Budget 2014/15 Sept 9th

Re: Budget 2014/15 Sept 9th

Postby redmanjp » August 14th, 2013, 11:08 am

pete wrote:Hybrids are a waste of time. small diesel vehicles get much better fuel mileage and arent as expensive. We just need better diesel.
I don't know why they don't try to see if lpg could be another option to cng.

yeah but diesel is not a clean fuel (clean also meaning no CO2 emissions)

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » August 14th, 2013, 2:18 pm

fouljuice

Postby fouljuice » August 14th, 2013, 2:56 pm

They could give the laptops to deserving students now starting tertiary level instead.

And also I hope they increase the salaries of ministers because they are such a hard working bunch.

Postby janfar » August 14th, 2013, 3:03 pm

Howai to pay off past debts

By Stories by Carla Bridglal carla.bridglal@trinidadexpress.com

Story Created: Aug 13, 2013 at 9:36 PM ECT
(
Story Updated: Aug 14, 2013 at 11:43 AM ECT )

A final figure for the national budget is still to be determined, but Finance Minister Larry Howai says the figure will likely include several one-off payments the government has been owing for several years.

“There are a number of payments which I have found over the course of the year that we didn’t budget for but which ought to have been made and have been outstanding for some time.

“For example, Petrotrin is owed about $6 billion by the government. That goes back over several years and it is my intention that is settled this year.

“There are other people owed quite substantial amounts and it is my intention that we make appropriate allowances in the budget to ensure these are paid.

“In making these payments there will be some increase in expenditure but we need to clear off the balance sheet, so to speak.

“It is our intention that these things get cleared up at the same time keeping our deficit down in accordance to the plan and ensuring critical macro-economic indicators, like debt to GDP will remain well managed,” he told reporters at a news conference yesterday at his ministry’s offices, Eric Williams Financial Complex, Port of Spain.

He said commentators should not be too concerned if there was a record budget this year, because while he still hadn’t seen the final figure, so he couldn’t say if it was a record, “I know there will be exceptional expenses that will be one-off that need to be brought to account during the course of this year which are likely to impact the overall number.”

On Sunday, the Office of the Prime Minister announced that Budget Day will be on September 9. Last year on October 1, Howai delivered his maiden budget speech—and the largest budget in the country’s history, topping out at $58.4 billion and including a $7.7 billion deficit.

This year the budget will come before local government elections are expected to be held in October.

While some people, including the Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley, have claimed budget day is a distraction from the election, Howai said the date was not a surprise to the ministry, and that the preparation process is “always pretty tight”. He said consultations have been going on all year round.

Expected in the budget is the announcement of how the government plans to roll out the new system of land and building taxes. He said the new system will be implemented in phases.

He also admitted over the last year there could have been more diversification, especially in the non-energy sector, despite its growth.

“Certainly the non-energy sector has been positive. I need to see more diversification where the focus is on generation of foreign exchange by the sector, so we can take up the slack from the energy sector over time,” he said.

He also said the government was looking at all options regarding the removal of the fuel subsidy. “We recognise over time the subsidy has to be removed and we need to come back to market forces. At the same time do so in a way that does not dislocate the economy and result in an unfair burden to working people,” he said.

He also said the focus of the ministry remains getting the country back to a balanced budget.

Asked if he thought people would expect the budget to contain election promises, Howai said: “The budget is not just a technical document but a political and social document, so one has to recognise all the forces that will come into play when one is preparing the budget and all the demands from the different segments of society.

“The thing about a budget is it’s not always something everybody agrees with. Irrespective of where you position yourself can lead to difficulties.”

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/How ... 02671.html

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » August 14th, 2013, 3:04 pm

fouljuice wrote:They could give the laptops to deserving students now starting tertiary level instead.

And also I hope they increase the salaries of ministers because they are such a hard working bunch.

raise what frankomine salaries of ministers? i hope that is sarcasm. people out here working on year 2000 salaries still since the price of doubles was $1. minimum wage in this country needs to be $5000 per month now. noone can raise a family with comfortable financial stability with anything less. is only ppl suffering out here and the haves want to give themselves more regardless of the cost and toll it taking on the average working man.

if you want to stop crime, create jobs that pay a useful salary. ppl mustnt be working their whole days away and still ketching their ass. the money they working for have to do something for them. they cah be working just to pay bills and go to work. what the hell kind of existence is that?

