Today Feb 11 2014 is The Day We Fight Back

Re: Today Feb 11 2014 is The Day We Fight Back

Postby shogun » February 13th, 2014, 6:08 pm

S_2NR wrote:
shogun wrote:What i find especially funny, is that everyone orn facebook, twitter, instagram and every other social site.... posting every detail about their mundane lives and their location 24/hrs a day... then turning around and protesting being surveilled.

people put their best food forward on facebook trying to make their lives seem better than it really is ....so if your friends look mundane well you know what that says about you..

And if gardens get "tunnupped" and "reply with insult" level feelings get activated by something that wasn't aimed at anyone in particular, but was merely a fact about what social media has become... well you know what that says about you..

Eat your carrots BTW... your "food" clearly isn't as good as YOU put forward.

Postby Trini Hookah » February 13th, 2014, 6:49 pm

Oh guuude.

kjaglal76

Postby kjaglal76 » February 13th, 2014, 7:58 pm

shogun wrote:
S_2NR wrote:
shogun wrote:What i find especially funny, is that everyone orn facebook, twitter, instagram and every other social site.... posting every detail about their mundane lives and their location 24/hrs a day... then turning around and protesting being surveilled.

people put their best food forward on facebook trying to make their lives seem better than it really is ....so if your friends look mundane well you know what that says about you..

And if gardens get "tunnupped" and "reply with insult" level feelings get activated by something that wasn't aimed at anyone in particular, but was merely a fact about what social media has become... well you know what that says about you..

Postby shogun » February 13th, 2014, 8:35 pm

Isn't this your 2nd/3rd edited then bumped attempt to get attention from me?. You doh realize when you're being ignored yet?

kjaglal76 orn Valentines Day wrote:Image

kjaglal76

Postby kjaglal76 » February 13th, 2014, 9:04 pm

shogun wrote:Isn't this your 2nd/3rd edited then bumped attempt to get attention from me?. You doh realize when you're being ignored yet?

Postby rfari » February 13th, 2014, 9:40 pm

shogun wrote:Isn't this your 2nd/3rd edited then bumped attempt to get attention from me?. You doh realize when you're being ignored yet?

:rofl: :rofl:

Postby S_2NR » February 13th, 2014, 9:49 pm

shogun wrote:
S_2NR wrote:

What insult?
You know I'm not even on Facebook right?
But how would u know that..every time someone says something to you your pu55y goes to defcon 5 and your ears and brain turn off.

Postby shogun » February 13th, 2014, 11:03 pm

...and crickets...

S_2NR wrote:every time someone says something to you your pu55y goes to defcon 5 and your ears and brain turn off.

A172 wrote:how u notice their lives mundane and where they are 24hrs a day?

Trini Hookah wrote:
Adobe (Artist formerly known as Shogun) wrote:Because i can read?

watch out, we got a reader in here

saxman642 wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:

Shogun wrote:Steups. Arses! :lol:

^Kinda like that?. Was found on the previous page BTW. Must apologize for my "defcon 5" behavior all up in your ched.

Damn! my "pu55y" made it's way into this simple discourse?... lol... e-badjohns got knives out, feelings caught and nostrils flared oui!

Now reread that worthless cookie-cutter retort again.... AFTER reading what i said to you and i'm pretty sure you'll slowly begin to see the irony of your situation.

Soundwave wrote:7 course meal to the world...

:o Aye! look who.

Juss the other day i asking myself what ever happened to that guy.
Last edited by shogun on February 14th, 2014, 5:30 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby S_2NR » February 14th, 2014, 2:20 am

shogun wrote:...and crickets...

S_2NR wrote:every time someone says something to you your pu55y goes to defcon 5 and your ears and brain turn off.

A172 wrote:how u notice their lives mundane and where they are 24hrs a day?

Trini Hookah wrote:

saxman642 wrote:
Trini Hookah wrote:

Shogun wrote:Steups. Arses! :lol:

Kinda like that?... found on the previous page BTW. Must apologize for my "defcon 5" behavior all up in your ched.

Damn! my "pu55y" made it's way into this discourse?... lol... e-badjohns got knives out, feelings caught and nostrils flared oui.

Now reread your worthless cookie-cutter retort again.... AFTER reading what i said to you and i'm pretty sure you'll slowly begin to see the irony of your situation.

U mad?

Postby shogun » February 14th, 2014, 5:33 am

U for real?. you realize that makes no effing sense, right S_L_O_W_ 2NR?

Is this where you win in your head by commenting last?. Cool!.. you win!

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » February 14th, 2014, 8:02 am

lawdhamercy

Postby S_2NR » February 14th, 2014, 8:02 am

shogun wrote:U for real?. you realize that makes no effing sense, right S_L_O_W_ 2NR?

