PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Re: PC Tech/Gaming Info Thread

Postby cinco » December 7th, 2013, 3:19 pm

Most customs officers dont know the law and dont tax correctly.

HCCA

Postby HCCA » December 7th, 2013, 5:20 pm

VLDS wrote:Oh. Never knew that. I never got taxed. They should make them duty free. Pc's are essential nowadays

They were at one point in time when a certain party was in power.

When the next party took their place, VAT was reintroduced.

When there wasn't any tax on pc components that was the only time i imported something on my own, now it a bit risky with the variable taxations.

Postby cinco » December 7th, 2013, 5:36 pm

HCCA wrote:
VLDS wrote:Oh. Never knew that. I never got taxed. They should make them duty free. Pc's are essential nowadays

They were at one point in time when a certain party was in power.

When the next party took their place, VAT was reintroduced.

When there wasn't any tax on pc components that was the only time i imported something on my own, now it a bit risky with the variable taxations.

Parts were NEVER tax free.

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » December 7th, 2013, 6:11 pm

^thats how i know it too...

Almost everything "computer" is duty free...but not all are VAT free.
mobos, cases even cpus are VATable items afaik

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » December 10th, 2013, 12:57 pm

hustla_ambition101 wrote:
-Roach- wrote::shock:
-Roach- wrote:PC problems occuring guys can someone help?..... Im currently running the following...

Processor: Intel Core i7 870 @ 2.93GHz
RAM: 8GB RAM (DDR3 Kingston) <--- I have 16GB but im only running 8 for now
Graphics: NVidia GeForce GTX 560Ti 1GB
Motherboard: Intel DH55TC 1156 Socket
HD: 1TB

It often keeps freezing on me... Literally every time i turn on the pc and browse the net a hour or 2... The mouse sticks then the keyboard has no response... Sometimes the entire pc freezes and the monitor shuts off as well then you'll see 'No Signal' (I tried pressing the CAPS lock to see if the keyboard has a response still and its frozen as well).... Can anyone please help with this problem?... Suggestions?... Is my ram damaged?... Or is it the graphics card... (Although i doubt cuz i was playing battlefield 4 for about 2 hours straight and no problems)...

I was getting the same problem some time ago, was also getting BSOD with the GPU. Gave the card a good cleanout and it seems to be working fine for now. All this after I bought new parts to upgrade

Good Day
I didn't see a power supply listed...what is powering this rig...I would check there.
Cleaning your rig will help if the problem is heat related.

I can't really provide any extra help without some more info or seeing the rig personally

Hope you get it sorted though

jm3

Postby jm3 » December 10th, 2013, 2:28 pm

Try removing your gpu and cleaning pcie slot also just give everything else a good clean.

jm3

Postby jm3 » December 10th, 2013, 2:29 pm

Try removing your gpu and cleaning pcie slot also just give everything else a good clean

Postby nervewrecker » December 14th, 2013, 12:28 pm

Guys, my San Disk Flash wont read on any PC or my car deck.

When I plug it in, it briefly lights up and then goes off.

Meanwhile Kingston flash reads perfectly on all devices.

Its a 2Gb and never saw any abuse (fall, water etc), just has some music on it and it stayed connected to the deck for a few years proper. I willing to condemn it but just want to be able to salvage the music, thats all.

Any ideas?

jm3

Postby jm3 » December 14th, 2013, 12:37 pm

Could try cleaning the contacts maybe.

Cross Blood

Postby Cross Blood » December 14th, 2013, 1:49 pm

^What he said. You can also check to see if the flash drive is slack when you insert it into the USB port. If its slack, you can squeeze the connector a little so it would make better contact.

Postby nervewrecker » December 14th, 2013, 3:06 pm

tried cleaning it already.

connectors not slack, I tried holding it at different angles.

Postby ruffneck_12 » December 14th, 2013, 3:53 pm

SteamOS beta version out

http://store.steampowered.com/livingroom/SteamOS/

I lost the download link doh , sorry :lol:

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » December 14th, 2013, 7:16 pm

http://repo.steampowered.com/download/

Note: one of the installation methods that Valve details requires a 1TB storage device.

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » December 14th, 2013, 9:17 pm

ruffneck_12 wrote:SteamOS beta version out

http://store.steampowered.com/livingroom/SteamOS/

I lost the download link doh , sorry :lol:

whats this about

Postby ruffneck_12 » December 14th, 2013, 10:45 pm

boy click d link and see

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » December 14th, 2013, 11:51 pm

anybody have dirt3?

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » December 15th, 2013, 6:43 am

ruffneck_12 wrote:boy click d link and see

I did but still don't understand

-Roach-

Postby -Roach- » December 15th, 2013, 9:13 am

kamakazi wrote:
-Roach- wrote:PC problems occuring guys can someone help?..... Im currently running the following...

