Sabot

Re: WTF - Snake!

Postby Sabot » September 4th, 2013, 9:36 am

GRIM wrote:
Sabot wrote:
joker wrote:I wonder how many Ocelots they have in the wild

i only saw one since 2003 and this was in the forest just on the outskirts of Mora dam

Grande and other eastern areas have a decent population.
Got some pics of a few in the wild within recent times plus their tracks are a dead giveaway.

I've never seen one and I in the bush alot

Check out this male that was on the trail of a deer that passed earlier. This was at 22:30 hrs and also very close to houses etc. Not in any big remote forest as people would expect.
OcelotSGSite1-13.jpg

Postby *KRONIK* » September 4th, 2013, 9:54 am

SABOT...
where u duz spot these things??
i always wanted to see one of these in the wild..
Havent seen 1 yet...and i from grande...
So send some my way...lol
I go take a 2 piktya and send them back
Lol

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 4th, 2013, 10:02 am

worst thing I came across in the wild was ah tigre,(matura river) bathing normel normel,this friggin thing scale down ah bamboo tree,glide across d water,fus time ah c man run out water so.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » September 4th, 2013, 10:20 am

Razkal wrote:dont think its a mapepire. looks like a bushmaster to me, less aggressive than the mapepire but just as venomous..

haven't seen one of those in a really long while.

the bushmaster is one of the two types of mapepire found locally.

that snake is a boa constrictor. what we call a macajuel. and a young fella too. it may be defensive, but its not venomous.

That is what I was thinking also...
It too fat to be a mapepire.

GRIM

Postby GRIM » September 4th, 2013, 10:22 am

wey boi sabot u real lucky.
When I in d bush I does be mostly up in the heights of aripo/guanapo.
is it a regular thing to see one up by u?

Postby mitsu_chick941 » September 4th, 2013, 10:34 am

Sabot wrote:
GRIM wrote:
Sabot wrote:
joker wrote:I wonder how many Ocelots they have in the wild

i only saw one since 2003 and this was in the forest just on the outskirts of Mora dam

Grande and other eastern areas have a decent population.
Got some pics of a few in the wild within recent times plus their tracks are a dead giveaway.

I've never seen one and I in the bush alot

Check out this male that was on the trail of a deer that passed earlier. This was at 22:30 hrs and also very close to houses etc. Not in any big remote forest as people would expect.

where am i supposed to be looking? not seeing anything :?

Postby 88sins » September 4th, 2013, 10:56 am

mitsu chick, look almost in the middle of the bottom of the pic.

Postby mitsu_chick941 » September 4th, 2013, 11:01 am

ohhhh

Sabot

Postby Sabot » September 4th, 2013, 11:45 am

GRIM wrote:wey boi sabot u real lucky.
When I in d bush I does be mostly up in the heights of aripo/guanapo.
is it a regular thing to see one up by u?

Got lots more pics of more ocelots and of the same male I think. Their coat patterns are different which is how you tell its a different animal. Once you know their territory its not hard to see them in the wild. They do move like ghosts though and are late nocturnal hunters. Check the deer he was following.
DeerSG-Site1.jpg

Yodins

Postby Yodins » September 4th, 2013, 12:24 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:ah deal with this one

These are pics of Mapapire Balsain or Fer-de-Lances :

Notice the array of colours but still, its the same snake.

These are pics of The Mapapire Zananna or Bushmaster:

Larger in girth and length than the balsain but not as aggressive. If you get one riled up enough though you're screwed.

That I believe is a Bushmaster you found there. I hope you eh kill it. Right now the zoo on a hunt for Bushmasters and any that people bring in will be greatly appreciated. They might even pay you for them :mrgreen: What you do with it?

I don't kill snakes because I find them to be amazing creatures and I urge ppl to not kill them because the snake eh do you nothing. You just kill it cuz its well, a snake.

Postby Razkal » September 4th, 2013, 12:31 pm

Razkal wrote:dont think its a mapepire. looks like a bushmaster to me, less aggressive than the mapepire but just as venomous..

haven't seen one of those in a really long while.

the bushmaster is one of the two types of mapepire found locally.

that snake is a boa constrictor. what we call a macajuel. and a young fella too. it may be defensive, but its not venomous.

there are two types of pit-viper, both happen to be called mapepire (balsain and zanana) ;)
the two snakes are totally different species, from different genus'

i'm pretty sure, like 95% sure, that isn't a boa constrictor. the pattern is more of a give away than anything..

Yodins

Postby Yodins » September 4th, 2013, 12:35 pm

That pic shakes put up is no Boa constrictor. 100% bushmaster AKA Mapapire Zannana

Postby DVSTT » September 4th, 2013, 1:09 pm

Yodins wrote:

Larger in girth and length than the balsain but not as aggressive. If you get one riled up enough though you're screwed.

