Have your audio professionally installed?

Racegod

Have your audio professionally installed?

Postby Racegod » March 14th, 2014, 8:59 am

Sup guys, been a while since i post anything in here. I have a question... I was on a certain webpage today for a local audio store and noticed they have a note saying, buy something and get it professionally installed... what defines professionally installed in TnT? I mean, nobody seriously checks to see if the audio installed has an auto electrical or MECP background/certificate. So clearly, professionally installed in TnT is subjective...

Side bar... how many local shop have MECP certified installers? I highly doubt much...

Another Side bar... if we are to take this industry seriously, shouldn't employers provide training to their installers so when they boast of professionally installed, its actually true...? Maybe these promotions such as MK, IASCA, Streetwise, etc, get involved to promote training by having categories for "professionally certified" installers?...

What are your thoughts?

nigel1977

Re: Have your audio professionally installed?

Postby nigel1977 » March 14th, 2014, 9:07 am

Same terminology that people use to call lots of stuff "high end".

Postby crazybalhead » March 14th, 2014, 10:19 am

So basically subjective as you said.

rane

Postby rane » March 14th, 2014, 10:26 am

Very true

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » March 14th, 2014, 11:41 am

you sir are 100% right

wickedbreed

Postby wickedbreed » March 14th, 2014, 11:47 am

Need some time to think this over...I understand what you're saying and I agree to some level, but......

Postby SR » March 14th, 2014, 6:18 pm

Iasca is not a "promotions"
Promotional companies are in the buisness to make money
If anyone looks at iasca's install rules you will see the requirements for a "proper" install which can be done by either a "proffesional" or do it yourselfer iasca is interested in promoting proper installation proceedures for everyone

Lance

Postby Lance » March 14th, 2014, 7:14 pm

Subjective is correct... I've seen some of the high end installers slice through owner's floor carpet to run wires in order to install amplifiers under seats with poor ventilation.

These are the same guys that people will come on forums and rave about.

SQ Audio

Postby SQ Audio » March 14th, 2014, 7:32 pm

^^^This i have done^^^ with no problems...so...i guess it depends on the equipment used and the space available. Some persons just don't want an amp in their trunk... There is some degree of tolerance when installing.

Lance

Postby Lance » March 14th, 2014, 7:37 pm

Just reinforcing the point of subjectivity.

If the customer is happy then all is fine, i guess

Postby skylinechild » March 14th, 2014, 11:43 pm

just want to add my $0.02cents.
maybe the customer doesnt know better and is relying on said knowledge of "the installer"

now keep in mind i'm NOT much into car audio- my own stereo is bone STOCK.
ive seen "installers" cut holes in carpets firewalls drill holes in doors, Ive seen installs done with black electrical tape as the theme - ive seen installs with not ONE fuse in sight.ive even seen installers stripping a piece of wire insulation - taking along half of the copper strands with the insulation - then sayin that is how "everybody" does do it...

simple thing as asking an installer which battery terminal to remove before beginning an install....and the reason why you disconnect the terminal.. man cant answer....

SQ Audio

Postby SQ Audio » March 14th, 2014, 11:47 pm

i just try to keep it practical.

Racegod

Postby Racegod » March 15th, 2014, 8:55 am

I don't think practical has anything to do with it. Installers much understand the relationships between what they doing and the outcomes they are trying to achieve, together with industry best practice based on physics.

Without certification how does one expect an installer to know or understand what he is doing? I think it makes sense to require or mandate certification when choosing an installer.

carfreak1024

Postby carfreak1024 » March 15th, 2014, 1:46 pm

Some of the best installers that i have seen in Trinidad have not had any sort of MECP training. I'm talking 12 Volts Audio, Robert from Concepts, Zaheer from EM, and Loudsound.

What separates those guys from bad installers is how dedicated they are to learning about audio. Ask any one of those guys a question about anything 12V and they could answer it with certainty. It is the drive that they have to be the best that separates them from the guy trying to make a quick dollar. In trinidad, installation of music is big money. In one day a man can make $1000 installing a typical 2 amplifier system and that is what brings all of the 'crackshots' out of their house and into the music industry.

In addition, don't think that every shop in America has trained staff either. The two shops around where i live in FL have installers that do great work and are not MECP certified. Alot are actually illegals living in the US.

So to finally answer your question, "what is a professional installer?" A professional installer in any part of the world is and i quote google,

(of a person) engaged in a specified activity as one's main paid occupation rather than as a pastime.

What separates the men from the boys in the industry is how dedicated they are to their jobs and their ability to adapt to the ever changing world of car audio. Also having the proper tools for the job, I remember while working at Kaizen Autosound i saw an angle driver and Compression crimper for the first time. Those tools make installing 6x9 speakers in a backdash and crimping terminals a piece of cake.

