Raise age to get DP or parents to be blamed despite age??

Re: Raise age to get DP or parents to be blamed despite age?

Postby eliteauto » June 12th, 2013, 2:45 pm

rspann wrote:Why the youths who don't drink,go to parties till 4 in the morning,drink and drive, must pay the price for those who do?My first son has been driving since seventeen(going to school)using any of my vehicles and I have never had complaints about him.The second is eighteen driving for a year and he is responsible.If you don't teach your children responsibility,and allow them to do what they want what do you expect?Nightclubs and alcohol is not for children who are studying,if you allow yours to do it I have no problem with that.There is and old saying,when you sow the wind,you reap the whirlwind!

Look the answer right there, 25 ain't no special age, cause irresponsibility transcends all ages. The driving styles we see now are simply reflective of the poor society that exists here

Postby j.o.e » June 12th, 2013, 2:53 pm

It all comes back to enforcement...if someone lacks discipline enforcement will straighten them out. If you thought that on your way home drunk from a club there is a good chance of bouncing up a officer who would breathlyze yuh tail or pull you over for speeding (via radar gun) you would behave different. The Gulf city traffic light is surrounded by Rig,Carnival City, Metro,Maracas etc ......Cross Crossing is surrounded by Rising Star, Kush and countless other bars. But you will never see a police car any where in the vicinity. The interchange is a major road/intersection...no cameras to tell what really happened.
We will talk for a week or two and things will remain the same. I remember I had some family here for 2 weeks..... It was the last day they were here they saw a police car.

wagontuner

Postby wagontuner » June 12th, 2013, 2:54 pm

1) The age to enter clubs should be raised to at least 21yrs. Imagine a group of 4 to 5 youths consuming alcohol at their desire......just think of it.

2) Raising the age to acquire a DP will not help deter stupid/ irresponsible actions on the roadways. The earlier you learn to drive (providing you going through the legal channel) and with further supervision, defensive courses etc. the better you adapt IMHO

Imagine a relative of mine taking full tuition (20 classes) for driving. The day before the driving exam, the instructor says: You can pay $800, in case you make any mistake on the day of the exam, you'll get your license. He further justifies his statement by saying it costs cheaper than setting up another exam date and taking additional tuition.

Now tell me who are the ones encouraging slackness on the roadways????? This issue needs to be dealt with from the root, until then is just another rant or hype in my book :|

Postby j.o.e » June 12th, 2013, 2:54 pm

And don't tell me it does have police on the cross...dem men jus passin to buy burgers.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » June 12th, 2013, 2:58 pm

wagontuner wrote:1)
Now tell me who are the ones encouraging slackness on the roadways????? This issue needs to be dealt with from the root, until then is just another rant or hype in my book :|

In your book, what exactly is the Root of the problem?

Postby j.o.e » June 12th, 2013, 3:00 pm

Also there must be a standardized procedure for dealing with any accident that causes death or serious injury..... blood test etc. Too many people walking around happy like pappy after killing people. One way or the other we will catch yuh.

ADONI

Postby ADONI » June 12th, 2013, 3:04 pm

Why he don't write Mazda and tell them stop making cars, cause his twins died in a Mazda.

Postby redmanjp » June 12th, 2013, 3:08 pm

j.o.e wrote:It all comes back to enforcement...if someone lacks discipline enforcement will straighten them out. If you thought that on your way home drunk from a club there is a good chance of bouncing up a officer who would breathlyze yuh tail or pull you over for speeding (via radar gun) you would behave different. The Gulf city traffic light is surrounded by Rig,Carnival City, Metro,Maracas etc ......Cross Crossing is surrounded by Rising Star, Kush and countless other bars. But you will never see a police car any where in the vicinity. The interchange is a major road/intersection...no cameras to tell what really happened.
We will talk for a week or two and things will remain the same. I remember I had some family here for 2 weeks..... It was the last day they were here they saw a police car.

unless of course yuh throw tire in d road light it on fire and bawl Jostiss!! worked for Sea Lots

Postby j.o.e » June 12th, 2013, 3:10 pm

ADONI wrote:Why he don't write Mazda and tell them stop making cars, cause his twins died in a Mazda.

