fokhan_96

Re: Doctor vs Engineer

Postby fokhan_96 » June 9th, 2013, 5:52 pm

yvan300 wrote:
Good read!

If I have to switch the degree i want to pursue, UWI won't make it a hassle right ?

I think the thing to consider when choosing a career is availability of jobs after completion of degree. Doesnt make sense doing a degree and end up with a shitty job in the end. Consider the amt of people graduating each year for a particular degree. Dont know what the size of the class is these days but when i was there MechEng had about 100 people, CHemEng, ElecEng and CivilEng about 50 each (about). If EVERY year this is the amt of engineers graduating, do you think there are jobs available to all of them ?? ...
I was asking myself this same thing, and that was back then. Was one of the reasons i left engineering though, but that was after i did a whole year :lol: . Was it the correct decision to make??? Maybe, maybe not. Its kinda unfortunate for many young people these days though as the job market in TnT is getting very saturated. Having a degree does not guarantee employment ...

yvan300

Postby yvan300 » June 9th, 2013, 6:20 pm

fokhan_96 wrote:
yvan300 wrote:
Good read!

If I have to switch the degree i want to pursue, UWI won't make it a hassle right ?

I think the thing to consider when choosing a career is availability of jobs after completion of degree. Doesnt make sense doing a degree and end up with a shitty job in the end. Consider the amt of people graduating each year for a particular degree. Dont know what the size of the class is these days but when i was there MechEng had about 100 people, CHemEng, ElecEng and CivilEng about 50 each (about). If EVERY year this is the amt of engineers graduating, do you think there are jobs available to all of them ?? ...
I was asking myself this same thing, and that was back then. Was one of the reasons i left engineering though, but that was after i did a whole year :lol: . Was it the correct decision to make??? Maybe, maybe not. Its kinda unfortunate for many young people these days though as the job market in TnT is getting very saturated. Having a degree does not guarantee employment ...

Absolutely true! That's one of the factors affecting my decision as well. Yea I know some disciplines are more rewarding than others but what sense that make if you spend 3 years after graduation unemployed. I thought of something today actually. From advice I got from various sources, electrical engineering seems to be the most difficult of them all.

My logic is that if its difficult, that means there will be less people graduating with the degree because they failed their exams etc, as well as the fact that people would tend to choose the easier disciplines and shy away from electrical (everyone opts for the easy way out) :P

Therefore more electrical engineering jobs available in the country :D

Postby Trini Hookah » June 9th, 2013, 7:21 pm

Weak logic there, tbh. But you'll see that when u reach ECNG in UWI

yvan300

Postby yvan300 » June 9th, 2013, 7:25 pm

Trini Hookah wrote:Weak logic there, tbh. But you'll see that when u reach ECNG in UWI

See what exactly? :S

Postby Trini Hookah » June 9th, 2013, 7:27 pm

That your logic that you stated is flawed.

Postby black start » June 9th, 2013, 7:53 pm

doctor ha more morney.....

A quick question though, is Doctor Raj, the king of the rajes?

Postby Gladiator » June 9th, 2013, 8:12 pm

yvan300 wrote:
fokhan_96 wrote:
yvan300 wrote:
Good read!

Absolutely true! That's one of the factors affecting my decision as well. Yea I know some disciplines are more rewarding than others but what sense that make if you spend 3 years after graduation unemployed. I thought of something today actually. From advice I got from various sources, electrical engineering seems to be the most difficult of them all.

My logic is that if its difficult, that means there will be less people graduating with the degree because they failed their exams etc, as well as the fact that people would tend to choose the easier disciplines and shy away from electrical (everyone opts for the easy way out) :P

Some food for thought..

The program at UWI for elec eng is too theoretical and specific. Mech Engineers and Civil Engineers make good managers and move up quickly. The scope for electrical does not allow for this.

Post grad in elec eng is even more specific and specialized and theoretical and adds no value to your employer. Post grad elec is set up to take you into academia. Mech and Civil can branch off into management type post grad.

On the other hand Elec Eng is the most difficult, you will learn to model systems and can model and design Mechanical and Civil systems. We do very little design work locally so this does not apply.

You have to do what you like...if you do something you don't like and appreciate or have a passion for, frustration will soon set in and you wont be motivated to succeed.
Last edited by Gladiator on June 9th, 2013, 9:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Trini Hookah » June 9th, 2013, 8:56 pm

It's not unusual to grow to like a different programme from what you entered to study.

