T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Re: NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby j.o.e » October 29th, 2013, 1:22 pm

^^^^^ those are the same price bracket and size...so comparison is fine.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » October 29th, 2013, 1:58 pm

^I meant that I would quicker compare a Mazda 6 to an Elantra than I would to a Sonata/Optima.
Mazda 3 no better than an accent in my opinion.

And the Mazda 2 should be extinct :|

Postby j.o.e » October 29th, 2013, 2:14 pm

different flavours to suit different tastes...the Optima is a looker but I would take the 6 over it...I've driven the Optima and didn't like it. And i would never drive an Elantra
Last edited by j.o.e on October 29th, 2013, 2:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby noshownogo » October 29th, 2013, 2:17 pm

Taken from Hyundai TT FB page:

If you haven't already seen the facelift Tucson, make some time today to check out the functional and ever exciting feature filled models with its festive exterior colour options. See flyer for features.

The Hyundai Tucson comes equipped with the following performance, convenient, safety, style and design features:

- Nu 2.0L engine
- Bluetooth
- Newly designed alloy rims
- Motor driven power steering
- Bi-function projection type headlamp
- Positioning lamp - LED light guide
- LED Rear combination lamp
- Rear seat reclining
- Crash pad upgrade
- Supervision cluster illumination
- Console cup holder w/ illumination
- New cloth patterns
- 5 new exterior colour options, brown seats

The models and price options are as follows:

· Hyundai Tucson 4x2GL (Gas) - $245,900

· Hyundai Tucson 4x2GLS Exec ( Gas) - $286,900

· Hyundai Tucson 4x4GL ( Gas) - $ 266,900

· Hyundai Tucson 4x4GL ( Diesel) -$289,900

· Hyundai Tucson 4x4GLS Exec ( Gas) - $ 316,900

Postby Dizzy28 » October 29th, 2013, 2:45 pm

^ In the space of three years the entry level Tucson went from $217k to $246k.

Inflation be a b!tch!!

drchaos

Postby drchaos » October 29th, 2013, 3:27 pm

That's not inflation my dear friends ... its called GREED :D

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » October 29th, 2013, 3:44 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:Some of allyuh so cuntish and predictable eh.

fixed :fadein:

ek4ever

Postby ek4ever » October 29th, 2013, 4:00 pm

I don't know why ppl still comparing Euro to Asian or even picking one over the other. In the end it's what you can afford that's the deciding factor cause the dealers are not allowing competition on an even playing field. Asian manufacturers can build cars to equal and even surpass the Euros....Lexus, Infiniti and Acura are prime examples. But we cannot get those cars here for fair comparison .... just look at how over priced Lexus is in TT, again the dealers screwing it up.

The Euros can't build quality cars at a low price point to compete with the Asians who have been doing it for years .... any IQS and VDS will show the Asians are better, especially the Koreans which despite all the ridicule are producing some of the best quality and value-for-money products on the market.

And like someone posted above, compare like with like ... a man only comparing Jetta with Corolla, 3, Civic, Elantra and bawling it better .... when that car competes with Accord, Camry, 6, Optima etc

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » October 29th, 2013, 4:14 pm

ek4ever wrote:And like someone posted above, compare like with like ... a man only comparing Jetta with Corolla, 3, Civic, Elantra and bawling it better .... when that car competes with Accord, Camry, 6, Optima etc

wut? :|

kg494EJ-1

Postby kg494EJ-1 » October 29th, 2013, 5:27 pm

I thought the Passat was in that segment with the 6,optima,accord,etc and the jetta was in the class of the civics,3,etc?

Postby j.o.e » October 29th, 2013, 5:51 pm

Ek4ever you was going good then you had a bout of diarrhea...for clarity here is the compact class http://www.cars.com/guides/sedan/compact/

in here you will find a number of models from budget to premium, then you have mid size and full size class
the jetta is compact class, so its the same market as the Corolla just more premium

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 29th, 2013, 9:01 pm

I still find it funny that some were comparing elantra to Mazda 6 but also ignored Passat, Optima, Accord, Teanna, Camry which are all in the same category as the Mazda 6.

Adjudicator

Postby Adjudicator » October 29th, 2013, 10:18 pm

I think if you are comparing cars just for the fun of it then you should stick to the class to be fair. If however you are comparing in terms of value or with the intent of buying then it is fair to compare based on prices alone.

For example ignoring prices a C class benz is better than an elantra, but if someone had $400k to buy a new vehicle many would take a fully loaded diesel Santa Fe over a C class

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » October 30th, 2013, 6:25 am

^^ What that guy said.

Clearly the ridiculous pricing for vehicles here confusing many of us with respect to comparing different classes of cars.
For our intents and purposes; in addition to comparing by class, we perhaps need another category; to compare by price.
Cuz Trinidad car dealers special na. Which would probably then justify comparing a Camry to a C class or 3 series.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 30th, 2013, 6:46 am

The thing that might be tripping people up is engine size and thus engine tax for some vehicles.

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » October 30th, 2013, 7:19 am

LOL I know its wrong to compare an elantra to a mazda 6 eh but sorry to say the said elantra or even a cerato have more features than this new mazda. I guess the only reason why someone would spend over 300k for a basic mid-size sedan is simply because of its size and fuel efficiency for its class. I mean a BOSE stereo system can't be that good now can it? RIP to Mazda locally.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » October 30th, 2013, 7:36 am

acesinghit wrote:LOL I know its wrong to compare an elantra to a mazda 6 eh but sorry to say the said elantra or even a cerato have more features than this new mazda. I guess the only reason why someone would spend over 300k for a basic mid-size sedan is simply because of its size and fuel efficiency for its class. I mean a BOSE stereo system can't be that good now can it? RIP to Mazda locally.