In addition, while installing music is a technical job you do not need anything more than form 3 level physics to understand every single aspect of car audio installation. Maybe an installer would need to understand how to calculate series and parallel resistances and that's really it. Everything else is straightforward and common sense. Heat rises so don't mount an amp upside down. Properly secure an amp so that it does not move while hitting the brakes or cornering.

I'm a DIYer myself that will on occasion do music for a padna or 2. I've never had any sort of MECP training and i can safely say i know enough about car audio to get me through any install i could come across. I've done full out competition style installations, simple installations, SQ installations, SQL type stuff, in all different types of high and lower end vehicles. ALL WITHOUT TRAINING.

So doh beat up. Music is no hard work. You just have to be wise when choosing an installer and ask to see and hear past work. If wiring looks scrappy or you see something that you dont like then dont go through with it. If they can't show u anything then they are obviously not serious enough about sound to take your business.
Last edited by carfreak1024 on March 17th, 2014, 12:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby SR » March 15th, 2014, 2:12 pm

Ask them what is ohms law

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » March 15th, 2014, 5:03 pm

-"Installer" does crap in ones car.
-Amps in car burn.
-Costumer returns by said "installer".
-Cycle restarts.

Why care to know what you're doing when you making $$$?

rane

Postby rane » March 15th, 2014, 8:54 pm

Listen if alya want quality work
Go by some one who is the best an have a track record of being the best.

SOUND EXTREME AKA HARRY
talk done.

Postby X_Factor » March 15th, 2014, 8:59 pm

i know for sure
more than 50% of the installers cannot set gains properly!

its dis-heartening to see when someone's system is maxed out before 15 on the deck

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 15th, 2014, 9:04 pm

^ I've seen harry butcher oem harnesses...what your point?

rane

Postby rane » March 15th, 2014, 9:11 pm

Fada you getting mix up. Wash your foot before you come in dis dance, if u ever had an install by harry himself you would know quality work. So take dat behavior else where

Postby nervewrecker » March 15th, 2014, 9:26 pm

rane wrote:Fada you getting mix up. Wash your foot before you come in dis dance, if u ever had an install by harry himself you would know quality work. So take dat behavior else where

I've seen one harry install.

Gains maxed out, unnecessary equipment, it burn down the next day.

Postby Aaron 2NR » March 15th, 2014, 9:34 pm

^^ boy doh talk sense here nah....bess install with loudspeakers..boxes on car roof

rane

Postby rane » March 15th, 2014, 9:40 pm

↑↑ Flares and horn on top dey hood

See dem chagaramus on ah sunday and qienem beach is like car show :!::!::!:

Wana buy dd from d man selling on tuner and go beach show sound clash :grin::grin::grin:

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » March 15th, 2014, 10:57 pm

Thread take a turn down south?

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » March 15th, 2014, 11:03 pm

rane wrote:Fada you getting mix up. Wash your foot before you come in dis dance, if u ever had an install by harry himself you would know quality work. So take dat behavior else where

I've seen one harry install.

Gains maxed out, unnecessary equipment, it burn down the next day.

So the man cya maxout the amp :lol: :lol:

I will die to see how one of these "installers" come up with their box design. As you know there is the infamous "car sho specz".

speedmelter

Postby speedmelter » March 16th, 2014, 7:00 am

they go by trial and error. an installer from arima during a drinking session said that 1.5 times the specs box volume works well for him.

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » March 17th, 2014, 2:22 am

So which installer does a great install and tunes equivalent as well?

What about Mobile Audio Concepts? They do great work installwise as i can see...

rane

Postby rane » March 17th, 2014, 6:54 am

Sound extreme

wickedbreed

Postby wickedbreed » March 17th, 2014, 7:49 am

SR wrote:Ask them what is ohms law

Ohm's law states that the current through a conductor between two points is directly proportional to the potential difference across the two points :wink:

:lol: Thank God for google... lol

Most technicians may not be fully qualified, however a lot of them have experience in the field, which is something I will look at. I will trust a known experienced tuner over an inexperienced trained one any day. If you show me an experienced qualified one, kudos to him. And Ive seen and heard Harry's systems. They generally perform well. So whatever is done during install, I wouldnt say I condone all actions, but the mans end result shows it works. Also Wam to borx on hood in Chagaramas and Quinam. If ah man put he DD inna car and drink rum with it, does he need a consent form from the music world to do so? As i said yesterday, what a man does with his money is his to do and should not be ridiculed by John public. And as for if he borx on hood sounds good, well kudos. For example a man was in quinam last night hearing a fellow Raj music on he hood, sounding like cochroach in borx, but say what dais where the man $ reach, so ah man smile and wave, and take ah jink ah he White oak :drinking:

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » March 17th, 2014, 10:28 am

Spoken like a true cool-e