An Effective 3 Point Crime Plan For Trinidad and Tobago

Trinbagoviews

An Effective 3 Point Crime Plan For Trinidad and Tobago

Postby Trinbagoviews » December 9th, 2013, 12:48 pm

1. Immediately remove the gun legislation and bureaucracy in sourcing firearms for law abiding citizens.

The law in its current form ensures only non-law abiding citizens and on duty police will have firearms. This therefore emboldens criminals because they know that law-abiding citizens are unarmed and powerless to defend themselves. Essentially making the majority of Trinbagonians potential victims / sitting ducks.

The Trinidad and Tobago Police Service - An inefficient government agency should not have monopoly over your individual personal safety and security. Government has monopoly over water, the issue of drivers' permits, passports, ID cards, customs etc etc. How have these services worked out?

If citizens want to figure out what works look at what the persons with the most power, money and autonomy do to protect and safeguard themselves. They enlist the services of armed guards to protect them or they pay the requisite bribe to get a firearm license.

2. Legalise the use of illegal drugs.

This will essentially stop the waste of police resources on the policing of illegal drugs. Drugs like marijuana therefore should be immediately legalised. Currently the Trinidad and Tobago Prison Service can't even keep drugs out of prisons, how will the TTPS keep drugs out of an entire island with open boarders. Our current policy was literally doomed to fail from the start. This approach would also allow the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service to assign more officers to patrol the streets and increase detection and conviction rates of more serious crimes.

This approach would also reduce drug prices for which huge premiums are paid on the black market, thereby making the industry less attractive to drug pushers.

This change in policy does not facilitate lawlessness but rather allows individuals to incur the consequences of their actions i.e. drug use leads to destitution. After all a million laws could be written but at the end of the day morality cannot be legislated. Imagine the government can't even prevent illegal drug use in the prisons but somehow expects to stop drug use in T&T.

3. Improve Accountability By Publicly Publishing Prosecution Statistic of Prosecutors, Judges and Police officers.

Afford the public greater transparency over the judicial process. What motivation do police officials have to track down criminals when the majority of suspects go free? What motivation do officers have when they receive compensation whether they perform or not? Trinidad and Tobago does not just have a crime problem since police officers can't be everywhere a crime occurs it really has a crime prosecution and conviction problem.

Re: An Effective 3 Point Crime Plan For Trinidad and Tobago

Postby VexXx Dogg » December 9th, 2013, 1:34 pm

Oversimplification much?

Postby skylinechild » December 9th, 2013, 3:24 pm

thiswontendwell / endofched :drama:

silver

Postby silver » December 9th, 2013, 3:27 pm

this is insanity.

Certain Law-abiding citizens should be allowed to own a firearm, but the process should require several mandatory criteria to be fulfilled, significantly critical of the applicants and their background/mental health etc and follow a transparent process.
Look at the mess in the US. crazy people shooting up malls, schools, naval bases. Not to mention, Trinidadians are highly undisciplined and poor at controlling their emotions...simple disagreements and misunderstandings will escalate into world war TT.
i foresee several 'altercations' and stand offs following drinking or confrontations in lover's triangles.
We can't even keep ourselves safe on the roads....bad driving, breaking traffic rules, excessive speeding, poor signalling, traffic lights, illegal modifications, driving while under the influence...hell i estimate about 40% of trini's can't even park properly or legally...imagine these citizens with a gun. Receipe for disaster.
What we need to do is remove the illegal guns from entering the country and conduct constant searches and raids to retrieve those guns already here. Gun amnesty.

2. The police service needs an overhaul yes. But the problem is the entrenched corruption, lack of professionalism, lack of mental/physical capability of the force (no offense) and the lack of proper tools and systems. i.e. we have boats, helicopters, cars, suvs and no central apb system to coordinate any efforts. The police service needs to be elevated to a profession at the level of an engineer. Not a fallback plan for kfc drop outs (again a generalization).