That I believe is a Bushmaster you found there. I hope you eh kill it. Right now the zoo on a hunt for Bushmasters and any that people bring in will be greatly appreciated. They might even pay you for them :mrgreen: What you do with it?

I don't kill snakes because I find them to be amazing creatures and I urge ppl to not kill them because the snake eh do you nothing. You just kill it cuz its well, a snake.

Fer-de-Lances are a type of pit viper so if that bite you is pressure

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 4th, 2013, 2:32 pm

Yodins wrote:

wish I could say we didn't.

Postby 88sins » September 4th, 2013, 3:12 pm

I kept boas as pets up until my 30's. Look at all the pics and note the differences in patterns, colors and specifically head size and shape.

ppl really shouldnt jus kill them for no reason out of fear. all snakes serve a purpose in the environment. whether ppl like it or not. most snakes if left alone will return the favor.
unless its a tigre, then yuh hadda watch yuh ass

Hyperion

Postby Hyperion » September 4th, 2013, 3:21 pm

I think there is some confusion with the 2 sets of pictures that have some tuners confused. The one picture from Vega is the mapepire zanana aka bushmaster, while the four pics from El Dorado with the Canon t2i is the boa aka macajuel. The boa is not poisonous but they have plenty small needle sharp teeth that break in your skin sometimes if you get bitten.If you get bite from a wild one you will most likely have to get rabies shots.

If the zanana bite you, goodbye. Rightfully said, they not as common or aggressive as the balsain, them bumpy scales does put real fear in me though. The zoo looking for one for the longest while, but they apparently dont' do too well in captivity, at least under zoo conditions with people tapping on the glass etc.

The crittercam pics of the ocelot very cool! Saw all kinds of animals in the wild, but never an ocelot.

Postby joker » September 4th, 2013, 5:08 pm

The bushmaster beats it.tail wen frightened.
Sabot ...thais night vision? I had. Bushnell ..and I think the other one was night owl.......then I switched to a fluke. T.I ...

Postby pioneer » September 4th, 2013, 6:59 pm

You know what kinda snake that is?

The gtfoifyouseeitconda :arrow:

Postby rspann » September 4th, 2013, 8:36 pm

ALL snakes are gtfoifyouseeitcondas!

hondamatic

Postby hondamatic » September 5th, 2013, 12:04 am

That is not a venomous snake , its a (Boa constrictor) or macajuel as we call it in Trinidad .

hondamatic

Postby hondamatic » September 5th, 2013, 12:55 am

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1378356849.989972.jpg

Location - Trinidad
Type- Black Forest Cobra
Venom- yes

krazed

Postby krazed » September 5th, 2013, 8:35 am

hondamatic wrote:
ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1378356849.989972.jpg

Location - Trinidad
Type- Black Forest Cobra
Venom- yes

I got some photos of one these from when I was in africa.. dangerous critter. will dig em up an post it.

Postby Razkal » September 5th, 2013, 8:51 am

i hope that's a temporary enclosure...i have one siamese fighter in a bigger aquarium :|

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 5th, 2013, 9:23 am

88sins wrote:I kept boas as pets up until my 30's. Look at all the pics and note the differences in patterns, colors and specifically head size and shape.

ppl really shouldnt jus kill them for no reason out of fear. all snakes serve a purpose in the environment. whether ppl like it or not. most snakes if left alone will return the favor.

fixed

as crazy as this may sound,never harass a horse-whip.srs ting

GRIM

Postby GRIM » September 5th, 2013, 10:40 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
88sins wrote:I kept boas as pets up until my 30's. Look at all the pics and note the differences in patterns, colors and specifically head size and shape.

fixed

as crazy as this may sound,never harass a horse-whip.srs ting

Why? I've a couple in my yard already.

Postby 88sins » September 5th, 2013, 11:39 am

which 1 GRIM, tigre or horse-whip?

hondamatic

Postby hondamatic » September 5th, 2013, 11:40 am

This is in Trinidad right now . With legal docs and with qualified personnel .

GRIM

Postby GRIM » September 5th, 2013, 12:02 pm

88sins wrote:which 1 GRIM, tigre or horse-whip?

horse-whip.
there is one that tried to eat my aunts pet bird two days ago, so i'm doing some research on how trap snakes safely.found these simple wired-mesh traps, going to make some and give em a try.

Postby pioneer » September 5th, 2013, 12:22 pm

Wtf a cobra doin in trinidad?

hondamatic

Postby hondamatic » September 5th, 2013, 12:23 pm

Its with qualified personnel for research n display