dealing with difficult employees

Re: dealing with difficult employees

Postby sharkman121 » June 21st, 2013, 8:42 pm

Also a person is only offered back their jobs if relations between them and the employer has not been damaged irreparably which is often the case. Most of the time they are awarded damages and other financial compensation.

Postby joker » June 21st, 2013, 8:52 pm

A WORKER was dismissed for refusing to do a job he normally does
case went on for 6 yrs
company argument was Customary and Practiced
UNION argument not in HIS job spec!
WORKER won 6 yrs salary / Promotion in Dept =Promotion for him +Retroactive Payment /plus 60k compensation ...he went home with just over a Million dollars !

Postby joker » June 21st, 2013, 9:10 pm

Clerk awarded $40,000

By JADA LOUTOO Friday, June 21 2013

A LAW CLERK who was dismissed by her employer via an unsigned, handwritten note has been awarded $40,000 by the Industrial Court. Ingrid Edmond who clerked for attorney Juliet Roberts Antoine from December 4, 2006 to June 27, 2008, was fired without notification.

Antoine’s matter was taken up by the National Workers’ Union and heard by Industrial Court judges Sandra Ramparas, Gregory Rousseau and Dinesh Rambally. The union and Edmond, who were represented by Dave Smith, argued that Roberts Antoine did not adhere to any recognisable procedure consistent with natural justice or principles of good industrial relations practice when she dismissed Edmond. Smith also argued that the dismissal was arbitrary.

According to evidence presented to the court, Edmond said she was advised by Antoine on June 26, 2008 of the closure of the office and enquired whether they should discuss the issue before making a decision. Her evidence was that Antoine’s response was that she had said all that needed to be said and on June 27, when she (Edmond) returned from her lunch break, she found an envelope containing cash, being salary of $4,000 and $2,000 for half month (July) and a handwritten note which read, Ingrid, sorry I missed you. I had to leave shortly. I feel quite exhausted.

Please leave keys on your desk when leaving. Thanks. Sorry that it could not work out any other way.”

Edmond returned to work on June 30, only to find the locks had been changed.

Edmond said she then understood the note to mean she had been fired.

Antoine claimed she heavily relied on Edmond due to her workload which kept her out of the office. She said she received complaints about the quality of Edmond’s service from clients and also about Edmond’s tardiness.

Antoine said that on June 27, she left a written note asking that Edmond leave the keys to the office for the builder who was to do some maintenance work in the office and the sum of $6,000, as she (Antoine) was leaving the country the next day.

She said on June 30, 2008, she received a call from the builder saying he replaced the padlock on the office door since he had no keys to access the office. She said various attempts to contact Edmond proved futile and she considered her clerk as abandoning the job. In its ruling, the Industrial Court found that the attorney’s case was devoid of any substantiating documentation of her (Antoine) problems with Edmond as alleged.

Rambally, who wrote the judgment, also noted that the evidence did not point to Edmond’s intention to abandon the job and had Antoine felt she was unjustifiably absent from work, she should have written to her (Edmond) fixing a deadline for her to confirm whether she was still interested in the job.

Roberts Antoine has been given up to July 17, to pay Edmond the compensatory sum awarded by the court.
http://www.newsday.co.tt/crime_and_court/0,179489.html

Postby pioneer » June 21st, 2013, 9:59 pm

Easier to set him up doing an illegal act; stealing, drug use, sexual harassment (take one for the team OP).

Postby joker » June 21st, 2013, 10:14 pm

NO it is not !!! ... that would be Constructive dismissal!....

Postby pioneer » June 21st, 2013, 10:20 pm

And how he proving it?

Man loss dey wukk for tiefing box ah pencil already eh

Postby joker » June 21st, 2013, 10:21 pm

employee Service..over stealing
drug use /in system= Employee assistance Program
Sexual harassment /need to prove / witnesses will be cross examined intensely

Postby pioneer » June 21st, 2013, 10:26 pm

Or jus have him killed in 2 hours joker, stop playing.

geez

Postby joker » June 21st, 2013, 10:26 pm

man loss e wuk for pencil? lol he do what after ?

