Attack of Samsung gadget spam

Re: Attack of Samsung gadget spam

Postby pete » July 22nd, 2013, 9:52 am

pioneer wrote:Where do android people get apps?

Google play store.

Postby pioneer » July 22nd, 2013, 10:05 am

Ohhh ok, so they're trying to copy the iTunes store then.

Makes sense, android looks so much like iOS too.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 22nd, 2013, 10:09 am

Meanwhile in the real world...

http://www.macrumors.com/2013/07/22/app ... inch-ipad/

The Wall Street Journal reports that Apple and its suppliers are testing larger screens for both the iPhone and iPad:

In recent months, Apple has asked for prototype smartphone screens larger than 4 inches and has also asked for screen designs for a new tablet device measuring slightly less than 13 inches diagonally, they said. The current iPhone 5 has a four-inch screen, while the iPad has a 9.7-inch screen. The iPad Mini, a stripped-down version of its tablet computer, has a 7.9-inch screen.

Reports of larger screen sizes for Apple's iPhone model are not new. Multiple reports have already suggested that Apple has been experimenting with screen sizes as large as 5.7" for the iPhone.

However, only one previous rumor, which we classified as "sketchy" emerged in May that pinpointed a 12.9" size for a future iPad.

The larger iPad, which the site apparently in all seriousness says would be called "iPad Maxi", would launch in the first half of 2014 and be intended to target the ultrabook market as well as increase utility for digital textbooks.

While we dismissed that rumor before, the Wall Street Journal's sources apparently confirm the testing of this large almost 13" screen size. The newspaper does explain that these new designs may never make it to market.

Meanwhile, they say the new 2013 iPad will be ramping up later this month. This year's iPad will use the same 9.7" screen, but with a lighter and thinner display structure.

Postby pioneer » July 22nd, 2013, 10:15 am

Still called the iPhone and iPad

Will replace current gen

No spam of multiple devices to confuse everyone on this planet

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 22nd, 2013, 10:22 am

pioneer wrote:Still called the iPhone and iPad

Will replace current gen

No spam of multiple devices to confuse everyone on this planet

13 inch iPad probably won't be called an iPad. Similar to the iPad mini.

Low cost iPhone coming this year and if they do decide to go with bigger screen best believe they will have multiple screen sizes as one size doesn't fit all. It only fits all when you had one size to sell. Apple leaving money on the table and they know this. Hence in time you will see them add products similar to other Android manufacturers. Pioneer you gonna get trolled by Apple.

Ironic.

Postby pete » July 22nd, 2013, 10:23 am

ROFL @ Maxi pad :lol:

Postby pioneer » July 22nd, 2013, 10:26 am

Strong source though, couldn't help notice the word rumor in it re:13" ipad

Obviously they want a cheaper iPhone which can be affordable to the lower income bracket ppl. At present cheap folk can only afford samsung products.

Apple wants to dominate it all areas of the market. Same device/hardware, more affordable package.

Have you seen the price of aluminum lately?

TriniAutoMart

Postby TriniAutoMart » July 22nd, 2013, 10:29 am

pete wrote:I'm using my s2 with my left hand alone to type this. Not sure what you guys are talking about.

Swype is all you need. Typing is a breeze with the S2, S3 and S4. All can be done with one finger.

Postby pete » July 22nd, 2013, 10:31 am

Hey, you going to have to put a youtube video showing how swype works for the iFans.

Here look

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 22nd, 2013, 10:32 am

pioneer wrote:Strong source though, couldn't help notice the word rumor in it re:13" ipad

Obviously they want a cheaper iPhone which can be affordable to the lower income bracket ppl. At present cheap folk can only afford samsung products.

Apple wants to dominate it all areas of the market. Same device/hardware, more affordable package.

If you think aluminum is the thing driving the cost of the iphone up then why were the iphone 3g, 3gs (both plastic), iphone 4, 4s (glass and stainless steel) all launched at US$ 650 unlocked? The low cost iphone will be made of plastic but the cost cutting will be in the features.

Also Wall Street doesn't post rumors when related to Apple. They are spot on.

Postby Sky » July 22nd, 2013, 10:38 am

I don't understand whats the problem here.
They're releasing variants of a good product to suit the individual users' needs, instead of telling users that they need one type of product that sucks at everything.
Yuh like pitya? Take this one.
Yuh like wildness? Take that one.
Yuh like metro jeans? Yuh hadda use that one over there.

Not

Yuh like pitya? Well take this not so great camera, yuh eh need more than that trust meh.
Yuh like wildness? Well this phone too stush, leave it home and rock the me too.
Yuh like metro jeans? Nah nah put it in yuh hipster homeless jacket.

Daran

Postby Daran » July 22nd, 2013, 10:59 am

Having used both Iphones 4S & 5 as well as S3s (no S4).....i can say the Iphone is much better phone for the price.

That said, I love the larger screen on the S3....but that isn't a big a deal as you think, the I5 screen is fantastic as well.

Love the build quality on the Iphones, it really does feel and look like a premium device.

Postby DFC » July 22nd, 2013, 11:00 am

But apple eaters don't know what swype is.

Average apple eater: oh look at me. I paid a ton of money for this device. It must be superior than any other device.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 22nd, 2013, 11:13 am

DFC wrote:But apple eaters don't know what swype is.

Average apple eater: oh look at me. I paid a ton of money for this device. It must be superior than any other device.

I dunno where allyuh get this ton of money thing from. S4 and iphone 5 be the same damn price unlocked and unsubsidized. US$ 650+.

And is swype yuh bumping gum bout? Swype? LOL

What's next? You laugh at Benz drivers because the average price is higher than a high end Kia's with continuous LED taillights???

