SR wrote:will send u a pm later

but you need the hear the new dls rs6n components under 2 k a set

I'd like to hear them

silent_riot

Re: The Quest for great Components

Postby silent_riot » August 8th, 2011, 9:23 am

DJ Q, you should attend some SQ shows.
You can listen to a wide variety of components of varying price ranges.
The DLS SR is talking about are very good for under 2k a set.
There are cheaper/more expensive sets that you can hear and see which matches your preferences best.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » August 8th, 2011, 9:24 am

Ok well I'll look out on the ICE group on FB for the next event.

Postby SR » August 8th, 2011, 3:45 pm

will have the car for demo at the next ice club event will also arrange for the other dls equiped vehicles to be there so you can hear the difference between models all under 2k a set

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » November 27th, 2013, 4:00 pm

Resurrecting this thread two years later...

Lots of interesting information in here.
So here's the update:

I now have a 2008 RORO Fielder.
So far, the pre-installed speakers honestly sound pretty darn good!
However, I can't crank it up too high or it gets distorted quickly.
Highs aren't nice and crisp but overall I really am impressed with the stock speakers.

My goal is a high quality, stealth, sub-less install that can be cranked up when a good song comes on. If I can't achieve this without a sub, I have my eyes set on the RE SEX 10" in a small sealed custom fibreglass enclosure in the trunk.

I'm opening my mind to three way component sets.
I am NOT sacrificing trunk space.
There are two spaces below the false floor that I'm willing to use for amp/sub installations.

This is a system that will take some time to achieve, current budget is set at $20,000.00
I'll adjust the budget where needed.
I'd honestly really prefer to get as little equipment as possible; not really into the complicated setups.
Deck -> amp -> Speakers has always been my install, but willing to change.

This system is not for playing in crowd pleaser, but want to be loud enough if a small lime around the car.
I need everything except wires.
I like this head unit:
http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/PUSA/ ... H-X5600BHS

Suggestions welcome :)

SQ Audio

Postby SQ Audio » November 27th, 2013, 11:14 pm

Contact me at 746-1234 for demo.

Re: The Quest for a Great System

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » November 29th, 2013, 2:48 pm

u put d rover to sleep orrr ..... :lol:

very nice wagon , i know these inside out & can give u some tips on it

u cud check me at my new store location in a few days time when i will have all my speaker demos fully connected & running ...... 8-)

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » November 29th, 2013, 4:04 pm

^Cool man.

I was wondering if I go with the Morel Elate 9" woofer... where would I put it?
How would I get that and a 6.5" in the doors??

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 29th, 2013, 7:39 pm

DJ Q wrote:^Cool man.

I was wondering if I go with the Morel Elate 9" woofer... where would I put it?
How would I get that and a 6.5" in the doors??

Why would you need a 9" + 6.5" ?

Personally I'd suggest you come out to the IASCA event this weekend and listen to the cars on demo. I've learnt that's the best way to understand what you want and how you will achieve it.

Postby ruffneck_12 » November 29th, 2013, 7:48 pm

DJ Q livin? wtf lol

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » November 29th, 2013, 10:53 pm

Isn't the 9" just a woofer from a 3way? Or is it part of a two way system :shock:

Will see what I can do for this weekend. Where is the event?

Postby SR » November 30th, 2013, 12:11 am

Ato boldon stadium sq starts at 9am the dls wagon will be there

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » November 30th, 2013, 2:14 am

u know for ah man who askin 2 yrs now an havent made it out to a show yet it will be hard to help .

Postby kurpal_v2 » November 30th, 2013, 3:39 am

DJ Q wrote:Isn't the 9" just a woofer from a 3way? Or is it part of a two way system :shock:

Will see what I can do for this weekend. Where is the event?

the 9" or 6.5 woofer, not both, morel elates come with the cdm 88 midrange + t23 tweeter iirc.

SR wrote:Ato boldon stadium sq starts at 9am the dls wagon will be there

The DLS wagon is a very nice starting point if it remains unchanged from the time I heard it by fen. SR I booking my seat time after judging from now :mrgreen:

Postby SR » November 30th, 2013, 7:57 am

front stage speakers have changed since you last heard it

running this

http://dls.se/en/car/prod.html?produkt=en_737

http://dls.se/en/car/prod.html?produkt=en_740

with these discontinued tweets dls UR1
http://www.google.tt/imgres?imgurl=http ... CCoQ9QEwAA

car has yet to be tuned hoping I will get time xmass day but may install the new scandanavia tweets if I get them in time for xmass

but its a good example for a wagon for what the op is looking at based on space requirements etc as well as the install

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » December 1st, 2013, 10:58 am

Hey Monster, I dropped interest for a while, so it's not been a consistent thing.

