The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Re: The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby M_2NR » January 27th, 2014, 4:56 pm

BrandoHD wrote:
stev wrote:been using UCCW clock widget since i got my N5...updated the app last night and now it keeps force closing :(

anyone has a nice clock widget?

I use Chronus!
x2 chronus ftw

I think my ROM finally balanced. I took it off the charger this morning and I'm at 61%. 2 hours screen on and bluetooth audio to and from work. Man this setup is awesome.

I feeling lazy to do the beta4 update since my ROM settled :oops: however automateit still buggy for me :(

I don't use UCCW though. Never liked it since some reviews were not that great.

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » January 28th, 2014, 1:27 am

Actually after a day of moderate to heavy use, my battery is around 60%..... No issues :) loving it

reddo_tuner

Postby reddo_tuner » January 28th, 2014, 10:59 am

ellow tuners,

My bro's HTC Amaze started acting a fool, so we decided to wipe the phone and install a newer version of Android OS, the phone came with Gingerbread (2.3) and wanted to install at least 4.0.3 or 4.1. We followed instructions online and unlocked the bootloader, I loaded a recovery image called clockwork mod, booted into the recovery and installed various ROMS, however the phone sticks at the HTC logo for each one. Am I missing installing an updated kernel or firmware or something? Any help would be greatly appreciated....

-reddo-

in addition, I'm wondering if I need to install a firmware or something before attempting to install roms?

thanks in advance

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » January 28th, 2014, 4:07 pm

reddo_tuner wrote:in addition, Im wondering if I need to install a firmware or something before attempting to install roms?
thanks in advance

Well, It seems likely that you may have flashed inappropriate roms to your brother's phone.
Any rom that you flash MUST be specifically designed for his phone.

The best places for these roms are:
XDA Developers - Go here : http://forum.xda-developers.com/amaze-4g/development
CyanogenMod - Go here http://download.cyanogenmod.org/?type=n ... evice=ruby
Original ROM/Firmware - Go here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthr ... ?t=1617644

If it were me, I'd go with either the Energy ROM on XDA or CyanogenMod
They differ greatly.
Energy is based on the original Firmware that came with the phone, so It will feel very similar, features will be alike.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthr ... ?t=1362759

CyanogenMod is basically close to original android like you will find on a Nexus Phone. Its very fast, very smooth, very stripped down and very customizable, but the version they have for your brother's phone might be buggy. I'd still give it a try though

Remember to Wipe/Factory reset, Wipe cache before flashing any new rom

Postby Trini Hookah » January 28th, 2014, 6:39 pm

+ dalvik

Postby M_2NR » January 28th, 2014, 6:40 pm

+
/system

Especially if going from stock/modded stock to aosp/aokp etc. Had issues with my hox with that.

Postby ismithx » January 28th, 2014, 7:07 pm

and make sure you're on stock kernel or whatever they recommend, before you flash

Postby nervewrecker » January 28th, 2014, 7:10 pm

Anyone bought any car chargers for the nexus 4?

I seeing most doing like double the current output that the wall charger puts out (1.2A).

Postby M_2NR » January 28th, 2014, 8:02 pm

I use my regular car charger. Works fine. Had a kensington dual usb one and now using a kinivo. Both were ~1A. If you use something like 2A the device will only draw what is necessary for it to charge.

http://lifehacker.com/5877809/you-dont- ... ur-gadgets
http://lifehacker.com/pay-attention-to- ... 1492446246
http://lifehacker.com/does-it-matter-wh ... -922783980

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 28th, 2014, 10:11 pm

been wondering about the future of Nexus since Google bought Motorola and when the Moto X was announced. definitely looking forward to the next Moto X.

(the developer edition Moto X now @ $379.99 is very tempting btw...)

Report: Google to Stop Selling Nexus Phones in 2015

No more Nexus after next year?

Google's Nexus brand has come a long way since the introduction of the Nexus One way back in January of 2010. Five phones, three tablets, and an ill-fated media streaming player later, it seems the Nexus name may soon reach the end of the line. According to the latest rumors, the Nexus 5 could be one of the last Nexus-branded phones we see from Mountain View.

Word comes from Eldar Murtazin, who tweeted early this morning that the Nexus line would wrap up in 2015. In its place will be the Play Edition phones that several smartphone makers had launched in the last year.

http://www.tomshardware.com/news/nexus- ... or=RSS-998

Postby nervewrecker » January 28th, 2014, 10:36 pm

M_2NR wrote:I use my regular car charger. Works fine. Had a kensington dual usb one and now using a kinivo. Both were ~1A. If you use something like 2A the device will only draw what is necessary for it to charge.

http://lifehacker.com/5877809/you-dont- ... ur-gadgets
http://lifehacker.com/pay-attention-to- ... 1492446246
http://lifehacker.com/does-it-matter-wh ... -922783980

Thanks. :)

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » January 28th, 2014, 10:55 pm

Anyone can assist me in rooting the Samsung S2X T989D... Looking to root so i can install larger apps and games on memory card instead of internal memory...

