Men's clothes: how to wear it

Re: Men's clothes: how to wear it

Postby dougla_boy » September 23rd, 2013, 7:54 am

i HATE to iron clothes.....partly cuz i cyah do it properly.....need to do like DFC and look up on youtube yes

Postby rfari » September 23rd, 2013, 8:00 am

PapaC wrote:
rfari wrote:
sound boy 64 wrote:Hadda get one of those long time now

It rell bess ma yute. Trust meh. Granted that my preferred dress code for the office is a pair of 505s and a medium hanes v neck in grey or black (both neglected by the steam iron. Jah bless the wrinkle-shield button on the whirlpool) with my random choice of sperrys and silver tab socks.
When I know better, that's my weapon of choice. No gyal could coas` wid no iron wid me.
Yuh seeing dat.

All that review and no link to item?
I had one of them steamers from Excellent, but it kick the bucket.
Need a replacement.

Hard luck dey.
Check this out on Amazon:

DB-Tech 1000-Watt Hand-Held Garment Steamer with Travel Pouch and Accessories
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00D2ZWM9M/ref ... us?ie=UTF8

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » September 23rd, 2013, 8:58 am

hustla_ambition101 wrote:Bought some Van Heusen from Stephensons which were supposed to be slim fit, failure

My company purchases their uniforms from Stephensons for years now, and the employees are allowed to choose their shirts etc..

Let me tell you... Stephensons quality in general, is failure!

Almost every shirt (no matter brand or style) will fade out / wash out / thread out, after a few weeks.

Postby DFC » September 23rd, 2013, 9:22 am

I need to buy some shirts this weekend.

Any suggestions guys? No detour/van huesen plz.

Postby rfari » September 23rd, 2013, 9:38 am

fellas,
to me, a less discussed aspect of dressing is the theme music/hype music. not for everyone tho. two of my favs. depending on the mood. anyone else does this or i just lil queer?

Postby A172 » September 23rd, 2013, 10:03 am

DFC order from express bro, leave the flyingsquirrel/piratesleeve look for the van heusen men

Conrad

Postby Conrad » September 23rd, 2013, 10:24 am

^Please explain.

viewtopic.php?t=345514&p=4951398
???

Im having probs finding pants as well. Nothing fits in the typical mens stores.

Postby ismithx » September 23rd, 2013, 7:12 pm

it have a place in valpark close to truvalu selling 'van heusen' slim fit, eh, dey fitting reall bess

Postby rfari » September 23rd, 2013, 8:19 pm

Whats.the issue with van heusens? Seeing alot complaints

Postby j.o.e » September 23rd, 2013, 8:50 pm

quality not the same..they fading really quickly of late.

PapaC

Postby PapaC » September 23rd, 2013, 8:53 pm

Shirts like they made with Kite paper these days.

Postby rfari » September 23rd, 2013, 9:40 pm

Hmmm. I have to check the local made van heusens i have when i get home. The only issue i can speak of is that the collar stays tend to get wobbily and can have my collar looking like those on my primary school shirt but thats ok.
Replacement collar stays can be bought but i never tried it.

U guys cold wash and air dry? Dont think that the lint from the dryer just happens to get there eh. That's a piece of the soul of each piece of clothing that u put in there (except maybe polyester). Even a 550 that i had for about 3 years and washed and dried every week or so eventually became thin and is now ripped at the knees (still rocking it tho. Dais style dey say)

I tend to cold wash, delicate wash cycle my coloured shirts with my socks and air dry the shirt. My whites shirts are tmelewin poplins, windors and herringbones and i wash the chit of them so it doesnt really matter. If its really humid or i need a particular shirt asap then 15 mins delicate cycle with the wrinkle shield. But i dont overdo it.

a great diy is a bleacher. A 12' by 12' about 3 ' off the ground. Pvc frame with uncoated chainlink fencing wrapped over the top. Ideal for drying clothes. My grandmom has one and that thing gets ur clothes nice and crips. Stiff like you go help granny do some yardwork and she washes ur random polos after u stink it up and lays it on the bleacher. The top is stiff like wow after two hours of sunning. And granny doesn't have a dryer and all her kits in immaculate condition

Postby j.o.e » September 23rd, 2013, 9:47 pm

^^^^ dan nobody aint got time fo dat! If manufacturers instructions are that it can be put in the dryer and after 3-4 wears it looking good to apply armor-all ..something wrong

Postby rfari » September 23rd, 2013, 10:17 pm

:rofl: regardless i dont stick to care instructions esp on shirts. I hate to shop so the less times i have to get new stuff the better.
And personally i find that its rell sinful to use a dryer for all washes in the type of weather we've been having for the past couple years. I dont have a clothes line so after i wash my bed linens (quilt and all) i throw them over the back fence. Dryers are clothes killers

EXODUS

Postby EXODUS » September 24th, 2013, 12:29 am

I lookin for a form fittin blazer without them tacky shoulder pads for the longest while...