I really wanted to make that show yesterday, but had other commitments with wife and kid.

Thanks for all the info everyone.

kavaninho

Postby kavaninho » December 1st, 2013, 11:43 am

^^^SQ is today bro

archangel2011

Postby archangel2011 » December 1st, 2013, 8:26 pm

how about the JBL p660C as was suggested some time ago ( they are 2ohms to get the most out of the amp) or 660 GTi if you feeling to spend all the money, a 5 channel amp like the JL audio XD 700/5, a jl audio sub or the image dynamics ID 10" which needs a really small enclosure sealed.

Postby nervewrecker » December 1st, 2013, 9:57 pm

JBL = Just Be Loud :mrgreen:

Some of the Morel Comps can get stupid loud and laugh at some good power.

Not sure how loud you mean by park and play but my JBL's can get loud and hit low without issues.

There is a PG 5 channel if the JL aint got enough juice but it is kind of big.

http://www.phoenixgold.com/products/amp ... oductID=80

DD has a nice 5ch I was eyeing as well, good xovers on both.

A match up sub could be the ID Max or Re SX / DD3512 if you have space.

The rest of cash can go to an alternator upgrade and battery. Fuzz has some nice alts and batteries, if you on a budget my Ac Delco battery has held up pretty good *shame*

Rovin has a Fielder and his store reopen so maybe you can give him a holler and see how loud is loud for you.

Postby Ted_v2 » December 1st, 2013, 10:02 pm

Should of bought ss 626 morel.

Those were epic and was fs for piper price

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » December 2nd, 2013, 8:08 am

Ok I have a question.

http://www.morelhifi.com/wp-content/upl ... d-spec.pdf
I love the sound of the Morel Elate 903 system, however, the specs in the link above says the woofer takes 200wrms, cdm 88 takes 100wrms and the tweeter takes another 130wrms, does this mean that if going active, this three way system can take a total of 430wrms? Also, are those figures for the pair or is that power rating per speaker?

I like the phoenix gold you posted nerve... but i'm just wondering if it'll be enough power for the operation... because if I go with a set of elate 903 in the front, what should I put in the back? 902?

And yes I'd like speakers in the rear doors.

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » December 2nd, 2013, 10:33 am

rear doors are 5.25" , from d looks of it maybe 6.5 will fit with a riser but i havent tried it yet ...

nigel1977

Postby nigel1977 » December 2nd, 2013, 2:11 pm

Fielders are 6.5 right around as is with most Toyotas with a 3 hole OEM speaker. The front door can do a 8.5" or bigger without upholstery cutting. PM me for more info on that.
The rear door is 6.5" drop in with a riser.

Postby nervewrecker » December 2nd, 2013, 7:56 pm

I didn't realize you was doing all 4 doors.

If Nigel talking about what I think he is, you should be a happy man. Run that up front and maybe a decent set of coax or comps in the rear doors. Focal and jbl both have 2 ohm drivers, both good stuff.

Wrt the power dissipation, if running passive the passives distributes power accordingly. Hit it with what you got once it within what is recommend.

Sully

Postby Sully » December 6th, 2013, 6:37 am

Undercover gallery kinda thing.

Postby nervewrecker » December 6th, 2013, 10:00 am

There is a guy selling 2 pairs of Alpine PDX amps, 1000.1 and 150.4 if you interested in buying used.

Should be all the power you need in a small footprint and with RIPS no need to worry about impedance.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » December 23rd, 2013, 12:50 pm

Sully wrote:Undercover gallery kinda thing.

Have to admit... slightly yes.
Can take the hard pong out of the car but can't take it out of the driver.

It had me going back and forth with all this info, so I think I've decided to take a small leap into this with the following:

- Pioneer X4600BT
- Morel Tempo 6 (front + rear)
- RE SEX 10
- Powerbass 1100.5

Not going to shoot for perfection initially.
The biggest thing that brought me all the way back down to this simple a system was the fabrication to fit the 9" woofer. Meh...
I know some of you are going to throw a fit with the deck and amp choice, but, I never had a prob with powerbass stuff & I can't find any double din Pioneer that compares to the 80prs in terms of quality & features.

Will start the system some time in 2014 and update as I go along

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » January 18th, 2014, 6:34 pm

Didn't want to start a new thread for this but I just came across something:

Are those rivets? :shock:
How do I get that out :shock:

Postby nervewrecker » January 18th, 2014, 6:47 pm