Postby pioneer » June 21st, 2013, 10:28 pm

joker wrote:man loss e wuk for pencil? lol he do what after ?

He does run taxi outside de ministry.

Pick up ah trip on mornings, then wukk taxi in st james till 4pm trip ready to roll back south.

Postby joker » June 21st, 2013, 10:32 pm

he was permanent / unionized /contractor?

Postby pioneer » June 21st, 2013, 10:39 pm

permanent

case got tried, found guilty, appointment revoked

his coworkers didn't like him much apparently he was one of those loud ruckus lazy people who also had a habit of carrying home tings, so they made the stores clerk "give" him de pencils, stores clerk testified that he stole it

happened yearsss ago dunno if he could even see now

Thaz when I said de other day be careful of "IT dept" givin away non-working or old equipment, all those things belong to the state even if it not working. Men laugh.

Postby sharkman121 » June 21st, 2013, 10:42 pm

joker wrote:NO it is not !!! ... that would be Constructive dismissal!....

How exactly is that constructive dismissal

Postby joker » June 21st, 2013, 10:43 pm

PSA? LOL...

HE SHOULD SUE THEM FOR MISREPRESENTATION....

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 21st, 2013, 11:24 pm

Allyuh men legal and fancy up yes.

Last time a company I worked for had an issue similar to the op one, the boss son and worker scramble it out for a few mins and by next day things was normal again but with some LULZ to go gib gib gib about.

Fcuk misrep and psa and thing, op walk up to him in the Carpark, make sure the boss or manager within seeing distance and when yuh reach close to the phaggotor just shout out "MIH MODDA IZZA STINKING WHA???" And start to rain fire pon he skull with yuh Clark's.

He goh learn his lesson and your manager will promote you for showing ambition and ability to stand up firm.

Postby Hook » June 21st, 2013, 11:41 pm

put a tv in he han' an' shoot him

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 21st, 2013, 11:46 pm

Hook wrote:put a tv in he han' an' shoot him

That is managerial promotion antics.

Hadda find a spot with no cameras and ask him to carry the tv into the frame and keep calling him to make him turn around but doh engage in convo. Then as he reach a lil distance, run up behind and make him turn around, drop the tv and blaw blaw!!!!

Yuh sterling brothers picking if you want the white leather or Oxford blood seats. Simple Dan.

Postby Hook » June 22nd, 2013, 12:00 am

You put way more thought into that than I'm comfortable with.

luther

Postby luther » June 22nd, 2013, 8:01 pm

watless indian wrote:if there is and employee that when given a task has a problem with everything wants it to be done to his timing always have a problem with a task given always does his work to a point that is incomplete. always on youtube facebook triniturner during working hours, takes long to conduct the simplest task when given.

also in the passed has issued treats to another co workers family members. how should 1 deal with this level of insubordination?????

post you comments...................would love to get some feed back on what is the best action to be taken and reason why.

thanks

first point - Have an informal discussion. Ask him if he understands the work assigned, or is there an issue preventing him from working. Be open, non-accusatory and supportive. Outline a plan for improvement, and ask him to submit his tasks weekly so both of you can track improvement.

Regarding threatening his co-workers' family, this is obviously serious. He should be subject to your formal disciplinary procedure, and even get the police involved.

Postby shogun » June 22nd, 2013, 8:14 pm

luther wrote:first point - Have an informal discussion. Ask him if he understands the work assigned, or is there an issue preventing him from working. Be open, non-accusatory and supportive. Outline a plan for improvement, and ask him to submit his tasks weekly so both of you can track improvement.

Regarding threatening his co-workers' family, this is obviously serious. He should be subject to your formal disciplinary procedure, and even get the police involved.

luther wrote:Why don't people just do as they please in life?

Where all your nihilism gorn?

Now yuh talking about police and outlining plans of improvement, for others? Steups.

