pete wrote:Hybrids are a waste of time. small diesel vehicles get much better fuel mileage and arent as expensive. We just need better diesel.
I don't know why they don't try to see if lpg could be another option to cng.
fouljuice wrote:They could give the laptops to deserving students now starting tertiary level instead.
And also I hope they increase the salaries of ministers because they are such a hard working bunch.
rfari wrote:How about decreasing the 'cost of living' instead of increasing salaries?
pete wrote:Raise minimum wage and everything else will increase.
rocknrolla wrote:rfari wrote:How about decreasing the 'cost of living' instead of increasing salaries?
wouldnt that achieve the same result? how you going to force these business owners to lower their prices? or is there some other way to reduce the cost of living? raising salaries will neutralize the effects of inflation on the working class. in effect the way i see it.. it's the same thing as reducing cost of living.
business owners need to stop practicing cronyism. capitalism without compassion. unless u talking about PROMISES to increase GDP and reduce inflation? hmm how long we getting that promise.. and all the nations of the world that rising up in the streets now?
when cost of living raise, raise salaries to go with it. is long time now the corporations getting to eat a food. is the ppl turn now man. enough already! there is no more valuable resource than the human resource.
rfari wrote:rocknrolla wrote:rfari wrote:How about decreasing the 'cost of living' instead of increasing salaries?
wouldnt that achieve the same result? how you going to force these business owners to lower their prices? or is there some other way to reduce the cost of living? raising salaries will neutralize the effects of inflation on the working class. in effect the way i see it.. it's the same thing as reducing cost of living.
business owners need to stop practicing cronyism. capitalism without compassion. unless u talking about PROMISES to increase GDP and reduce inflation? hmm how long we getting that promise.. and all the nations of the world that rising up in the streets now?
when cost of living raise, raise salaries to go with it. is long time now the corporations getting to eat a food. is the ppl turn now man. enough already! there is no more valuable resource than the human resource.
Raising salaries is just a temporary measure and isnt the same as decreasing the cost of living. There must be some way for retailers to be regulated when adjustments are made by the govnt. Look at what happened with the vat.
Same may happen if duty is removed from suspension parts. Cus taximen more than likely not going to decrease their prices to match the decreased maintenance cost.
toyota2nr wrote:Just some of what I want:
Reduction in motor vehicle and customs duty on vehicles and parts
pugboy wrote:for many people, raising salaries only means they spend more and go home with same as before or even less.
the fact of the matter is the majority of people in this country are unskilled and lazy
can't blame business owners if they have to operate in a ruthless manner
janfar wrote:What you all want
rocknrolla wrote:rfari wrote:How about decreasing the 'cost of living' instead of increasing salaries?
silent_riot wrote:Super $4.00/L.
redmanjp wrote:silent_riot wrote:Super $4.00/L.
u wah ppl rob gas stations orr?I say if the subsidy has to be reduced by increase prices then give out gas cards (just like food cards) to ppl under a certain income bracket
so $200 cards (1 per mth) for ppl earning less than $7000/mth
redmanjp wrote:rocknrolla wrote:rfari wrote:How about decreasing the 'cost of living' instead of increasing salaries?
how about price controls on basic commodities like food? taking away VAT only worked for some places but other supermarkets just increase dey profit margin- but if u implement price controls on retail prices of lets say- rice, meats & peas/beans at least that would keep ppl grocery bill down
pete wrote:People who will be most affected are those driving by themselves. Even if the price doubles my daily commute will still cost less than traveling though. Taxis already make a killing.
pete wrote:If you think that setting a cap for prices and then raising the minimum wage will squeeze the business owners think again. Something has to give and if they can't cover the cost of the employment by raising prices they'll just reduce the number of employees.
*edit*
WRT raising maxi fares, that's where government needs to intervene. Time for them to take that subsidy and pump it into public transportation. Import a heap of buses and subsidise the fares to encourage people to use them.
One bus can take up to 48 cars off the road if not more. Imagine what 1000 buses would do.
pete wrote:If you think that setting a cap for prices and then raising the minimum wage will squeeze the business owners think again. Something has to give and if they can't cover the cost of the employment by raising prices they'll just reduce the number of employees.