GT, Guyana to Rio in Brazil by LAND ! World Cup !

Re: GT, Guyana to Rio in Brazil by LAND ! World Cup !

Postby rfari » December 12th, 2013, 2:01 pm

haven't started purchasing tickets as yet but tickets are available right now. those costs i pulled directly from the respective airline websites. just bouncing ideas around.

this is just a quick calc for one person heading to rio. trip duration is just over a month allowing a few days contingency on either side of the tournament's start-finish dates.

im not going to fightdown game tickets at this time. one group match and a quarters for germany will suffice. otherwise, on any given game day, its the fanzone 0X

Veritrini

Postby Veritrini » December 12th, 2013, 2:03 pm

rfari wrote:-flight (CAL) from trini to georgetown -US$ 309.90

-georgetown to lethem (bus) £36 (reference: http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowTopic-g2 ... uyana.html)

-lethem to boa vista, brazil (bus possibly?, 130km)
https://maps.google.com/maps?saddr=Leth ... mra=ls&z=9

-Flight (TAM) from boa vista to rio -US$ 251.02
http://bit.ly/1fnwNGm

OK Great info here...

Postby rfari » December 12th, 2013, 2:37 pm

Visas for the FIFA World Cup Brazil 2014
12 June - 13 July

All visas issued for the FIFA World Cup Brazil 2014 are free of charge (no basic fee, processing fee or proxy fee for applying through a third party will be charged). The visas issued for the event are all temporary special visas. Please see below the general documentation you must submit for all visa applications related to the FIFA World Cup Brazil 2014, then click on the links further below to see special requirements requested for your particular type of visa.

FIFA World Cup Brazil 2014: VISA FOR SPECTATOR (VITUR-TE)
Specific supporting document required: Ticket or proof of purchase of ticket valid for any of the games of the FIFA World Cup 2014. The visa may be extended to a legal dependent accompanying the ticket holder as long as proof of relationship is provided.
Foreigners who already hold a valid tourist visa may utilize it to participate in the event as a spectator. There is no need to apply for the special visa category described above.

Visa applications for the FIFA World Cup Brazil 2014 can be sent to the Consulate by an authorized third party, such as a representative of a travel agency or a visa service, as long as the applicant resides within the Consulate General's jurisdiction.

http://cgwashington.itamaraty.gov.br/en ... l_2014.xml

THEN

Brazil tourist visa is not required for citizens of Trinidad Tobago for a stay up to 90 days.
Sounds good! What else do I need to know while planning a trip to Brazil?

First, check the current validity of your passport.

All travelers will need a passport valid for at least 90 days following your departure date from Brazil. However, we strongly recommend traveling with 6 months validity on your passport at all times. VisaHQ can assist U.S. citizens with a full range of expedited passport services, including new passport application and passport renewal.

Second, make sure your passport has blank Visa pages.

Most destinations, including Brazil, require that you have adequate un-used pages in your passport, allowing for any necessary stamps upon arrival and departure. We recommend that you have at least two free pages in Visas section of your passport before any international travel. U.S. citizens can get extra passport pages added to their passports as fast as within 24 hours.

Finally, confirm if transit visa is required for any connections.

Check with your airline in case you have connecting flights overseas as part of your journey to Brazil. It may be the case that countries you pass through en route to your destination may require a separate transit visa. Please refer to visa requirements of the specific country.

http://brazil.visahq.com/requirements/Trinidad_Tobago/

i called the consulate and the rep confirmed this. valid passport, proof of plane ticket purchase(or any other mode of transportation), proof of accommodation, shots. i asked if game tickets were required and she said no.

edit: add to your calendar
http://www.markthisdate.com/calendar/wo ... endar.html

Postby RASC » December 12th, 2013, 6:56 pm

Rfari yuh lashing!
Pete most likely :)

pluggie

Postby pluggie » December 13th, 2013, 3:27 am

With the cost of flights aside, lets say you had the money and spending $2600USD was pocket change. To drive from Guyana to Brazil is a trip of a lifetime not to mention ending it off with another experience of a lifetime i.e the world cup ;) ... I'd say you're a lucky facker, I'd do it anyday.... Not a trip for little wussies doh, be strong, be safe and take lots of pics on the way.

