dealing with difficult employees

Re: dealing with difficult employees

Postby sMASH » June 21st, 2013, 9:39 am

so wait, no one in your company is a professional with employee relations training, human resource, or even the grievance and termination procedures?

u hadda come here to find out how to fire someone who is taking a salary with no productive return?

all i sayin is document every thing and do appraisals for the records and show that u have tried continuously to work towards a better solution.

make sure when u fire the man, that u have proof of the reasons for firing him, so when he haul allyur rectums to court, that allyuh could prove that the termination is justifiable.

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » June 21st, 2013, 9:48 am

shotta 20 wrote:
DFC wrote:Watless indian, is he an ojt by chance?

Here is what to do. Install a keylogger on his pc. Get his passwords. Change all.

Log on with his facebook.
Post, "im gay."

Get his tuner password and come post here too.

He will think twice about logging into his accounts at work and might actually do work.

Sent from Mermaid using Seashell .

DFC..........Couldn't help it buddy ... :lol: :lol: :lol:

DFC wrote:Hey guys i want tips on how to duck work, while in work?

Well i work from 7:30 to 4:30, and i'm doing a job now, that i hate...and wish everyday that there is some massive earthquake and this building falls through a crack in the earth's crust.I was taken from my original job, (which i miss everyday) and brought to admin to fill in for these 2 weeks.The girl i am filling in for, is sick with dengue..

so i took my time and lysol'ed everysingle thing on her desk.

Well, i keep my desk piled with paper, messy and piles of paper stacked on the floor....when my spider senses tingle.....i flip thru the pages..and look really busy.
If its upper management, then i take out a calculator and calculate..and write notes....and look as if i'm getting something done!

I go to the water bottle at least 10 times an hour...filling my cup with 1 inch of water each time..and i drink it right there...that whole process takes 10 mins.

I walk around with papers in my hand all the time...and i always maintain a nervous and busy look in my face...always.

i go to the toilet and just sit there sometimes....for about 30 mins each interval.

I walk around alot...checking all the girls...they know what is my scene, but they dont mind.

i start smoking, just so i can go out every 30 mins with the supervisor to smoke...he likes company when he is smoking.

there is a lunch room on the first floor...which i go @ 11am to eat my bread. i stay there till 12, then i go to the top floor , there is a lunch room there..and i take another lunch from 12 to 1..and i eat my next bread.
I cant believe nobody notices that...lol.

My work load is small so yes, i do the work alotted to me, but i try to take as long as i could to do it...

I usually troll tuner and fb, whole day...

what else?

hoss you working Global Finical Services by chance???

Postby pioneer » June 21st, 2013, 10:37 am

I always have excel open with reports from 2010

I just edit the date to present and people think i'm really busy so they don't bother me

Phone always ringin off the hook so I unplug the cable and just have it sitting there, that way callers don't get voicemail or busy tone, it just rings. If they come in all annoyed we just say the phones are down.

Postby sharkman121 » June 21st, 2013, 10:53 am

Trade Unions will not seek to defend and employee unless his basic and fundamental rights are being denied. Ive told many an employee this....doh run to the t.u. to defend yuh if yuh doin sheit.

So basically the character in this scenario can be dealt with easily, if he is not performing his duties adequately....verbal warning, written warning letter (he doesnt even NEED to sign for it), dismissal.

This is all based on the principles of procedure and natural justice.

Postby DFC » June 21st, 2013, 12:01 pm

^^ oh how i miss those ojt days.

:)

Postby dougla_boy » June 21st, 2013, 12:17 pm

DFC, dafuq hoss? LOLOLOLOLOL!!!

I LOL'd so hard eh!!!

Postby sharkman121 » June 21st, 2013, 12:22 pm

DFC wrote:^^ oh how i miss those ojt days.