It ironic your post count is 323 lol

Postby redmanjp » June 12th, 2013, 3:11 pm

^ lol at post count :lol:

j.o.e wrote:Also there must be a standardized procedure for dealing with any accident that causes death or serious injury..... blood test etc. Too many people walking around happy like pappy after killing people. One way or the other we will catch yuh.

afaik breathalyzer/blood test is mandatory in a fatal accident unless the driver is seriously injured himself and the doctor objects on medical grounds- if anyone can link the exact clauses of the law then please do

wagontuner

Postby wagontuner » June 12th, 2013, 3:16 pm

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:

You read my entire post? If yes, like yuh really sleeping, as you were, I don't wanna wake you up.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » June 12th, 2013, 3:25 pm

wagontuner wrote:
Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:

You read my entire post? If yes, like yuh really sleeping, as you were, I don't wanna wake you up.

\\I did.. Sorry to say , i havent seen the root yet.??
Age for drinks? issue, but not root.
Age for DP? Ditto.....

So whats the root where you think the problem needs to be dealt with?

Postby Spitfir3 » June 12th, 2013, 3:27 pm

wagonrunner wrote:Is 25 an efffin magic number?
at 25, you suddenly have driving awareness?

So a 25yo on the road the 2nd day with a permit is suddenly a better driver than a 22yo drving everyday for the last 4 years?

Please educate me on that.

i agree with what your saying, stupidity doesn't end or common sense doesn't magically kick in at the age of 25...people need to be more responsible and while i agree about enforcing the law nobody should have to be threatened with jail time or a ticket to have value for their own life..imagein big men need police to basically babysit them

Postby Ted_v2 » June 12th, 2013, 3:34 pm

forq ollour

i going for my DP next week

Postby Sky » June 12th, 2013, 3:35 pm

I must be from another dimension, because where I'm from, stupidity, irresponsibility and immaturity isn't confined to a certain age.

Postby nemisis » June 12th, 2013, 3:37 pm

^^^ paying or not paying. If paying how much? A girl I know paid $2000 in ptown.

Postby RBphoto » June 12th, 2013, 3:47 pm

I personally believe that training to drive should start at 13-14 on closed courses or just to learn to park in enclosed areas, a provisional licence should be granted at 15, to drive with an instructor on the road, at 16 a full license. 17 is too old to start to learn responsibility on the road.

Postby Ted_v2 » June 12th, 2013, 3:48 pm

something like drivers ed in those foreign countries?

dean_spleen09

Postby dean_spleen09 » June 12th, 2013, 4:00 pm

wagontuner wrote:
Imagine a relative of mine taking full tuition (20 classes) for driving. The day before the driving exam, the instructor says: You can pay $800, in case you make any mistake on the day of the exam, you'll get your license. He further justifies his statement by saying it costs cheaper than setting up another exam date and taking additional tuition.

and if you ent geedem the $800 they does fail you for spite.
"ah hear"

Postby redmanjp » June 12th, 2013, 4:09 pm

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:
wagontuner wrote:
Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:

\\I did.. Sorry to say , i havent seen the root yet.??
Age for drinks? issue, but not root.
Age for DP? Ditto.....

So whats the root where you think the problem needs to be dealt with?

1- Implement a Speed Enforcement System (one which is also automated & can work 24/7 when there's no police on the road) http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Speed_limit_enforcement#Methods

2- Enforce the breathalyzer BEFORE any accidents takes place- target roads outside of bars/clubs

3- Bar licenses should be granted/renewed on condition that the bar/club stops serving alcohol 1-2 hrs before closing time

4- Implement point system for DPs

5- Database needed for 1 & 4

6- restricted driving for new drivers (driving for less than 1 year)-e.g.- supervised driving, or no night driving see https://www.dmv.ca.gov/teenweb/dl_btn2/q_and_a.htm
Last edited by redmanjp on June 12th, 2013, 4:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby RBphoto » June 12th, 2013, 4:13 pm

Exactly. By the time we are 17, we have already seen our parents bad habits, and emulate their sketchy driving ethics, and their probably bad aggressive attitude to driving. I know my father used to speed, and when I started, I too thought 80 on the highway was too slow. Nobody told me of the dangers. He would not wear a seat-belt, but because of adverts on television, I defied him when he used to tel me to "make yourself comfortable nah" and wore it all of the time. Many accidents and defensive driving courses later, I have adjusted my attitude and try to drive with dignity, and fairness. I am nearly 40. I was reminded of the ignorance of our elders when it comes to driving, when I drove my inlaws to the doctor the other day. My MIL got vex everytime I let someone come out of of an intersection even though I had right of way and we were in heavy traffic, ding on in, one out at intersections, my FIL thought something was wrong with my car why it was not kicking down to overtake, when I kept in the left lane. The only thing they did not tell me is that I was driving like a mook. Education really is the only way to change attitudes from young. I only started to change by the time I was 30. 13 years of aggressive driving and unnecessary gas burning. Also, I believe basic maintenance should be taught. There is plenty of voodoo that is believed wrt car maintenance as can be seen on our technical forums.... and plenty big man can't change a Tyre *smh*

Postby shogun » June 12th, 2013, 4:20 pm

Sky wrote:I must be from another dimension, because where I'm from, stupidity, irresponsibility and immaturity isn't confined to a certain age.

