Baby dies after head cut during C-section

Postby ruffrider27 » March 6th, 2014, 7:35 am

Baby dies after head cut during C-section
Father seeks answers, complains of Mt Hope hospital staff:

By Anna Ramdass anna.ramdass@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Mar 5, 2014 at 11:56 PM ECT
Story Updated: Mar 5, 2014 at 11:56 PM ECT
A father is pleading for answers as to why his baby’s head was cut from ear to ear, resulting in his death during a Caesarean-section surgery.
Emil Millington said his wife, Quelly Ann Cottle, 38, went to the Mt Hope Women’s Hospital last Saturday to have a Caesarian-section operation performed.
“They said she had to do surgery because she is a hypertensive case, and they say that the umbilical cord was coming too short to serve the baby,” said Millington.
“In the evening, she called me to say the baby dead, they cut the head of the baby from ear to ear,” he added.
To add to the horror, Millington said hospital staff said they did not have space to store the baby and wanted to cremate his son that same night.
“I told her do not sign any papers; I am not giving any permission for that,” he said.
Millington said he visited the hospital and was told he could not view his baby and it would take some 30 days to process documents coming from an autopsy.
He said when he went to the Mt Hope hospital, he was informed the baby was sent to the Port of Spain General Hospital, and he had to wait for the body to return to view it.
Millington said when he saw his son’s body, he was overcome with grief. He said there was a cut on his head.
“I couldn’t hold my child,” said an emotional Millington.
“One nurse said it was a scissors, another one say it was a scalpel; I am confused as to what happen,” he said.
Millington said he was appalled by the behaviour from hospital staff who had no concern that he had lost his child.
His wife, he said, was not doing well and was currently at her parents’ house trying to come to terms with what happened.
“Nobody is giving me any infor­ma­tion; they saying they will talk to me after the autopsy. It is terrible what is happening; it have me shaking like a leaf right now,” he said.
“I want answers; I would like to know what happened, and I believe that the doctor who performed that operation should be subject to some kind of disciplinary action.
“I want the Health Minister, anyone in authority, to please intervene and tell us what happened,” said Millington.
Chairman of the North Central Regional Health Authority (NCRHA) Dr Shehenaz Mohammed said she has requested a preliminary report on the issue and intends to meet with Millington today.

What the jail is this ,the kept the father from seeing the body and trying to cremate the body,trying to get rid of evidence ,what happen doctors practicing on people in Mt. Hope.

Were the baby was cut front or back of the head ,like they slit the baby throat. :shock:

Re: Baby dies after head cut during C-section

Postby javishm » March 6th, 2014, 7:41 am

WTF !!

White CZ4A

Postby White CZ4A » March 6th, 2014, 8:20 am

Wtf...

The thing about cremating has me concerned!
Like they wanted to destroy evidence!

vtec-ghost

Postby vtec-ghost » March 6th, 2014, 8:25 am

stueps wtf dred

that sheit needs to stop
they need to set a precedent and severely deal with those at fault
so subsequently ppl will know that if they mess up, there will be consequences

Postby Ted_v2 » March 6th, 2014, 8:29 am

WTFF :shock:

Xplode

Postby Xplode » March 6th, 2014, 8:31 am

“One nurse said it was a scissors, another one say it was a scalpel; I am confused as to what happen,”

Very sad to read this a scissors really,more like a scalpel ,Mr. Allen will enjoy this investigation .

Postby hustla_ambition101 » March 6th, 2014, 8:35 am

As long as politicians, doctors, lawyers and magistrates roll in the same circle nothing will ever come out of incidents like these, is the pleb nurses that going to shoulder the blame

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » March 6th, 2014, 9:03 am

I'm sure it's a Junior Doctor that was holding the scalpel.

Mt Hope has these juniors attending to patients without proper supervision from more experienced Doctors!! The consulting doctors measure 1 for every 10 junior doctors who are actually practising on patients.

My experiences with Mt. Hope Women's Hospital AND Eric Williams Medical have been so poor recently. SMH, I feel for these parents.

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » March 6th, 2014, 9:03 am

NO government has EVER seriously CARED enough about HEalth CAre in this country to PAY doctors and staff properly and put First world Health Facilities first on their list.
This will never change!
Why you think all Big Politicians leave here for HEalth treatment abroad? and at whos expense?
Pacemaker? Puerto Rico?

Steups

Postby turbosingh » March 6th, 2014, 9:17 am

Even worst to come where the Minister of Health now taking in nurses with one subject :|

antlind

Postby antlind » March 6th, 2014, 9:17 am

It's sad that a newborn had to pay the price for an incompetent doctor.....I wonder if it's one of the imported doctors who is responsible. Of course our Min of Health will have the mandatory photo OP with the parents and then it will all go away, never to be hard about again. Condolences to the parents.

DTAC

Postby DTAC » March 6th, 2014, 9:34 am

Fcuk. My stomach got weak reading that article. Damn.

Definitely smells of a coverup with that BS about cremating immediately.

Postby Redman » March 6th, 2014, 9:42 am

Condolences to the family....hold the kids tight fellas.

I hope he gets RLM to run up in dey MC

Postby nervewrecker » March 6th, 2014, 9:51 am

Ting to make mankind make jail yes.

Postby black start » March 6th, 2014, 10:01 am

Wtf going with these hospitals?

ADONI

Postby ADONI » March 6th, 2014, 10:08 am

Should cut off the Dr head for this!

