offshore ppl ........your views.

Re: offshore ppl ........your views.

Postby De Dragon » August 16th, 2013, 4:25 am

zoom rader wrote:Grenada has oil?

Nah, somebody thought it'd be a good idea to just spend a few millions drilling fuh lambie.............

mafia-boss

Postby mafia-boss » August 16th, 2013, 5:10 am

Nah, somebody thought it'd be a good idea to just spend a few millions drilling fuh lambie.............

Postby janfar » August 16th, 2013, 5:45 am

Hahahahahahahahahhaah... take win

nemesis

Postby nemesis » August 18th, 2013, 2:06 pm

I woulda laugh, but I eh know what is lambie.

mafia-boss

Postby mafia-boss » August 18th, 2013, 2:20 pm

nemesis wrote:I woulda laugh, but I eh know what is lambie.
thats a kinda choncs

Terron_General

Postby Terron_General » August 19th, 2013, 10:47 pm

seeking advise i now looking to start out in this offshore thing, i just want to experience the life out there. i in it for experience i have a dip in mechanical engineering and going to apply for to bosiet what again wouid i need to make my resume look good.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » August 26th, 2013, 10:23 am

Same advice as always. Start applying everywhere you can find. Don't just do mail in applications, make sure you check online, plus, if you're not working now, it wouldn't hurt to just show up at their offices and hand in an application too. Most times it won't work, but hey, only need one shot. Good luck.

Mudboy

Postby Mudboy » August 26th, 2013, 3:47 pm

Shetland helicopter crash: Final body recovered from sea

The body of a fourth person has been recovered from the wreckage of a helicopter which crashed off Shetland.

Duncan Munro, 46, from Bishop Auckland, Sarah Darnley, 45, from Elgin, Gary McCrossan, 59, from Inverness, and George Allison, 57, from Winchester died in the incident.

Three bodies were recovered on Friday, shortly after the Super Puma ditched.

Another 14 people were rescued after the helicopter apparently suffered a "catastrophic loss of power".

The wreckage of the helicopter has now been lifted onto the deck of a diving support vessel.

RNLI rescue co-ordinator Jim Nicholson said it appeared the aircraft had "suddenly dropped into the sea without any opportunity to make a controlled landing".

The Super Puma AS332 L2 had been carrying 16 passengers and two crew from the Borgsten Dolphin oil rig when the incident happened at about 18:20 BST on Friday.

An investigation has not yet established the cause of the tragedy.

Ch Insp Angus MacInnes said: "The fourth person was recovered from the wreckage a short time ago and we have deployed family liaison officers to support those who have lost loved ones.

Continue reading the main story

Start Quote

Sarah lived life to the full, she was easy-going and a one-off. She will be deeply missed by all who knew her”

Sarah Darnley's mother, Anne
"We are also working with the industry to help support all of those affected."

He added: "Friday's incident has had a huge impact on those who work or have relatives in the oil and gas industries but also the communities in Shetland and Aberdeen.

"There is a tangible sense of mourning and shock in the area and there is unlikely to be anyone who hasn't had this on their minds over the last few days."

The salvage operation had been ongoing throughout the day in thick mist in Quendale Bay off the southern tip of Shetland.

It is hoped information on the helicopter's black box data recorder will help establish the cause of the crash.

All Super Puma helicopter passenger flights to UK oil installations have been suspended following the incident.

Family's shock
Oil firm Total said the four who died worked for contract organisations.

Stork Technical Services paid tribute to its employee, Gary McCrossan.

Mike Mann, a senior vice president at the firm, said: "Our heartfelt condolences go out to Gary's family and to all of those affected by this tragedy. We are doing all we can to assist the family at this difficult time."

The Nigg oil yard in Easter Ross where he worked cancelled the nightshift on Saturday as a mark of respect.

Alastair Kennedy, of yard operator Global Highland, said hundreds downed tools in a "moving tribute".

The family of Mr Munro described him as a "devoted husband" and a "fabulous" father.

In a statement, relatives said: "He will be sadly missed by everyone that knew him and his death will leave a large void in a lot of people's lives.

"His family would like to thank everyone for their kindness and support since they received the tragic news. They would also like to pass on their sincere condolences to the other families who have lost loved ones in this tragic incident."

Ms Darnley's mother Anne spoke of her family's shock and said her daughter was "a fun-loving free spirit".

She said in a statement: "She enjoyed her job. She had great camaraderie with her colleagues and over the years she made some fantastic friends whom she was able to visit in various parts of the world, including South America and Thailand.

"Sarah lived life to the full, she was easy-going and a one-off. She will be deeply missed by all who knew her."

Postby zoom rader » August 26th, 2013, 4:57 pm

^^^ yeah once again I stuck up here same as last October.

evo_mad

Postby evo_mad » August 26th, 2013, 10:47 pm

Wow, I worked on the Borgsten Dolphin once. Makes you think twice about sleeping on those long flights and assuming you will arrive at your destination safe.

DIESEL ROCKS

Postby DIESEL ROCKS » August 27th, 2013, 1:02 am

Guys, after all siad.
How is it on your sex life? Really want to know how you all cope?
Looking to make the move to off shore soon.