3. legalize weed? I disagree. De-criminalize possession of small quantities of the substance..but still pursue full sanction of illegal transportation, farming/cultivation and provide a controlled method to obtain the drug in minute quantites for recreational or medicial use. Plus the drug war in trinidad is more about the trans-shipment/gateway to other countries of cocaine, heroin,etc. The focus should be on the progressive and continual removal of the access/entry points for the drugs/guns. This will never end. But you can make it more difficult.

4. accountability. yes. yes and yes. only good point in that whole post.

Postby shogun » December 9th, 2013, 4:08 pm

One point plan...

(1) Stop coddling the criminals at the top of the food chain.... those wealthy drug backers from "respectable" families. Do that and most of the other chips should fall.
Unlikely though... this is a nation of generational corruption at the top.... and the public are a bunch of kissarses. Just look at the "R8 crash" ched for Christ sakes.

Postby Sky » December 9th, 2013, 4:16 pm

Alcohol is a substance that when consumed, can change the way your sensory and motor functions work.
People sometimes use this substance and get behind the wheel, not respecting the machinery and what damage it can do.

Marijuana is a substance that when consumed, can change the way your sensory and motor functions work.
People sometimes use this substance and get behind the wheel, not respecting the machinery and what damage it can do.

^ Spot the difference...
One is legal. Legalise it medicinally? Sure, come take your doses at the hospital.
We're not responsible enough for alcohol, why add another potential factor?
Don't speak on behalf of others.

Trinbagoviews

Postby Trinbagoviews » December 9th, 2013, 4:41 pm

i foresee several 'altercations' and stand offs following drinking or confrontations in lover's triangles.
We can't even keep ourselves safe on the roads....bad driving, breaking traffic rules, excessive speeding, poor signalling, traffic lights, illegal modifications, driving while under the influence...hell i estimate about 40% of trini's can't even park properly or legally...imagine these citizens with a gun. Receipe for disaster. .........

The mass murders that occurred in the US were isolated incidents that got a lot of publicity giving the illusion that it occurs on epidemic proportions..... statistically the likelihood of that happening is miniscule.

Also..........why hasn't "several altercations and stand offs occurred" with police officers, army personnel, armed security guards and persons with licensed firearms already ..... they too are Trinbagonians right? The answer is they are in general law abiding.... under the current arrangement only non-law abiders will have firearms. Thereby making it an unfair playing field.

Someone intent on murdering or assaulting someone (which is already "illegal") will either buy an illegal gun easily if they need too.....call a hit on their victim etc.....

Think about it this way if a bandit new that 50% of the homes in Valsayn or Maraval were armed with licensed firearms you think he would attempt a break in knowing there was a 50 / 50 chance he could be shot/killed? ..... Citizens should be afforded this option

This idea of restricting firearm ownership by law abiding citizens in T&T / Caribbean has colonial roots and has always been used as a way to tip the balance of power in favor of a favored class and to create a dependency on the government for the basic requirement of personal protection ..... its time to rethink these things..... :wink:

Postby redmanjp » December 9th, 2013, 4:58 pm

i agree with the firearms for law abiding citizens but their should still be a proper screening process- criminal, psychological, etc.

only legalize weed for medical use- take out the THC (which makes u high) and allow the other compounds

silver

Postby silver » December 9th, 2013, 5:12 pm

This idea of restricting firearm ownership by law abiding citizens in T&T / Caribbean has colonial roots and has always been used as a way to tip the balance of power in favor of a favored class and to create a dependency on the government for the basic requirement of personal protection ..... its time to rethink these things.....

was going ok until this. This is premised on the belief that owning a firearm makes you less of a target and on equal footing with a violent threat. I would hazard a guess and say this is probably not true. For business protection where there is usually either cash or valuable merchandise on location i agree firearm in the hands of a trained and licensed individual is a good counter measure.

In the hands of an ordinary home owner? chances are:
1) in the event of a robbery you don't have the opportunity to get to your firearm.
2) you are targeted BECAUSE you have a firearm and they want it
3) potentially non-violent situations either quickly escalate or are escalated
4) a large number of gun related deaths in the US are due to accidental discharges. Proper storage is a requirement, somehow children and teens die every year. IT is the cause of about 20,000 suicides in the US in 2012.
5) in countries where guns are legal, there was no evidence to suggest reduction in larceny but the number of homicides and homicides from guns increased exponentially year on year.

