WTK: converting propane grille to 20lb cylinder

Postby Chimera » November 29th, 2013, 12:29 pm

bought a propane grille yesterday

I want to convert it to work with a regular 20lb cylinder

is it as simple as removing the hose that came with it and attaching the hose and head that you can buy for 20lb cylinders?

Re: WTK: converting propane grille to 20lb cylinder

Postby Redman » November 29th, 2013, 1:45 pm

https://www.google.tt/search?q=convert+ ... sQSm94GQDQ

They classify propane as LPG so Im wondering if changing the tips is even necessary??

silver

Postby silver » November 29th, 2013, 1:59 pm

yes they are different.
I actually changed a burner from LPG to propane since my grille is also propane..no need to buy 2 different types of tanks.

I got all the parts in Peakes Home store. I don't know where to get the LPG regulator that sits on the head of the tank tho. For the propane tanks i had to get a seperate regulator from the connection to the tank.

Postby SMc » November 29th, 2013, 2:03 pm

Ask in the BBQ thread... viewtopic.php?f=4&t=370852

one of them would have tried it or would know...

Postby Redman » November 29th, 2013, 2:11 pm

Yeah them fellas in the BBQ thread must know

Postby skylinechild » November 29th, 2013, 2:19 pm

silver wrote:yes they are different.
I actually changed a burner from LPG to propane since my grille is also propane..no need to buy 2 different types of tanks.

I got all the parts in Peakes Home store. I don't know where to get the LPG regulator that sits on the head of the tank tho. For the propane tanks i had to get a seperate regulator from the connection to the tank.

if its the normal regulator for LPG - like what your kitchen gas tanks has - you can get then all over -most hardwares have them and fair and square in chaguanas also has them :!:

Bareback

Postby Bareback » November 29th, 2013, 5:00 pm

Dude be careful with this option, food tastes much better when cooked with propane versus LPG.

Postby Chimera » November 29th, 2013, 7:44 pm

Bareback wrote:Dude be careful with this option, food tastes much better when cooked with propane versus LPG.

Hmmmmmmm

Postby Sky » November 29th, 2013, 8:23 pm

I wanna make a grill FROM a cylinder. Sufferer business.

pjfred

Postby pjfred » November 29th, 2013, 8:34 pm

Hardware will sell head for LPG tank that a regulator on it, this will give you superior control over the normal head that just has an on/off switch. Use a simple hose clip after cutting and removing the original propane tank attachment and voila.

ALIS

Postby ALIS » November 29th, 2013, 9:23 pm

Bought a grille about two years ago, came with propane tank regulator. Promptly cut off propane regulator and replaced with regular LPG regulator (about 75.00 dollars) and now uses regular 20lb LPG tank.

Works pretty normal to me, no worries, food tastes normal, have not changed the tank as yet....

Postby Chimera » November 29th, 2013, 9:36 pm

Theres someone on tuner selling those for 200. Made with pump head tank i think. I was gonna buy one but fedup fight up with lighting coals

Postby Chimera » November 29th, 2013, 9:37 pm

Ok thanks peeps. Seems it is as simple as just cutting off existing head and replacing with lpg head

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » November 29th, 2013, 10:22 pm

Bareback wrote:Dude be careful with this option, food tastes much better when cooked with propane versus LPG.
Hank Hill, is that you?

Postby pugboy » November 30th, 2013, 5:05 am

yeah, I see NGC putting ads in the papers how they putting a stink odor in the gas as a safety measure for leak detection etc

Postby ~Vēġó~ » November 30th, 2013, 7:39 am

^^^well that is interesting.....hmmmm

Postby 1001 » November 30th, 2013, 8:29 am

pugboy wrote:yeah, I see NGC putting ads in the papers how they putting a stink odor in the gas as a safety measure for leak detection etc

imagine how d bar b q pork will taste :oops:

tizik 2nr

Postby tizik 2nr » November 30th, 2013, 1:56 pm

pugboy wrote:yeah, I see NGC putting ads in the papers how they putting a stink odor in the gas as a safety measure for leak detection etc

Its called an "odorant", and has been commonly used for a long time. LPG on its own has no scent, so leaks would not be noticed.