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » January 29th, 2014, 9:32 am

Update: Got it rooted last night by following this guide - http://androidforums.com/galaxy-s2-t-mo ... steps.html

Anyone know a good program that i can use to store large apps/games on my sd card instead of internal memory?... I saw something online called Link2SD but i never used that before... Anyone had experience?..

reddo_tuner

Postby reddo_tuner » January 29th, 2014, 11:25 am

rodfarva wrote:
reddo_tuner wrote:in addition, Im wondering if I need to install a firmware or something before attempting to install roms?
thanks in advance

Well, It seems likely that you may have flashed inappropriate roms to your brother's phone.
Any rom that you flash MUST be specifically designed for his phone.

The best places for these roms are:
XDA Developers - Go here : http://forum.xda-developers.com/amaze-4g/development
CyanogenMod - Go here http://download.cyanogenmod.org/?type=n ... evice=ruby
Original ROM/Firmware - Go here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthr ... ?t=1617644

If it were me, I'd go with either the Energy ROM on XDA or CyanogenMod
They differ greatly.
Energy is based on the original Firmware that came with the phone, so It will feel very similar, features will be alike.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthr ... ?t=1362759

CyanogenMod is basically close to original android like you will find on a Nexus Phone. Its very fast, very smooth, very stripped down and very customizable, but the version they have for your brother's phone might be buggy. I'd still give it a try though

Remember to Wipe/Factory reset, Wipe cache before flashing any new rom

thanks for your detailed reply,

I tried to flash with one of the cyanogenMod roms, but the phone is still sticking at the htc logo. I'm wondering now if I need to try and go back to gingerbread :(

Postby M_2NR » January 29th, 2014, 12:07 pm

Probably missing a step. You have to have to HAVE TO (lol) do some reading on your own especially on xda. For the HTC one X you need to update the hboot to a higher number so that you can install jelly bean ROMs. See if you need to do something like that. Also if the boot loader is unlocked. But chances are if u have a custom recovery, your boot loader is unlocked.

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » January 29th, 2014, 1:00 pm

What recovery (tool that you use to flash Roms) do you have? Cwm? If so what version?

Postby M_2NR » January 29th, 2014, 2:59 pm

You can use cwm or twrp. Doesn't matter too much unless the ROM specifies so. Heard twrp might corrupt your baseband in installs but never encountered it. I use twrp on the nexus 5 and HTC one x. But Phillz cwm advanced on tab2.

I flashed the latest twrp I think it was 2.6?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » January 29th, 2014, 5:40 pm

like ah talk too soon yes. Google reportedly selling Motorola to Lenovo :|

(developing...)

Lenovo to acquire Motorola Mobility

We’ve just signed an agreement to sell Motorola to Lenovo for $2.91 billion. As this is an important move for Android users everywhere, I wanted to explain why in detail.

We acquired Motorola in 2012 to help supercharge the Android ecosystem by creating a stronger patent portfolio for Google and great smartphones for users. Over the past 19 months, Dennis Woodside and the Motorola team have done a tremendous job reinventing the company. They’ve focused on building a smaller number of great (and great value) smartphones that consumers love. Both the Moto G and the Moto X are doing really well, and I’m very excited about the smartphone lineup for 2014. And on the intellectual property side, Motorola’s patents have helped create a level playing field, which is good news for all Android’s users and partners.

But the smartphone market is super competitive, and to thrive it helps to be all-in when it comes to making mobile devices. It’s why we believe that Motorola will be better served by Lenovo—which has a rapidly growing smartphone business and is the largest (and fastest-growing) PC manufacturer in the world. This move will enable Google to devote our energy to driving innovation across the Android ecosystem, for the benefit of smartphone users everywhere. As a side note, this does not signal a larger shift for our other hardware efforts. The dynamics and maturity of the wearable and home markets, for example, are very different from that of the mobile industry. We’re excited by the opportunities to build amazing new products for users within these emerging ecosystems.

Lenovo has the expertise and track record to scale Motorola into a major player within the Android ecosystem. They have a lot of experience in hardware, and they have global reach. In addition, Lenovo intends to keep Motorola’s distinct brand identity—just as they did when they acquired ThinkPad from IBM in 2005. Google will retain the vast majority of Motorola’s patents, which we will continue to use to defend the entire Android ecosystem.

The deal has yet to be approved in the U.S. or China, and this usually takes time. So until then, it’s business as usual. I’m phenomenally impressed with everything the Motorola team has achieved and confident that with Lenovo as a partner, Motorola will build more and more great products for people everywhere.

Posted by Larry Page, CEO

http://googleblog.blogspot.com/2014/01/ ... ility.html

and in related news...

