Divali/Diwali/Deepavali 2014

Re: Divali/Diwali/Deepavali 2013

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 15th, 2013, 9:39 pm

S_2NR wrote:When nagar starting?

I want to set the date and know not to venture south of grand bazaar. I giving allyu the whole highway to palance and park up

Oh thank you massah

Postby AllTrac » October 16th, 2013, 9:47 am

pioneer wrote:First time in history all this beatup over divali?

wow

Allyuh celebrating divali for god, or for show?

for fat kumar.

Postby zoom rader » October 16th, 2013, 9:49 am

wow

None of the above all them want is a holiday out of it
Today is a big Eid day and I sure if non muslims knew of this them too want a holiday for it not knowing what it about

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » October 16th, 2013, 10:10 am

actually, i want to respect the symbolism behind the spiritual aspect. the fact of the matter is.. improper symbolism not only destroys the foundation of faith, but also steals a holiday. is a 2 for 1 sale.

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » October 16th, 2013, 10:38 am

wow

I'm sure there is a lot of "beatup" because of the holiday.
My interest in knowing the correct day is for religious reasons.
The extra holiday would be nice, but it is not my primary reason.

I have posted several links and bits of information from my research and I want to believe that the Maha Sabha and SWAHA are correct in saying that it is the 2nd, although there are still some differing views from other tuners.

Cid wrote:Image

Taken from the papers on friday... This basically hits the nail on the head..... If the optimal time for worshiping a particular personality is @ the time of the sun rising for example.... And you go an compensate for a 9hr time difference and do your worship at night... It makes no sense... India and india time is not the constant. The position of the moon and sun at your location is the constant.

I am trying to understand what you are explaining here Cid, but it confuses me.
I believe that the time difference is used to find the corresponding period for New Moon in our timezone which would dictate the celebration of Divali.

If the New Moon period span from the night of the 2nd to the day period of the 3rd, then it should be celebrated on the 2nd.

From the post I made previously, the point at which the entire moon is shadowed in our time zone is at 8:51AM on the 3rd. This means that the moon will be going through the waxing phase soon after, so the night of the 3rd will actually have the beginning of the waxing phase of the moon. The night of the 2nd would have the last portion of the the waning phase of the moon.

Sumana.00

Postby Sumana.00 » October 16th, 2013, 11:37 am

Everyone is astrologer and pundit now yes

Postby teems1 » October 16th, 2013, 12:23 pm

Sumana.00 wrote:Everyone is astrologer and pundit now yes

Surely you mean astronomer, who deals with the science of celestial objects.

Astrologers deal with horoscopes, palm reading, tarot cards etc.

Postby Hook » October 16th, 2013, 12:40 pm

Hook wrote:Carmona declared a day yet? D presi hafta call it on the advice of the spiritual leaders.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/sunday-m ... 97091.html
Divali to be held on November 3
Story Created: Oct 7, 2013 at 12:57 AM ECT
Story Updated: Oct 7, 2013 at 12:57 AM ECT

CHARIMAN OF TRINIDAD ACADEMY OF HINDUISM: Pundit Haridath Maharaj

Pundit Harridath Maharaj Shastri, chairman of Trinidad Academy of Hinduism, respectfully advises all pundits and devotees of the Trinidad Academy of Hinduism that the following dates of Shree Bhawani Shankar Sharma Raaj Jyotishri, coincide with Deepavali 2013:

1) Yam deepa daanam, on November 1,
2) Deepavali, on November 3, and
3) Govardhan puja, on November 4
Pundit Harridath Maharaj Shastri wishes Shubh Deepavali to the Hindu Community and Trinbago, and prays that we may be led from ignorance to wisdom, darkness to light and death to life.

Postby redmanjp » October 16th, 2013, 12:48 pm

^ i confuse now

Postby pioneer » October 16th, 2013, 12:49 pm

How come Muslims eh get a holiday today?...take away one of those non-sensical christian holidays

Why is good friday and corpus christi a holiday?

Postby rfari » October 16th, 2013, 1:00 pm

Camona issa foqup man jed. Waaaayyysss

Postby Hook » October 16th, 2013, 1:03 pm

pioneer wrote:How come Muslims eh get a holiday today?...take away one of those non-sensical christian holidays

Why is good friday and corpus christi a holiday?

'Tis not the purpose of this thread. But on that note, vibes this:
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/San ... 27571.html
Errbody want sumting.

redmanjp wrote:^ i confuse now

I surprised this ched around since September and that article was overlooked (maybe it wasn't, but I don't care).

The bottom line is that Sat or anyone else doesn't declare official holidays on the nation's calendar, The President does. Now, meainkno nutn about all these Hindu associations, clubs and leagues, and I don't care to - we have enough division in all the religious sects anyway.
But while all this beat-up happening, regardless of YOUR reason, your opinion will not and cannot sway the final decision of the President.