:)

Come again??

drop ho

Postby drop ho » June 21st, 2013, 12:32 pm

sharkman121 wrote:Trade Unions will not seek to defend and employee unless his basic and fundamental rights are being denied. Ive told many an employee this....doh run to the t.u. to defend yuh if yuh doin sheit.

So basically the character in this scenario can be dealt with easily, if he is not performing his duties adequately....verbal warning, written warning letter (he doesnt even NEED to sign for it), dismissal.

This is all based on the principles of procedure and natural justice.

Sharkie if this is how it does work we wudda ha no problem. It ha some Unions feel they bigger than the company itself and wastin a setta time in Industrial Court for things was dealt with procedurally - ie verbal, written, written, written, suspension, termination.

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » June 21st, 2013, 12:56 pm

i find trinidad employers should start to operate like the foreign companies.
Not accepting any stupid excuses for absentiesm and late coming, you either want the job or not............ if you cant work under those condisions find another place that does.

Rain, Flood, doesnt matter, be at work on time or its the axe for your as5

Postby pioneer » June 21st, 2013, 1:02 pm

Realistically speaking that can only happen if we had an efficient public transport and transit system.

Postby sharkman121 » June 21st, 2013, 1:04 pm

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:i find trinidad employers should start to operate like the foreign companies.
Not accepting any stupid excuses for absentiesm and late coming, you either want the job or not............ if you cant work under those condisions find another place that does.

Really??

drop ho

Postby drop ho » June 21st, 2013, 1:18 pm

Now i dont subscribe to that eh thinking eh....

Postby Ted_v2 » June 21st, 2013, 2:05 pm

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:i find trinidad employers should start to operate like the foreign companies.

pioneer wrote:Realistically speaking that can only happen if we had an efficient public transport and transit system.

These

DionYorker

Postby DionYorker » June 21st, 2013, 2:15 pm

Well it is a good thing english and spelling is not a factor in your job...or else you would have been a Rotten Breadfruit instead.

Maybe Trinidad employers should operate within the Law first before they begin an attendance program.

We drunk on Friday.... :drinking: :drinking: :drinking:

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » June 21st, 2013, 2:17 pm

sound boy 64 wrote:

pioneer wrote:Realistically speaking that can only happen if we had an efficient public transport and transit system.

These

Sh!t excuse...Leave on time and use the service how best it suits your repsonsibilities...

They in every F!#ing fete on time tho... :roll: :roll:

Postby - Rovin's car audio - » June 21st, 2013, 2:46 pm

Conrad wrote:Is this your keyboard OP?

u know i feel like it had a sale on these like $5 for 1 & rel ppl buy .... :lol:

by now i tort somebody wuda post d short answer which is : do yuh wuk or UDFR ! ...... :mrgreen:

Postby SUPAstarr » June 21st, 2013, 3:18 pm

Ministry of Labor suggests 2 warning letters (verbal cannot stick), an once employee has not corrected self, terminate. I got the lecture after I got reported for firing 14 Guntas an guntresses in one day, however we had a loop hole most other organizations don't, so ministry commended us. The ministry is aware of the poor quality of workers that exist, but if you don't play by the book, they have more rights than you.

Postby pioneer » June 21st, 2013, 3:31 pm

SUPAstarr wrote:Ministry of Labor suggests 2 warning letters (verbal cannot stick), an once employee has not corrected self, terminate. I got the lecture after I got reported for firing 14 Guntas an guntresses in one day, however we had a loop hole most other organizations don't, so ministry commended us. The ministry is aware of the poor quality of workers that exist, but if you don't play by the book, they have more rights than you.

Did they ask - "uenno who'iz meoar?"

Postby SUPAstarr » June 21st, 2013, 3:34 pm

Several did, water cooler collected a stamp, a door slammed so hard it came off the hinge. Then again, probably my fault for calling them all in the room at the same time, strength in numbers rubbish

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » June 21st, 2013, 3:46 pm

^^yuh lucky your name wasnt "water cooler".
These furkers think that their "badness" can save them from being fired..

