Re: The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby tr1ad » April 9th, 2014, 9:49 am

yuh ting sell swisha...

whe meh commission?

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » April 9th, 2014, 9:49 am

jhonnieblue wrote:Got a nexus 5. S4 fell down and LCD went thru.. Must say the nexus is miles faster and smoother.. Missing some of the short cuts and features of the s4 but the stability of the nexus 5 more than make up for it
Any recommendations of apps or mods to do?

Turn on ART - Android Runtime. It makes the phone even snappier!
http://www.redmondpie.com/enable-art-android-runtime-on-nexus-running-android-kitkat/

You can root and drop a custom recovery (if your looking to do that kindof thing) Very easy with the NRT
Grab the Nexus Root Toolkit - http://www.wugfresh.com/nrt/

Once you have root, you can try out custom kernels. Franco's Kernel is pretty good. Available on the Playstore

If your looking for Custom Roms, I'm a big fan of Paranoid Android

sonygoup

Postby sonygoup » April 9th, 2014, 9:49 am

Swisha wrote:$6850 for a prepaid S5 from bmobile :|

lol an ebay had it for 700 and something yesterday :lol:

Swisha

Postby Swisha » April 9th, 2014, 9:51 am

tr1ad wrote:yuh ting sell swisha...

whe meh commission?

man jus tell mih he ask around eh, he eh call no name :lol:

Postby tr1ad » April 9th, 2014, 9:54 am

he lie!!!

ah go air down dem van tyres

Postby honda hoe » April 9th, 2014, 10:16 am

payment plan available too :lol: :lol: :lol:

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » April 9th, 2014, 10:22 am

honda hoe wrote:

hoe,
ya still using nexus?

grimreaper009

Postby grimreaper009 » April 9th, 2014, 10:37 am

rodfarva wrote:
honda hoe wrote:

hoe,
ya still using nexus?

Saw on digicel website its for $6000 for the S5 :/ and digicel also selling htc and sony now

Postby honda hoe » April 9th, 2014, 10:42 am

rodfarva wrote:
honda hoe wrote:

hoe,
ya still using nexus?

yup nexus 5

Postby K74T » April 9th, 2014, 12:44 pm

honda hoe wrote:

Lol defuq, not sure if Courts. :?

Postby M_2NR » April 9th, 2014, 3:51 pm

rodfarva wrote:
jhonnieblue wrote:Got a nexus 5. S4 fell down and LCD went thru.. Must say the nexus is miles faster and smoother.. Missing some of the short cuts and features of the s4 but the stability of the nexus 5 more than make up for it
Any recommendations of apps or mods to do?

Turn on ART - Android Runtime. It makes the phone even snappier!
http://www.redmondpie.com/enable-art-android-runtime-on-nexus-running-android-kitkat/

You can root and drop a custom recovery (if your looking to do that kindof thing) Very easy with the NRT
Grab the Nexus Root Toolkit - http://www.wugfresh.com/nrt/

Once you have root, you can try out custom kernels. Franco's Kernel is pretty good. Available on the Playstore

If your looking for Custom Roms, I'm a big fan of Paranoid Android

also check out launcher eg. Nova Launcher to add some little tweaks eg. swipe shortcuts etc.

Postby stev » April 9th, 2014, 10:10 pm

currently running beanstalk on my N5....one of the best ROMs I've tried so far IMO.

used it as is (little customization) a couple of days now. battery life was indeed better.

medium use on stock - approx. 23 hours
medium use on Beanstalk - approx. 1 day 6 hours.

at least 9 hours of standby time per day (sleep, transit, work)

no problems / bugs so far.

going back to stock soon....wanna try out the official 4.4.3 which supposed to be released during April.

speedist

Postby speedist » April 9th, 2014, 10:11 pm

Was waiting to see if anybody see the cost of the s5. Right now I got an s4, anyone think the s5 worth the upgrade? Or which other phones coming out are better? Was told the Sony Experia Z1 is badass.

Postby Trini Hookah » April 9th, 2014, 10:26 pm

speedist wrote:Was waiting to see if anybody see the cost of the s5. Right now I got an s4, anyone think the s5 worth the upgrade? Or which other phones coming out are better? Was told the Sony Experia Z1 is badass.

S2+S3 and you got yourself an S5 bro.

You just got #Samschooled

devon4786

Postby devon4786 » April 9th, 2014, 10:39 pm

Just did my redid my entire tech blog!...check it out here!

speedist

Postby speedist » April 9th, 2014, 11:44 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:
speedist wrote:Was waiting to see if anybody see the cost of the s5. Right now I got an s4, anyone think the s5 worth the upgrade? Or which other phones coming out are better? Was told the Sony Experia Z1 is badass.

Lol. Really only want one for the IP67 rating. Or maybe just get an s4 active. Considering there is a heart rate monitor app as well, getting an s5 for that is pointless. Saw a vid of the s5 submerged in a pool for an hour an functioned perfectly after. :shock:

devon4786

Postby devon4786 » April 10th, 2014, 4:24 am

speedist wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:

Lol. Really only want one for the IP67 rating. Or maybe just get an s4 active. Considering there is a heart rate monitor app as well, getting an s5 for that is pointless. Saw a vid of the s5 submerged in a pool for an hour an functioned perfectly after. :shock:

Yeah its awesome that their flagship phone is IP67 certified!..I personally find the screen calibration is off on the S4 Active though, and unlike the nexus 4 and 5, you cant modify from the kernel level to tweak the gamma on the screen (to my knowledge)..and yeah I actually use that Heart Rate Monitor app alot and it works awesome, once your camera and led flash are close other on your phone. Btw did you all see Samsung sued Electronic Times for the negative report on the S5? $284,000USD lol!... check it out here http://t3chsmash.com/samsung-sues-elect ... galaxy-s5/

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » April 10th, 2014, 6:23 am

Alright guys, i did it , i got myself the LG G2 D801 from Tmobile, courtesy of a awesome tuner Mr.S_Pollock who really helped me out!!