Postby cinco » July 22nd, 2013, 11:36 am

i cyah believe allyuh still feedin d troll

Postby pioneer » July 22nd, 2013, 11:40 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:
pioneer wrote:Strong source though, couldn't help notice the word rumor in it re:13" ipad

If you think aluminum is the thing driving the cost of the iphone up then why were the iphone 3g, 3gs (both plastic), iphone 4, 4s (glass and stainless steel) all launched at US$ 650 unlocked? The low cost iphone will be made of plastic but the cost cutting will be in the features.

Did you even read the article properly?

Wall Street Newspaper wrote:While we dismissed that rumor before, the Wall Street Journal's sources apparently confirm the testing of this large almost 13" screen size. The newspaper does explain that these new designs may never make it to market.

:?

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 22nd, 2013, 11:45 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:

Did you even read the article properly?

Wall Street Newspaper wrote:While we dismissed that rumor before, the Wall Street Journal's sources apparently confirm the testing of this large almost 13" screen size. The newspaper does explain that these new designs may never make it to market.

:?

Nope. I skimmed thru it to post here to stir up trouble. Also the article from WSJ is just reporting Apple testing. No rumor in that and that is a fact. I didn't say WSJ said Apple launching a new iPad yet. You d one extrapolated that.

excellent extrapolation/10

Postby Sky » July 22nd, 2013, 11:58 am

cinco wrote:i cyah believe allyuh still feedin d troll

true, true

Postby pioneer » July 22nd, 2013, 12:00 pm

Here we are speaking of real life current devices on the market, and bunnyears interject with devices that allegedly being tested

Postby teems1 » July 22nd, 2013, 12:35 pm

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 22nd, 2013, 12:39 pm

pioneer wrote:Here we are speaking of real life current devices on the market, and bunnyears interject with devices that allegedly being tested

Bookmark this thread. Remember how it was a year before first iPhone came out. Rumors.

Postby pioneer » July 22nd, 2013, 2:07 pm

No need to bookmark, this thread is meant to discuss current gen devices already on the market.

I don't deal with speculation.

original_lollybob

Postby original_lollybob » July 22nd, 2013, 2:15 pm

pete wrote:Not only Samsung. There's also lg, sony, motorola and all the other generic Android devices.

How many different Lumia 800's are there?

How many different HTC One's are there?

Apple has one iPhone, current model being the 5. There is no iPhone 5 Zoom, no iPhone 5 Active (waterproof), no iPhone 5 Mini, no iPhone 5 Mega. There is ONE iPhone 5. There was one iPhone, one iPhone 3G/S, one iPhone 4/S.

Current model replacing the previous.

Apple never brought out 4 different iPhones out at the same time and tell you hey, if you want one with an awesome camera buy model X, if you want a bigger screen buy model Y, if you want stereo output buy model Z etc etc you get my drift.

Why can't Samsung release ONE phone and be content? Are they lost and confused?

How many different Lumia 800's are there?
one

Apple has one iPhone
two, if u believe rumours of the soon to be released iphone (mini. budget. plastic. colour)?
one seriously hopes this is a rumour only

but for the record... all android devices suck

Postby noshownogo » July 22nd, 2013, 2:35 pm

rite rite

Postby 16 cycles » July 22nd, 2013, 2:40 pm

thanks Samsung, for all the options.....

Postby pioneer » July 22nd, 2013, 2:44 pm

rite rite

Xecutive

Postby Xecutive » July 22nd, 2013, 2:52 pm

Processing
Dual-core 1.3 GHz (iPhone 5)
1.9 GHz Quad-Core Processor / 1.6 GHz Octa-Core Processor (S4)

Memory
1 GB RAM (iPhone 5)
2GB RAM (S4)

Battery
1,440 mAh (iPhone 5)
2,600 mAh (S4)

The above specs were pulled from:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/IPhone_5
http://www.gsmarena.com/apple_iphone_5-4910.php
http://www.samsung.com/global/microsite/galaxys4/

If it is that the S4 has a significant advantage in Memory and processing then why does it have a delay when compared to the iphone 5?. I did a simple test by placing the two phones side by side and loading different apps. One main focus was on the photo app/folder (whatever you want to call it). Although you would expect the S4 to load first, it did not. While many ppl will say that a slight delay won't kill them, if I'm paying 650US+ for the S4 then I expect it to perform better than the iphone. The sad part was that the S4 didn't even have photos loaded on it, while the iphone was loaded with 1000+ photos inclusive of videos within the camera roll. With all this processing power and ram the S4 was just not functional as these specs would also contribute to power consumption.

On that note, with the improved battery life of the s4 it still won't get through the day. Be sure to walk around with your charger. A friend of mine actually ran 50% of power in the first half of the day while the iphone only ran approx 28% with nominal usage such as fb, whatsapp, several calls, etc. Yes, maybe the usage may not be the exact same but 50% in a 4hr period (8-12) is quite steep on battery power.

When they launched the S4 in TCM, I happened to be there to get a hands on demo with the device. I noted that the sensor for the swiping action (without touching the screen) is positioned to the far top right hand side of the phone. While holding the phone with my right hand i tried gliding my thumb from left to right across the screen to see if the pages would change. Unfortunately, even the sales rep said "the sensor not detecting yuh finger dey". Waste of time in my opinion. Probably like a camera, the sensor has a limited angle of vision. The phone just isn't functional. If i'm spending that amount of cash, i'd definitely expect better.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » July 22nd, 2013, 2:59 pm

S4 has swype yo.

Postby pioneer » July 22nd, 2013, 3:04 pm

Samsung boys not concerned with real life functionality

All they care to brag about is specs specs specs

Matter of fact I won't doubt for a minute that the majority of samsung boys are also pc gamers.

Postby 16 cycles » July 22nd, 2013, 3:18 pm

^ pc gamers probably use both phones to their full functionality....IRL