On a scale of 1 to 10 how mad are you?

Postby rfari » February 14th, 2014, 8:06 am

shogun wrote:U for real?. you realize that makes no effing sense, right S_L_O_W_ 2NR?

S_2NR wrote:

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » February 14th, 2014, 8:18 am

rfari wrote:

S_2NR wrote:

LOL!!!

Postby S_2NR » February 14th, 2014, 8:00 pm

rfari wrote:

S_2NR wrote:

Ok :(

Men need to stop taking tuner so seriously though.

Postby Slartibartfast » February 17th, 2014, 3:30 pm

This is mainly in response to Shogun's long post about NSA vs Facebook along with some of my personal views on why I think it is best to pay attention to the NSA scandal

ON FACEBOOK'S SIDE
1. Facebook (and most of the content it retrieves) is optional. Keep in mind that facebook will collect data on you like age, friends and family members, birthday, address, phone number and even current location without you having to give it to them directly. Most of these can be accessed via public records anyway so I aggree that there is no big deal about these.

2. The intentions of facebook are to use you as a marketing product (rule of thumb: If you aren't paying for the product then you are the product). Again this is not a big deal for me because I am often too brokes for advertisments to work on me.

3. Facebook is by no means necessary to live a normal life (unless you are a teenage girl). You may really like using facebook and even become addicted to it, but, it does not HAVE to be part of your life.

ON THE NSA'S SIDE
1. Unlike facebook, you have no say on the data they collect on you. A lot of it can be extremely personal details that you may not even share with close friends or family. Bank account details, transaction history and internet search history, call logs and even call coversations if they so choose. This by itself is not so bad until you look at it along with this next point.

2. Unlike facebook, the intentions of the NSA are far more malicious. Whereas facebook aims to gain marketshare and subliminal control of you through clever advertising that one can opt out of, the NSA seeks to achieve direct control of information, and of you to some extent (I know it sounds crazy but stick with me), that you cannot opt out of due to my final point.

3. The NSA uses information that is absolutely necessary to the lives that most of us live. Telephone records and conversations, bank account balances and transactions, work and home addresses and current location. And remember that you cannot opt out of this data collection.

Now these points by themselves hardly mean much until you look at the malicious intentions of the NSA along with the fact that (again unlike facebook) they can assume control of any and all of that data that is kept electronically. They are able to record your conversations and play them back out of context, freeze and/or manipulate your bank accounts, gain access to your place of work or stay while keeping tabs on you. I know this sounds like a lot of crazy cospiracy theory bull$h!t that has no significance to you, unless you consider my last point.

What is all of this power going to be used for? Why would they go to all of this trouble unless they are expecting some sort of returns? Here is what I think. I think that it is all a play for power. Consider that have all of your information and you have none of theirs (you don't even know who "they" are)

You will perfectly safe if you have nothing to hide. You have nothing to hide if you do nothing wrong. You will not do anything wrong if you are happy and content enough with the current state of affairs. But what about if the current state of affairs become to horrible for you to cope with (see any coup, protest, uprising, rebellion or war in history) and you decide you want to do something to fight back. Where would you start if they will know your every move before you can get the word out? Imagine you want to organise a mass protest and you have gained a lot of influence. They can easily monitor/block all of your communication, freeze your accounts and show up at your house and threaten you and your family.

Again, this sounds far fetched until you begin to truly consider it. What else would be the point of worldwide monitoring? If you were in power what information would be able to keep you there regardless of changing circumstances. We have nothing to fear right not because (ingnoring the 10.4 murders a week) T&T is a very docile country. Think about what will happen when things are too bad for this docility to remain and ask yourself how was the docility first achieved.

"Power is not a means, it is the end" - George Orwell, 1984

Postby Slartibartfast » February 17th, 2014, 3:50 pm

Also, for those of you that consider Trinidad to be too insignificant to get caught up in all of this crap, consider the following

1. Trinidad's economy is based on Natural Gas (Not oil). 75% of natural gas imported to the eastern seaboard of the US comes from little ole T&T.
We hit peak oil production in the mid-1980's and have been declining in our oil production ever since. However, I believe we have not yet hit peak Natural Gas production (if we have it would have been withing the last 5 years).

2. International construction companies have been aiming to secure future profits by privatising national water companies. Everyone needs water right? They do this by funding mega projects that smaller countries' economies cannot afford to repay. When they default on that loan, they agree to make a deal to settle the debt which includes the privitisation and sale of the national water company. They then set up mega dams or state of the art water supply infrastructure that is in most cases no needed in order to justify charging higher prices for water.
See the Boliviar Water Wars of 2005/2006 (I'm not sure the exact year)
Also see issues surrounding the 3 Gauges Dam in China. 1,300,000 people lost their homes when the plains were flooded.