They are like wild animal and can sense weakness in others.
Being a supervisor or manager with these types takes alot of balls and the show of ability to use them.

Postby SmokeyGTi » June 21st, 2013, 3:53 pm

threats made against employees are serious allegations
ge the police involved, let them come to the office in full view of everyone, that should embarras the sheit outta him.

smash made some good comments.
of course in the absence of such documentation you could just fire him immediately - if you are prepared to go to court, and lose. it'll cost you your legal fes, his legal fees, and whatever the court decides as compensation.

the pro is that it might take years for that judgement to pass - in other words his arse to cetch fopr quite a while.

Postby sharkman121 » June 21st, 2013, 3:55 pm

SUPAstarr wrote:but if you don't play by the book, they have more rights than you.

This is so true...many get off or get compensated because correct procedure was not followed.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » June 21st, 2013, 4:01 pm

SmokeyGTi wrote:
the pro is that it might take years for that judgement to pass - in other words his arse to cetch fopr quite a while.

Actually that far from what id call a pro.
You then have to fork out all his backpay and entitlements and loss of earnings in one shot and give him back his job....

Postby kurpal_v2 » June 21st, 2013, 4:11 pm

Op, buss he faking face widda stapler and say he tried to grab your penis.

Postby Hook » June 21st, 2013, 5:19 pm

A stellar recommendation from kurps there :lol:

Postby pioneer » June 21st, 2013, 7:14 pm

SUPAstarr wrote:Several did, water cooler collected a stamp, a door slammed so hard it came off the hinge. Then again, probably my fault for calling them all in the room at the same time, strength in numbers rubbish

They mentioned the famalee dey have to feed and how u takin food out de poor man mouth?

Postby joker » June 21st, 2013, 7:40 pm

watless indian wrote:if there is and employee that when given a task has a problem with everything wants it to be done to his timing always have a problem with a task given always does his work to a point that is incomplete. always on youtube facebook triniturner during working hours, takes long to conduct the simplest task when given.

also in the passed has issued treats to another co workers family members. how should 1 deal with this level of insubordination?????

post you comments...................would love to get some feed back on what is the best action to be taken and reason why.

thanks

YOU cannot DO THE EMPLOYEE anything !
secondly your a pus sy !
Thirdly you have to prove what you are saying about that employee
IF he is not Unionized he can go to any Union to REPRESENT him for any Action Taken by the EMPLOYER /MANAGER/SUPERVISOR/SENIOR/EMPLOYEE

Unions play a major part in a Company.
A Certificate of Recognition is Given to a Union to Represent Workers
Where there is A Recognized Majority Union the Company CANNOT DO ANYTHING WITHOUT CONSULTING THE UNION.

Postby SmokeyGTi » June 21st, 2013, 8:18 pm

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:
SmokeyGTi wrote:
the pro is that it might take years for that judgement to pass - in other words his arse to cetch for quite a while.

Actually that far from what id call a pro.
You then have to fork out all his backpay and entitlements and loss of earnings in one shot and give him back his job.....

not really, especially if the person found a new job by then. judge won't order you to give them back their job. A lot of companies prefer to fire and pay them off whatever, whenever - especially if they want to get rid of them anyway.

case in point - PriceSmart have a set of lawsuits pending 6+ years now against them - lawsuits they might probably lose. while their lawyers stalling, bureaucracy at the courts etc. they making $$ like dat.

if you know a good IR lawyer you can also work with them and make a case for redundancy, which is the best legal way to get rid of people.

Postby joker » June 21st, 2013, 8:28 pm

You have to prove to the Industrial Court THE POSITION is in fact REDUNDANT ...and no one merges that function with theirs ..

Postby sharkman121 » June 21st, 2013, 8:40 pm

Joker is correct and also in redundancy they must follow the rules of the retrenchment and severance act. The onus is on the company in court to prove that the position is redundant.