Postby rfari » August 14th, 2013, 3:22 pm

How about decreasing the 'cost of living' instead of increasing salaries? :idea:

Postby pete » August 14th, 2013, 3:29 pm

Raise minimum wage and everything else will increase.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » August 14th, 2013, 3:32 pm

rfari wrote:How about decreasing the 'cost of living' instead of increasing salaries? :idea:

wouldnt that achieve the same result? how you going to force these business owners to lower their prices? or is there some other way to reduce the cost of living? raising salaries will neutralize the effects of inflation on the working class. in effect the way i see it.. it's the same thing as reducing cost of living.

business owners need to stop practicing cronyism. capitalism without compassion. unless u talking about PROMISES to increase GDP and reduce inflation? hmm how long we getting that promise.. and all the nations of the world that rising up in the streets now?

when cost of living raise, raise salaries to go with it. is long time now the corporations getting to eat a food. is the ppl turn now man. enough already! there is no more valuable resource than the human resource.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » August 14th, 2013, 3:38 pm

ah hear a Sabgar talking on news this week about the fuel subsidy on Super and diesel as well should be removed.
They should stop giving free house to every Tom, Dick and Harry who does go and cry down in front of a camera. My money paying for their free living and I can't even afford one for myself.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » August 14th, 2013, 3:42 pm

pete wrote:Raise minimum wage and everything else will increase.

yep that is what they always say. because everyone else can sacrifice and band their belly and tighten their belt .. except the business owners. their profit margin must be in tact and they hafta get that bmw by the end of next year.

while it have ppl who in the last week of every month drinking water for breakfast , bare crix for lunch.. and nothing chops for dinner. allyuh go ahead.

Postby rfari » August 14th, 2013, 3:52 pm

rocknrolla wrote:
rfari wrote:How about decreasing the 'cost of living' instead of increasing salaries? :idea:

wouldnt that achieve the same result? how you going to force these business owners to lower their prices? or is there some other way to reduce the cost of living? raising salaries will neutralize the effects of inflation on the working class. in effect the way i see it.. it's the same thing as reducing cost of living.

business owners need to stop practicing cronyism. capitalism without compassion. unless u talking about PROMISES to increase GDP and reduce inflation? hmm how long we getting that promise.. and all the nations of the world that rising up in the streets now?

when cost of living raise, raise salaries to go with it. is long time now the corporations getting to eat a food. is the ppl turn now man. enough already! there is no more valuable resource than the human resource.

Raising salaries is just a temporary measure and isnt the same as decreasing the cost of living. There must be some way for retailers to be regulated when adjustments are made by the govnt. Look at what happened with the vat.
Same may happen if duty is removed from suspension parts. Cus taximen more than likely not going to decrease their prices to match the decreased maintenance cost.

Postby pugboy » August 14th, 2013, 3:59 pm

for many people, raising salaries only means they spend more and go home with same as before or even less.
the fact of the matter is the majority of people in this country are unskilled and lazy
can't blame business owners if they have to operate in a ruthless manner

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » August 14th, 2013, 4:08 pm

rfari wrote:
rocknrolla wrote:

Raising salaries is just a temporary measure and isnt the same as decreasing the cost of living. There must be some way for retailers to be regulated when adjustments are made by the govnt. Look at what happened with the vat.
Same may happen if duty is removed from suspension parts. Cus taximen more than likely not going to decrease their prices to match the decreased maintenance cost.

i agree.. and i suggested that when they introduced the reduction of vat. i said that they would have to put a cap on prices. to do that they would have to put a cap on the markup systems enstated by distributors and retailers. and most likely they will get real resistance from the corporate cronies about that. and then there is the legality issue.

Government would have to take over the management of food pricing. but that pricing must also be governed by standard of living factors if we really intend to make sure we have food security. because a time could come where that goes out of balance and the government still sets prices that are unaffordable to the general public or rather poor ppl.

we need more farming and agriculture running to supply ourselves and reduce import. ive said that here since last budget or before that. instead of paying farmers.. why doesnt the government run a government farming program sort of like cepep aimed at both providing jobs and increasing food security? unless i am unaware of such programs. food security is very important in these times. we and the world run the risk of economic famine. where goods are too expensive to pay for and the vendors refusing to sell it at a lower cost.. stalemate to starvation.

