Postby carfreak1024 » March 15th, 2014, 1:46 pm
Some of the best installers that i have seen in Trinidad have not had any sort of MECP training. I'm talking 12 Volts Audio, Robert from Concepts, Zaheer from EM, and Loudsound.
What separates those guys from bad installers is how dedicated they are to learning about audio. Ask any one of those guys a question about anything 12V and they could answer it with certainty. It is the drive that they have to be the best that separates them from the guy trying to make a quick dollar. In trinidad, installation of music is big money. In one day a man can make $1000 installing a typical 2 amplifier system and that is what brings all of the 'crackshots' out of their house and into the music industry.
In addition, don't think that every shop in America has trained staff either. The two shops around where i live in FL have installers that do great work and are not MECP certified. Alot are actually illegals living in the US.
So to finally answer your question, "what is a professional installer?" A professional installer in any part of the world is and i quote google,
(of a person) engaged in a specified activity as one's main paid occupation rather than as a pastime.
What separates the men from the boys in the industry is how dedicated they are to their jobs and their ability to adapt to the ever changing world of car audio. Also having the proper tools for the job, I remember while working at Kaizen Autosound i saw an angle driver and Compression crimper for the first time. Those tools make installing 6x9 speakers in a backdash and crimping terminals a piece of cake.
In addition, while installing music is a technical job you do not need anything more than form 3 level physics to understand every single aspect of car audio installation. Maybe an installer would need to understand how to calculate series and parallel resistances and that's really it. Everything else is straightforward and common sense. Heat rises so don't mount an amp upside down. Properly secure an amp so that it does not move while hitting the brakes or cornering.
I'm a DIYer myself that will on occasion do music for a padna or 2. I've never had any sort of MECP training and i can safely say i know enough about car audio to get me through any install i could come across. I've done full out competition style installations, simple installations, SQ installations, SQL type stuff, in all different types of high and lower end vehicles. ALL WITHOUT TRAINING.
So doh beat up. Music is no hard work. You just have to be wise when choosing an installer and ask to see and hear past work. If wiring looks scrappy or you see something that you dont like then dont go through with it. If they can't show u anything then they are obviously not serious enough about sound to take your business.
Last edited by
carfreak1024 on March 17th, 2014, 12:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.