roadhog

yuh still think you safer in ole iron

Postby roadhog » June 23rd, 2013, 9:47 pm

Computerman

Re: yuh still think you safer in ole iron

Postby Computerman » June 23rd, 2013, 10:11 pm

I feel much safer about crashing into a 1959 Bel Air now. Thanks!

Postby pioneer » June 23rd, 2013, 10:13 pm

thought this was another feuner ched

Postby MG Man » June 23rd, 2013, 10:16 pm

this was posted quite a few times
this whole thing about 'oh dem longtime cars make outta hard iron and does stand up better in a crash' is utter rubbish. Modern cars sacrifice themselves to protect their occupants

DTAC

Postby DTAC » June 24th, 2013, 12:10 am

Oh gosh MG, not Fake Top Gear again!

UK Premium Imports

Postby UK Premium Imports » June 24th, 2013, 5:32 am

But Thaz relllllll ole iron dey tho eh.... Makes me feel to go crush a red Bull can :oops:

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 24th, 2013, 6:38 am

MG Man wrote:lol
this was posted quite a few times
this whole thing about 'oh dem longtime cars make outta hard iron and does stand up better in a crash' is utter rubbish. Modern cars sacrifice themselves to protect their occupants

So daiz why you tryin to sell yuh ole car!

Postby MG Man » June 24th, 2013, 7:07 am

lol I sold the safest one out of the lot (the MINI)
I sellin the MGF to finance another MG project :-p

devrat

Postby devrat » June 24th, 2013, 7:19 am

MG Man wrote:lol I sold the safest one out of the lot (the MINI)
I sellin the MGF to finance another MG project :-p

MG Project = Project Liberation ?

Postby MG Man » June 24th, 2013, 7:26 am

lol nah, things look like they just may change..........I'll keep yuh posted :)

devrat

Postby devrat » June 24th, 2013, 8:02 am

MG Man wrote:lol nah, things look like they just may change..........I'll keep yuh posted :)

Glad to hear that..............*strikes MG from list for Colombia trip*

Postby Ted_v2 » June 24th, 2013, 8:25 am

I would rather be in a 280c than in a b14 in a accident srs

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » June 24th, 2013, 8:32 am

sound boy 64 wrote:I would rather be in a 280c than in a b14 in a accident srs

Based on?

Postby Sky » June 24th, 2013, 8:45 am

Remember a 280C taxi running head on into an EG8 civic, "sponge car" people call it.
The civic man lost his bumper, nose clip and radiator.
The 280C driver lost his leg.
Just remember, you inside that ole iron and when it stop, you still goin inside there.
MG already said it. The newer cars sacrifice themselves to save the occupants.
You know a B14 does the same? The people do their homework. Dead drivers can't buy another car eh, remember that.

Postby MG Man » June 24th, 2013, 10:51 am

yup
when you come to a sudden stop in a solid hunk of iron, your body absorbs almost the full force........a 'flimsy modern paper car' will deform and actually decelerate in a controlled manner upon impact, insulating your body form the full force
When the truck hit my mini cooper some years ago, the full impact was isolated to the corner that got hit. The suspension has engineered weak points that allow it to buckle, and deform, saving the rest of the car..........sum total damage was rear bumper, fender and that corner's suspension. When I saw how the wheel was bent and pulled, I was sure the chassis would be bent...nope..........the wishbones buckled and allowed the chassis mounting points to remain perfect.
Look at any modern car now; engine mounts that break away, allowing the engine to drop down, rather than be forced into the firewall; fenders and bonnet designed to buckle and absorb impact; bumpers with substructures that spread the force of impact laterally before moving backward.........all of this is what saves you from broken ribs, spinal injuries, leg injuries and more....
I'll never forget when I rammed a 260C with my PBH Hyundai accent...........minor injuries including bruising from the seatbelt and a painful ankle from standing on the brake at point of impact.....you could see how the car gave itself up to protect the occupant compartment
You'd have to be a complete idiot to think old cars are safer in an accident to modern ones

Postby RASC » June 24th, 2013, 11:34 am

You're clearly a comedian.

Postby Ignorant Ignis » June 24th, 2013, 12:55 pm

devrat wrote:
MG Man wrote:lol nah, things look like they just may change..........I'll keep yuh posted :)

Glad to hear that..............*strikes MG from list for Colombia trip*

will take that spot 8-)

Postby Spitfir3 » June 24th, 2013, 1:00 pm

good now try that with ah bedford 8-)
if the crash don't kill you Tetanus from the ole iron will :lol:

Postby redmanjp » June 24th, 2013, 1:01 pm

Sky wrote:

Remember a 280C taxi running head on into an EG8 civic, "sponge car" people call it.
The civic man lost his bumper, nose clip and radiator.
The 280C driver lost his leg.
Just remember, you inside that ole iron and when it stop, you still goin inside there.
MG already said it. The newer cars sacrifice themselves to save the occupants.
You know a B14 does the same? The people do their homework. Dead drivers can't buy another car eh, remember that.

these cars should be given a medal :|

Postby *$kїđž!™ » June 24th, 2013, 4:06 pm

airbags.....cant sit in a car much less drive a car witout them...

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » June 24th, 2013, 5:17 pm

DTAC wrote:Oh gosh MG, not Fake Top Gear again!

Actually the new fifth gear not too bad when Jason Plato there ...

Postby Rory Phoulorie » June 24th, 2013, 5:45 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:airbags.....cant sit in a car much less drive a car witout them...

:| Why? Seat belts are the primary safety restraint system in a car, not the airbags.

Postby black start » June 24th, 2013, 9:05 pm

increased time of impact

Postby Greypatch » June 25th, 2013, 9:07 am

feeling sorry for that '59 bel air dan