Postby SMc » November 30th, 2013, 2:21 pm

Thank you Ross for your input...

But will the 'stink odour' transefere to the food?

Postby black start » November 30th, 2013, 6:19 pm

Sky wrote:I wanna make a grill FROM a cylinder. Sufferer business.

I wa use ah ole oil barrel....I does eat plenty :lol:

Bareback

Postby Bareback » November 30th, 2013, 6:36 pm

Hank Hill, is that you?

As I slurp my beer, lpg leaves a taste similar to its odour, propane leaves no after taste, coal is still zee best. Slurps beer again.

Postby brams112 » December 1st, 2013, 5:27 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:Ok thanks peeps. Seems it is as simple as just cutting off existing head and replacing with lpg head

Don't spoil the hose man,just take the original hose to Trinidad hose and get tell them you want a brass fitting that will hook up to the side that goes on the grill,then buy at least two yards of gas hose with a regulator that is adjustable,two hose clips and ur on. :D The fitting cost about 40 bucks,hose about 5bucks per foot,clips 2 each,regulator around 60 bucks.

Postby Chimera » December 1st, 2013, 5:39 pm

I cut off the propane head and put on a regulator. Worked fine. Christened the grill last night

Postby Chimera » December 1st, 2013, 5:41 pm

Bbqued lamb and chicken. No bad flavor transfer from lpg

ALIS

Postby ALIS » December 2nd, 2013, 1:03 pm

ABA Trading LTD wrote:Bbqued lamb and chicken. No bad flavor transfer from lpg

Yup. Like I said, easy "conversion" LOL

silver

Postby silver » December 2nd, 2013, 2:13 pm

The difference between propane and natural gas in domestic use comes down to their energy efficiency, cost, compression, storage, and risk factors. There is very little difference, however, when it comes to how well they perform in appliances for heating, cooking, or drying.

In order to assist in detecting leaks, a minute amount of odorant is added to the otherwise colorless and almost odorless gas used by consumers. The odor has been compared to the smell of rotten eggs, due to the added tert-Butylthiol (t-butyl mercaptan). Sometimes a related compound, thiophane may be used in the mixture

Natural gas provides just over 1,000 BTUs per cubic foot (0.0283 cubic meters); the same volume of propane in gaseous form provides about 2,500 BTUs. This means that propane contains about 2.5 times more usable energy content. So, less propane is needed to produce the same amount of energy as natural gas.

When used for heating or cooking, most people cannot tell much difference between propane and natural gas. Some barbecue enthusiasts prefer natural gas because it is a cleaner burning fuel, meaning that it doesn't release as many pollutants into the air. Exhaust from propane might affect the taste of food, but this is also considered to be part of the charm of grilling.

Propane is heavier than air, which is heavier than natural gas. Both propane and natural gas will dissipate into the air if they are released in an open environment, and both can pose an explosive risk if they concentrate enough and are ignited. Because propane is heavier, however, it tends to fall to the ground, collect, and pose a greater explosive risk than natural gas, which tends to rise and dissipate into the air.

looks like LPG is the winner yes...might hadda go back an buy some LPG regulator steups

Postby tr1ad » December 2nd, 2013, 2:23 pm

so i is nobody now eh........

cyah even knock ah glass and celebrate?

ALIS

Postby ALIS » December 2nd, 2013, 4:49 pm

tr1ad wrote:

Doh study it....... is level grilling from now..... and a 25lb tank does last real long....

Postby Chimera » December 2nd, 2013, 5:15 pm

tr1ad wrote:

oh gorm

i didn't wha invite yuh for the test phase, next thing yuh tell me kerry meh skunt from here if u get chicken bun up.

Guh invite yuh for d xmas lime na?

shannonkangoo

Postby shannonkangoo » October 14th, 2014, 10:19 am

Looking for full replacement 1lb propane cylinder
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1413296381.660074.jpg