I'm not against gun ownership, but not because of any nonsense colonial trickle down effect..because in countries where guns are legal...the statistics show you're better off without them. I personally think it would be much worse in Trinidad. Owning a gun is a tremendous responsibility and for those not (mentally) equipped, it comes with a great sense of false power and security. We would not survive

Postby bluesteel29 » December 9th, 2013, 5:21 pm

redmanjp wrote:i agree with the firearms for law abiding citizens but their should still be a proper screening process- criminal, psychological, etc.

only legalize weed for medical use- take out the THC (which makes u high) and allow the other compounds

sadis u dohtish fuh spite orrr

Postby hustla_ambition101 » December 9th, 2013, 5:47 pm

silver wrote:
This idea of restricting firearm ownership by law abiding citizens in T&T / Caribbean has colonial roots and has always been used as a way to tip the balance of power in favor of a favored class and to create a dependency on the government for the basic requirement of personal protection ..... its time to rethink these things.....

was going ok until this. This is premised on the belief that owning a firearm makes you less of a target and on equal footing with a violent threat. I would hazard a guess and say this is probably not true. For business protection where there is usually either cash or valuable merchandise on location i agree firearm in the hands of a trained and licensed individual is a good counter measure.

In the hands of an ordinary home owner? chances are:
1) in the event of a robbery you don't have the opportunity to get to your firearm.
2) you are targeted BECAUSE you have a firearm and they want it
3) potentially non-violent situations either quickly escalate or are escalated
4) a large number of gun related deaths in the US are due to accidental discharges. Proper storage is a requirement, somehow children and teens die every year. IT is the cause of about 20,000 suicides in the US in 2012.
5) in countries where guns are legal, there was no evidence to suggest reduction in larceny but the number of homicides and homicides from guns increased exponentially year on year.

I'm not against gun ownership, but not because of any nonsense colonial trickle down effect..because in countries where guns are legal...the statistics show you're better off without them. I personally think it would be much worse in Trinidad. Owning a gun is a tremendous responsibility and for those not (mentally) equipped, it comes with a great sense of false power and security. We would not survive

Well said. There is an article concerning arming prison's officers off duty but there is no evidence to suggest that this will be of benefit. The majority of officers who were targeted for attacks had illicit dealings within the prisons, the one who was killed in Malabar had a gun and allegedly threatened his "outside woman" and lost it. We live in a country where people do not do simple things like wear seat belts as required, stop at red lights, they drive down the shoulder to beat traffic and some won't even buy a car seat to secure their own offspring. We are not a law abiding society and most Trinbagonians are not mature enough to carry firearms. Furthermore some of the ones who keep clamouring for guns, the closest they have ever been to one is on the waist of an officer standing next to them.

Another point to note is cocaine and money laundering fuels our underworld economy, not weed

Postby Sky » December 9th, 2013, 6:36 pm

Trinbagoviews wrote:
Someone intent on murdering or assaulting someone (which is already "illegal") will either buy an illegal gun easily if they need too.....call a hit on their victim etc.....

Giving someone a gun makes them feel empowered.
It will change the mentality of many.
Bar brawls usually end up with people holding down the drunk. When they pull out a gun, will anyone do the same? lol no. scatter.