Postby j.o.e » December 13th, 2013, 6:52 am

Will be heading down. Flying to Panama then to Brazil. Other option would have been a longer flight to Miami

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 13th, 2013, 8:11 am

RASC wrote:
Veritrini wrote:
pete wrote:Google has no road from Guyana to Brazil, the easier option is this, take a pirogue to Guiria in Venezuela and there's road/ferries to get where you want to go.

There are roads ! There is even a bus that takes you from Guyana to Boa Vista Brazil. Please do some research before you make misinformed statements.

Pete better than that buddy... hear eat a snickers. Youre not yourself when you're hungry! Better?

Pete always hungry...

Postby rfari » December 17th, 2013, 12:46 pm

another possible route with 1 day layovers in suriname and belem

-flight (SurAir) from trini to suriname-US$ 348.70

-Flight (SurAir) from suriname to belem (brazil) -US$ $ 533.22

-Flight (TAM) from belem (brazil) to rio -US$ 278.06
http://bit.ly/JwPrjV

Postby desifemlove » December 17th, 2013, 7:18 pm

there ent no flight from Caracas to Rio or Sao Paolo?

Postby RASC » December 17th, 2013, 7:56 pm

j.o.e wrote:Will be heading down. Flying to Panama then to Brazil. Other option would have been a longer flight to Miami

The panama route. Costs pls...

Postby rfari » December 17th, 2013, 8:14 pm

desifemlove wrote:there ent no flight from Caracas to Rio or Sao Paolo?

straight copy paste
http://www.wego.com/flights/searches/FQ ... e_code=CCS
Aerolineas Argentinas Aerolineas Argentinas see all 104 fares
US$1,638
Select
Gol Transportes Aereos Gol Transportes Aereos see all 5 fares
US$2,648
Select
Avianca Avianca see all 140 fares
US$2,796
Select
Copa Airlines Copa Airlines see all 15 fares
US$2,851
Select
Taca Taca see all 24 fares
US$3,307
Select
Air Europa Air Europa see all 6 fares
US$3,663
Select
TAP Air Portugal TAP Air Portugal see all 14 fares
US$5,034
Select
American Airlines American Airlines see all 5 fares
US$5,188
Select
Aeromexico Aeromexico see all 7 fares
US$5,475
Select
Delta Air Lines Delta Air Lines see all 7 fares
US$6,161
Select
TAM Linhas Aereas TAM Linhas Aereas see all 5 fares
US$6,791
Select
United Airlines United Airlines see all 25 fares
US$7,264
Select
Lufthansa Lufthansa see all 5 fares
US$8,418
Select
Alitalia Alitalia see all 5 fares
US$8,724
Select
LAN Airlines LAN Airlines see all 4 fares
US$9,038

Postby sharkman121 » December 17th, 2013, 9:01 pm

this sounds exciting as fcuk... im up for it. The adventure alone makes it worth my while, getting to brazil for WC is just a bonus.

Postby rfari » December 17th, 2013, 9:57 pm

sharkman121 wrote:this sounds exciting as fcuk... im up for it. The adventure alone makes it worth my while, getting to brazil for WC is just a bonus.

the rell question is if u gonna get permission tho

Postby sharkman121 » December 17th, 2013, 10:40 pm

look who talkin, bredz i been marrid 18 times as long as u eh, ollour younguns in d game ha rel mouth :lol:

Postby mero » December 17th, 2013, 10:53 pm

Can some bring me back some ayuhuasca when they go? Srs

trincivic

Postby trincivic » December 25th, 2013, 11:20 pm

Anyone going Rio for the world cup

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » December 26th, 2013, 2:22 am

What is this GT slang i hearin dese days wrt, people, places etc???

liquidmetal

Postby liquidmetal » May 14th, 2014, 6:30 pm

There is also this option similar to rfari:

Use http://www.momondo.com to get the cheapest flight options--

Air via CAL - 06/06/2014: Piarco,Trinidad to Paramaribo, Suriname $171
Air via Suriname Airways - 09/06/2014: Paramaribo, Suriname to Belem, Brazil $304
Air via Azul - 09/06/2014: Belem, Brazil to Rio De Janeiro, Brazil $137
= $612 USD one way

Use that same path to return to Trinidad if you like... You can switch around the departure days in the week to get slightly lower fares -for eg. if u leave Belem on the 10th instead of the 9th above you pay $118 instead of $137

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » January 7th, 2015, 3:57 pm

RIP OP.