To me after 2 days of extensive use, i must say the lg g2 is a glorius phone. One of the best ive ever handled!

User interface:

The user interface on the lg g2 is very simplistic but yet stylish! Its very lose to stock android but yet has its own unique persona of customization, however some aspects of the user interface is needs a bit more refining example the notification dropdown housing the quick ahortcuts to some people it might be handy having all the shortcuts in one place, but scrolling across horizontally i often miss the shortcut im looking for because of how many there are!

Otherwise the user interface for kit kat 4.4.2 is very snappy, easy to use and is very easy on the eyes!

Hardware:

Cpu - the Qualcomm snapdragon in this model is the 2.27 ghz quad core processor, its extremely fast , supporting the heaviest features easily. The glorius thing about this is that the Cpu shuts Off cores when not in use optimizing the battery life for the device,

I have not experienced lag on this phone as yet, there is no challenge this Cpu cannot take on because of its performance thus far!(built upon the krait 400 architecture i believe)

Gpu - as everyone here knows the adreno 330 flies through everything with ease,the animations,transitions, games etc are all smooth, and looks effortless

Sometimes i think the phone is not even breaking a sweat in benchmarking ,

The adreno 330 benchmarks over 50 frames per second which to me is very impressive coming from a phone that use to capture 30 as a maximum

Battery- the battery in this phone is simply amazing.

Best battery life ever i had this phone running for 6 hours and only 1% dropped!!!

With wifi ,gps, sound, everything turned on , and in use!

This 3000mah battery is truly amazing and is the best battery life i have ever experienced from any phone i have owned!

Camera -the 13mp is a bit on the disappointing side. Although its a 13mp camera, the picture does not come out as clear and crisp as i expected , the focus time is rather lengthy sometimes i had to wait around 5 seconds for it to focus! The 13mp is only available in the 4:3 aspect ratio, the only 16:9 aspect ratio shooting is available in 10mp (W10M) which is a bit disappointing but still very useful,

However all the features in the camera are very helpful and useful, tbh i find it mimics the s4 features alot but im not complaining. The features available are very helpful including intelligent auto. I found myself using it often.

Well i guess that concludes my overview on the LG G2 if you have anything else you would like me to address please let me know!!

I THANK YOU AGAIN TUNERS FOR HELPING ME MAKE MY DECISION , AND CHOOSING THIS WONDERFUL PHONE!!!!!!:D:D

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » April 10th, 2014, 6:54 am

Oh also the IR blaster is excellent

I can't stop playing with it! !!!

devon4786

Postby devon4786 » April 10th, 2014, 6:55 am

Mr.Bollywood wrote:Oh also the IR blaster is excellent

Nice!... check your inbox

Mr.Bollywood

Postby Mr.Bollywood » April 10th, 2014, 7:00 am

devon4786 wrote:

Its empty xD lol!

devon4786

Postby devon4786 » April 10th, 2014, 7:01 am

Mr.Bollywood wrote:
devon4786 wrote:

Its empty xD lol!

Oops! Hahah forgot to click send...its sent now

Postby SmokeyGTi » April 10th, 2014, 8:01 am

anyone heard of this:

http://www.android.gs/samsung-galaxy-s5 ... gb-of-ram/

the specs are truly impressive. When i saw the date of the article (April 1st) i didn't believe it but it looks like its actually coming!

devon4786

Postby devon4786 » April 10th, 2014, 8:03 am

SmokeyGTi wrote:anyone heard of this:

http://www.android.gs/samsung-galaxy-s5 ... gb-of-ram/

the specs are truly impressive. When i saw the date of the article (April 1st) i didn't believe it but it looks like its actually coming!

1397131412576.jpg

Lol

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » April 10th, 2014, 9:13 am

Second Battery update on the G2
1 day, 20 hours on Battery
4 hours 45 minutes SOT

As [b]Mr.Bollywood[b] said, I think this is the best battery experience I've had to date on a phone.

Postby Trini Hookah » April 10th, 2014, 10:07 am

As much as I'm tempted to try Dirty Unicorn, I really don't think this speed could be matched.

4hours+ SOT and so fluid.

M recommend this one to yuh co-workers, it WUKKIN

wheelbarrow

Postby wheelbarrow » April 10th, 2014, 10:50 am

Allyuh making meh feel to come off stock

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » April 11th, 2014, 9:57 am

^ thats one of the most fun aspects of android
rocking custom roms that make the phone faster, lighter, better!

devon4786

Postby devon4786 » April 11th, 2014, 9:59 am

rodfarva wrote:^ thats one of the most fun aspects of android
rocking custom roms that make the phone faster, lighter, better!

YESSSSS!!!

Postby dougla_boy » April 11th, 2014, 10:59 am

allyuh making meh feel to root meh htc one........