something's got to give. prices cant keep rising and salaries staying the same. and i support any measures heavy handed or not that will bring some balance back into the economy by allowing the redistribution of wealth to circulate efficiently.

ppl cant feed their family, and so it gives rise to those who cant resist temptation to go out and kill to feed their family. we creating everything. we complaining bout crime but we creating the environment through greed that creates the criminals and sustains a crime ridden society.

a man with a future, with possibilities will not risk it in a life of crime. that is what i believe.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » August 14th, 2013, 4:11 pm

watch again..

if price of gas raise.. so will taxi fares.

look the maxi taxi association.. when the $1 tariff at city gate was enstated they raised their prices. the tariff was removed and they were refunded all the money they ever paid at the 'toll booth' but they didnt drop back the price of transport. travelling from arima to pos must be reach $7 by now.

and u right.. if price of parts import reduce they still wont give back. because everyone trying to capitalize. but u know what... if we reduce import duties.. we could cut out the middle man retailers and buy stuff ourselves at much cheaper prices. so they will have to get competitive with pricing or suck they thumb in a corner.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » August 14th, 2013, 4:20 pm

toyota2nr wrote:Just some of what I want:
Reduction in motor vehicle and customs duty on vehicles and parts

Stealahships will just compensate and increase the prices of the vehicles. Just as they carried up the cost for diesel vehicles when Premium gas was raised to $4.

Postby pugboy » August 14th, 2013, 4:20 pm

the vat removal on most food items has become a non issue now
as the importers eventually raised back their prices

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » August 14th, 2013, 4:21 pm

pugboy wrote:for many people, raising salaries only means they spend more and go home with same as before or even less.
the fact of the matter is the majority of people in this country are unskilled and lazy
can't blame business owners if they have to operate in a ruthless manner

yeah but what "how a man spend the money he work hard for 8-12hrs a day" have to do with you? how they spend their money is their business. they worked for it. the problem with the ruthlessness as u call it, is that many times peter gets cast with paul and end up paying for all. like a girl cheat on a man and so the man say "all women are cheaters".

but therein lies the secret to redistribution of wealth and capital circulation:

the more u pay them the more they will spend! and that IS EXACTLY what we want. NOT HOARDERS stashing away all the money in foreign bank accounts. keep it here, paying higher rates and spending higher and circulating faster and generating GDP growth. that is how it works! that is economics.

silent_riot

Postby silent_riot » August 14th, 2013, 8:53 pm

Super $4.00/L.

TriP

Postby TriP » August 15th, 2013, 12:00 am

janfar wrote:What you all want

wah we want is a General Elections.. 2015 to long to wait

Postby nemisis » August 15th, 2013, 8:15 am

don't see why all the panic. this is what was voted for, clearly this is what the majority wants

Postby redmanjp » August 15th, 2013, 12:38 pm

rocknrolla wrote:

how about price controls on basic commodities like food? taking away VAT only worked for some places but other supermarkets just increase dey profit margin- but if u implement price controls on retail prices of lets say- rice, meats & peas/beans at least that would keep ppl grocery bill down

Postby redmanjp » August 15th, 2013, 12:40 pm

silent_riot wrote:Super $4.00/L.

u wah ppl rob gas stations orr? :| I say if the subsidy has to be reduced by increase prices then give out gas cards (just like food cards) to ppl under a certain income bracket

so $200 cards (1 per mth) for ppl earning less than $7000/mth :|

Postby Dizzy28 » August 15th, 2013, 1:02 pm

redmanjp wrote:
silent_riot wrote:Super $4.00/L.

u wah ppl rob gas stations orr? :| I say if the subsidy has to be reduced by increase prices then give out gas cards (just like food cards) to ppl under a certain income bracket

so $200 cards (1 per mth) for ppl earning less than $7000/mth :|

And how do you deal with those earning under $7,000 but traveling instead of owning their own car? Taxis that run on gasoline will have a field day if super goes up.

