yvan300 wrote:
Good read!
If I have to switch the degree i want to pursue, UWI won't make it a hassle right ?
fokhan_96 wrote:yvan300 wrote:
Good read!
If I have to switch the degree i want to pursue, UWI won't make it a hassle right ?
I think the thing to consider when choosing a career is availability of jobs after completion of degree. Doesnt make sense doing a degree and end up with a shitty job in the end. Consider the amt of people graduating each year for a particular degree. Dont know what the size of the class is these days but when i was there MechEng had about 100 people, CHemEng, ElecEng and CivilEng about 50 each (about). If EVERY year this is the amt of engineers graduating, do you think there are jobs available to all of them ?? ...
I was asking myself this same thing, and that was back then. Was one of the reasons i left engineering though, but that was after i did a whole year. Was it the correct decision to make??? Maybe, maybe not. Its kinda unfortunate for many young people these days though as the job market in TnT is getting very saturated. Having a degree does not guarantee employment ...
Trini Hookah wrote:Weak logic there, tbh. But you'll see that when u reach ECNG in UWI
yvan300 wrote:fokhan_96 wrote:yvan300 wrote:
Good read!
I think the thing to consider when choosing a career is availability of jobs after completion of degree. Doesnt make sense doing a degree and end up with a shitty job in the end. Consider the amt of people graduating each year for a particular degree. Dont know what the size of the class is these days but when i was there MechEng had about 100 people, CHemEng, ElecEng and CivilEng about 50 each (about). If EVERY year this is the amt of engineers graduating, do you think there are jobs available to all of them ?? ...
I was asking myself this same thing, and that was back then. Was one of the reasons i left engineering though, but that was after i did a whole year. Was it the correct decision to make??? Maybe, maybe not. Its kinda unfortunate for many young people these days though as the job market in TnT is getting very saturated. Having a degree does not guarantee employment ...
Absolutely true! That's one of the factors affecting my decision as well. Yea I know some disciplines are more rewarding than others but what sense that make if you spend 3 years after graduation unemployed. I thought of something today actually. From advice I got from various sources, electrical engineering seems to be the most difficult of them all.
My logic is that if its difficult, that means there will be less people graduating with the degree because they failed their exams etc, as well as the fact that people would tend to choose the easier disciplines and shy away from electrical (everyone opts for the easy way out)![]()
Therefore more electrical engineering jobs available in the country
Gladiator wrote:yvan300 wrote:fokhan_96 wrote:yvan300 wrote:
Good read!
Absolutely true! That's one of the factors affecting my decision as well. Yea I know some disciplines are more rewarding than others but what sense that make if you spend 3 years after graduation unemployed. I thought of something today actually. From advice I got from various sources, electrical engineering seems to be the most difficult of them all.
My logic is that if its difficult, that means there will be less people graduating with the degree because they failed their exams etc, as well as the fact that people would tend to choose the easier disciplines and shy away from electrical (everyone opts for the easy way out)![]()
Some food for thought..
The program at UWI for elec eng is too theoretical and specific. Mech Engineers and Civil Engineers make good managers and move up quickly. The scope for electrical does not allow for this.
Post grad in elec eng is even more specific and specialized and theoretical and adds no value to your employer. Post grad elec is set up to take you into academia. Mech and Civil can branch off into management type post grad.
On the other hand Elec Eng is the most difficult, you will learn to model systems and can model and design Mechanical and Civil systems. We do very little design work locally so this does not apply.
You have to do what you like...if you do something you don't like and appreciate or have a passion for, frustration will soon set in and you wont be motivated to succeed.
Gladiator wrote:yvan300 wrote:fokhan_96 wrote:yvan300 wrote:
Good read!
Some food for thought..
The program at UWI for elec eng is too theoretical and specific. Mech Engineers and Civil Engineers make good managers and move up quickly. The scope for electrical does not allow for this.
Post grad in elec eng is even more specific and specialized and theoretical and adds no value to your employer. Post grad elec is set up to take you into academia. Mech and Civil can branch off into management type post grad.
On the other hand Elec Eng is the most difficult, you will learn to model systems and can model and design Mechanical and Civil systems. We do very little design work locally so this does not apply.
You have to do what you like...if you do something you don't like and appreciate or have a passion for, frustration will soon set in and you wont be motivated to succeed.
Daran wrote:Gladiator wrote:yvan300 wrote:fokhan_96 wrote:yvan300 wrote:
Good read!
Some food for thought..
In red. This is kind of a narrow minded way of seeing things and its very much industry dependent (i.e. in a Civil oriented company a Civil Engineer may end up leading the way), but more so depends on the individual. There's nothing much in any engineering program that shapes or differentiates whether that graduate can become a good manager. And to be quite honest most of the engineers who went on the become very good executives and upper management were Elec Engineers. And again, this has nothing to do with Elec Eng syllabus, but it could be related to the quality and ambition of that person, given that Elec and Chem Eng attract the best students (this is purely based on UWI's entry requirements to the program).
As far as I see it, Mech, Civil, Chem and Elec all have an equally good chance of moving in any company.
I do agree that UWI's Elec Eng is very theory oriented and that's because of the nature of the field. Elec Eng is a very science based degree that allows and encourages students to get to research and academia. UWI has to comply with this to a degree in order to meet IEEE accreditations.
You're also very right in saying Elec Eng MSc really serves no useful purpose for 95% of trini employers. The breakdown of subject areas in the MSc is:
1. Communication Systems
2. Control Systems
3. Integrated Systems
4. Energy Systems.
All of which, industry training is far more relevant to employers.
yvan300 wrote:From there the plan is to work hard and try to graduate with first class honors. Apparently once you do , big companies like BP sap you up one time. Hopefully graduating with first class honors isn't an unrealistic feat X_X
black start wrote:yvan300 wrote:From there the plan is to work hard and try to graduate with first class honors. Apparently once you do , big companies like BP sap you up one time. Hopefully graduating with first class honors isn't an unrealistic feat X_X
i jus.....
fokhan_96 wrote:black start wrote:yvan300 wrote:From there the plan is to work hard and try to graduate with first class honors. Apparently once you do , big companies like BP sap you up one time. Hopefully graduating with first class honors isn't an unrealistic feat X_X
i jus.....
dude any idiot can graduate with first class honours
goalpost wrote:Dude, if you do electrical, take good notes in the ICES course; these notes will be highly benificial to you for a long long time.
ronsin1 wrote:lol at everybody fighting up for a degree in this or a degree in that.
I good with meh sanitation engineer job yes
I understand I getting a promotion to a high Position.
yvan300 wrote:ronsin1 wrote:lol at everybody fighting up for a degree in this or a degree in that.
'Sanitation Engineer'
ronsin1 wrote:yvan300 wrote:ronsin1 wrote:lol at everybody fighting up for a degree in this or a degree in that.
'Sanitation Engineer'
you have a problem with that
sliderz1 wrote:ronsin1 wrote:yvan300 wrote:ronsin1 wrote:lol at everybody fighting up for a degree in this or a degree in that.
'Sanitation Engineer'
clearly it affords you internet and a Sportero.
bess wuk fadda
ronsin1 wrote:sliderz1 wrote:ronsin1 wrote:yvan300 wrote:ronsin1 wrote:lol at everybody fighting up for a degree in this or a degree in that.
'Sanitation Engineer'
clearly it affords you internet and a Sportero.
bess wuk fadda
who, what, when Clearly you have not seen what I drive![]()
see below for reference:-