Reported Google deal could see Samsung deliver cleaner Android, less bloat

Google and Samsung agreeing to a 10 year patent licensing deal was good news for Android. But that might only be the tip of the iceberg. According to a report from Re/code the two are working together on a broader initiative that will bring the Samsung version of Android more inline with Google's vision. The talks appear to have started at CES following the reveal of Galaxy Tab Pro and Note Pro lines, which featured a new skin called Magazine UX. The interface was not only a dramatic departure from the familiar TouchWiz, but from the very core of Android itself. In fact, the panel-based home screen looks a lot more like Windows 8 than Mountain View's mobile OS. But Re/code's sources say that future Samsung devices will either feature a drastically scaled back version of Magazine UX or lose the interface all together. Obviously, keeping the Android experience as consistent as possible across devices and brands is good for Google, but it could also help Samsung, which is now looking at maintaining three different Android-based tablet skins.

http://www.engadget.com/2014/01/29/google-and-samsung/

Postby M_2NR » January 30th, 2014, 5:47 pm

Been wanting to ask. What rom u all recommend I install on an s2? Currently it on stock 4.0.3 unrooted but it getting a WiFi bug off and on

Postby S_2NR » January 30th, 2014, 5:52 pm

M_2NR wrote:Been wanting to ask. What rom u all recommend I install on an s2? Currently it on stock 4.0.3 unrooted but it getting a WiFi bug off and on

What u like? Aosp? Aokp? Stock? Touchwiz?

Postby M_2NR » January 30th, 2014, 5:58 pm

S_2NR wrote:
M_2NR wrote:Been wanting to ask. What rom u all recommend I install on an s2? Currently it on stock 4.0.3 unrooted but it getting a WiFi bug off and on

its for a "friend" :lol: and to be quite honest they using goolauncher and its stock and no complaints with that aspect only the WiFi a bit wonky. So I was thinking to put a newer ROM and another kernel. I found that when I had aosp (RR) it was running inefficient in terms of poor battery and was always hot even with siyah kernel also. I was reading things went down hill wrt battery life on jb?

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » January 30th, 2014, 6:55 pm

cyanogenmod?
cm10 stable
I used it on an S2 before...love the screen on that phone!

Postby S_2NR » January 30th, 2014, 8:14 pm

M_2NR wrote:
S_2NR wrote:

its for a "friend" :lol: and to be quite honest they using goolauncher and its stock and no complaints with that aspect only the WiFi a bit wonky. So I was thinking to put a newer ROM and another kernel. I found that when I had aosp (RR) it was running inefficient in terms of poor battery and was always hot even with siyah kernel also. I was reading things went down hill wrt battery life on jb?

I still have my s2. Running jb aokp milestone 2 with dorimanx kernel. No heat. No issues. No lag. Longest I had a phone without upgrading and all j change is the battery. Runs really well

Postby M_2NR » January 30th, 2014, 9:00 pm

rodfarva wrote:cyanogenmod?
cm10 stable

i go pass thru the thread on xda and see how things shaping up.
btw how franco treating yuh? i got a 5hrs 40mins today SOT.

S_2NR wrote:I still have my s2. Running jb aokp milestone 2 with dorimanx kernel. No heat. No issues. No lag. Longest I had a phone without upgrading and all j change is the battery. Runs really well

nice! i shall try this one. thanks!

PapaC

Postby PapaC » January 30th, 2014, 9:00 pm

Wife got a HTC one. It's AT&T branded in the settings. Running 4.1.2
How do I update it?
When I try the AT&T software update it just opens and says searching and closes. When I go to the regular software update over wifi it says no updates are available for the phone.

rodfarva

Postby rodfarva » January 30th, 2014, 9:10 pm

M_2NR wrote:
rodfarva wrote:cyanogenmod?
cm10 stable

i go pass thru the thread on xda and see how things shaping up.
btw how franco treating yuh? i got a 5hrs 40mins today SOT.

Great so far! :)
2hrs 11 mins SOT
49% remaining
Light day though
But Im very happy with battery life overall

mamoo_pagal

Postby mamoo_pagal » January 30th, 2014, 9:16 pm

PapaC wrote:Wife got a HTC one. It's AT&T branded in the settings. Running 4.1.2
How do I update it?
When I try the AT&T software update it just opens and says searching and closes. When I go to the regular software update over wifi it says no updates are available for the phone.

http://www.htc.com/us/support/news.aspx ... tc-one-att
make sure sync manager and drivers are installed. Download the RUU at the bottom of the page

ZeroOne

Postby ZeroOne » January 31st, 2014, 9:38 am

If anyone looking for OEM S4 and S3 case. $50 each, new

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=553354&p=7756522#p7756522

Postby S_2NR » January 31st, 2014, 1:32 pm

I have a kindle fire in good condition running kitkat 4.4.2. Will sell for cheap. Lemme know if anyone want a cheap tablet. Works well.

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » January 31st, 2014, 5:09 pm

Anyone can give some advice on how to upgrade my S2X to JB?... I read online to use kies but my phone only has kies air and when i start, it gives me an ip address to put into browser... My phone is rooted...