Postby wagonrunner » June 12th, 2013, 4:23 pm

Earning a DP does not mean you can drive, it means you passed the test / requirements to hold a DP.

Driving "skill" comes through training and practice. I got the training from my folks long before I held permit because of their habits on the road, which were then explained to me when I started asking about it around when I was 15yo. We'd also have seen stuff on tv, and my family would explain how why that wouldn't really work, and we were an attentive bunch.

When I got my DP, I would get picked up, and could drive home from work. Could also drive anywhere they were going, once they had the time. This contributed to my training, my practice came from getting to do it every day. Leaving palmiste, picking up my mom in Mon Repos. Dropping my mom to work in Piarco. going to check my grandmum in Tunapuna. then heading to work in Trincity. going back for mom in Piarco. dropping her back to mon repos (other runs before that, grocery, etc). then heading usually by my GF in marabella, and then back to palmiste.

All before the age of 25.

Postby teems1 » June 12th, 2013, 4:32 pm

From personal experience, the persons in my class who bought their license were not the ones who would drive like kants.

In fact it would be the opposite, they were often too timid/slow/can't average their parent's car... Poor driving skills but nothing to land you up on the headlines of the papers...

It was the ones who passed their exam first time who would drink and drive recklessly...

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » June 12th, 2013, 4:38 pm

wagonrunner wrote:Earning a DP does not mean you can drive, it means you passed the test / requirements to hold a DP.

Driving "skill" comes through training and practice. I got the training from my folks long before I held permit because of their habits on the road, which were then explained to me when I started asking about it around when I was 15yo. We'd also have seen stuff on tv, and my family would explain how why that wouldn't really work, and we were an attentive bunch.

When I got my DP, I would get picked up, and could drive home from work. Could also drive anywhere they were going, once they had the time. This contributed to my training, my practice came from getting to do it every day. Leaving palmiste, picking up my mom in Mon Repos. Dropping my mom to work in Piarco. going to check my grandmum in Tunapuna. then heading to work in Trincity. going back for mom in Piarco. dropping her back to mon repos (other runs before that, grocery, etc). then heading usually by my GF in marabella, and then back to palmiste.

All before the age of 25.

When i was 19 i too had a gf in marabella.But thats a different story. :lol:

Long drive from north to marabella by MY gf and learned a lot from that abt do's and dont's.
May not have made me the best driver, but experience and a sense of understanding made me aware of the possibilities governing the potential weapon i was driving!

Postby wagonrunner » June 12th, 2013, 4:56 pm

teems1 wrote:It was the ones who passed their exam first time who would drink and drive recklessly...

To me drinking tolerance and speed tolerance work the same as weight lifting.

You don't learn to lift 200lbs at 15yo your first try. you could probably lift 50. but you keep going in increments until 200 and more is comfortable.

The problems are others seeing you pumping that 200lb, and feel they should be able to do it too. And damage themselves by not willing to train to get there. And suddenly it's someone else's fault.

Postby pete » June 12th, 2013, 5:56 pm

Check how many problems there are in Trinidad and this is just a few.

1. Licensing office giving licenses for a price, not based on passing the test
2. The test is just a test on how to operate a vehicle below 40kph and how to do hand signals that you would hardly use in the real world.
3. Police don't have the tools to effectively enforce the laws, e.g. radar guns, enough vehicles for the traffic branch
4. Police officers have become frustrated not having the tools to make their job easy they don't bother.
5. No incentive to go out and do anything. Like other members in the public service, some, if not most, are not going to go out and set up road blocks in the middle of the night when they could just chill out in the station til their shift ends.
6. LOOOOONG drawn out judicial process where police officers have to show up in court over and over and over again when cases get called.
7. Sketchy insurance companies being allowed to run in the country. Can't get insurance anywhere else? we'll cover you man! But when something happens we aren't going to have money to fix anyone's car, far less pay medical bills. We're just here so that you have a piece of paper saying you gave us money and you're "insured".
8. No apparent communication between police and insurance companies to determine how many speeding tickets you have, how many accidents you've gotten into, how many red lights you've broken.

