volcanosnowstorm

Re: Facebook Buying Messaging App WhatsApp for $16 Billion

Postby volcanosnowstorm » February 21st, 2014, 5:59 am

kjaglal76 wrote:
javishm wrote:
X2 wrote:Don't understand how the hell it's worth that much...

Oh wait... privacy is priceless... damn... back to BBM ?

gotta agree here

also, i doh think it wud ever have ads, once yur service expire u pay

why FB needs to read yur SMS/MMS??

Apps that have the option to receive "all" your messages (basically fb messages and sms in this case) usually ask for this permission. Hangouts has this as well. You'll even find it on apps like Avast and Prey, that can be operated using sms. (Not saying that I know for certain it isn't malicious, but I know it's not that uncommon)

Postby S_2NR » February 21st, 2014, 7:49 am

So Facebook bough whatsapp and the first thing they do is make it more private. Contradiction of the year. Love it tho. Image

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » February 21st, 2014, 4:28 pm

That is a comeback story for the ages yo :shock:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 22nd, 2014, 2:39 am

awaits the next alternative....

kjaglal76

Postby kjaglal76 » February 22nd, 2014, 7:05 am

S_2NR wrote:So Facebook bough whatsapp and the first thing they do is make it more private. Contradiction of the year. Love it tho. Image

is Sabriel u block dey??

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 22nd, 2014, 9:38 am

~Vēġó~ wrote:awaits the next alternative....
see alot of people saying this

"FB buys whatsapp, time to find an alternative for whatsapp"

why?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 22nd, 2014, 9:43 am

don't you think that there would be an alternative?.....

I am happy thus far...can't say if such will be the case tomorrow or the next day etc....

Postby S_2NR » February 22nd, 2014, 10:08 am

why?

Not sure if you serious?
Are you aware of Facebook's privacy policy and practices?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 22nd, 2014, 11:46 am

S_2NR wrote:

why?

Not sure if you serious?
I am aware, but what are you sharing / talking about on whatsapp? CIA codes? or finding out if to buy bread before you reach home?
I don't think anyone cares what you were saying to that guy on whatsapp or FB messenger last night.

besides, publicly stating your privacy policy and actual practice is two different things as can be seen by the NSA. Once you are using the system you are not private.

Postby cinco » February 22nd, 2014, 11:58 am

S_2NR wrote:

why?

Not sure if you serious?

Do you have a facebook account?

Postby S_2NR » February 22nd, 2014, 12:20 pm

Deleted Facebook years ago.

Richard Marshall

Postby Richard Marshall » February 22nd, 2014, 12:37 pm

This doesn't sound good. I really don't like Facebook. I think it'll be the end of Whats App. I'll revert to regular SMS on the local network.

Postby S_2NR » February 22nd, 2014, 1:08 pm

S_2NR wrote:

why?

Not sure if you serious?
I am aware, but what are you sharing / talking about on whatsapp? CIA codes? or finding out if to buy bread before you reach home?
I don't think anyone cares what you were saying to that guy on whatsapp or FB messenger last night.

besides, publicly stating your privacy policy and actual practice is two different things as can be seen by the NSA. Once you are using the system you are not private.

well thats your opinion.
not everyone is as nonchalant about their privacy.

Postby cinco » February 22nd, 2014, 1:15 pm

Well then you need to never use a smartphone and stay off the internet

Postby S_2NR » February 22nd, 2014, 1:25 pm

Tell that to all the people flocking to other messaging platforms

Postby cinco » February 22nd, 2014, 1:31 pm

Dont need too dont care. Whatsapp wont die just like fb wont die. Fb has over a billion subscribers and whats app is set to hit that soon so yeh the million of paranoid folks wont affect whatsapp

Postby stev » February 22nd, 2014, 1:37 pm

S_2NR wrote:So Facebook bough whatsapp and the first thing they do is make it more private. Contradiction of the year. Love it tho. Image

Facebook just announced that they would be acquiring whatsapp....i dont think they bought it yet. The whatsapp update had nothing to do with the buy over i think.

Postby S_2NR » February 22nd, 2014, 1:40 pm

cinco wrote:Dont need too dont care. Whatsapp wont die just like fb wont die. Fb has over a billion subscribers and whats app is set to hit that soon so yeh the million of paranoid folks wont affect whatsapp

psychic cinco yes :lol:
who was myspace, hi5, bbm, etc. :lol:

Postby cinco » February 22nd, 2014, 1:48 pm

Bbm wouldnt have died if they were not platform specific. Hi5 and myspace are still in use just like icq. Because you dont use it doesnt mean it is not still in use

Postby De Dragon » February 22nd, 2014, 2:16 pm

Drought of facks right now..........

volcanosnowstorm

Postby volcanosnowstorm » February 22nd, 2014, 2:23 pm

Postby S_2NR » February 22nd, 2014, 2:32 pm

ICQ? can't remember the last time I hear somebody mention that :rofl:
Dbu

Postby cinco » February 22nd, 2014, 2:45 pm

S_2NR wrote:ICQ? can't remember the last time I hear somebody mention that :rofl:
Dbu

No beat up buddy ICQ is the biggest messenger in russia. Maybe you should just stop using the internet for real.

Postby S_2NR » February 22nd, 2014, 2:52 pm

Aaaaanndddd whatsapp is down srs :lol:

kjaglal76

Postby kjaglal76 » February 22nd, 2014, 3:19 pm

S_2NR wrote:Aaaaanndddd whatsapp is down srs :lol:

bahahahahaaha for reall wtf

sonygoup