Postby pete » August 15th, 2013, 1:22 pm

People who will be most affected are those driving by themselves. Even if the price doubles my daily commute will still cost less than traveling though. Taxis already make a killing.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » August 15th, 2013, 2:06 pm

redmanjp wrote:
rocknrolla wrote:

how about price controls on basic commodities like food? taking away VAT only worked for some places but other supermarkets just increase dey profit margin- but if u implement price controls on retail prices of lets say- rice, meats & peas/beans at least that would keep ppl grocery bill down

yeah but man they was supposed to do that since last budget. now a lil too late. unless u can somehow force them to reduce back their prices to a reasonable cap? we in sheit street all how. things already too expensive. if we could cap prices and later force employers to raise salaries through a ministry of labour endeavour which stipulated average salaries based on the position and job description held in a company then maybe we could combat falling further into depression and deficit. put in controls to ensure overtime etc are catered for instead of employers forcing staff to work overtime for free with the threat of losing their jobs if they refuse.

as the government must learn.. corporations are the drive because those are the books u observe. but the clean way for corporations to get their drive is from the public spending the money at their businessplaces. not by the government giving them big money directly, and they giving back a percentage for political campaign funding etc. the money ends up staying there in a small circle and the ppl get stressed with daily life as quality of life decreases. 80% of country's wealth shared between 100 ppl, and 20% for the whole rest of the country to fight for the chicken scratchins. it aint gonna work.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » August 15th, 2013, 2:10 pm

pete wrote:People who will be most affected are those driving by themselves. Even if the price doubles my daily commute will still cost less than traveling though. Taxis already make a killing.

u getting on like u dont know even if diesel dont raise the maxis still gonna raise the fare. if breeze blow too hard on the bus route theyll raise prices saying the wind drag causing them to burn more gas. lol

sweet tnt.. #rapeeachother #oneloveandunity

Postby pete » August 15th, 2013, 2:12 pm

If you think that setting a cap for prices and then raising the minimum wage will squeeze the business owners think again. Something has to give and if they can't cover the cost of the employment by raising prices they'll just reduce the number of employees.

*edit*

WRT raising maxi fares, that's where government needs to intervene. Time for them to take that subsidy and pump it into public transportation. Import a heap of buses and subsidise the fares to encourage people to use them.

One bus can take up to 48 cars off the road if not more. Imagine what 1000 buses would do.

Postby Dizzy28 » August 15th, 2013, 2:30 pm

pete wrote:If you think that setting a cap for prices and then raising the minimum wage will squeeze the business owners think again. Something has to give and if they can't cover the cost of the employment by raising prices they'll just reduce the number of employees.

*edit*

WRT raising maxi fares, that's where government needs to intervene. Time for them to take that subsidy and pump it into public transportation. Import a heap of buses and subsidise the fares to encourage people to use them.

One bus can take up to 48 cars off the road if not more. Imagine what 1000 buses would do.

But we would also have to make driving a less attractive proposition. If we get more cars off the road in the short term would it not encourage more people to use cars in the long term as drive commutes become easier?

Removal of gas subsidy is not an inhibitor of driving by itself.

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » August 15th, 2013, 2:34 pm

pete wrote:If you think that setting a cap for prices and then raising the minimum wage will squeeze the business owners think again. Something has to give and if they can't cover the cost of the employment by raising prices they'll just reduce the number of employees.

a predictable keynesian reply. not only does it display a lack of compassion.. but exceptional bad mind towards employees. allyuh just dont want nobody be happy but allyuh self.

but if the government create jobs in services and agriculture then the ppl you dont want to employ can work for the government at better wages. allyuh want to threaten to fire ppl because allyuh not making a million a day.. go ahead. as allyuh business reduce ull make room for other companies to come up with competitive salary packages and take all your workforce from u. i want to see u make millions then with nobody want to work for u.

get with the times or fall by the way side. we have an entire country to consider. the paper money is owned by all citizens and tax payers. not businesses alone. businesses must become more ethical and considerate in the distribution of wealth.

i can tell u this.. the amount of business owners vs the working population is very much weighted to the working population side as far as votes are concerned. so if anyone intend to maintain and be revered in power by the ppl they better realize they need to side with the masses rather than just elbow buddies. u all must be enjoy living in fear and having to go everywhere with bodyguards. it wont end well. pick a country and ull see what we heading for.

through this.. Jack Warner's Prime Ministership is assured once he stays on the side of the ppl.

Postby janfar » August 15th, 2013, 3:38 pm

Only selfish and naieve ppl will not want to see the price of fuel increase.

Gov needs to first set about putting together the proper infrastructure for monitoring food prices etc. Irregardless, we cant tell retailers how much to sell their product for. Its up to us as consumers to say NO, eff you and go somewhere else and get it cheaper. That introduces a competitive market making that will drive prices down somewhat.

That goes the same for fuel. Remove the subsidy and introduce some competition.