rspann wrote:Why the youths who don't drink,go to parties till 4 in the morning,drink and drive, must pay the price for those who do?My first son has been driving since seventeen(going to school)using any of my vehicles and I have never had complaints about him.The second is eighteen driving for a year and he is responsible.If you don't teach your children responsibility,and allow them to do what they want what do you expect?Nightclubs and alcohol is not for children who are studying,if you allow yours to do it I have no problem with that.There is and old saying,when you sow the wind,you reap the whirlwind!
wagontuner wrote:1)
Now tell me who are the ones encouraging slackness on the roadways????? This issue needs to be dealt with from the root, until then is just another rant or hype in my book
j.o.e wrote:It all comes back to enforcement...if someone lacks discipline enforcement will straighten them out. If you thought that on your way home drunk from a club there is a good chance of bouncing up a officer who would breathlyze yuh tail or pull you over for speeding (via radar gun) you would behave different. The Gulf city traffic light is surrounded by Rig,Carnival City, Metro,Maracas etc ......Cross Crossing is surrounded by Rising Star, Kush and countless other bars. But you will never see a police car any where in the vicinity. The interchange is a major road/intersection...no cameras to tell what really happened.
We will talk for a week or two and things will remain the same. I remember I had some family here for 2 weeks..... It was the last day they were here they saw a police car.
ADONI wrote:Why he don't write Mazda and tell them stop making cars, cause his twins died in a Mazda.
j.o.e wrote:Also there must be a standardized procedure for dealing with any accident that causes death or serious injury..... blood test etc. Too many people walking around happy like pappy after killing people. One way or the other we will catch yuh.
Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:wagontuner wrote:1)
Now tell me who are the ones encouraging slackness on the roadways????? This issue needs to be dealt with from the root, until then is just another rant or hype in my book
In your book, what exactly is the Root of the problem?
wagontuner wrote:Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:wagontuner wrote:1)
You read my entire post? If yes, like yuh really sleeping, as you were, I don't wanna wake you up.
wagonrunner wrote:Is 25 an efffin magic number?
at 25, you suddenly have driving awareness?
So a 25yo on the road the 2nd day with a permit is suddenly a better driver than a 22yo drving everyday for the last 4 years?
Please educate me on that.
wagontuner wrote:
Imagine a relative of mine taking full tuition (20 classes) for driving. The day before the driving exam, the instructor says: You can pay $800, in case you make any mistake on the day of the exam, you'll get your license. He further justifies his statement by saying it costs cheaper than setting up another exam date and taking additional tuition.
Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:wagontuner wrote:Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:wagontuner wrote:1)
You read my entire post? If yes, like yuh really sleeping, as you were, I don't wanna wake you up.
\\I did.. Sorry to say , i havent seen the root yet.??
Age for drinks? issue, but not root.
Age for DP? Ditto.....
So whats the root where you think the problem needs to be dealt with?
Sky wrote:I must be from another dimension, because where I'm from, stupidity, irresponsibility and immaturity isn't confined to a certain age.
wagonrunner wrote:Earning a DP does not mean you can drive, it means you passed the test / requirements to hold a DP.
Driving "skill" comes through training and practice. I got the training from my folks long before I held permit because of their habits on the road, which were then explained to me when I started asking about it around when I was 15yo. We'd also have seen stuff on tv, and my family would explain how why that wouldn't really work, and we were an attentive bunch.
When I got my DP, I would get picked up, and could drive home from work. Could also drive anywhere they were going, once they had the time. This contributed to my training, my practice came from getting to do it every day. Leaving palmiste, picking up my mom in Mon Repos. Dropping my mom to work in Piarco. going to check my grandmum in Tunapuna. then heading to work in Trincity. going back for mom in Piarco. dropping her back to mon repos (other runs before that, grocery, etc). then heading usually by my GF in marabella, and then back to palmiste.
All before the age of 25.
teems1 wrote:It was the ones who passed their exam first time who would drink and drive recklessly...
Hook wrote:Every time something happens there is outrage and emotions, and then knee-jerk reactions abound. This is no different. I haven't heard anyone in authority comment on alcohol consumption and teen clubbing but fingers seem to be pointing everywhere else.
Now, all of a sudden, the responsibility of some drivers are being questioned, simply because their car accelerates faster than others? What nonsense is that? I never killed anyone. You? Okay.
Two major things stand out for me as serious issues here:
Why aren't there TTPS officers outside the clubs, willing to catch drunk drivers BEFORE they crash?
Why were teenagers allowed into the club in the first place?
I'm in full support of implementing laws to prevent establishments from selling alcohol after a certain hour AND a drinking age restriction of 21 years, but the bottom line is always enforcement, enforcement and enforcement.
Also, enforcement plays a huge role here. Throw in a side of enforcement with those fries. While you're at it, supersize the enforcement.
Did I mention enforcement?
All the ad campaigns in the world won't appeal to a driver who's convinced that he/she's the greatest thing on four wheels and that accidents happen to OTHER people, not them, so wave the big stick of THE LAW at them and get them in line.
It's THAT simple.
whyteliver wrote:r3iXmann wrote:whyteliver wrote:pioneer wrote:You does know a third world country, no police presence in parking lots to ensure drunk drivers don't get behind the wheel to begin with.
They only show up to direct traffic and put cone in de road when it's too late.
Highly reactive.
pleeeeese tell me u eh this dotish........
how is that dotish?
you want police present in every club, bar, every back road rum shop, and fete carpark to monitor drunk drivers? really???
If u honestly think that is possible then I am underestimating how dotish you are...
and this is NOT,i repeat NOT done in first world countries...
yuh know wat , yuh right...put police...then we go be almost like merica....yayyyyy