RAJIE

Postby RAJIE » December 9th, 2013, 11:40 pm

ok i understand your points but honestly and truely i would disagree

1) We in Trinidad are not responsible enough to have guns.. for every little problem.. many would just turn to this "defensive" gun as the solution to solve their problems

sad to say. it have have the lawless people. but sadly we should take blame because if u living in a area, u must know who does have illegal guns. who does sell drugs and so forth.. and what do we do?.. i wonder.. do we report it or just ignore it?

one of the biggest problems i think in trinidad is vehicles being stolen..people working very hard for what they have for people to come and take it away and never to be seen again? then everybody who have vehicles must go put gps tracking devices in their car to be safe?

my solution i think could solve alot of issues in TnT

i think the best solution to really solve alot of issues in trinidad is by the government investing in a throughout the country camera system.(with 24/7 monitoring)
-stolen vehicles- can be traced to its exact locaton and also the person responsible for it can be seen and also their exact location would be determine whereby they can be arrested
-murder- video from cameras can show what happen, how it happen, where and when it happen,, who did it, an they would be traced to their current location to be arrested.. no more hiding
-kidnapping- would be same in the case of murder however u could see where the kidnapped victim is for a fast and reliable methods
-drugs-camera would be able to capture a percentage of these activities

in the end it would be a huge investment but i think in the long term. it would be probably one of the best investion the government of Trinidad could make,

Trinbagoviews

Postby Trinbagoviews » December 10th, 2013, 10:49 am

So gun ownership should only be a right offered to the privileged elite who supposedly have more to lose?.....

Note the fact that in the US, States with the most restrictive gun laws have ~60% more gun murders per 100,000 than the states with the least restrictive gun laws.

In Brazil, for example, more than half of the guns in the country are estimated to be unregistered – i.e. illegal. In Mexico there is one legal firearm dealer, while there are approx 250,000 guns smuggled into the country every year illegally.

Don't put all your faith in the guvament to protect you and your family.

Think about it this way if you had access to firearms would not want others having weapons as well? No you wouldn't ..... that erodes your advantage. That's the reason the firearm ownership has been restricted ...... and propaganda is spread in favour of gun control by the state.

Everyone shouldn't be handed a firearm but it should be available to upstanding, law abiding citizens if they want to protect themselves and their family and not remain 100% dependent on the guvament. (guvaments love dependency by the way).

Postby redmanjp » December 10th, 2013, 11:24 am

RAJIE wrote:ok i understand your points but honestly and truely i would disagree

1) We in Trinidad are not responsible enough to have guns.. for every little problem.. many would just turn to this "defensive" gun as the solution to solve their problems

sad to say. it have have the lawless people. but sadly we should take blame because if u living in a area, u must know who does have illegal guns. who does sell drugs and so forth.. and what do we do?.. i wonder.. do we report it or just ignore it?

one of the biggest problems i think in trinidad is vehicles being stolen..people working very hard for what they have for people to come and take it away and never to be seen again? then everybody who have vehicles must go put gps tracking devices in their car to be safe?

my solution i think could solve alot of issues in TnT

i think the best solution to really solve alot of issues in trinidad is by the government investing in a throughout the country camera system.(with 24/7 monitoring)
-stolen vehicles- can be traced to its exact locaton and also the person responsible for it can be seen and also their exact location would be determine whereby they can be arrested
-murder- video from cameras can show what happen, how it happen, where and when it happen,, who did it, an they would be traced to their current location to be arrested.. no more hiding
-kidnapping- would be same in the case of murder however u could see where the kidnapped victim is for a fast and reliable methods
-drugs-camera would be able to capture a percentage of these activities

in the end it would be a huge investment but i think in the long term. it would be probably one of the best investion the government of Trinidad could make,

would be an expensive proposition though- to properlycover the whole country how much cameras yuh go need? 100,000?

Postby Sky » December 10th, 2013, 11:38 am

Investion?

Managed a project for a CCTV system. The cameras were ptz 37x zoom ip65 rated and not even vandal proof. Those would cost more.
They were 11k a pop. 100k not doing anything.

Bareback

Postby Bareback » December 10th, 2013, 12:34 pm

The real 3 Point Plan:

1. Ready
2. Aim
3. Fire

Postby 88sins » December 10th, 2013, 1:41 pm

ah find plenty tuners sayin, "Trini's not responsible on the road, so we not responsible enough to carry guns".

allyuh hadda learn to speak for yourselves as individuals, & stop attemptin to speak for the general public.