Processor: Intel Core i7 870 @ 2.93GHz
RAM: 8GB RAM (DDR3 Kingston) <--- I have 16GB but im only running 8 for now
Graphics: NVidia GeForce GTX 560Ti 1GB
Motherboard: Intel DH55TC 1156 Socket
HD: 1TB

It often keeps freezing on me... Literally every time i turn on the pc and browse the net a hour or 2... The mouse sticks then the keyboard has no response... Sometimes the entire pc freezes and the monitor shuts off as well then you'll see 'No Signal' (I tried pressing the CAPS lock to see if the keyboard has a response still and its frozen as well).... Can anyone please help with this problem?... Suggestions?... Is my ram damaged?... Or is it the graphics card... (Although i doubt cuz i was playing battlefield 4 for about 2 hours straight and no problems)...

Good Day
I didn't see a power supply listed...what is powering this rig...I would check there.
Cleaning your rig will help if the problem is heat related.

I can't really provide any extra help without some more info or seeing the rig personally

Hope you get it sorted though[/quote]
Im using a 600w thermaltake power supply...

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » December 15th, 2013, 12:19 pm

fred1266 wrote:I did but still don't understand

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SteamOS wrote:SteamOS is an operating system based on the Linux kernel and the Debian distribution in development by Valve Corporation. It will be the primary operating system for the Steam Machine games consoles, and was initially released on December 13, 2013, alongside the start of end-user beta testing of Steam Machines

Basically Valve is making their own linux-based Operating system for their new "console" (Steam Machine/steam box) so you don't have to use Windows.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SteamOS wrote:SteamOS is designed primarily for playing video games. Users will be able to stream games from their Windows or Mac computers to one running SteamOS, and it will incorporate the same family sharing and restrictions as Steam on the desktop.[2] Valve claims that it has "achieved significant performance increases in graphics processing" through SteamOS.[3] The operating system will be open source allowing anyone to build on or adapt the source code,[4] which will run on Steam Machines.[5]
Since SteamOS is designed for playing games it will not have many built-in functions beyond web browsing and playing games; for example there is no file manager or image viewer. Though the OS does not, in its current form, support streaming services, Valve is in talks with streaming companies to bring the feature to SteamOS.[6]

fred1266

Postby fred1266 » December 15th, 2013, 8:21 pm

ok thanks, think i would stick to pc but looks interesting

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » December 15th, 2013, 8:45 pm

nervewrecker wrote:tried cleaning it already.

sorry to be the bearer of bad news but Sandisk drives are notorious for failing without sign, I have two 4 32GB drives that have failed.

Postby nervewrecker » December 15th, 2013, 9:33 pm

kg494EJ-1 wrote:

sorry to be the bearer of bad news but Sandisk drives are notorious for failing without sign, I have two 4 32GB drives that have failed.

If only I had known I would have backed it up. Sigh, 2gb of good music lost.

Postby maj. tom » December 16th, 2013, 1:30 am

just a reminder on security...

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » December 16th, 2013, 8:52 am

kg494EJ-1 wrote:

If only I had known I would have backed it up. Sigh, 2gb of good music lost.

speak for yourself...I currently have a fail streak with Kingston Flash Drives but my Sandisk drives seem to be holding up.
Sorry to hear about the loss of your music though. :(

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » December 16th, 2013, 12:36 pm

kamakazi wrote:
speak for yourself...I currently have a fail streak with Kingston Flash Drives but my Sandisk drives seem to be holding up.
Sorry to hear about the loss of your music though. :(

Surprisingly its been the opposite for me I still mostly use Sandisk however there is a problem in their lower end drives, besides the drives I have that have failed in the collection are a couple of micro and sd cards also two ssds .The problem seems to be with the drives over 16GB but I have been seeing this more and more,If you check forums like spiceworks you would see that its not an isolated problem.

Postby nervewrecker » December 16th, 2013, 6:22 pm

Bought a Kingston some years ago. It fell, I bent it while in the USB slot, broke into pieces, I step on it and all different drama it gone through. Currently held together by a rubber band and it still works.

On another note, got a Samsung SIII mini and cant seem to connect to my wireless network home. For the higher end phones there is a button in the router settings with two arrows going in a counter clockwise manner. I click that and click the one on the device and it is connected.

This phone however does not have such. Any ideas?

Cisco Valet M10 V2 Router.
router.jpg

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » December 16th, 2013, 10:22 pm

I 3970X only 3000.00

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » December 16th, 2013, 11:26 pm

nervewrecker wrote:This phone however does not have such. Any ideas?

Cisco Valet M10 V2 Router.

I does use the 'Manual setup' option

Chiney

Postby Chiney » December 22nd, 2013, 8:15 pm

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=545609

if anyone here is interested..

firstchoicett

Postby firstchoicett » December 23rd, 2013, 10:19 am