Postby stev » September 24th, 2013, 1:42 am

ismithx wrote:it have a place in valpark close to truvalu selling 'van heusen' slim fit, eh, dey fitting reall bess

:shock: to valpark and beyond!!!

having problems finding shirts....especially when i cant make dem match these:

some weird a$$ colours in there :(

Postby ismithx » September 24th, 2013, 7:51 am

btw a lot of the van heusens you see aren't the real thing eh

PapaC

Postby PapaC » September 24th, 2013, 6:10 pm

There is a place that assembled then locally in El Socorro. And they distribute to most if not all the local sellers.

speedist

Postby speedist » September 24th, 2013, 9:45 pm

DFC wrote:I wash and iron my own clothes because my sisters and gf sloppy .

I only recently learned the proper way to iron a pants through YouTube. And its way faster and better than how i used to.

I wear a Adidas sweat jacket on my way to work . it acts like a bib against coffee spills and sometimes I eat my sandwiches while stuck in traffic.
I keep a lint brush in my car, so my pants always looking crisp.

Ooar.

*brofist* I thought I was the only one, gyul can't even boil water these days jed. I bought one of those conair fabric steamers from pricesmart months ago. Works very well but is the size I don't like.
0007410823849_500X500.jpg
0007410823849_500X500.jpg (15.61 KiB) Viewed 2654 times

Postby rfari » September 24th, 2013, 10:42 pm

Nice. Whats the cost of that badboy and how many pieces of clothing u get with it before refill?

Postby DFC » September 24th, 2013, 11:10 pm

Just finish iron my pants and shirt for the morning.

Sometimes I say...i sleepy and will do it in the morning. But when morning come it have no current and that means. Mash up clothes. Cold shower. No coffee or breakfast. And more than likely I forget something home in the dark.

Postby Ted_v2 » September 25th, 2013, 12:08 am

Where in trinidad current does cut off these days?

PapaC

Postby PapaC » September 25th, 2013, 8:43 am

Cocoyea had no current yesterday morning for a couple hours.

As for the ironing ting, Price Smart has the extra large ironing boards, for like $400.
I find it lil expensive, but i ironed on my bro's own once, and the extra space means you don't have to iron your pants half half like thbem small regular boards.

Postby j.o.e » September 25th, 2013, 8:52 am

^^^ that was a scheduled outage tho...been ages since current went jusso, jusso
strangely I like ironing, and I don't trust anyone else to iron my clothes properly

speedist

Postby speedist » September 25th, 2013, 1:32 pm

rfari wrote:Nice. Whats the cost of that badboy and how many pieces of clothing u get with it before refill?

Paid $480 for it in pricesmart(priceplaza), gives 90 minutes continuous steam time. Depends on how fast you can use it.

http://www.conair.com/ultimate-fabric-s ... -5_44.html

@DFC: Boidanboi, on the weekend, I does iron three shirts and three juzzy for the following work week Then relax mihself outside. Cah handle coming from work in the evening, work out, bathe then still have to iron for tomorrow. Nah.

Postby crazybalhead » September 25th, 2013, 2:08 pm

Those ties are pretty plain. Don't need any special colour shirts to wear any of them.

Remember, there are neutral colours that you can always mix and patch.

For pants:

Black
Grey
Navy
Khaki

For Shirts there are many nice pastel, or neutral colours available.

So far the the locally assembled slim fit shirts are holding up well, despite what others are posting. They keep their shape, the collars stay nice and crisp, the only thing is that they myght fade a little bit.

Bradford has a nice selection of these, and a very helpful beti in priceplaza who will size it properly.

With regards to teh Blazer, thee days it is really, REALLY difficult to distinguish between a Suit Jacket and Blazer. I found the ones in Bradford fit really nicely, and the fabric and differnenlty coloured buttons with marbling can pass easily for a blazer with jeans and a solid colour shirt. Very useful for business meetings and travel, and reasonably priced too.

8-) 8-)

Postby 16 cycles » September 25th, 2013, 2:16 pm

bad exp with locally assembled Van H - color fades pretty fast compared to foreign assembled...

wearable still....but not on par with what was bought away....

Postby TRAE » September 25th, 2013, 3:11 pm

should post this for them gaza youths

Postby A172 » September 25th, 2013, 3:58 pm