ripping plastic of new car seats

kg494EJ-1

Re: ripping plastic of new car seats

Postby kg494EJ-1 » February 14th, 2014, 3:41 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Had the dealer remove it off the day I collected the car...

Same here, my rep actually questioned the decision. Never understood how people could drive with that.

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » February 14th, 2014, 4:09 pm

New car smell= overrated

Computerman

Postby Computerman » February 14th, 2014, 4:18 pm

MG Man wrote:good day, guys, gals and zoom raider
What do you, the good folk of chunaland think is the acceptable time frame for pulling the plastic off the seats in a new car?
Today my boss looks at my car (one month old, he pay for it) and sez 'oho, ah see yuh take off all de plastic...'
me: well yeah, I ripway datshit de fuss day...
he: oho yeah....aaaam I does leave dat on as long as possible
Thoughts?
I should make note here that right after this convo, I dropped my free valentine purple frosting cupcake on the passenger seat, forever staining it bright purple :-/.

Plastic should be removed during PDI. Seat covers are recommended to be installed immediately thereafter.

Postby Ronaldo95163 » February 14th, 2014, 4:20 pm

It's a thing sufferers and "See me nows" do to leh errbody know they car brand new

Postby toyolink » February 14th, 2014, 4:25 pm

The plastic used by manufacturers are made of a very light/weak plastic material and really only for purposes of shipping.
This material will not hold-up well to protracted exposure to sunlight and heat and can actually weld itself to fabric interiors.
The standard is, when the vehicle is being 'prepped' for delivery, the plastic should be removed as part of the detailing necessary for presentation.
...sliding around on clear garbage bag type material could never be a good idea.

Postby MG Man » February 14th, 2014, 4:34 pm

I've seen people use scotch tape to keep those plastic covers after they begin falling apart :-/

Postby 1UZFE » February 14th, 2014, 4:53 pm

For some its a bling..

~*Pãñdorą*~
Location: You're Either On My Side, By My Side Or In My Fcuking Way!!

Postby ~*Pãñdorą*~ » February 14th, 2014, 5:03 pm

Some spend every last cent to buy the vehicle and can't afford seat covers..

Postby cinco » February 14th, 2014, 5:28 pm

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:Some spend every last cent to buy the vehicle and can't afford seat covers..

So yuh buy a new car for the next owner to enjoy the seats? My money spen i sittin in dem seat sweattyass an everything.

Postby pioneer » February 14th, 2014, 5:31 pm

Putting seat covers is the same as keeping the plastic on.

Postby brams112 » February 14th, 2014, 5:35 pm

kg494EJ-1 wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Had the dealer remove it off the day I collected the car...

Same here, my rep actually questioned the decision. Never understood how people could drive with that.

I find that plastic does be real uncomfortable to sit on when driving,even when driving fass,gotta be carefull not to slide forward when ur braking hard.

Postby 1UZFE » February 14th, 2014, 5:39 pm

pioneer wrote:Putting seat covers is the same as keeping the plastic on.

Sufferers put seat covers.

shaq090

Postby shaq090 » February 14th, 2014, 6:12 pm

brams112 wrote:
kg494EJ-1 wrote:

I find that plastic does be real uncomfortable to sit on when driving,even when driving fass,gotta be carefull not to slide forward when ur braking hard.

You no take yo time to break the car in?

Pantos

Postby Pantos » February 14th, 2014, 6:21 pm

Collected my ride at 3:00 and drove straight home.
Removed the plastic at 3:40, including the paper on the floor.
Then I took pics of my new car.
People who leave plastic on their seats are extremely tacky.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » February 14th, 2014, 6:36 pm

People should learn how to clean their seats properly.
The plastic is driving hazard imo.

ruffrider27

Postby ruffrider27 » February 14th, 2014, 6:45 pm

Geez when the ranger came home ,used the plastic as garbage bags ,trust me it hold a lot strong too

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 14th, 2014, 6:48 pm

Dare I say sufferers remove the plastic themselves?

Postby kurpal_v2 » February 14th, 2014, 6:55 pm

I just dunno

Postby Gladiator » February 14th, 2014, 7:43 pm

Never collected a car with plastic on the seats, dealer always removed it (Toyota, N&M & Sterling)

Postby pioneer » February 14th, 2014, 7:46 pm

All that to say u buy ah san young?

Postby rollingstock » February 14th, 2014, 8:06 pm

AllTrac wrote:all dis to leh we know you buy ah new tida? thats like boasting about coming first at the special Olympics.

rollingstock is not pleased

Happy Valentine's Day to you too honey *muahhhhh*

btw what is dis plastic on seat thing? All my car seats came smelling of chinee fart.

zoelikescheese

Postby zoelikescheese » February 14th, 2014, 8:44 pm

soo
wha kinda car?

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » February 14th, 2014, 9:01 pm

Still have plastic on door visors and back seat...don't care what ppl say.

Postby Gladiator » February 14th, 2014, 9:07 pm

pioneer wrote:All that to say u buy ah san young?

Actually was one of these...

whyteliver

Postby whyteliver » February 14th, 2014, 9:14 pm

~*Pãñdorą*~ wrote:Some spend every last cent to buy the vehicle and can't afford seat covers..

never understood the seat cover in a brand new car ting.....find it makes your interior look ....hmmm sufferish..
its like going to someone's home and seeing plastic covering a brand new couch set...am like dam y didn't u jus cover the old couch?

bgh

Postby bgh » February 14th, 2014, 9:25 pm

Drive out of the showroom with the driver seat plastic thrown in the back. Got home and said "kids, its your turn to clean the car".

Postby nervewrecker » February 14th, 2014, 9:39 pm

Errybodee wah show they buy bran new veekle from de firm. They reach in life.

This time they working to pay the loan, can't maintain it and haffi park it on the street.

I hate how it feels grrrr

Postby joker » February 14th, 2014, 9:43 pm

Never had a new car...always had 80km on it:-?

olvoGTL

Postby olvoGTL » February 15th, 2014, 9:44 am

Maybe someone can confirm: Does plastic heated above 40C emit benzene? a known carcinogen. Just for safety I leave the dealership without the shipping plastic seat covers.

Postby hustla_ambition101 » February 15th, 2014, 10:28 am

whyteliver wrote:

never understood the seat cover in a brand new car ting.....find it makes your interior look ....hmmm sufferish..
its like going to someone's home and seeing plastic covering a brand new couch set...am like dam y didn't u jus cover the old couch?

its all fun and games until something stains, nothing wrong with properly fitted seat covers