Gone are the days when no loud music during LENT

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Gone are the days when no loud music during LENT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » March 14th, 2014, 9:54 am

Long time As Ash Wednesday came, there was a silent understanding that during the Lenten season that there were No parties, no clubbing, no excessive alcohol and No playing of any more Soca, or carnival music, nowadays? HAaaaaaa, every night you still hearing cars driving by blasting music and waking up people in quiet neighborhoods.

Re: Gone are the days when no loud music during LENT

Postby nemisis » March 14th, 2014, 10:06 am

^^^ on the topic of noise, party jamming after 11pm two houses down my neighbor ain't say sheit, I a few days later having an Ac unit installed around 7am man asking me to stop because he baby sleeping..... I tell him hard luck pull strain he baby not more important than my comfort.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » March 14th, 2014, 10:19 am

nemisis wrote:^^^ on the topic of noise, party jamming after 11pm two houses down my neighbor ain't say sheit, I a few days later having an Ac unit installed around 7am man asking me to stop because he baby sleeping..... I tell him hard luck pull strain he baby not more important than my comfort.

cold blooded :lol:

ummm....long-time raj didnt have a B14 or wingroad with 3 15's.......
too many young people with too much money and not enough sense......there should never be loud music after 9pm throughout the year, lent or not....
in an case, you cannot ask someone to do something differently because you are observing a religious month.....i don't see ppl turning down their radios for ramadan etc.

Postby MG Man » March 14th, 2014, 10:20 am

what so special about lent that we cannot party?
There are 'night before the holiday' fetes before eid and divali, boxing night parties etc

Postby Dizzy28 » March 14th, 2014, 10:29 am

Guess OP eh going Las Lap in Pier 1.

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » March 14th, 2014, 10:30 am

I agree with you RBF but what about people who don't celebrate or observe Lent? What about atheists like me? Of course I am not saying that I condone loud music late at night but where is the line drawn?

I remember years ago once lent start you couldn't even listen to calypso on radio or tv....

:evilbat:

Postby MG Man » March 14th, 2014, 10:32 am

it all comes back to 'respect me and my religion while I condemn non-believers to hell'

kual

Postby kual » March 14th, 2014, 10:54 am

nemisis wrote:^^^ on the topic of noise, party jamming after 11pm two houses down my neighbor ain't say sheit, I a few days later having an Ac unit installed around 7am man asking me to stop because he baby sleeping..... I tell him hard luck pull strain he baby not more important than my comfort.

You seem upset that you did not get invited to the party. Sleep it off in cold breeze man.

Postby crazybalhead » March 14th, 2014, 10:55 am

Two wrongs make a right?

Yuh move like a bamsee dey.

Postby K74T » March 14th, 2014, 10:56 am

Clubbing Catholic IYMC.

Postby Hook » March 14th, 2014, 11:01 am

allyuh eh realize dat in all d nekkid mas, pasties and jiggly things on d road, none of the religious leaders have said anything about it?
Now as a hot-blooded, taco-loving man, I love fi see d gyal dem ah bubble, but normally there's outcry from the IRO, Sat, The Archbishop et al on d topic. This year, silence.

Is it that they've silently accepted what is, or that it just wasn't highlighted in the media, or dey realize dey just spinnin' top in mud and decided to hush this rounds? Wha gwaan?

Postby crazybalhead » March 14th, 2014, 11:02 am

They making sounds in the toilet like meh post.

Advent

Postby Advent » March 14th, 2014, 11:10 am

toyota2nr wrote:I agree with you RBF but what about people who don't celebrate or observe Lent? What about atheists like me? Of course I am not saying that I condone loud music late at night but where is the line drawn?

I remember years ago once lent start you couldn't even listen to calypso on radio or tv....

:evilbat:

Brave to say yuh is an atheist yes :lol:

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » March 14th, 2014, 11:26 am

Nutten wrong with that...I respect your religion you respect my lack of religion....

Postby AllTrac » March 14th, 2014, 11:33 am

MG Man wrote:it all comes back to 'respect me and my religion while I condemn non-believers to hell'

exactly!!!!

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 14th, 2014, 11:37 am

So everybody does fast and abstain for Eid/Divali/FlyingSpaghettiMonsterDay etc?

Postby nemisis » March 14th, 2014, 11:41 am

crazybalhead wrote:

Two wrongs make a right?

Yuh move like a bamsee dey.
what did I do wrong exactly hmm or is 7am to early to do work on my house?