Postby S_2NR » August 27th, 2013, 1:16 am

nemesis wrote:Same advice as always. Start applying everywhere you can find. Don't just do mail in applications, make sure you check online, plus, if you're not working now, it wouldn't hurt to just show up at their offices and hand in an application too. Most times it won't work, but hey, only need one shot. Good luck.

like where?
which companies in particular?

geodude

Postby geodude » August 27th, 2013, 5:40 am

Territorial looking for ah geologist and ah drilling engineer right now.

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » August 27th, 2013, 9:56 am

DIESEL ROCKS wrote:Guys, after all siad.
How is it on your sex life? Really want to know how you all cope?
Looking to make the move to off shore soon.

I think it's a valid question

nemesis

Postby nemesis » August 27th, 2013, 10:34 am

S_2NR wrote:
nemesis wrote:Same advice as always. Start applying everywhere you can find. Don't just do mail in applications, make sure you check online, plus, if you're not working now, it wouldn't hurt to just show up at their offices and hand in an application too. Most times it won't work, but hey, only need one shot. Good luck.

like where?
which companies in particular?

Depends heavily on your interest in the oilfield. Many different things you can do, and many of them some people won't do. But there's quite a range in Trinidad, from companies like Lennox and Well Services, to the international service companies Schlumberger, Baker Hughes, Halliburton or our local oil company, Petrotrin to the foreign operators like BP and BG, or maybe the drilling companies, Seadrill, GSF? There are even many local companies that provide specific services for the oilfield. Impossible to name them all.
As I said, it depends heavily on if you have a specific interest. If you just want to 'work in the oilfield' you can apply to many many companies and hope for a few calls. Based on someone saying they want to work in the oilfield it was some logical advice I think.

As for that helicopter crash, it's really a sad event and it does make you wonder about the times you've flown in the same area, or to the same rig, or even far away on the same type of helicopter even. Very often we just tell everyone it's safe, and having been doing it for years you may wonder why sometimes your family or friends are paranoid. Then there are a few events like this that remind you. Can only hope these become even less frequent.
Sorry you're stuck out there ZR. There will probably be a huge delay on flights.

Postby zoom rader » August 27th, 2013, 11:26 am

^^^^ Well word on the ground (sea) they cant locate the black box and from the crew that flew on it appeared to be a bird that slammed into the rotas.
Also there was a mad rush to get out of the chopper before it ditched on water upside down. Appeared that the 4 person that died was overweight in size (fat) and could not fit out of the windows.

Jahflame

Postby Jahflame » August 27th, 2013, 4:28 pm

I worked offshore as a radio operator briefly many years ago and would love to do it again. As a matter of fact, if anyone could give me a link it would be much appreciated. PM me if you can assist.

Norton12005

Postby Norton12005 » September 6th, 2013, 5:04 pm

Tuners,

i was asked to do some research on the construction of a concrete base for a land rig. Send me some info in terms of the specifications for this if you can guys...

moedhoe

Postby moedhoe » September 6th, 2013, 5:12 pm

Again depending on the position offered salaries may range anywhere from 8k us monthly to 25k us

nemesis

Postby nemesis » September 6th, 2013, 7:51 pm

Eh? what you talking bout just so?
And doh confuse the people. Many many people offshore make less than that for years.

speedist

Postby speedist » September 7th, 2013, 2:30 pm

Eh? So what's the realistic figure/salary then for a jus come? Possibility for promotion? Was interested in offshore for some time..........

nemesis

Postby nemesis » September 7th, 2013, 2:53 pm

That depends heavily on what department you're in. Yes there's always a possibility of promotion. But I just saying, not everyone makes really good money offshore. It's quite a range. There'll be people making 20kttd/mth, and there'll be those at 140kttd/mth. Usually people don't start off on the higher end though. At least not from what I've seen.

Jahflame

Postby Jahflame » September 9th, 2013, 7:00 am

20kttd is considerably more than what the majority of the country makes monthly

Postby zoom rader » September 9th, 2013, 8:42 am

^^^thats small change. Local market is not up to parr with world standard pay scale

nemesis

Postby nemesis » September 9th, 2013, 9:42 am

Again, depends on your job spec. In some cases trinidad pays better than almost anywhere else in the world.

speedist

Postby speedist » September 9th, 2013, 9:51 am

Jahflame wrote:20kttd is considerably more than what the majority of the country makes monthly

For real. My salary is not even half that! brb going to read entire thread.

nemesis

Postby nemesis » September 9th, 2013, 5:56 pm

Jahflame wrote:20kttd is considerably more than what the majority of the country makes monthly

Can't really base that on the country's average salary. Fact is, many people do make that, and more without even hearing about working offshore.

drecon23

Postby drecon23 » September 9th, 2013, 6:32 pm

20K isn't bad at all especially if its at the bottom and you can work your way up yes...I have been thinking about this a while just trying to get in somewhere really and IT man so looking to do some retraining yes. I sorry didn't switch sooner feel like i waste real years yes.

Postby Sky » September 9th, 2013, 6:39 pm

geodude wrote:Territorial looking for ah geologist and ah drilling engineer right now.

You workin in Territorial?

bassotronics

Postby bassotronics » September 10th, 2013, 5:39 am

Whats the standard salary of a Process Operator/Tech 3/ Green hat?