Postby Ignorant Ignis » March 6th, 2014, 10:39 am

two quick thing to note....... dont believe everything u read in the papers to be facts

and in response to
RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:NO government has EVER seriously CARED enough about HEalth CAre in this country to PAY doctors and staff properly and put First world Health Facilities first on their list.
This will never change!
Why you think all Big Politicians leave here for HEalth treatment abroad? and at whos expense?
Pacemaker? Puerto Rico?

Steups

the only solution to that is privatization......when it was suggested ....they got voted out by the "give we free ting" mentality

toyota2nr

Postby toyota2nr » March 6th, 2014, 10:42 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:As long as politicians, doctors, lawyers and magistrates roll in the same circle nothing will ever come out of incidents like these, is the pleb nurses that going to shoulder the blame

Totally agree with this. Dr. Fuad Khan is a doctor/politician. Nothing gonna come out of this. Dr Shehenaz Mohammed will protect the doctors no matter what. Unlike previous cases this time they can't blame it on the patient and the father made a good move to prevent them from cremating the body.

It's time we find a way to hold doctors responsible for the actions!

:evilbat:

Postby 16 cycles » March 6th, 2014, 10:55 am

doubt this was intentional on the doctor's part.....can't imagine what they going through as well...

sad anyway you look at it...

Postby nemisis » March 6th, 2014, 11:02 am

16 cycles wrote:doubt this was intentional on the doctor's part.....can't imagine what they going through as well...

sad anyway you look at it...
intentional or not the covering up is the issue

Postby VexXx Dogg » March 6th, 2014, 11:10 am

This just boil the fuark out of my blood.
My condolences to the parents of this child. No amount of money would compensate for their loss.

dok_tec

Postby dok_tec » March 6th, 2014, 11:33 am

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:I'm sure it's a Junior Doctor that was holding the scalpel.

Mt Hope has these juniors attending to patients without proper supervision from more experienced Doctors!! The consulting doctors measure 1 for every 10 junior doctors who are actually practising on patients.

My experiences with Mt. Hope Women's Hospital AND Eric Williams Medical have been so poor recently. SMH, I feel for these parents.

what do you mean by junior doctors though? as in students or actual doctors?

Postby 88sins » March 6th, 2014, 11:43 am

RBF yuh have a point, but daiz jus a fragment of d problem.

Plenty of the local doctors @ RHA's& public hospitals are actually compensated quite well, considering the consultants & dept heads only show up for a 2-3 hrs a day, & generally leave the junior doctors that now getting practical experience to tend to patients. they basically just show up to review their patients charts & sign off on whatever was done, before going back to their private practice. This is d norm for decades now, & aint goin to stop or even slow down

now yuh see that motherfishing stupidness about cremating the infant is exactly what I does be talkin about. Doctors in this friggin country does cover for each other & go to extremes to hide evidence in cases of wrong doing & negligence. This also has been going on for decades.

Time to start suing the pants off them when they do this kinda chupidness, but then again with we friggup legal system yuh wouldnt even get far wit dat either

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » March 6th, 2014, 11:45 am

dok_tec wrote:
~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:I'm sure it's a Junior Doctor that was holding the scalpel.

what do you mean by junior doctors though? as in students or actual doctors?

I never enquired to be honest because if you only ask their names as they attend to you, you get one set of cut eye and stammering.

I have for the past few months assumed it was a medical student who has graduated and is now doing their "internship". So they have all the book knowledge but are interning to get the on the job training.

Postby pioneer » March 6th, 2014, 11:52 am

lol@ assumptions

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » March 6th, 2014, 11:56 am

88sins wrote:Plenty of the local doctors @ RHA's& public hospitals are actually compensated quite well, considering the consultants & dept heads only show up for a 2-3 hrs a day, & generally leave the junior doctors that now getting practical experience to tend to patients. they basically just show up to review their patients charts & sign off on whatever was done, before going back to their private practice. This is d norm for decades now, & aint goin to stop or even slow down

Right so my assumption was correct then..

Postby 88sins » March 6th, 2014, 12:10 pm

not assumption pios.

if u only see how they does move to hide ppl x-rays & scans, when they leave foreign bodies in ppl post-op yuh wouldnt talk dat.

& is not jus junior doctors guilty of them kinda stupid mistake & cover up either

Postby pioneer » March 6th, 2014, 12:12 pm

I'm guessing you collected this data from all hospitals and went through all employee attendance files etc etc?

Postby Trini Hookah » March 6th, 2014, 12:12 pm

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:
88sins wrote:Plenty of the local doctors @ RHA's& public hospitals are actually compensated quite well, considering the consultants & dept heads only show up for a 2-3 hrs a day, & generally leave the junior doctors that now getting practical experience to tend to patients. they basically just show up to review their patients charts & sign off on whatever was done, before going back to their private practice. This is d norm for decades now, & aint goin to stop or even slow down

Right so my assumption was correct then..

The juniors only fill out forms and check BP yunno :|

~*Pãñdorą*~

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » March 6th, 2014, 12:15 pm

Not from my experience Trini Hookah..
There are junior doctors reading my blood results, checking my baby's heartbeat, reading my ECG results, Reading my Echo Results, reading my Holter results.. referring me to Endocrinologists.. sending me for more blood tests..

I could go on and on..
Last edited by ~*Pãñdorą*~ on March 6th, 2014, 12:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.