More importantly he tie his dog up outside the same baby window not a sheit done when dog barking crazy , music playing loud from neighbour on opposite side late at night nothing to say, I putting in a unit something that doesn't happen every day ie not being a nuisance to your baby sleep but I should stop the men I payed extra to get it done between 7 and 8am so that I'm not too late for work you wanna play bad lol

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » March 14th, 2014, 12:04 pm

we have congomanthis around we, dem does be blasting loud music all hours without regard for anyone regardless of their religion, where does common sense and common courtesy overlap ? the problem is these Congomanthises have no fking respect or care for anyone.

Postby pete » March 14th, 2014, 12:12 pm

Hook wrote:allyuh eh realize dat in all d nekkid mas, pasties and jiggly things on d road, none of the religious leaders have said anything about it?
Now as a hot-blooded, taco-loving man, I love fi see d gyal dem ah bubble, but normally there's outcry from the IRO, Sat, The Archbishop et al on d topic. This year, silence.

Is it that they've silently accepted what is, or that it just wasn't highlighted in the media, or dey realize dey just spinnin' top in mud and decided to hush this rounds? Wha gwaan?

Didn't they have a big front page article about how bad the behavior was this year on Ash Wednesday?

saxman642

Postby saxman642 » March 14th, 2014, 12:23 pm

Hook wrote:allyuh eh realize dat in all d nekkid mas, pasties and jiggly things on d road, none of the religious leaders have said anything about it?

This passes as an outcry?

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Arc ... 80201.html

Archbishop laments Carnival behaviour
By Nikita Braxton-Benjamin nikita.braxton@trinidadexpress.com

Story Created: Mar 5, 2014 at 11:51 PM ECT

Story Updated: Mar 6, 2014 at 9:25 AM ECT
ROMAN CATHOLIC Archbishop Joseph Harris said he prayed for a miraculous change in the lascivious behaviour of Carnival revellers this year, but it did not happen.
It was behaviour, he said, that had nothing to do with culture, and needed to change.
Harris’s comment was made while delivering the homily at yesterday’s Ash Wednesday mass at Lady of Perpetual Help Roman Catholic Church, Harris Promenade, San Fernando.
His statement followed that of Port of Spain Mayor Raymond Tim Kee, who on Tuesday said the behaviour of some masqueraders, particularly women, was “vulgar and reprehensible”.
Archbishop Harris told the congregation yesterday, “We have just completed our Carnival celebrations and I suppose that it would have been a miracle if the behaviour of some of our revellers had been different, but unfortunately that miracle did not occur. The lascivious behaviour being exhibited by some of our people, in my opinion, has nothing to do with culture; and if it has, then our culture certainly has to be evangelised.”

He said the evangelisation of culture, “is an obligation incumbent on our church and on each and every one of us. Culture is not evangelised by staying away from it. It is evangelised by entering into it and letting the graces won by Jesus Christ on the cross transform all in the culture which is not accord with the values espoused by Jesus Christ”.

He added: “Let me now state categorically that the behaviour of certain individuals during the Carnival celebrations are not the only aspects of our national life which need to be transformed.
“The pervasive attitude towards corruption, the disrespect for life, the lack of respect for the poor and indigent, and the attitude of mind which says that the colour of a person’s skin is more important than the content of their character, are all aspects of national life which need transformation”.

He called on citizens to be agents of transformation.
“We can be agents of that transformation. However, only in the measure that we ourselves are being transformed”.

The Archbishop read from the gospel, using the words of Jesus: “Take care not to perform righteous deeds in order that people may see them; otherwise, you will have no recompense from your heavenly Father.”

He said, “These words of the gospel are particularly striking because we are accustomed to see politicians doing good deeds, but always with a camera person recording what has been done for posterity or perhaps for the next election campaign.

“We are accustomed to see the ostentatiousness in housing and transport and over the last two days, we were bombarded with images of persons doing all sorts of things purposely in front of the cameras for the world to see.” • See Page 11

Postby ismithx » March 14th, 2014, 12:38 pm

so why should i put up with loud music ever?