Is it really that bad? I was checking the mazda3 online and it's pretty much on par with the Koreans with surely a better ride. Then again features may not be the same as here.

Postby j.o.e » October 30th, 2013, 7:53 am

acesinghit wrote:LOL I know its wrong to compare an elantra to a mazda 6 eh but sorry to say the said elantra or even a cerato have more features than this new mazda. I guess the only reason why someone would spend over 300k for a basic mid-size sedan is simply because of its size and fuel efficiency for its class. I mean a BOSE stereo system can't be that good now can it? RIP to Mazda locally.

Please quote the features that the Mazda 6 lacks compared to the Elantra, to justify a smaller car bein 'better'

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » October 30th, 2013, 8:20 am

For all the big talk about the jetta it seems to be a very unreliable car. Despite the performance looks like one to avoid.

DJ Q

Postby DJ Q » October 30th, 2013, 8:29 am

I have to agree with metal gear.
Love me my CVT.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » October 30th, 2013, 8:41 am

metalgear2095 wrote:For all the big talk about the jetta it seems to be a very unreliable car. Despite the performance looks like one to avoid.

Please do elaborate. I am neither a VW owner or fan. It'll be good to see the flip side of all this Jetta praise :?

NEW VEHICLE PRICES IN TRINIDAD & TOBAGO

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 30th, 2013, 9:40 am

As with any vehicle you will hear stories when things go wrong. On this forum you have horror stories for every new vehicle from cruze, corolla, lancer etc. So far the stories I have heard about the jetta are for the mk5 from 3 to 4 years ago as opposed to the mk6 which is the current.

Take my story with salt if you wish but the only issue on my jetta after 19 months has been the need to change the cabin filter earlier than usual.

Don't just take my word for it. Check the euro forum for threads related to the jetta and read for yourself and take note of which model/version each owner is posting about.

viewtopic.php?f=38&t=397860
Last edited by Allergic2BunnyEars on October 30th, 2013, 10:21 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 30th, 2013, 9:49 am

j.o.e wrote:

Please quote the features that the Mazda 6 lacks compared to the Elantra, to justify a smaller car bein 'better'

X2. Would be interesting to see what stele rates the boys from the men in that pairing

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:As with any vehicle you will hear stories when things go wrong. On this forum you have horror stories for every new vehicle from cruze, corolla, lancer etc. So far the stories I have heard about the jetta are for the mk5 from 3 to 4 years ago as opposed to the mk6 which is the current.

What horror story bout corollas? :|

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 30th, 2013, 10:20 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:
Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:As with any vehicle you will hear stories when things go wrong. On this forum you have horror stories for every new vehicle from cruze, corolla, lancer etc. So far the stories I have heard about the jetta are for the mk5 from 3 to 4 years ago as opposed to the mk6 which is the current.

What horror story bout corollas? :|

I didn't bookmark the article but it was a complaint thread about TTTL's service and the non fixing of an issue on a Corolla. There was another about a cruz as well but without the global search function I can't track it down for you.

Alternately my coworker had a corolla that after 3.5 years had a rusted fuel line that used to leak gasoline when the car was being refueled. The line from the gas tank lid to the gas tank. Most cars have that line placed within a plastic shield while the corolla didn't. One off story there too but I could run with it like others on here and say corollas not as reliable as people say. But I won't.

On another note it would be nice if people posted their servicing costs too. Would put things more in perspective to calculate the cost of ownership of vehicles.

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 30th, 2013, 10:25 am

That buddy of yours corolla was local or f.u?

I know with the last gen I haven't heard much complaints unless they used knock-off parts. Eg my brother decided to just buy the ac belt that was for sale in the parts place rather than go with a more reputable brand, now it squeals everytime the ac comes on. Apparently it's a common issue with the knockoff belts.

Postby Chimera » October 30th, 2013, 10:27 am

the thing is, you would hear about the one bad review but not the 99 good reviews.

what you need to look at is how the local dealers solve such problems

as far as i can see, the local dealers always firetruck you up, from honda to suzuki to toyota to even audi. the only way to get stuff solved with them is to involve lawyers.

Postby cinco » October 30th, 2013, 10:40 am

By your logic rip toyota rip honda rip everyother local vehicle because non boast the same feature set as the kia an hyundais

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 30th, 2013, 11:20 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:That buddy of yours corolla was local or f.u?

I know with the last gen I haven't heard much complaints unless they used knock-off parts. Eg my brother decided to just buy the ac belt that was for sale in the parts place rather than go with a more reputable brand, now it squeals everytime the ac comes on. Apparently it's a common issue with the knockoff belts.

Bought new from TTTL Barataria. Irony was she bought the car after selling a F.U. civic cuz she wanted no hassles. I don't know the codes for Corollas but it was bought in 2007 and is the same body style in showrooms today.

I'd say having mechanical problems is small thing. What's more important is how the dealer handles it. TTTL in her case accused her of driving on a beach and basically tried to pin the problem on her when it's a bad design choice by Toyota for the rear wheel guard to be the only protection for components in that location.

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 30th, 2013, 12:26 pm

Well TTTL was always abit shady when it came to issues like that.

Take for example the issues associated with the hilux, Tttl never admitted it existed.

metalgear2095

Postby metalgear2095 » October 30th, 2013, 1:21 pm

scotty_buttons wrote:
metalgear2095 wrote:For all the big talk about the jetta it seems to be a very unreliable car. Despite the performance looks like one to avoid.

Please do elaborate. I am neither a VW owner or fan. It'll be good to see the flip side of all this Jetta praise :?

viewtopic.php?t=397860
Lots of issues being talked about here. I know a mechanic that works at the local dealer that said they are having a lot of issues with them as well.