Postby rfari » October 16th, 2013, 1:13 pm

Ib4punditharridathissapnm

Postby DFC » October 16th, 2013, 1:15 pm

teems1 wrote:
Sumana.00 wrote:Everyone is astrologer and pundit now yes

Surely you mean astronomer, who deals with the science of celestial objects.

Astrologers deal with horoscopes, palm reading, tarot cards etc.

Vedic Astrology or Jyotish deals with calculating the phases of the moon and movement of planets.

Astrological calculations are used to pinpoint hindu festivals etc.

So Diwali date was calculated as November 2nd according to KP and Raman ayanamsa.

Sat Maraj and crew is probably the only one in the world that gonna celebrate Diwali on the 3rd.

lol.

Postby S_2NR » October 16th, 2013, 1:16 pm

I want to set the date and know not to venture south of grand bazaar. I giving allyu the whole highway to palance and park up

sooo nobody knows when nagar staring?

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » October 16th, 2013, 2:45 pm

S_2NR wrote:

sooo nobody knows when nagar staring?

It usually starts 2 weeks before Divali, but since we don't know when is Divali, we can't answer you.

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » October 16th, 2013, 2:48 pm

Hook wrote:
Hook wrote:Carmona declared a day yet? D presi hafta call it on the advice of the spiritual leaders.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/sunday-m ... 97091.html
Divali to be held on November 3
Story Created: Oct 7, 2013 at 12:57 AM ECT
Story Updated: Oct 7, 2013 at 12:57 AM ECT

CHARIMAN OF TRINIDAD ACADEMY OF HINDUISM: Pundit Haridath Maharaj

Pundit Harridath Maharaj Shastri, chairman of Trinidad Academy of Hinduism, respectfully advises all pundits and devotees of the Trinidad Academy of Hinduism that the following dates of Shree Bhawani Shankar Sharma Raaj Jyotishri, coincide with Deepavali 2013:

1) Yam deepa daanam, on November 1,
2) Deepavali, on November 3, and
3) Govardhan puja, on November 4
Pundit Harridath Maharaj Shastri wishes Shubh Deepavali to the Hindu Community and Trinbago, and prays that we may be led from ignorance to wisdom, darkness to light and death to life.

This one slipped me...

Postby K74T » October 16th, 2013, 4:20 pm

Yam deepa daanam

Yam deepa!

JoKeR1980

Postby JoKeR1980 » October 16th, 2013, 6:52 pm

so what I seeing here is that after 10 pages we still don't know if Divali on the 2nd or 3rd?

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » October 16th, 2013, 7:56 pm

and curry chataigne.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » October 16th, 2013, 8:44 pm

JoKeR1980 wrote:so what I seeing here is that after 10 pages we still don't know if Divali on the 2nd or 3rd?

divali is the 3rd. new information suggests we have to hear the President's final word on the date that will be designated. so basically it's the 2nd unless we hear otherwise.

pay1093

Postby pay1093 » October 16th, 2013, 8:58 pm

Sabriel wrote:I jus want the damn holiday....non hindus deserve it..after eating all dat channa n aloo and ' mudda in law'

Nobody begging yuh tuh stuff yuh ****

Postby kurpal_v2 » October 16th, 2013, 9:35 pm

pay1093 wrote:
Sabriel wrote:I jus want the damn holiday....non hindus deserve it..after eating all dat channa n aloo and ' mudda in law'

Wta going on here

Postby Ted_v2 » October 17th, 2013, 4:31 am

I lol'ed

Postby Hook » October 17th, 2013, 7:41 am

rocknrolla wrote:
JoKeR1980 wrote:so what I seeing here is that after 10 pages we still don't know if Divali on the 2nd or 3rd?

divali is the 3rd. new information suggests we have to hear the President's final word on the date that will be designated. so basically it's the 2nd unless we hear otherwise.

The President declares the holiday, not the spiritual observance. Most times they've been on point, but here have been instances in the past where, for example, Eid ul Fitr was declared on one day and the moon was not sighted, suggesting the celebration be observed on the following day.
It happened this year as well, but religious leaders ruled that it still be observed on the calculated date.

shady23

Postby shady23 » October 17th, 2013, 9:10 am

pay1093 wrote:

:rofl: :rofl:

Postby S_2NR » October 17th, 2013, 9:15 am

pay1093 wrote:

Postby AllTrac » October 17th, 2013, 9:25 am

rfari wrote:Ib4punditharridathissapnm

nah he is ah ilp

Postby redmanjp » October 17th, 2013, 9:30 am

if is d 3rd then what about d st. joseph by-election?

Postby AllTrac » October 17th, 2013, 9:51 am

what about it?