Let's face it, once you pay for a car in Trinidad you can just go get crap insurance for $1200 (or less) and be on the road and that makes car ownership cheap. If the insurance companies operated as they did internationally premiums would be much higher. No man with a rotten down 720 pickup is going to pay $12,000 a year for insurance and the insurance companies wouldn't even insure it to begin with. That way all the old pieces of crap come off the road.

If the police had the right tools to do the job, maybe given an commission on tickets given out and fines actually received maybe they would be more willing to come out and share tickets and catch people breaking the road laws.

The WHOLE system needs to change. But everything working "good" how it is right now. All the people who making money off the system are glad for it to continue just as it is..

Postby pioneer » June 12th, 2013, 7:06 pm

Hook wrote:Every time something happens there is outrage and emotions, and then knee-jerk reactions abound. This is no different. I haven't heard anyone in authority comment on alcohol consumption and teen clubbing but fingers seem to be pointing everywhere else.
Now, all of a sudden, the responsibility of some drivers are being questioned, simply because their car accelerates faster than others? What nonsense is that? I never killed anyone. You? Okay.

Two major things stand out for me as serious issues here:
Why aren't there TTPS officers outside the clubs, willing to catch drunk drivers BEFORE they crash?
Why were teenagers allowed into the club in the first place?

I'm in full support of implementing laws to prevent establishments from selling alcohol after a certain hour AND a drinking age restriction of 21 years, but the bottom line is always enforcement, enforcement and enforcement.
Also, enforcement plays a huge role here. Throw in a side of enforcement with those fries. While you're at it, supersize the enforcement.

Did I mention enforcement?

All the ad campaigns in the world won't appeal to a driver who's convinced that he/she's the greatest thing on four wheels and that accidents happen to OTHER people, not them, so wave the big stick of THE LAW at them and get them in line.

It's THAT simple.

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=509303&start=90

whyteliver wrote:
r3iXmann wrote:
whyteliver wrote:
pioneer wrote:You does know a third world country, no police presence in parking lots to ensure drunk drivers don't get behind the wheel to begin with.

They only show up to direct traffic and put cone in de road when it's too late.

Highly reactive.

pleeeeese tell me u eh this dotish........

how is that dotish?

you want police present in every club, bar, every back road rum shop, and fete carpark to monitor drunk drivers? really???
If u honestly think that is possible then I am underestimating how dotish you are...
and this is NOT,i repeat NOT done in first world countries...

yuh know wat , yuh right...put police...then we go be almost like merica....yayyyyy

Reamos DC5

Postby Reamos DC5 » June 12th, 2013, 7:52 pm

I believe the situation is a combination of many. How many times do we see accidents in the papers, suddenly this one happens and the whole country acts up. Maybe this could now be the wake up call?
i don't know.
Anyway, lets remember that you could have the #1 Mom & #1 Dad, yet still some children find themselves irresponsible and in trouble.
Who dictates a good parent?
Who determines if the child received proper guidance along the course of their life?
What about the kids who have really really good parents but are succumbed to outside influence? peer pressure? internet or television? Does this also have a part to play? Or does the blame go straight to the parents regardless of?
I would love to know how do you stop a child who hugs and kisses their parents every morning, school bag full with books, and end up heading to the river with their uniform in their bag....leaving parents clueless.
How many of us, with the best of parents, sneaked out at midnight? if our parents were sooo good then what made us do it?
Have your parents ever asked you where they went wrong?
How many parents do NOT have a clue what their kids are doing?
Good parenting does NOT always solve everything and we also have to look at the individual.

As for the increased DP age, i believe it may and may not help.

Generally speaking, a 25 year old "should be" more responsible and mature than a 17 year old.
Remember there will be cases where its the other way around.
So changing the age may help, we have to ascertain if the majority if this population will be more mature at the age of 25.
Maybe they will mature at around 25, maybe they will not change from since they were 17, no one knows for sure.

Postby rspann » June 12th, 2013, 9:08 pm

The fact remains,they were at a nightclub at 4am.No one can deny that its hardly likely someone would be partying and don't take a drink.What about tiredness,sleepiness doesn't all this come into play?You are considered an adult at 18 ,can you take away someones right to own a car,drive oneself where one wants to go?What about the young,responsible people who use their car in the correct manner?Who use their car to go to work,To do their business.Do you want your eighteen year old daughter to travel from penal to POS every day coming home late at night?Or your children going UWI travelling home after classes?Man,some people don't use the brain God give them to think.The way some people think(or maybe they don't)better they ban cars,because older people get into accidents too.