If you as an individual know yuh not responsible enough to conduct yuhself properly on the road, doh sit in d drivers seat, or even apply for a license. And if you know you cannot be responsible with a firearm, say you personally don't want one, & never apply for one or try to acquire one legally or otherwise & leave it there.

But for anyone to feel that everybody else is as irresponsible as they are is jus plain friggin stupid. Those productive, level headed, responsible, law abiding persons that want arms, whether for self defense or sporting purposes, should be able to acquire them with less politics.

After all d gum flappage the anti-gun crowd pushin, how often allyuh does hear about licensed firearms holders gettin drunk & shooting ppl during "altercations" & "love triangles" in comparison to the murders committed during criminal activities?

kaylex

Postby kaylex » December 10th, 2013, 1:43 pm

stop dis sh*t

Trinbagoviews

Postby Trinbagoviews » December 10th, 2013, 5:29 pm

88sins wrote:ah find plenty tuners sayin, "Trini's not responsible on the road, so we not responsible enough to carry guns".

allyuh hadda learn to speak for yourselves as individuals, & stop attemptin to speak for the general public.

If you as an individual know yuh not responsible enough to conduct yuhself properly on the road, doh sit in d drivers seat, or even apply for a license. And if you know you cannot be responsible with a firearm, say you personally don't want one, & never apply for one or try to acquire one legally or otherwise & leave it there.

But for anyone to feel that everybody else is as irresponsible as they are is jus plain friggin stupid. Those productive, level headed, responsible, law abiding persons that want arms, whether for self defense or sporting purposes, should be able to acquire them with less politics.

After all d gum flappage the anti-gun crowd pushin, how often allyuh does hear about licensed firearms holders gettin drunk & shooting ppl during "altercations" & "love triangles" in comparison to the murders committed during criminal activities?

Well said .... if you are not brave enough to take your personal safety into your own hands don't project that on everyone else....

Postby hustla_ambition101 » December 10th, 2013, 5:40 pm

you don't hear about domestic disputes and drunk jackasses with guns because they have money to keep people quiet. There are many methods of self defense maybe you guys should go out and learn one. Slackening gun control won't reduce our crime rates. How many house burglaries are committed while the owners are home to defend property? How many murders committed are against law abiding society, majority are of people with criminal records who wouldn't be able to legally carry anyway. Majority of rapes are people traveling in taxis or feeble defenseless old ladies. Just admit your "crime plan" is a failure that cannot be applied to TT. Also the ones who quick to jump on the defensive when called out on jackarse driving are usually guilty of it.

trini mk5

Postby trini mk5 » December 10th, 2013, 6:00 pm

This thread makes no sense. OP seriously :? Really?

Postby redmanjp » December 10th, 2013, 7:05 pm

bluesteel29 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:i agree with the firearms for law abiding citizens but their should still be a proper screening process- criminal, psychological, etc.

sadis u dohtish fuh spite orrr

well i got my info from the Doctors TV show as well as some other sites which suggest that strains low in THC and high in CBD are best

Postby Trini Hookah » December 10th, 2013, 7:11 pm

We need a Harvey Dent.

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » December 10th, 2013, 7:19 pm

.... :drinking:

Last edited by mark2.0 on December 10th, 2013, 7:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

mark2.0

Postby mark2.0 » December 10th, 2013, 7:19 pm

3point plan!... Simple

1. Start
2. To
3. Hang

Crime solve.

Postby Bizzare » December 10th, 2013, 7:21 pm

How OP??? YOU AIN'T GOT THE ANSWERS MAN!!

RAJIE

Postby RAJIE » December 10th, 2013, 7:53 pm

mark2.0 wrote:3point plan!... Simple

1. Start
2. To
3. Hang

Crime solve.

agreed

Postby Trini Hookah » December 10th, 2013, 8:16 pm

RAJIE wrote:
mark2.0 wrote:3point plan!... Simple

1. Start
2. To
3. Hang

Crime solve.

agreed
To push us further into to reactivity than we already are?

We need to stop crime before hanging even is necessary!

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » December 10th, 2013, 9:07 pm

1 Point plan.

1. Bomb the area.