Evaluate yourself and transfer if ever need be, it happens.

yvan300

Postby yvan300 » June 10th, 2013, 11:20 am

Gladiator wrote:
yvan300 wrote:
fokhan_96 wrote:
yvan300 wrote:
Good read!

Some food for thought..

The program at UWI for elec eng is too theoretical and specific. Mech Engineers and Civil Engineers make good managers and move up quickly. The scope for electrical does not allow for this.

Post grad in elec eng is even more specific and specialized and theoretical and adds no value to your employer. Post grad elec is set up to take you into academia. Mech and Civil can branch off into management type post grad.

On the other hand Elec Eng is the most difficult, you will learn to model systems and can model and design Mechanical and Civil systems. We do very little design work locally so this does not apply.

You have to do what you like...if you do something you don't like and appreciate or have a passion for, frustration will soon set in and you wont be motivated to succeed.

You're right about it being overly theoretical. Also, it seems to be heavily dependent on math. Doing a bit of research made me come to believe that doing an elec engineering degree is like doing a math degree. :lol:

Combine that with the computer science topics you need to learn when doing your degree, makes electrical engineering a bit boring, no? I mean I've done programming before and its a real pain IMO. I'm starting to believe that electrical isn't for the hands on type of person. Its for the guy who sees elegance in theory.

You know it'd be really beneficial to a lot of people just like me if UWI had a workshop or something in which experienced engineers in the various disciplines would come and answer questions and give you a feel for what the job is really about. Not everyone might have some family member as an engineer that they could go to for help on making a decision.
(Who knows maybe UWI does have such a thing and I just don't know about it)

Anyone here is an actual chemical engineer and could shed light on what they do? From the previous posts in this thread I get the impression that all they do is sit whole day in AC and collect money :lol:

True or no?

Daran

Postby Daran » June 10th, 2013, 11:25 am

Gladiator wrote:
yvan300 wrote:
fokhan_96 wrote:
yvan300 wrote:
Good read!

Some food for thought..

In red. This is kind of a narrow minded way of seeing things and its very much industry dependent (i.e. in a Civil oriented company a Civil Engineer may end up leading the way), but more so depends on the individual. There's nothing much in any engineering program that shapes or differentiates whether that graduate can become a good manager. And to be quite honest most of the engineers who went on the become very good executives and upper management were Elec Engineers. And again, this has nothing to do with Elec Eng syllabus, but it could be related to the quality and ambition of that person, given that Elec and Chem Eng attract the best students (this is purely based on UWI's entry requirements to the program).

As far as I see it, Mech, Civil, Chem and Elec all have an equally good chance of moving in any company.

I do agree that UWI's Elec Eng is very theory oriented and that's because of the nature of the field. Elec Eng is a very science based degree that allows and encourages students to get to research and academia. UWI has to comply with this to a degree in order to meet IEEE accreditations.

You're also very right in saying Elec Eng MSc really serves no useful purpose for 95% of trini employers. The breakdown of subject areas in the MSc is:
1. Communication Systems
2. Control Systems
3. Integrated Systems
4. Energy Systems.

All of which, industry training is far more relevant to employers.

yvan300

Postby yvan300 » June 10th, 2013, 8:42 pm

Daran wrote:
Gladiator wrote:
yvan300 wrote:
fokhan_96 wrote:
yvan300 wrote:
Good read!

Some food for thought..

In red. This is kind of a narrow minded way of seeing things and its very much industry dependent (i.e. in a Civil oriented company a Civil Engineer may end up leading the way), but more so depends on the individual. There's nothing much in any engineering program that shapes or differentiates whether that graduate can become a good manager. And to be quite honest most of the engineers who went on the become very good executives and upper management were Elec Engineers. And again, this has nothing to do with Elec Eng syllabus, but it could be related to the quality and ambition of that person, given that Elec and Chem Eng attract the best students (this is purely based on UWI's entry requirements to the program).

As far as I see it, Mech, Civil, Chem and Elec all have an equally good chance of moving in any company.

I do agree that UWI's Elec Eng is very theory oriented and that's because of the nature of the field. Elec Eng is a very science based degree that allows and encourages students to get to research and academia. UWI has to comply with this to a degree in order to meet IEEE accreditations.

You're also very right in saying Elec Eng MSc really serves no useful purpose for 95% of trini employers. The breakdown of subject areas in the MSc is:
1. Communication Systems
2. Control Systems
3. Integrated Systems
4. Energy Systems.

