x2 chronus ftwBrandoHD wrote:stev wrote:been using UCCW clock widget since i got my N5...updated the app last night and now it keeps force closing
anyone has a nice clock widget?
I use Chronus!
ellow tuners,
My bro's HTC Amaze started acting a fool, so we decided to wipe the phone and install a newer version of Android OS, the phone came with Gingerbread (2.3) and wanted to install at least 4.0.3 or 4.1. We followed instructions online and unlocked the bootloader, I loaded a recovery image called clockwork mod, booted into the recovery and installed various ROMS, however the phone sticks at the HTC logo for each one. Am I missing installing an updated kernel or firmware or something? Any help would be greatly appreciated....
-reddo-
reddo_tuner wrote:in addition, Im wondering if I need to install a firmware or something before attempting to install roms?
thanks in advance
Report: Google to Stop Selling Nexus Phones in 2015
No more Nexus after next year?
Google's Nexus brand has come a long way since the introduction of the Nexus One way back in January of 2010. Five phones, three tablets, and an ill-fated media streaming player later, it seems the Nexus name may soon reach the end of the line. According to the latest rumors, the Nexus 5 could be one of the last Nexus-branded phones we see from Mountain View.
Word comes from Eldar Murtazin, who tweeted early this morning that the Nexus line would wrap up in 2015. In its place will be the Play Edition phones that several smartphone makers had launched in the last year.
http://www.tomshardware.com/news/nexus- ... or=RSS-998
M_2NR wrote:I use my regular car charger. Works fine. Had a kensington dual usb one and now using a kinivo. Both were ~1A. If you use something like 2A the device will only draw what is necessary for it to charge.
http://lifehacker.com/5877809/you-dont- ... ur-gadgets
http://lifehacker.com/pay-attention-to- ... 1492446246
http://lifehacker.com/does-it-matter-wh ... -922783980
rodfarva wrote:reddo_tuner wrote:in addition, Im wondering if I need to install a firmware or something before attempting to install roms?
thanks in advance
Well, It seems likely that you may have flashed inappropriate roms to your brother's phone.
Any rom that you flash MUST be specifically designed for his phone.
The best places for these roms are:
XDA Developers - Go here : http://forum.xda-developers.com/amaze-4g/development
CyanogenMod - Go here http://download.cyanogenmod.org/?type=n ... evice=ruby
Original ROM/Firmware - Go here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthr ... ?t=1617644
If it were me, I'd go with either the Energy ROM on XDA or CyanogenMod
They differ greatly.
Energy is based on the original Firmware that came with the phone, so It will feel very similar, features will be alike.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthr ... ?t=1362759
CyanogenMod is basically close to original android like you will find on a Nexus Phone. Its very fast, very smooth, very stripped down and very customizable, but the version they have for your brother's phone might be buggy. I'd still give it a try though
Remember to Wipe/Factory reset, Wipe cache before flashing any new rom
Lenovo to acquire Motorola Mobility
We’ve just signed an agreement to sell Motorola to Lenovo for $2.91 billion. As this is an important move for Android users everywhere, I wanted to explain why in detail.
We acquired Motorola in 2012 to help supercharge the Android ecosystem by creating a stronger patent portfolio for Google and great smartphones for users. Over the past 19 months, Dennis Woodside and the Motorola team have done a tremendous job reinventing the company. They’ve focused on building a smaller number of great (and great value) smartphones that consumers love. Both the Moto G and the Moto X are doing really well, and I’m very excited about the smartphone lineup for 2014. And on the intellectual property side, Motorola’s patents have helped create a level playing field, which is good news for all Android’s users and partners.
