Isn't this the basis of the judicial system? If they want to ban corporal punishment in the home, they should also say goodbye to the death penalty IMHO cause if what that 12 year old did was not worthy of punishment and humiliation then what is?
The other side of this is that this mother is clearly failing at her role as a mother and parent and IMHO deserves some punishment too. Her punishment is the postings of her daughter.
Another fact of life... put garbage in, you get garbage out!
If anything should come out of this, it should be free counselling for parents and children and family planning telling people more than how to conceive.
Even though we have free education up to tertiary level, this shows how uneducated we are in the things that matter the most.

Shame on you PM, you are very far from being a leader!!!

speedist

Postby speedist » April 25th, 2014, 12:05 am

She needs to pass a law banning her ministers from facking touching everybody instead! Keep pelting political flash bangs to the public nah, kams.

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » April 25th, 2014, 2:46 am

image.jpg

Postby K74T » April 25th, 2014, 4:44 am

Nah

Postby ~Vēġó~ » April 26th, 2014, 7:00 pm

awaiting Penelope to rescue me....seriously!

greenlantern12

Postby greenlantern12 » April 26th, 2014, 8:21 pm

They could take it from the homes once they carrying it in the parliament

Postby rspann » April 26th, 2014, 8:56 pm

I agree with Kamla you have to ban licks and sex abuse in homes, ban it in Chandresh home, ban it in anand home, ban it in Gopeesingh home, in Delmond home ,in Glenn home for starters.

Postby Country_Bookie » April 26th, 2014, 9:10 pm

Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar yesterday clarified her position regarding legislation to protect children from abuse at home, specifically whether or not corporal punishment should be banned in the home.
“I pointed out that in other countries, there is legislation (to that effect) and one young man repeatedly asked me if we are going to bring legislation.
“I’m saying those matters are now within the purview of the Child Development Ministry and the ministry will guide accordingly. Then it will come to Cabinet to make a decision. It is not a unilateral decision by anyone,” Persad-Bissessar told reporters yesterday after an Easter Tea she hosted at the Diplomatic Centre, St Ann’s.
Persad-Bissessar had been widely criticised yesterday for her comments on corporal punishment in the home, when questioned about her reaction to a video posted on Facebook showing a mother, Helen Bartlett, disciplining her 12-year-old daughter with a belt for the girl’s behaviour on the popular social networking site.