All of which, industry training is far more relevant to employers.

Hmmm, makes electrical sound terrible lol.

Well after much debate about the different disciplines from various sources I decided that Wednesday I'll go into UWI to switch my degree to chemical engineering.

From there the plan is to work hard and try to graduate with first class honors. Apparently once you do , big companies like BP sap you up one time. Hopefully graduating with first class honors isn't an unrealistic feat X_X

Postby black start » June 10th, 2013, 9:05 pm

yvan300 wrote:From there the plan is to work hard and try to graduate with first class honors. Apparently once you do , big companies like BP sap you up one time. Hopefully graduating with first class honors isn't an unrealistic feat X_X

i jus.....

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » June 10th, 2013, 9:12 pm

black start wrote:
yvan300 wrote:From there the plan is to work hard and try to graduate with first class honors. Apparently once you do , big companies like BP sap you up one time. Hopefully graduating with first class honors isn't an unrealistic feat X_X

i jus.....

dude any idiot can graduate with first class honours :roll:

Postby black start » June 10th, 2013, 9:23 pm

small man cyah get a lil cleaning wok self with ah big company....*slits wrist*

Postby goalpost » June 10th, 2013, 9:41 pm

Dude, if you do electrical, take good notes in the ICES course; these notes will be highly benificial to you for a long long time.

Postby rfari » June 10th, 2013, 9:53 pm

Waaayys ICES yes. Sharma still lectures that course?

yvan300

Postby yvan300 » June 10th, 2013, 10:50 pm

fokhan_96 wrote:
black start wrote:

i jus.....

dude any idiot can graduate with first class honours :roll:

Ahahahha, swear nah.

Well that means I've been talking to some delinquent men at UWI engineering :lol:

Hmm, I guess its similar to the same group of people back in form 5 who used to say that doing good in add maths was impossible. Once you apply yourself, you'd get the A 8-)

Chupid men could really make ya scared for nothing yes. :roll:

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » June 10th, 2013, 10:57 pm

goalpost wrote:Dude, if you do electrical, take good notes in the ICES course; these notes will be highly benificial to you for a long long time.

Dood, 10 years later and I still have my ICES notebook in my car! Right next to my jack and wheel spanner. Never leave home without it!

Azzuri

Postby Azzuri » June 11th, 2013, 7:20 am

*got an A in ICES crew*.......... Well an A- but it's still an A

Postby sliderz1 » June 11th, 2013, 9:50 am

why allyuh frowning on the Elec Eng degree? [As allyuh do with all UWI's degrees) It is a BSc what do expect? Go do a BEng or a Tech diploma if you want direct relation to whatever.

Postby ronsin1 » June 11th, 2013, 9:58 am

lol at everybody fighting up for a degree in this or a degree in that.

I good with meh sanitation engineer job yes :lol:

I understand I getting a promotion to a high Position.

Postby black start » June 11th, 2013, 10:07 am

Azzuri, I thought you did chem eng?

yvan300

Postby yvan300 » June 11th, 2013, 4:26 pm

ronsin1 wrote:lol at everybody fighting up for a degree in this or a degree in that.

'Sanitation Engineer' :lol:

Postby ronsin1 » June 11th, 2013, 9:46 pm

yvan300 wrote:
ronsin1 wrote:lol at everybody fighting up for a degree in this or a degree in that.

you have a problem with that :evil:

Postby sliderz1 » June 12th, 2013, 10:30 am

ronsin1 wrote:
yvan300 wrote:

clearly it affords you internet and a Sportero.

bess wuk fadda

Postby ronsin1 » June 12th, 2013, 11:24 am

sliderz1 wrote:
ronsin1 wrote:
yvan300 wrote:

bess wuk fadda

who, what, when Clearly you have not seen what I drive :wink:

see below for reference:-

Postby Trini Hookah » June 12th, 2013, 11:25 am

I hyear he buy a Earvo for he neighba

Postby black start » June 12th, 2013, 1:51 pm

it ha sr oar?

Postby sliderz1 » June 12th, 2013, 1:56 pm

ronsin1 wrote:
sliderz1 wrote:
ronsin1 wrote:
yvan300 wrote:

bess wuk fadda

who, what, when Clearly you have not seen what I drive :wink:

see below for reference:-

bring that Stuck inna Quarry part 2 nah bigman :drinking:

Postby maj. tom » June 12th, 2013, 1:59 pm

now I'm only hearing the Sanford and Son song in my head.