Postby redmanjp » March 14th, 2014, 1:08 pm

i have no problem with ppl playing dey music in d day but when 9pm reach please low it down..

also i think when ppl blasting music in dey car they should at least turn it down when they passing a church/temple/mosque in which there is a service or ppl worshiping.. just a lil respect- u don't have to be a believer to respect someone else's religious practices

and on Good Friday, a national religious holiday, if u see a procession passing in the street turn down your music

Postby Hook » March 14th, 2014, 1:32 pm

saxman642 wrote:

Archbishop laments Carnival behaviour
By Nikita Braxton-Benjamin nikita.braxton@trinidadexpress.com

Story Created: Mar 5, 2014 at 11:51 PM ECT

Story Updated: Mar 6, 2014 at 9:25 AM ECT
ROMAN CATHOLIC Archbishop Joseph Harris said he prayed for a miraculous change in the lascivious behaviour of Carnival revellers this year, but it did not happen.
It was behaviour, he said, that had nothing to do with culture, and needed to change.
Harris’s comment was made while delivering the homily at yesterday’s Ash Wednesday mass at Lady of Perpetual Help Roman Catholic Church, Harris Promenade, San Fernando.
His statement followed that of Port of Spain Mayor Raymond Tim Kee, who on Tuesday said the behaviour of some masqueraders, particularly women, was “vulgar and reprehensible”.
Archbishop Harris told the congregation yesterday, “We have just completed our Carnival celebrations and I suppose that it would have been a miracle if the behaviour of some of our revellers had been different, but unfortunately that miracle did not occur. The lascivious behaviour being exhibited by some of our people, in my opinion, has nothing to do with culture; and if it has, then our culture certainly has to be evangelised.”

He said the evangelisation of culture, “is an obligation incumbent on our church and on each and every one of us. Culture is not evangelised by staying away from it. It is evangelised by entering into it and letting the graces won by Jesus Christ on the cross transform all in the culture which is not accord with the values espoused by Jesus Christ”.

He added: “Let me now state categorically that the behaviour of certain individuals during the Carnival celebrations are not the only aspects of our national life which need to be transformed.
“The pervasive attitude towards corruption, the disrespect for life, the lack of respect for the poor and indigent, and the attitude of mind which says that the colour of a person’s skin is more important than the content of their character, are all aspects of national life which need transformation”.

He called on citizens to be agents of transformation.
“We can be agents of that transformation. However, only in the measure that we ourselves are being transformed”.

The Archbishop read from the gospel, using the words of Jesus: “Take care not to perform righteous deeds in order that people may see them; otherwise, you will have no recompense from your heavenly Father.”

He said, “These words of the gospel are particularly striking because we are accustomed to see politicians doing good deeds, but always with a camera person recording what has been done for posterity or perhaps for the next election campaign.

“We are accustomed to see the ostentatiousness in housing and transport and over the last two days, we were bombarded with images of persons doing all sorts of things purposely in front of the cameras for the world to see.” • See Page 11

Don't know how THAT completely slipped past me on Ash Wednesday nuh :lol: :oops:

Postby gastly369 » March 14th, 2014, 1:59 pm

Dem fellas and dey loud muzik :|

Postby nervewrecker » March 14th, 2014, 5:02 pm

If they wind up their 4 glasses and pong out me eh have no problem.

Is when they want every man jack to hear what they listening to I has a problem with. Have plenty open Savannah, lonely road etc if they wanna tune / pong out and venues they can pay to play and clash.

And is right around the year this problem exists, not during any specific time.

saxman642

Postby saxman642 » March 14th, 2014, 6:47 pm

Hook wrote:
saxman642 wrote:

Don't know how THAT completely slipped past me on Ash Wednesday nuh :lol: :oops:[/quote]

Lol, doh feel shame. Is not like anyone (but "staunch 'Catholics'") does take him on.... :lol:

Postby bluefete » March 14th, 2014, 7:42 pm

MG Man wrote:it all comes back to 'respect me and my religion while I condemn non-believers to hell'

Aye, save dat fuh de religion thread.

Postby bluefete » March 14th, 2014, 7:45 pm

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:we have congomanthis around we, dem does be blasting loud music all hours without regard for anyone regardless of their religion, where does common sense and common courtesy overlap ? the problem is these Congomanthises have no fking respect or care for anyone.

Simple solution.. Buy some hymns/bhajans and tun up de volume.

Postby supercharged turbo » March 14th, 2014, 7:53 pm

I use my discretion when blasting music.When i see 6 o' clock i does either low down or turn off.People does wah see ah lil wetting on tv and then news so i does only play daylight.No complaints so far

Postby black start » March 14th, 2014, 9:04 pm

Right now I building meh hood borx and them.....mohammed rafi and sundar popo till ah dead...