i foresee several 'altercations' and stand offs following drinking or confrontations in lover's triangles.
We can't even keep ourselves safe on the roads....bad driving, breaking traffic rules, excessive speeding, poor signalling, traffic lights, illegal modifications, driving while under the influence...hell i estimate about 40% of trini's can't even park properly or legally...imagine these citizens with a gun. Receipe for disaster. .........
This idea of restricting firearm ownership by law abiding citizens in T&T / Caribbean has colonial roots and has always been used as a way to tip the balance of power in favor of a favored class and to create a dependency on the government for the basic requirement of personal protection ..... its time to rethink these things.....
redmanjp wrote:i agree with the firearms for law abiding citizens but their should still be a proper screening process- criminal, psychological, etc.
only legalize weed for medical use- take out the THC (which makes u high) and allow the other compounds
silver wrote:This idea of restricting firearm ownership by law abiding citizens in T&T / Caribbean has colonial roots and has always been used as a way to tip the balance of power in favor of a favored class and to create a dependency on the government for the basic requirement of personal protection ..... its time to rethink these things.....
was going ok until this. This is premised on the belief that owning a firearm makes you less of a target and on equal footing with a violent threat. I would hazard a guess and say this is probably not true. For business protection where there is usually either cash or valuable merchandise on location i agree firearm in the hands of a trained and licensed individual is a good counter measure.
In the hands of an ordinary home owner? chances are:
1) in the event of a robbery you don't have the opportunity to get to your firearm.
2) you are targeted BECAUSE you have a firearm and they want it
3) potentially non-violent situations either quickly escalate or are escalated
4) a large number of gun related deaths in the US are due to accidental discharges. Proper storage is a requirement, somehow children and teens die every year. IT is the cause of about 20,000 suicides in the US in 2012.
5) in countries where guns are legal, there was no evidence to suggest reduction in larceny but the number of homicides and homicides from guns increased exponentially year on year.
I'm not against gun ownership, but not because of any nonsense colonial trickle down effect..because in countries where guns are legal...the statistics show you're better off without them. I personally think it would be much worse in Trinidad. Owning a gun is a tremendous responsibility and for those not (mentally) equipped, it comes with a great sense of false power and security. We would not survive
Trinbagoviews wrote:
Someone intent on murdering or assaulting someone (which is already "illegal") will either buy an illegal gun easily if they need too.....call a hit on their victim etc.....
RAJIE wrote:ok i understand your points but honestly and truely i would disagree
1) We in Trinidad are not responsible enough to have guns.. for every little problem.. many would just turn to this "defensive" gun as the solution to solve their problems
sad to say. it have have the lawless people. but sadly we should take blame because if u living in a area, u must know who does have illegal guns. who does sell drugs and so forth.. and what do we do?.. i wonder.. do we report it or just ignore it?
one of the biggest problems i think in trinidad is vehicles being stolen..people working very hard for what they have for people to come and take it away and never to be seen again? then everybody who have vehicles must go put gps tracking devices in their car to be safe?
my solution i think could solve alot of issues in TnT
i think the best solution to really solve alot of issues in trinidad is by the government investing in a throughout the country camera system.(with 24/7 monitoring)
-stolen vehicles- can be traced to its exact locaton and also the person responsible for it can be seen and also their exact location would be determine whereby they can be arrested
-murder- video from cameras can show what happen, how it happen, where and when it happen,, who did it, an they would be traced to their current location to be arrested.. no more hiding
-kidnapping- would be same in the case of murder however u could see where the kidnapped victim is for a fast and reliable methods
-drugs-camera would be able to capture a percentage of these activities
in the end it would be a huge investment but i think in the long term. it would be probably one of the best investion the government of Trinidad could make,
88sins wrote:ah find plenty tuners sayin, "Trini's not responsible on the road, so we not responsible enough to carry guns".
allyuh hadda learn to speak for yourselves as individuals, & stop attemptin to speak for the general public.
If you as an individual know yuh not responsible enough to conduct yuhself properly on the road, doh sit in d drivers seat, or even apply for a license. And if you know you cannot be responsible with a firearm, say you personally don't want one, & never apply for one or try to acquire one legally or otherwise & leave it there.
But for anyone to feel that everybody else is as irresponsible as they are is jus plain friggin stupid. Those productive, level headed, responsible, law abiding persons that want arms, whether for self defense or sporting purposes, should be able to acquire them with less politics.
After all d gum flappage the anti-gun crowd pushin, how often allyuh does hear about licensed firearms holders gettin drunk & shooting ppl during "altercations" & "love triangles" in comparison to the murders committed during criminal activities?
bluesteel29 wrote:redmanjp wrote:i agree with the firearms for law abiding citizens but their should still be a proper screening process- criminal, psychological, etc.
only legalize weed for medical use- take out the THC (which makes u high) and allow the other compounds
sadis u dohtish fuh spite orrr
mark2.0 wrote:3point plan!... Simple
1. Start
2. To
3. Hang
Crime solve.
To push us further into to reactivity than we already are?RAJIE wrote:mark2.0 wrote:3point plan!... Simple
1. Start
2. To
3. Hang
Crime solve.
agreed