Tuners who recently built their house

hong kong phooey

Re: Tuners who recently built their house

Postby hong kong phooey » August 6th, 2013, 5:52 am

inter_elegance wrote:its not about being skimpish guys an upstairs house is gonna cost me too much and then my mortgage is gonna be almost 5000 which i cant afford but the land is mine and i am getting 200k so i just wanna build what i can afford and i am looking for advice so i won't be ripped off

Hoss
You know your finances don't take advice from other people about the amount of money because at the end of the month you have to pay off the loan. The longer the period of the loan the more you will have to pay.
You will also have other expenses which you need to cater for. Utility and house insurance.
some very good advice was given here already.
Don't go for individual workman, every job let it be job work.
have someone looking out for your best interest all the time at the worksite.
Don't skimp on electrical or plumbing all these things are run in the wall(I would not suggest having your plumbing in the wall,if any leaks it is a pain to get at ) . It is not much more to rum extra wires even if you don't plan on using it right away, like outlets for washer ,drier and AC units.
this way you don't have to burst walls in the future.
But i still suggest getting some quotes from builders so you can know where you stand, what ever they quote add on an extra 20 k as they always need something.
Go for suff you need rather than want, stuff like tiling can be done in the future when you have saved some money again.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » August 6th, 2013, 8:54 am

Washer dryer AC??

Is 200k he working with buddy.

:)

Postby X_Factor » August 6th, 2013, 10:10 am

^ he said to put the electrical in place for it as it wont cost much more to do it one time

Postby X_Factor » August 6th, 2013, 10:10 am

^ he said to put the electrical in place for it as it wont cost much more to do it one time

Rock Thor

Postby Rock Thor » August 6th, 2013, 11:24 pm

hong kong phooey wrote:
inter_elegance wrote:its not about being skimpish guys an upstairs house is gonna cost me too much and then my mortgage is gonna be almost 5000 which i cant afford but the land is mine and i am getting 200k so i just wanna build what i can afford and i am looking for advice so i won't be ripped off

Hoss
You know your finances don't take advice from other people about the amount of money because at the end of the month you have to pay off the loan. The longer the period of the loan the more you will have to pay.
You will also have other expenses which you need to cater for. Utility and house insurance.
some very good advice was given here already.
Don't go for individual workman, every job let it be job work.
have someone looking out for your best interest all the time at the worksite.
Don't skimp on electrical or plumbing all these things are run in the wall(I would not suggest having your plumbing in the wall,if any leaks it is a pain to get at ) . It is not much more to rum extra wires even if you don't plan on using it right away, like outlets for washer ,drier and AC units.
this way you don't have to burst walls in the future.
But i still suggest getting some quotes from builders so you can know where you stand, what ever they quote add on an extra 20 k as they always need something.
Go for suff you need rather than want, stuff like tiling can be done in the future when you have saved some money again.

^ Cool advice Hong Kong , Plumbing not costly PVC cheap, tiling etc could wait. Electrical run i.e. outlets etc., not expensive. Have a good foreman (yourself to supervise). Do basic first and then do the finishing. Building a 60 by 35 Apt now next to my house and $200K is way too much.

redman24

Postby redman24 » August 8th, 2013, 11:13 am

bro you got some really good advice from RED SLEEPER and HONG KONG PHOEEY its the same thing i would do get a master plan drawn by someone for a house which allows you to build something small yet comfortable to live in for now but that could be expanded on later, you have to shop around , i have a friend in grande who is building a 36x40 3 bedroom, 2 t&b living, dining, kitchen, washroom with covered carport, his entire building has been completed ie: plastered, covered, wired and sealed (gypsum) he has spent $238,000 so far in material and labour and still needs to do the plumbing, cesspit, down lighters for cieling, skirting, paint, tiling and outfit the kitchen with cupboards ertc all of which may cost an additional 80,000 to 95,000 to complete, so in essence it would take a cool 300,000 to 325,000 to complete a 36x40 flats with basic finishes, bearing in mind that the finishes ie: choice of tiles, ceiling, paint, mouldings, faucets, tiolets sets etc WILL change your overall cost. Based on my experience the most expensive components of your house are the foundation ( dependant on land type), the roof (dependant on type and materials chosen) and the kitchen ( dependant on size and finishes chosen). it is my recomendation however depending on your budget and your situation that you complete the shell of your house to the extent that you can move in, get your windows and roof done properly, plaster only the inside walls of the house, complete and tile the necessary areas of at least one bathroom and basicly outfit the kitchen area and the skirting around the house all so as to satisfy the needs for obtaining your completion certificate, get the bank off your back then sit back relax a little and save your money and move towards completing your house as you really want with the finishes you want, piece by piece, whatever money you're borowing from the bank ensure that you can repay it comfortably and STILL BE ABLE TO SAVE SOMETHING MONTHLY, always bear in mind inexpected events ie: sickness, vehicle accidents, family emergencies etc. start small but with a vision for the future, dont study people and hang your hat where you can't reach it, you know your budget SO WORK IT TO SUIT. you will succeed. START SMALL BUT WITH A VISION FOR THE FUTURE good luck!!

inter_elegance

Postby inter_elegance » August 8th, 2013, 4:18 pm

Redman thanks also gr8 advice, I will do a plan for the house because that way i know for sure that the specs would be up to standards and i wouldn"t be bullshitted by ppl who may say to do the slab 6'' or 2'' etc i will already know what size it should be. who can do an approve proper plan and cost. when doing septic system it must be able to be sufficient for upstairs also as my future plans is to end in a split level house.

redman24

Postby redman24 » August 8th, 2013, 9:36 pm

With respect to the plans there's a guy called mr maharaj, he works in the town and country planning office, the last number I had for him was 788-3194, he will draw to desired specs in relation to your land and ensure that you are within the requirements for approval, which he also assists you in getting within a reasonable time . Most other people I know who have done plans for people there is always some problem and as a result it takes a long time to be approved, with the plans going back and forth for changes, amendments etc. if you don't get in contact with him go to the town and country branch responsible for your area and DISCREETLY ask for an officer there that draws plans, it's better to use them as they know how to get around the red tape, heck it's their job to pass house plans, hope this helps. Additionally a starter houseplan with the option to expand/build in modular stages for a two story building later on may cost within the region of 12,000 to 18,000 depending on what you want -(simple or extravagant) also with respect to the cesspit , I'll answer it this way. you can't build a cesspit now and expand on it later, you'll have to build another one later similarly if you can only afford to build a flats but would like to go upstairs later on its better to build the foundation to cater for the future expansion ie; instead of normal wall corners build your columns one time. You'll save much money now than wasting it down the road. FYI (in most cases it costs more to renovate than to build)