But the smartphone market is super competitive, and to thrive it helps to be all-in when it comes to making mobile devices. It’s why we believe that Motorola will be better served by Lenovo—which has a rapidly growing smartphone business and is the largest (and fastest-growing) PC manufacturer in the world. This move will enable Google to devote our energy to driving innovation across the Android ecosystem, for the benefit of smartphone users everywhere. As a side note, this does not signal a larger shift for our other hardware efforts. The dynamics and maturity of the wearable and home markets, for example, are very different from that of the mobile industry. We’re excited by the opportunities to build amazing new products for users within these emerging ecosystems.
Lenovo has the expertise and track record to scale Motorola into a major player within the Android ecosystem. They have a lot of experience in hardware, and they have global reach. In addition, Lenovo intends to keep Motorola’s distinct brand identity—just as they did when they acquired ThinkPad from IBM in 2005. Google will retain the vast majority of Motorola’s patents, which we will continue to use to defend the entire Android ecosystem.
The deal has yet to be approved in the U.S. or China, and this usually takes time. So until then, it’s business as usual. I’m phenomenally impressed with everything the Motorola team has achieved and confident that with Lenovo as a partner, Motorola will build more and more great products for people everywhere.
Posted by Larry Page, CEO
http://googleblog.blogspot.com/2014/01/ ... ility.html
Reported Google deal could see Samsung deliver cleaner Android, less bloat
Google and Samsung agreeing to a 10 year patent licensing deal was good news for Android. But that might only be the tip of the iceberg. According to a report from Re/code the two are working together on a broader initiative that will bring the Samsung version of Android more inline with Google's vision. The talks appear to have started at CES following the reveal of Galaxy Tab Pro and Note Pro lines, which featured a new skin called Magazine UX. The interface was not only a dramatic departure from the familiar TouchWiz, but from the very core of Android itself. In fact, the panel-based home screen looks a lot more like Windows 8 than Mountain View's mobile OS. But Re/code's sources say that future Samsung devices will either feature a drastically scaled back version of Magazine UX or lose the interface all together. Obviously, keeping the Android experience as consistent as possible across devices and brands is good for Google, but it could also help Samsung, which is now looking at maintaining three different Android-based tablet skins.
http://www.engadget.com/2014/01/29/google-and-samsung/
M_2NR wrote:Been wanting to ask. What rom u all recommend I install on an s2? Currently it on stock 4.0.3 unrooted but it getting a WiFi bug off and on
its for a "friend"S_2NR wrote:M_2NR wrote:Been wanting to ask. What rom u all recommend I install on an s2? Currently it on stock 4.0.3 unrooted but it getting a WiFi bug off and on
What u like? Aosp? Aokp? Stock? Touchwiz?
M_2NR wrote:its for a "friend"S_2NR wrote:M_2NR wrote:Been wanting to ask. What rom u all recommend I install on an s2? Currently it on stock 4.0.3 unrooted but it getting a WiFi bug off and on
What u like? Aosp? Aokp? Stock? Touchwiz?and to be quite honest they using goolauncher and its stock and no complaints with that aspect only the WiFi a bit wonky. So I was thinking to put a newer ROM and another kernel. I found that when I had aosp (RR) it was running inefficient in terms of poor battery and was always hot even with siyah kernel also. I was reading things went down hill wrt battery life on jb?
rodfarva wrote:cyanogenmod?
cm10 stable
I used it on an S2 before...love the screen on that phone!
S_2NR wrote:I still have my s2. Running jb aokp milestone 2 with dorimanx kernel. No heat. No issues. No lag. Longest I had a phone without upgrading and all j change is the battery. Runs really well
M_2NR wrote:rodfarva wrote:cyanogenmod?
cm10 stable
I used it on an S2 before...love the screen on that phone!
i go pass thru the thread on xda and see how things shaping up.
btw how franco treating yuh? i got a 5hrs 40mins today SOT.
PapaC wrote:Wife got a HTC one. It's AT&T branded in the settings. Running 4.1.2
How do I update it?
When I try the AT&T software update it just opens and says searching and closes. When I go to the regular software update over wifi it says no updates are available for the phone.