nemisis wrote:^^^ on the topic of noise, party jamming after 11pm two houses down my neighbor ain't say sheit, I a few days later having an Ac unit installed around 7am man asking me to stop because he baby sleeping..... I tell him hard luck pull strain he baby not more important than my comfort.
toyota2nr wrote:I agree with you RBF but what about people who don't celebrate or observe Lent? What about atheists like me? Of course I am not saying that I condone loud music late at night but where is the line drawn?
I remember years ago once lent start you couldn't even listen to calypso on radio or tv....
MG Man wrote:it all comes back to 'respect me and my religion while I condemn non-believers to hell'
what did I do wrong exactly hmm or is 7am to early to do work on my house?crazybalhead wrote:nemisis wrote:^^^ on the topic of noise, party jamming after 11pm two houses down my neighbor ain't say sheit, I a few days later having an Ac unit installed around 7am man asking me to stop because he baby sleeping..... I tell him hard luck pull strain he baby not more important than my comfort.
Two wrongs make a right?
Yuh move like a bamsee dey.
Hook wrote:allyuh eh realize dat in all d nekkid mas, pasties and jiggly things on d road, none of the religious leaders have said anything about it?
Now as a hot-blooded, taco-loving man, I love fi see d gyal dem ah bubble, but normally there's outcry from the IRO, Sat, The Archbishop et al on d topic. This year, silence.
Is it that they've silently accepted what is, or that it just wasn't highlighted in the media, or dey realize dey just spinnin' top in mud and decided to hush this rounds? Wha gwaan?
Hook wrote:allyuh eh realize dat in all d nekkid mas, pasties and jiggly things on d road, none of the religious leaders have said anything about it?
Now as a hot-blooded, taco-loving man, I love fi see d gyal dem ah bubble, but normally there's outcry from the IRO, Sat, The Archbishop et al on d topic. This year, silence.
Is it that they've silently accepted what is, or that it just wasn't highlighted in the media, or dey realize dey just spinnin' top in mud and decided to hush this rounds? Wha gwaan?
Archbishop laments Carnival behaviour
By Nikita Braxton-Benjamin nikita.braxton@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Mar 5, 2014 at 11:51 PM ECT
Story Updated: Mar 6, 2014 at 9:25 AM ECT
ROMAN CATHOLIC Archbishop Joseph Harris said he prayed for a miraculous change in the lascivious behaviour of Carnival revellers this year, but it did not happen.
It was behaviour, he said, that had nothing to do with culture, and needed to change.
Harris’s comment was made while delivering the homily at yesterday’s Ash Wednesday mass at Lady of Perpetual Help Roman Catholic Church, Harris Promenade, San Fernando.
His statement followed that of Port of Spain Mayor Raymond Tim Kee, who on Tuesday said the behaviour of some masqueraders, particularly women, was “vulgar and reprehensible”.
Archbishop Harris told the congregation yesterday, “We have just completed our Carnival celebrations and I suppose that it would have been a miracle if the behaviour of some of our revellers had been different, but unfortunately that miracle did not occur. The lascivious behaviour being exhibited by some of our people, in my opinion, has nothing to do with culture; and if it has, then our culture certainly has to be evangelised.”
He said the evangelisation of culture, “is an obligation incumbent on our church and on each and every one of us. Culture is not evangelised by staying away from it. It is evangelised by entering into it and letting the graces won by Jesus Christ on the cross transform all in the culture which is not accord with the values espoused by Jesus Christ”.
He added: “Let me now state categorically that the behaviour of certain individuals during the Carnival celebrations are not the only aspects of our national life which need to be transformed.
“The pervasive attitude towards corruption, the disrespect for life, the lack of respect for the poor and indigent, and the attitude of mind which says that the colour of a person’s skin is more important than the content of their character, are all aspects of national life which need transformation”.
He called on citizens to be agents of transformation.
“We can be agents of that transformation. However, only in the measure that we ourselves are being transformed”.
The Archbishop read from the gospel, using the words of Jesus: “Take care not to perform righteous deeds in order that people may see them; otherwise, you will have no recompense from your heavenly Father.”
He said, “These words of the gospel are particularly striking because we are accustomed to see politicians doing good deeds, but always with a camera person recording what has been done for posterity or perhaps for the next election campaign.
“We are accustomed to see the ostentatiousness in housing and transport and over the last two days, we were bombarded with images of persons doing all sorts of things purposely in front of the cameras for the world to see.” • See Page 11
saxman642 wrote:Hook wrote:allyuh eh realize dat in all d nekkid mas, pasties and jiggly things on d road, none of the religious leaders have said anything about it?
This passes as an outcry?
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Arc ... 80201.htmlArchbishop laments Carnival behaviour
By Nikita Braxton-Benjamin nikita.braxton@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Mar 5, 2014 at 11:51 PM ECT
Story Updated: Mar 6, 2014 at 9:25 AM ECT
ROMAN CATHOLIC Archbishop Joseph Harris said he prayed for a miraculous change in the lascivious behaviour of Carnival revellers this year, but it did not happen.
It was behaviour, he said, that had nothing to do with culture, and needed to change.
Harris’s comment was made while delivering the homily at yesterday’s Ash Wednesday mass at Lady of Perpetual Help Roman Catholic Church, Harris Promenade, San Fernando.
His statement followed that of Port of Spain Mayor Raymond Tim Kee, who on Tuesday said the behaviour of some masqueraders, particularly women, was “vulgar and reprehensible”.
Archbishop Harris told the congregation yesterday, “We have just completed our Carnival celebrations and I suppose that it would have been a miracle if the behaviour of some of our revellers had been different, but unfortunately that miracle did not occur. The lascivious behaviour being exhibited by some of our people, in my opinion, has nothing to do with culture; and if it has, then our culture certainly has to be evangelised.”
He said the evangelisation of culture, “is an obligation incumbent on our church and on each and every one of us. Culture is not evangelised by staying away from it. It is evangelised by entering into it and letting the graces won by Jesus Christ on the cross transform all in the culture which is not accord with the values espoused by Jesus Christ”.
He added: “Let me now state categorically that the behaviour of certain individuals during the Carnival celebrations are not the only aspects of our national life which need to be transformed.
“The pervasive attitude towards corruption, the disrespect for life, the lack of respect for the poor and indigent, and the attitude of mind which says that the colour of a person’s skin is more important than the content of their character, are all aspects of national life which need transformation”.
He called on citizens to be agents of transformation.
“We can be agents of that transformation. However, only in the measure that we ourselves are being transformed”.
The Archbishop read from the gospel, using the words of Jesus: “Take care not to perform righteous deeds in order that people may see them; otherwise, you will have no recompense from your heavenly Father.”
He said, “These words of the gospel are particularly striking because we are accustomed to see politicians doing good deeds, but always with a camera person recording what has been done for posterity or perhaps for the next election campaign.
“We are accustomed to see the ostentatiousness in housing and transport and over the last two days, we were bombarded with images of persons doing all sorts of things purposely in front of the cameras for the world to see.” • See Page 11
Hook wrote:saxman642 wrote:Hook wrote:allyuh eh realize dat in all d nekkid mas, pasties and jiggly things on d road, none of the religious leaders have said anything about it?
This passes as an outcry?
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Arc ... 80201.html
MG Man wrote:it all comes back to 'respect me and my religion while I condemn non-believers to hell'
RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:we have congomanthis around we, dem does be blasting loud music all hours without regard for anyone regardless of their religion, where does common sense and common courtesy overlap ? the problem is these Congomanthises have no fking respect or care for anyone.