Postby Ted_v2 » June 22nd, 2013, 9:04 pm

kurpal_v2 wrote:Allyuh men legal and fancy up yes.

Last time a company I worked for had an issue similar to the op one, the boss son and worker scramble it out for a few mins and by next day things was normal again but with some LULZ to go gib gib gib about.

Fcuk misrep and psa and thing, op walk up to him in the Carpark, make sure the boss or manager within seeing distance and when yuh reach close to the phaggotor just shout out "MIH MODDA IZZA STINKING WHA???" And start to rain fire pon he skull with yuh Clark's.

He goh learn his lesson and your manager will promote you for showing ambition and ability to stand up firm.

nail on head business.

I went to help on a lil job a day , servicing a few 3 tons trucks. The boss tell two fellas to tek out the two front wheels on the truck and they refused. they say that thats not their job and rell ducking . EH boss man say well fine UDFR , if you doh want to work then fine. Mankind walk out and come back with doubles and start pelting off wheels like a tyre shop :|

Postby joker » June 22nd, 2013, 11:39 pm

I threatened my Supervisor... (i did something for him b4) so he knew wat i was about ... he made a report in Couva police STATION...POPO called me ...asked me what was my problem with him ... "HE FONDLED my Testicles and i told him stop it" .... they laughed and fugged him up

LOL

MIND YOU ... I AM SUPPOSED TO BE HIS REPRESENTATIVE LOL....

LOL

LOL

Postby janfar » June 23rd, 2013, 4:08 am

OP manager read this post and took away his internet access. Successful thread is successful.

Postby pioneer » June 23rd, 2013, 4:44 pm

For people in the private sector especially, what is the policy wrt to employees using their cell phones when they are on front desk duty?

Last week I went to an electronics store in tunapuna which has very high and frequent customer traffic, after the person dealt with me I had a question, in the middle of asking the question she pulled out her cell phone, made a call and asked me to wait...she continued to cyak for about 5 mins, she was the only person at the counter at the time...and I really needed information on the part I needed.

I been going to that store since I know myself and know the owner pretty well, but she has also been there a while and knows me also, so reporting her might be a little awkward. I don't know if she did it because she know I always come there and thought I would be OK with that...or it's something she just accustomed doing.

But does this frequently happen in the private sector? I know it happens all the time in the public sector and nobody seems to want to do anything about it, and/or brave enough to dare. Even by us the security always have their heads buried in bbm and fail to even look up and notice people walking past them...vagrants even enter the building, use the bathrooms and take water without them even noticing....

I know national security ministry have very strict policies wrt to cell phones depending on the department you in...but other ministries is like free for all really.

Postby dougla_boy » June 23rd, 2013, 7:01 pm

went to Francis Fashion yesterday and on the top floor, there was only 4 girls to help you out.........one was behind the cash register, one was speaking to a customer who was buying nothing, another was doing the same then proceeded to talk on her cell phone, and the one girl who was working had about 3-5 customers at a time............

Postby Hook » June 23rd, 2013, 7:11 pm

More commission for her, thas all

Postby sMASH » June 23rd, 2013, 7:17 pm

i stopped reading when i came across u saying that reporting her would be awkward.

she regards u in such esteem to make a 5 minute fone call while u were asking her a question... i find u should have had a response to the same regard.

... or is your chuna account only worth e-dollars...

Postby Hook » June 23rd, 2013, 7:23 pm

But you don't know the nature of the call. And one isolated incident in all the years you've been going there shouldn't warrant flexing your consumer rights muscles. It's a few minutes of your time, not the blood of your first born. Take off the cape, hero.

Postby pioneer » June 23rd, 2013, 7:26 pm

Exactly, other than that isolated incident she is always pretty helpful so I opted to not do the extreme thing.

And she did wait till she completed the transaction to make the call, maybe she didn't hear me asking the question and was already too late to cancel her call?
Last edited by pioneer on June 23rd, 2013, 7:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby AllTrac » June 23rd, 2013, 7:26 pm

Hook wrote:Take off the cape, hero.

check please, im out :lol: