Raise age to get DP or parents to be blamed despite age??

iamblessed

Raise age to get DP or parents to be blamed despite age??

Postby iamblessed » June 12th, 2013, 1:34 pm

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Fat ... 33811.html

Sent from my Nexus 4 using TriniTuner mobile app

iamblessed

Re: Raise age to get DP or parents to be blamed despite age?

Postby iamblessed » June 12th, 2013, 1:37 pm

The dad of the twins involved in the fatal road accident wants the age for some one to acquire their DP be raised but I say what's the sense people over the age of 25 drive like a holes etc etc and I believe that it doesn't matter if you reach 18 or 19....stay out the club etc...some parents let their kids loose too early.....

Postby wagonrunner » June 12th, 2013, 1:37 pm

why not blame the BUGWAAANAAA behind the wheel?

the parents can only be blamed for trusting the BUGWAAANAAA with the responsibility of proper road usage. but the BUGWAAANAAA could fool, lie, or just break those terms anyway.

so where does the blame really lie?

Postby zoom rader » June 12th, 2013, 1:40 pm

The problem is not the age. The main problem is the underhand dealings of getting a permit.
Simple cure is for Insurance companies not to insure young drivers. Also making sure that they dont drive their parents car.

iamblessed

Postby iamblessed » June 12th, 2013, 1:42 pm

wagonrunner wrote:why not blame the BUGWAAANAAA behind the wheel?

the parents can only be blamed for trusting the BUGWAAANAAA with the responsibility of proper road usage. but the BUGWAAANAAA could fool, lie, or just break those terms anyway.

so where does the blame really lie?
hmmmmm I blame parents and the system...you know how much bribe does take place in this licensing system...you doh have to know how to drive na...once you or your parents have the money...your DP in your hand and your car already park up in a car park....
And seriously I really do think parents let their child loose too early...not because you did good in school that allows you the chance to be out late clubbing....

Postby j.o.e » June 12th, 2013, 1:44 pm

zoom rader wrote:The problem is not the age. The main problem is the underhand dealings of getting a permit.
Simple cure is for Insurance companies not to insure young drivers. Also making sure that they dont drive their parents car.

you read what you type there? it makes no sense.

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » June 12th, 2013, 1:44 pm

Yea I say they should stop this ting where you could pay for your license

Sent from my iPad using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby rspann » June 12th, 2013, 1:44 pm

Why the youths who don't drink,go to parties till 4 in the morning,drink and drive, must pay the price for those who do?My first son has been driving since seventeen(going to school)using any of my vehicles and I have never had complaints about him.The second is eighteen driving for a year and he is responsible.If you don't teach your children responsibility,and allow them to do what they want what do you expect?Nightclubs and alcohol is not for children who are studying,if you allow yours to do it I have no problem with that.There is and old saying,when you sow the wind,you reap the whirlwind!

nicholas7129

Postby nicholas7129 » June 12th, 2013, 1:46 pm

When I was younger it took me a year and a half before I cud drive without supervision

Postby teems1 » June 12th, 2013, 1:46 pm

Blame lies with the driver.

Why punish the rest of the population because 1 idiot can't control his right foot.

iamblessed

Postby iamblessed » June 12th, 2013, 1:47 pm

rspann wrote:Why the youths who don't drink,go to parties till 4 in the morning,drink and drive, must pay the price for those who do?My first son has been driving since seventeen(going to school)using any of my vehicles and I have never had complaints about him.The second is eighteen driving for a year and he is responsible.If you don't teach your children responsibility,and allow them to do what they want what do you expect?Nightclubs and alcohol is not for children who are studying,if you allow yours to do it I have no problem with that.There is and old saying,when you sow the wind,you reap the whirlwind!
allyuh tuner men could rule this country boy...sad to say no one(bosses them) wants to hear/or would listen....smh
Could not put it better....well said....hold a bounce...dey

Postby zoom rader » June 12th, 2013, 1:49 pm

j.o.e wrote:
zoom rader wrote:The problem is not the age. The main problem is the underhand dealings of getting a permit.

Every one knows that you can pass change for ur permit, that is a problem. A permit should be earned
No insurance for young drivers = Less asswipes on the road. Why u think ur premium always going up?
Insurance should be invalid if found out that under 25s was driving that car.

iamblessed

Postby iamblessed » June 12th, 2013, 1:51 pm

j.o.e wrote:

Every one knows that you can pass change for ur permit, that is a problem. A permit should be earned
No insurance for young drivers = Less asswipes on the road. Why u think ur premium always going up?
hmmmmm

Postby maj. tom » June 12th, 2013, 1:54 pm

Enforce the laws properly with the necessary equipment and personnel and better targeted insurance policies. End corruption at the licence office and institute the Graduated Driver Licensing programme like Ontario. Since the Trinidad government is always eager to get Canadian consultants anyway.

Why this man want to punish other people just because of one stupid person?
Sorry for his loss and the anger and sorrow he is feeling right now but age doesn't make reckless behaviour stop in people who were never taught the right thing in the first place. Tolerance, appreciation of life and respect for other people does that. The majority those maxi/taxi drivers in the Idiot Drivers Thread are over 25 years right?

Postby j.o.e » June 12th, 2013, 1:57 pm

j.o.e wrote:

geez zoom rader think
....you saying the age is not a problem so why give licenses to people who can't be insured? Its either you agree with raising the age for licenses or not.

Postby zoom rader » June 12th, 2013, 1:59 pm

^^^ thats the problem giving them a permit by passing a lil change. Rising the age will still cause them to pass change for that permit.

Postby Hook » June 12th, 2013, 2:10 pm

Every time something happens there is outrage and emotions, and then knee-jerk reactions abound. This is no different. I haven't heard anyone in authority comment on alcohol consumption and teen clubbing but fingers seem to be pointing everywhere else.
Now, all of a sudden, the responsibility of some drivers are being questioned, simply because their car accelerates faster than others? What nonsense is that? I never killed anyone. You? Okay.

Two major things stand out for me as serious issues here:
Why aren't there TTPS officers outside the clubs, willing to catch drunk drivers BEFORE they crash?
Why were teenagers allowed into the club in the first place?

I'm in full support of implementing laws to prevent establishments from selling alcohol after a certain hour AND a drinking age restriction of 21 years, but the bottom line is always enforcement, enforcement and enforcement.
Also, enforcement plays a huge role here. Throw in a side of enforcement with those fries. While you're at it, supersize the enforcement.

Did I mention enforcement?

All the ad campaigns in the world won't appeal to a driver who's convinced that he/she's the greatest thing on four wheels and that accidents happen to OTHER people, not them, so wave the big stick of THE LAW at them and get them in line.

It's THAT simple.

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » June 12th, 2013, 2:18 pm

maturity does not always come with age

[/thread]

Postby Hook » June 12th, 2013, 2:20 pm

But there's no way to quantify maturity, especially from a legal standpoint.
There is, however, a BAC limit.

Postby wagonrunner » June 12th, 2013, 2:21 pm

personal responsibility is not encouraged, nor held accountable.

Postby eliteauto » June 12th, 2013, 2:23 pm

wagonrunner wrote:personal responsibility is not encouraged, nor held accountable.

THIS!!!!! from top to bottom

uncle sam

Postby uncle sam » June 12th, 2013, 2:23 pm

Hook wrote:But there's no way to quantify maturity, especially from a legal standpoint.
There is, however, a BAC limit.

Alco is one thing .. we have tiredness, speeding, etc.

Postby redmanjp » June 12th, 2013, 2:24 pm

j.o.e wrote:

my mom's insurance already bans under 25s - I think you have to be named or pay extra to cover under 25 drivers

Postby hydroep » June 12th, 2013, 2:28 pm

Some insurance companies will only insure drivers under 25 if they do a defensive driving course.

Postby toyolink » June 12th, 2013, 2:28 pm

Hook wrote:Every time something happens there is outrage and emotions, and then knee-jerk reactions abound. This is no different. I haven't heard anyone in authority comment on alcohol consumption and teen clubbing but fingers seem to be pointing everywhere else.
Now, all of a sudden, the responsibility of some drivers are being questioned, simply because their car accelerates faster than others? What nonsense is that? I never killed anyone. You? Okay.

Two major things stand out for me as serious issues here:
Why aren't there TTPS officers outside the clubs, willing to catch drunk drivers BEFORE they crash?
Why were teenagers allowed into the club in the first place?

I'm in full support of implementing laws to prevent establishments from selling alcohol after a certain hour AND a drinking age restriction of 21 years, but the bottom line is always enforcement, enforcement and enforcement.
Also, enforcement plays a huge role here. Throw in a side of enforcement with those fries. While you're at it, supersize the enforcement.

Did I mention enforcement?

All the ad campaigns in the world won't appeal to a driver who's convinced that he/she's the greatest thing on four wheels and that accidents happen to OTHER people, not them, so wave the big stick of THE LAW at them and get them in line.

It's THAT simple.

I fully endorse the views expressed and wish to add that,in the more developed world police patrols on the roadways at nite is considered essential (enforcement) and they don't sometimes even drive with their hood lights on (until you in trouble).
Many cities have a cut off time for sale of alcohol and failure to comply is treated as serious stuff.
Almost always I would drive from Port-Of-Spain to Couva and not one cop car do I see on the road.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » June 12th, 2013, 2:29 pm

all this sheit wouldnt be happening iif so many cars were allowed on the roads.

We did it
our parents did it
we never had this enormous quantity of road carnage in the past.

I always said that they have to hold club/bar owners responsible for quantities consumed by patrons.
They will see drunk people buying more and will allow them to continue.

Postby j.o.e » June 12th, 2013, 2:31 pm

The problem with our roads is not so much teen or young drivers but indisciplined drivers of all ages and a lack of enforcement. I am not saying the process of getting a license can't be improved or that young drivers shouldn't have stipulations for supervision etc.
But we would be hypocrites to suggest that young drivers are the major problem..its drivers and lack of enforcement on a whole.

RIPEBREDFRUIT

Postby RIPEBREDFRUIT » June 12th, 2013, 2:35 pm

nicholas7129 wrote:When I was younger it took me a year and a half before I cud drive without supervision

Thats really what they should consider, making it mandatory that all new permit holders have an Adult with over 5years drivign experience in the car with them for the first YEAR that they have their permits,.
And any new holders caught flaunting this rule would face Immediate Disqualification of their permits until the age of 25.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » June 12th, 2013, 2:39 pm

RIPEBREDFRUIT wrote:
nicholas7129 wrote:When I was younger it took me a year and a half before I cud drive without supervision

Thats really what they should consider, making it mandatory that all new permit holders have an Adult with over 5years drivign experience in the car with them for the first YEAR that they have their permits,.
And any new holders caught flaunting this rule would face Immediate Disqualification of their permits until the age of 25.

These so called ADULTS that use our nations roadways are in many cases just as bad or worse than new drivers.
I dont think thats a valid point.

Strange enough, new drivers tend to be more cautions on the roads IMO...Its those that feel they have 2yrs exp and believe they have Andretti heritage, is the ones to worry about.- as far as that argument goes...

Postby wagonrunner » June 12th, 2013, 2:39 pm

Is 25 an efffin magic number?
at 25, you suddenly have driving awareness?

So a 25yo on the road the 2nd day with a permit is suddenly a better driver than a 22yo drving everyday for the last 4 years?

Please educate me on that.